DETAILED ACTION
Amendment/Arguments
Receipt is acknowledged of the arguments and amendment filed 6/24/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that the coupling arrangement is not clear, examiner submits that the overall fiber alignment monitoring tool is the optical head, wherein that monitoring tool comprises a coupling arrangement that comprises the optical socket 137 along with the ferrule 311 for coupling the fiber alignment monitoring tool to a beam adjustment tool of the source module, in this case the illuminating light source 316. Regarding the argument that the fiber alignment monitoring tool is coupled to itself, examiner respectfully submits that the portions of the monitoring tool can be integrated together and considered to be coupled together. Regarding applicant’s argument that Nagasaka does not disclose the "beam alignment sensor operable to sense beam alignment and provide a beam alignment signal indicating beam alignment status, said beam alignment status describing a position status and/or angle status of said beam,” examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the word “describing” is broad and it is interpreted that the use of the camera to capture the position and markings reads on the “describing” limitation (see paragraphs 77-81). Additionally, “The CCD image pick-up element 314 arranges a large number of read pixels and converts the alignment mark image to an image signal. This signal is image-processed by the computer system 320 to discriminate the position of each alignment mark, and the position of the optical socket 137 is moved relative to the board 130 so that both alignment marks overlap (refer to FIG. 6(a)) and paragraph 80).
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 17 are persuasive and rejection is withdrawn.
Examiner also acknowledges the amendment to claim 13 to correct an objection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a beam alignment sensor operable to sense beam alignment and provide a beam alignment signal indicating beam alignment status, said beam alignment status describing a position status and/or angle status of said beam.” It is unclear what the “describing” limitation entails. Perhaps there a mathematical/geographical location position status that can be recited instead of “describing.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagasaka et al. (USPGPub No. 2004/0028349, from hereinafter “Nagasaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasaka teaches a fiber alignment monitoring tool (optical head 310) for monitoring of beam alignment of a beam generated by a source module with respect to an optical fiber, the fiber alignment monitoring tool comprising: a coupling arrangement (optical socket 137 along with ferrule 311) for coupling the fiber alignment monitoring tool to a beam adjustment tool of said source module (illuminating light source 316); and a beam alignment sensor (according to such constitution, the bottom part of the fitting hole 137b in the sleeve 137a is illuminated by the illuminating light source 316, and an image of the bottom part is read together with the ferrule alignment mark 313 by the CCD image pick-up element 314), operable to sense beam alignment and provide a beam alignment signal indicating beam alignment status (the CCD image pick-up element 314 arranges a large number of read pixels and converts the alignment mark image to an image signal; this signal is image-processed by the computer system 320 to discriminate the position of each alignment mark), said beam alignment status describing a position status and/or angle status of said beam (see Figures 2, 9, 10, paragraphs 77-81).
Regarding claim 2, Nagasaka teaches that the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, wherein said beam alignment sensor is operable such that beam alignment signal indicates said beam alignment status in real time during adjustment of said beam alignment when it is taught that the CCD image pick-up element 314 arranges a large number of read pixels and converts the alignment mark image to an image signal. This signal is image-processed by the computer system 320 to discriminate the position of each alignment mark, and the position of the optical socket 137 is moved relative to the board 130 so that both alignment marks overlap (refer to FIG. 6(a)). In an example shown in FIG. 10, an optical circuit board 130 and an optical socket 137 are suitably moved relative to each other, so that the central position of a C-shaped alignment mark 132a on the board overlaps with an alignment mark 313 of the ferrule. Thereafter, the adhesive 138 is hardened. When the optical socket 137 includes a plurality of sleeves 137a to connect a plurality of optical fibers, the mounting position adjustment of the optical socket for a plurality of optical fiber terminals can be performed by carrying out the above-mentioned position alignment with fitting holes 137b in at least two sleeves 137a (see Figures 6, 9, 10 paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 3, Nagasaka teaches that the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, further comprising a display (image display screen 314a) for displaying said beam alignment status to a user (see paragraph 8, 80, Figure 10).
Regarding claim 4, Nagasaka teaches that the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 3, wherein said display is operable to display a visual representation of one or more target values for said beam alignment, and to display said beam alignment status in relation to said visual representation of one or more target values when it is taught that the signal is image-processed by the computer system 320 to discriminate the position of each alignment mark (see paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 5, Nagasaka teaches that the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, wherein said display is operable to display each of said position and/or angle on a respective displacement grid when it is taught that besides a position alignment mark prepared particularly for the mounting adjustment of the optical socket 137, for example, the shape of a light-emitting portion in the light-emitting element 133 or a light-receiving portion in the light-receiving element 134, an alignment mark prepared to mount the light-emitting element 133 or the light-receiving element 134, an electrode or wiring pattern, mounted parts, etc., can also be used as an alignment mark for the alignment mark 132a (see paragraph 30, Fig 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, Nagasaka teaches that the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, wherein said source module comprises a measurement radiation source module for providing measurement radiation for a metrology device when it is taught that an illuminating light source 316, such as an LED and a mercury lamp, which illuminates the surface of the lower end of the ferrule 311 as needed, and a half mirror 317 to guide light of the illuminating light source 316 toward the ferrule 311 (see paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 7, Nagasaka teaches the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, further comprising a processor (computer system 320) operable to receive the beam alignment signal and provide said beam alignment status to a user (see Figure 6, paragraph 74).
Regarding claim 8, Nagasaka teaches the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 7, wherein the processor is operable to generate actuation signals (via actuator 330) to adjustment actuators under control of the processor, such that the processor actuates adjustment of said beam alignment so as to automatically align the beam (see Figure 6, paragraph 74).
Regarding claim 9, Nagasaka teaches the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, wherein said coupling arrangement is configured to couple to the fiber alignment monitoring tool in place of the optical fiber during a beam adjustment phase when it is taught that an optical head 310 includes a ferrule 311 as a columnar member to transmit light, which is inserted into a fitting hole 137b (a guide groove) of a sleeve 137a of the optical socket 137, and a housing portion 312 disposed on the upper end of this ferrule 311. A ferrule alignment mark 313 is formed on the lower end of the ferrule 311; the housing portion 312 includes therein a CCD image pick-up element 314 to read a mark, a lens 315 to form a read image of an alignment mark on the board (refer to FIG. 10), or the ferrule alignment mark 313 on the CCD image pick-up element 314, an illuminating light source 316, such as an LED and a mercury lamp, which illuminates the surface of the lower end of the ferrule 311 as needed, and a half mirror 317 to guide light of the illuminating light source 316 toward the ferrule 311 (see Figure 12, paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 10, Nagasaka teaches the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, further comprising a mirror (half mirror 317) for directing said beam into said beam alignment sensor (see Figure 12, paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 11, Nagasaka teaches the fiber alignment monitoring tool of claim 1, further comprising a housing (housing 312) for at least partially housing said fiber coupling arrangement and beam alignment sensor (see Figure 12-13, paragraph 78).
Regarding claims 12-13, Nagasaka teaches a method of aligning a beam generated by a source module with respect to an optical fiber, the method comprising: attaching a fiber alignment monitoring tool (optical head 310) to a beam adjustment tool (according to such constitution, the bottom part of the fitting hole 137b in the sleeve 137a is illuminated by the illuminating light source 316, and an image of the bottom part is read together with the ferrule alignment mark 313 by the CCD image pick-up element 314), operable to sense beam alignment and provide a beam alignment signal indicating beam alignment status (the CCD image pick-up element 314 arranges a large number of read pixels and converts the alignment mark image to an image signal; this signal is image-processed by the computer system 320 to discriminate the position of each alignment mark), said beam alignment status describing a position status and/or angle status of said beam) of said source module illuminating light source 316; and using the beam adjustment tool to align said beam in dependence of a beam alignment status obtained from said fiber alignment monitoring tool, said beam alignment status describing a position and/or angle of said beam (see Figures 2, 9, 10, paragraphs 77-81). Regarding further claim 13, Nagasaka teaches a beam alignment sensor (according to such constitution, the bottom part of the fitting hole 137b in the sleeve 137a is illuminated by the illuminating light source 316, and an image of the bottom part is read together with the ferrule alignment mark 313 by the CCD image pick-up element 314), operable to sense beam alignment and provide a beam alignment signal indicating beam alignment status (the CCD image pick-up element 314 arranges a large number of read pixels and converts the alignment mark image to an image signal; this signal is image-processed by the computer system 320 to discriminate the position of each alignment mark), said beam alignment status describing a position status and/or angle status of said beam (see Figures 2, 9, 10, paragraphs 77-81).
Regarding claim 14, Nagasaka teaches the method of claim 12, wherein said beam alignment status comprises beam position status and beam angle status by computer system 320 (see paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 15, Nagasaka teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising referring to a visual representation (on display screen 314a) of said beam alignment status in said step of aligning said beam (see Figure 10, paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 16, Nagasaka teaches the method of claim 12, wherein said source module comprises a measurement radiation source module for providing measurement radiation for a metrology device, such that said beam comprises a beam of measurement radiation (an illuminating light source 316, such as an LED and a mercury lamp, which illuminates the surface of the lower end of the ferrule 311 as needed, and a half mirror 317 to guide light of the illuminating light source 316 toward the ferrule 311) (see paragraph 78).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art of record fails to teach the specific limitation of the metrology device being an alignment sensor within a lithography apparatus.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874