DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application filed on 04/04/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Decanini et al. (US 2024/0428337 A1).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 1, Decanini discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one data processor of a system (fig.1), cause the system to: receive, via a user interface displayed on a client device, a first request to generate a view associated with a first block item of a first workspace (fig.4, fig.13; the user selects a wealth map view to generate a first block item of a first workspace),
wherein the first block item is embedded as an in-page object on a page of the first workspace (fig.13; a first block is displayed on a workspace page);
receive, via the user interface displayed on the client device, a second request to configure a display of a hierarchy of block items that are related to the first block item (fig.14; [0046]; the tree structure is expanded when a parent block is selected),
wherein the second request indicates preferences for at least two of (i) a display of a subordinate block item of the first block item, (ii) an access permission for the subordinate block item, (iii) a modification for the subordinate block item, or (iv) an inheritance associated with a superordinate block item of the first block item (fig.14, fig.49; [0059]; a hierarchy of blocks is displayed in a tree structure and subordinate blocks can be modified by adding additional information to the selected block);
generate, at the client device, based on the second request, a relation dataset for the first block item, wherein the relation dataset relates properties of the first block item with properties of the subordinate or the superordinate block items ([0058]; block tree structure nodes are populated by a user and saved on a server);
communicate the relation dataset to a server system that administers the first workspace for one or more members of the first workspace (fig.1, fig.2; [0063]; multiple users have access to the workspace);
receive, from the server system, attribute data for each subordinate block item of the first block item (fig.1, “102”, fig.2; [0039]; node structure data with all block item information is received from the server and displayed on a client device),
wherein the attribute data is synchronized with the preferences indicated in the second request (fig.26, fig.27; [0051]; the user selects an attribute preference on a user interface); and
generate, for display on the user interface, the first block item and the subordinate block item in accordance with the attribute data (fig.27; [0051]; the selected attribute is displayed on each block).
As to claim 2, Decanini discloses determine that the first request includes, for the first block item, an indication of a first view type including one of a table, a list, a board, a timeline, a gallery, or a calendar; and store an indication of the first request including the first view type (fig.4, fig.5, fig.13; different first view types are selectable, the selected view type is stored in the system and displayed on top of the workspace).
As to claim 5, Decanini discloses determine, based on the second request, an access permission preference for the subordinate block item, wherein the access permission preference includes a ruleset for generating workspace identifiers associated with the subordinate block item; and generate the relation dataset to include the access permission preference (fig.17; [0063]; sub workspaces such as “Financial” and “Non Financial” are accessed based on access right segmentation).
As to claim 6, Decanini discloses determine, based on the second request, an access permission preference for the subordinate block item, wherein the access permission preference includes a ruleset for generating member identifiers associated with the subordinate block item; and generate the relation dataset to include the access permission preference ([0041], [0063]; access permission is member based).
As to claim 7, Decanini discloses determine, based on the second request, a modification preference associated with the subordinate block item, wherein the modification preference includes a ruleset for at least one of a block item duplication, deletion, or reconfiguration; and generate the relation dataset to include the modification preference ([0058]; a subordinate block is reconfigured by inserting a child block).
As to claim 8, Decanini discloses wherein the instructions for generating, for display on the user interface, the first block item and the subordinate block item cause the system to: receive, from the server system, the attribute data, wherein the attribute data includes, for the first block item, a first attribute comprising an indication of at least one of a first user permission, a first modification ruleset, or a first display preference, and wherein the attribute data includes, for the subordinate block item, a second attribute comprising an indication of at least one of a second user permission, a second modification ruleset, or a second display preference; and generate, for display on the user interface, the first block item according to the first attribute and the subordinate block item according to the second attribute (fig.2, [0063]; blocks are displayable based on their access attributes).
As to claim 9, Decanini discloses determine a view type consistent with the first request (fig.4; different view types are selectable);
determine a first position for the first block item, wherein the first position indicates coordinates for displaying the first block item on the user interface (fig.13; a first block is positioned in the middle of the workspace), and
wherein the first position is consistent with the view type (fig.4, fig.13; the selected block view type is displayed);
determine a second position for the subordinate block item, wherein the second position indicates coordinates for displaying the subordinate block item on the user interface (fig.14; subordinate block items are displayed below the parent);
generate, at the first position on the user interface, a first in-page object associated with the first block item (fig.14, “1302”, “1304”); and
generate, at the second position on the user interface, a second in-page object associated with the subordinate block item (fig.14, “1406”, “1408”).
Claim 10 is a system variation of claim 1, therefore claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1 above.
Claim 11 is a system variation of claim 2, therefore claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2 above.
Claim 14 is a system variation of claim 5, therefore claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5 above.
Claim 15 is a system variation of claim 6, therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6 above.
Claim 16 is a system variation of claim 7, therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7 above.
Claim 17 is a method variation of claim 1, therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1 above.
Claim 18 is a method variation of claim 2, therefore claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 12-13 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179