DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beissert (US 20220256723 A1).
As to Claim 1, Beissert discloses:
An electronic device (field device 1) comprising:
a container (housing 11);
a partition wall (partition wall 13) dividing a space within the container 11 (Par. 0024 “housing comprises a first housing chamber 12.1 and a second housing chamber 12.2, which are separated by a partition wall 13”);
a through-hole 13.1 provided in the partition wall 13 (Par. 0024 “The partition wall has a through-opening 13.1”);
an electrical connection component (electrical feedthrough 14) attached to the partition wall 13 so as to be removable from the container 11 and having an insertion portion (carrier body 14.1 inserted through 13) inserted into the through-hole 13 (Par. 0027 “The electrical feedthrough 14 has an electrically-insulating carrier body 14.1”; Par. 0031 “the carrier body can easily be inserted into the housing wall via a clearance fit, which clearance fit transitions into a press fit, for example”; Par. 0025 “The measurement/operating electronics unit and the interface electronics unit are connected by means of an electrical feedthrough 14, which electrical feedthrough is arranged in the through-opening”);
a first electronic component 16.1 attachable to the electrical connection component 14 (Par. 0030 “The carrier body has a longitudinal axis 14.2, wherein a connecting element 14.1 for electrically connecting the measurement/operating electronics unit 16.1 to the interface electronics unit 16.2 is arranged in holes 14.4 of the carrier body in each case”) on one side of the partition wall 13 (disposed in chamber 12.1) so as to be removable from the container 11 (16.1 is capable of being removed from housing 11); and
a second electronic component 16.2 attachable to the electrical connection component 14 (see Par. 0030 above) on another side of the partition wall 13 (disposed in housing chamber 12.2) so as to be removable from the container 11 (16.2 is capable of being removed from housing 11), wherein
the first electronic component 16.1 and the second electronic component 16.2 can be electrically connected to each other via the electrical connection component 14 by each being attached to the electrical connection component 14 (Par. 0030 “The carrier body has a longitudinal axis 14.2, wherein a connecting element 14.1 for electrically connecting the measurement/operating electronics unit 16.1 to the interface electronics unit 16.2 is arranged in holes 14.4 of the carrier body in each case”; Par. 0037 “A feedthrough 14 according to the invention as described above is configured to electrically connect the measurement/operating electronics unit to the interface electronics unit”).
As to Claim 5, Beissert discloses:
wherein one of the first electronic component 16.1 and the second electronic component 16.2 is an amplifier component (Par. 0025 “The measurement/operating electronics unit is configured to acquire measurement signals of a measuring transducer and to provide measured values for a measurand represented by the measurement signals. The interface electronics unit is configured, for example, to enable measured values to be read out”; 16.1 transmits electrical signal to 16.2, see [0034] of applicant’s spec. detailing an amplifier “The amplifier component transmits an electrical signal to the terminal component”) and the other of the first electronic component 16.1 and the second electronic component 16.2 is a terminal component (Par. 0025 “The interface electronics unit is configured, for example, to enable measured values to be read out or a supply line to be connected”; Par. 0006 “an interface electronics unit for connecting lines for supplying power to the field device”; 16.2 provides power to field device; see [0034] of applicant’s spec. detailing terminal component “The terminal component transmits electric power to the amplifier component”).
As to Claim 10, Beissert discloses:
wherein the electronic device is configured as a field device (Par. 0024 “FIG. 1 illustrates a cross-section through a housing module 10 of a field device 1”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beissert (US 20220256723 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nelson (US 8031453 B2).
As to Claim 2, Beissert discloses:
wherein the container (housing 11) includes a container body (housing wall 11.1).
Beissert does not disclose:
wherein the container includes
a container body forming a first opening through which the first electronic component can pass at the one side of the partition wall, and
a first lid capable of opening the first opening.
However, Nelson discloses:
wherein the container (housing 202; Fig. 2) includes
a container body 202 forming a first opening (opening of compartment 206) through which the first electronic component 212 can pass at the one side of the partition wall 204 (corresponds to 13 of Beissert), and
a first lid 210 capable of opening the first opening (col. 3, Lines 21-24 “a first housing cover 210 is generally round and has threads that screw into threads on the housing 202 to enclose industrial process instrument or field device electronics 212 in the electronics compartment 206”);
in order to provide a screwed in cover to enclose electronics 212 within the compartment 206 (col. 3, Lines 21-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert as further suggested by Nelson e.g., providing:
wherein the container includes
a container body forming a first opening through which the first electronic component can pass at the one side of the partition wall, and
a first lid capable of opening the first opening;
in order to provide a screwed in cover to enclose electronics within the compartment.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Beissert in view of Nelson discloses:
wherein the first opening (opening of compartment 206 of Nelson) is configured to allow the electrical connection component (230, corresponds to 14 of Beissert) to pass through the first opening (230 is capable of being inserted and removed via compartment 206 when cover 210 is removed; Nelson).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Beissert in view of Nelson does not explicitly disclose:
wherein
the container body forms a second opening through which the second electronic component can pass at the other side of the partition wall, and
the container includes a second lid capable of opening the second opening.
However, Nelson further discloses:
wherein
the container body 202 forms a second opening (opening of compartment 208) through which the second electronic component 216 can pass at the other side of the partition wall 204 (corresponds to 13 of Beissert), and
the container 202 includes a second lid 214 capable of opening the second opening (col. 3, Lines 25-27 “A second housing cover 214 is generally round and has threads that screw into threads on the housing 202 to enclose a battery assembly 216 in the battery compartment 208”);
in order to provide a screwed in cover to enclose assembly 216 within the compartment 208 (col. 3, Lines 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert in view of Nelson as further suggested by Nelson e.g., providing:
wherein
the container body forms a second opening through which the second electronic component can pass at the other side of the partition wall, and
the container includes a second lid capable of opening the second opening;
in order to provide a screwed in cover to enclose an assembly within the compartment.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beissert (US 20220256723 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Behm (US 6898980 B2).
As to Claim 6, Beissert discloses:
wherein the first electronic component includes a substrate and a first connector mounted on the substrate, and the first electronic component 16.1 is fixed to the partition wall 13 by being attached to the electrical connection component 14 (Par. 0025 “The measurement/operating electronics unit and the interface electronics unit are connected by means of an electrical feedthrough 14, which electrical feedthrough is arranged in the through-opening”).
Beissert does not disclose:
wherein the first electronic component includes a substrate and a first connector mounted on the substrate, and the first electronic component is fixed to the partition wall by being attached to the electrical connection component via the first connector.
However, Behm discloses:
wherein the first electronic component (circuit 114) includes a substrate 114 and a first connector 122 mounted on the substrate 114 (col. 6, Lines 27-30 “The feedthrough 120 has external conductors 122 that energize the circuit 114, provide the sensor output 118, and receive configuration commands”; 122 mounted on 14, see Fig. 7), and the first electronic component 114 is fixed to the partition wall (fitting 110, corresponds to 13 of Beissert) by being attached to the electrical connection component 120 via the first connector 122 (122 is connected to feedthrough 120);
in order to energize the circuit 114 and receive configuration commands (col. 6, Lines 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert as further suggested by Behm e.g., providing:
wherein the first electronic component includes a substrate and a first connector mounted on the substrate, and the first electronic component is fixed to the partition wall by being attached to the electrical connection component via the first connector;
in order to energize the components and receive configuration commands.
As to Claim 7, Beissert discloses:
the second electronic component 16.2 is fixed to the partition wall 13 by being attached to the electrical connection component 14 (Par. 0025 “The measurement/operating electronics unit and the interface electronics unit are connected by means of an electrical feedthrough 14, which electrical feedthrough is arranged in the through-opening”).
Beissert does not disclose:
wherein the second electronic component includes a substrate and a second connector mounted on the substrate, and the second electronic component is fixed to the partition wall by being attached to the electrical connection component via the second connector.
However, Behm discloses:
wherein the second electronic component (circuit 172) includes a substrate 172 and a second connector 174 mounted on the substrate 172 (col. 7, Lines 27-29 “A circuit 172 in the cavity 164 is wired to a plug 174 that mates with the feedthrough 120 of the unitized sensor module”), and the second electronic component 172 is fixed to the partition wall (110, corresponds to 13 of Beissert) by being attached to the electrical connection component 120 via the second connector 174 (174 is connected to feedthrough 120);
in order to receive a sensor output and generate a scalable output (col. 7, Lines 29-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert as further suggested by Behm e.g., providing:
wherein the second electronic component includes a substrate and a second connector mounted on the substrate, and the second electronic component is fixed to the partition wall by being attached to the electrical connection component via the second connector;
in order to receive a sensor output and generate a scalable output.
As to Claim 8, Beissert does not disclose:
further comprising a partition wall sealing member surrounding the insertion portion of the electrical connection component so as to seal a gap between the partition wall and the electrical connection component.
However, Behm discloses:
further comprising a partition wall sealing member 146 (col. 6, Lines 65-66 “Fitting 110 includes an outer surface 146 to seal to transmitter module 132”) surrounding the insertion portion (fitting 110) of the electrical connection component (feedthrough 120; corresponds to 14 of Beissert) so as to seal a gap between the partition wall (portion of module 132, corresponds to 13 of Beissert) and the electrical connection component 120;
in order to seal fitting 110 to transmitter module (col. 6, Lines 65-66) contributing to the flame and explosion proofing of the housing (col. 7, Lines 13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert as further suggested by Behm e.g., providing:
further comprising a partition wall sealing member surrounding the insertion portion of the electrical connection component so as to seal a gap between the partition wall and the electrical connection component;
in order to seal fitting/connection component to the partition wall contributing to the flame and explosion proofing of the housing/device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beissert (US 20220256723 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nelson (US 8031453 B2) and Perrault (US 8223478 B2).
As to Claim 9, Beissert discloses:
wherein
the container 11 includes a container body (housing wall 11.1),
the container body 11.1 includes the partition wall 13 (13 within 11.1).
Beissert does not explicitly disclose:
wherein
the container includes a container body forming a first opening through which the first electronic component can pass at the one side of the partition wall and a second opening through which the second electronic component can pass at the other side of the partition wall, a first lid capable of opening the first opening, and a second lid capable of opening the second opening, and
the container body, the first lid, the second lid, and the electrical connection component form an explosion-proof structure.
However, Nelson discloses:
wherein
the container (housing 202; Fig. 2) includes a container body 202 forming a first opening (opening of compartment 206) through which the first electronic component 212 can pass at the one side of the partition wall 204 (corresponds to 13 of Beissert) and a second opening (opening of compartment 208) through which the second electronic component 216 can pass at the other side of the partition wall 204 (corresponds to 13 of Beissert), a first lid 210 capable of opening the first opening (col. 3, Lines 21-24 “a first housing cover 210 is generally round and has threads that screw into threads on the housing 202 to enclose industrial process instrument or field device electronics 212 in the electronics compartment 206”), and a second lid 214 capable of opening the second opening (col. 3, Lines 25-27 “A second housing cover 214 is generally round and has threads that screw into threads on the housing 202 to enclose a battery assembly 216 in the battery compartment 208”);
in order to provide screwed in covers to enclose electronics 212 and assembly 216 within the compartments 206, 208 (col. 3, Lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert as further suggested by Nelson e.g., providing:
wherein
the container includes a container body forming a first opening through which the first electronic component can pass at the one side of the partition wall and a second opening through which the second electronic component can pass at the other side of the partition wall, a first lid capable of opening the first opening, and a second lid capable of opening the second opening;
in order to provide screwed in covers to enclose electronics and an assembly within the compartments.
Further, Perrault further discloses:
the container body (housing 48, Fig. 2A), the first lid 50A, the second lid 50B, and the electrical connection component (connectors 60A,B, 62A,B) form an explosion-proof structure (col. 5, Lines 27-31 “An explosion-proof flame path and environmental seal (for simplicity, the environmental seal is not shown in FIG. 2A) can be provided between the covers 50A and 50B and the housing 48, such that the field device 42 creates a sealed and explosion-proof enclosure”);
in order to provide an explosion proof field device able to suitably withstand operating environment conditions (col. 1, Lines 16-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beissert in view of Nelson as further suggested by Perrault e.g., providing:
the container body, the first lid, the second lid, and the electrical connection component form an explosion-proof structure;
in order to provide an explosion proof field device able to suitably withstand operating environment conditions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erkelenz (US 20190011295 A1) and Maier (US 6366436 B1) disclose an explosion proof field device.
McGuire (US 8852775 B2) discloses a sealed field device with a feedthrough.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835