DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steel Castings Handbook (cited by applicant) (hereafter SCH) in view of Ollinger, IV et al. (9,963,853).
Regarding claim 1, SCH discloses an alloy with high tensile and impact strength and resistance to cavitation and corrosion comprised of a ferrous alloy having 10-15% chromium, 3-6% Nickel, 0.12% or less carbon and less than or equal to 3% manganese and a primarly martensitic structure formed by casting and hardened during manufacture using a heat treating (pages 2-3) but fails to specifically disclose use in fabricating an excavating bucket lip. Like SCH, discloses making castings of elements for environments requiring high impact/high strength applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the ferrous alloy of SCH to form a cast bucket lip since Ollinger discloses it is known to utilize casting to make bucket lips and that lips of high strength and durability is required (column 1 lines 55-57) and SCH discloses that the disclosed ferrous alloy is advantageous in high impact/strength environments and that its list of applications is not comprehensive (page 3).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses that the lip includes a plurality of forwardly projecting noses, each for mounting a tooth component and a plurality of mounting areas for mounting shrouds between the plurality of forwardly projecting noses.
The combination discloses the claimed invention except for the total weight and thickness of the bucket. The examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the bucket of any size to suit the needs of the excavating operation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 21, the ferrous alloy includes 0.10% or less carbon by weight (SCH – page 2).
Regarding claim 36, the combination discloses that the ferrous alloy includes 11.5-14% chromium, 3.5-4.5% nickel, 0.4-1% molybdenum, less than or equal to 1% silicon, less than or equal to 0.04% phosphorous, less than or equal to 0.03% sulfur, less than or equal to 1% manganese and less than or equal to 0.06% carbon and a primarily martensitic structure (SCH page 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6, 19-21 and 36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671