DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/5/2024, 7/14/2025, 10/14/2025, 2/17/2026 AND 8/20/2026 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 4/5/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
5. Claim 1 defines the features "protrusion corresponding region and nonprotrusion corresponding regions" with reference to another entity, e.g. the battery in which the battery cell is meant to be placed. However, these features do not appear to imply any structural limitations for the battery as such so that any document disclosing a battery cell with an explosion-proof valve placed at the bottom will be considered that the document teaches the claim limitation.
6. Similar considerations apply to dependent claims 2 to 6 as it does not appear possible to distinguish non-protrusions corresponding regions not comprising explosion-proof valves from protrusion corresponding regions in the battery housing as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeng et al (US 20220013856 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng discloses a battery housing (21) for battery cell (20) comprising a shell (211) (Fig. 4, 5), wherein a bottom of the shell has a protrusion corresponding region (Fig. 5: region where the explosion proof valve 213 is not present) and non-protrusion corresponding regions (Fig. 5: region where the explosion proof valve is present), the protrusion corresponding region is opposite a protrusion of a bottom plate of a battery (the battery as such is not part of the subject-matter of clam 1,) and the non-protrusion corresponding regions and the protrusion of the bottom plate of the battery are staggered with each other (Fig. 5); and an explosion-proof valve (213), wherein the explosion-proof valve is disposed in the non-protrusion corresponding region (Fig. 5; claim 1 ).
Regarding claim 7, Zeng teaches that the explosion-proof valve is an indentation explosion-proof valve (Fig. 3-5; paragraph 0070, 0080).
Regarding claim 8, Zeng teaches that the battery cell (20) comprises the battery housing according to claim 1; and a cell (22), wherein the cell is disposed in the shell (2111) of the battery housing (Fig. 4; paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 9, Zeng teaches a battery (10), wherein the battery comprises multiple such battery cells according to claim 8, wherein the multiple battery cells (20) are arranged in sequence; and a bottom plate fixedly disposed at bottoms of the multiple battery cells, with a protrusion on the bottom plate being opposite the protrusion corresponding region of the battery housing of the battery cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al (US 20220013856 A1) as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-3, Providing the position of the protrusion corresponding region and the non-protrusion corresponding regions on the bottom of the shell is considered to relate to obvious design modifications of the battery housing of Zeng for the skilled person when selecting the location of the explosion-proof valve.
Regarding claim 9, Zeng teaches a battery (10), wherein the battery comprises multiple such battery cells according to claim 8, wherein the multiple battery cells (20) are arranged in sequence; and a bottom plate (131) fixedly disposed at bottoms of the multiple battery cells (Fig. 9; paragraph 0084). Although Zeng remains silent about protrusion, however, providing a protrusion on the bottom plate being opposite the protrusion corresponding region of the battery housing of the battery cell would be within the technical grasp of a skilled artisan and would have been obvious to direct fluid on both sides of the protrusion.
Regarding claim 10, Zeng teaches an electric device, wherein the electric device comprises the battery according to claim 9 (Fig. 1; paragraph 0077).
14. Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al (US 20220013856 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Park et al (US 20190379011 A1).
Regarding claims 4-6, it is considered to be well known in the art to provide a battery housing with multiple explosion-proof valves disposed symmetrically as also taught by Park (Fig. 1; claim 1). Therefore, the features of dependent claims 4 to 6 are considered to relate to modifications within the reach of the skilled person. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723