DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 14 January 2026, in which claims 1, 9, and 16 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2). Tatsuwaki et al. discloses an apparatus for front impact structure (vehicle front body structure #10) for a vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
(claim 1) a pair of longitudinal beams (including left and right front side frames #11 and left and right bumper beam extensions #22) running parallel to the vehicle lengthwise (to the same extent as Applicant’s claimed invention; figures 2, 3, 9, 10, 12A, 12B) and extending forward from a unibody structure (including pillars #12, side sills #42, and other body/frame structure of passenger compartment) of the vehicle (figures 1-3, 8, 12A, 13A, 14A, 15), wherein the pair of longitudinal beams are configured to crush towards the unibody structure during an impact (has the ability to so perform; figures 12A-16B; columns 14-17);
a subframe (#25) mounted to the vehicle below the pair of longitudinal beams (#11, 22), wherein the subframe includes an additional pair of beams (left and right frame portions #91) parallel to the pair of longitudinal beams (figures 1-3), wherein the additional pair of beams include indents (bent portion #91c provided with fragile portion #95 including depression portion #96) for encouraging the additional pair of beams to bend during the impact (column 11, line 58-column 16, line 39; figures 1-3, 12A, 13A, 14A, 15), and wherein a portion (left and right bumper beam extensions #22) of the pair of longitudinal beams forward of the subframe is replaceable independently from a remainder (left and right front side frames #11) of the pair of longitudinal beams (has the ability to so perform, since left and right bumper beam extensions #22 are separate components attached to left and right front side frames #11 via mounting bracket #44, bolts #45, and nuts #46; figure 4; column 7, line 48-column 8, line 2) and configured to crush prior to compromising integrity of a remainder of the pair of longitudinal beams (has the ability to so perform; figures 12A-15; column 8, lines 10-16; column 14);
(claim 2) wherein each longitudinal beam (#11) of the pair of longitudinal beams crushes progressively after the portion (#22) crushes (figures 12A-16B; columns 14-17);
(claim 3) wherein at least the portion (#22) crushes prior to the additional pair of beams (#91) beginning to bend (force #F10 causes bumper beam portion #23a and bumper beam extension #22 to crush, at which point bumper beam portion #23a comes to the same longitudinal position as front edge portion #94a of extension portion #94 of frame portion #91, and load #F14 dispersed to front edge portion #94a includes a component force #F16 transmitted to fragile portion #95 causing a bend at fragile portion #95; figures 12A-15; columns 14-15);
(claim 4) wherein the additional pair of beams (#91) does not receive impact energy until after the portion (#22) crushes (force #F10 causes bumper beam portion #23a and bumper beam extension #22 to crush, at which point bumper beam portion #23a comes to the same longitudinal position as front edge portion #94a of extension portion #94 of frame portion #91, and then load #F14 is dispersed to front edge portion #94a and a component force #F16 is transmitted to fragile portion #95; figures 12A-15; columns 14-15);
(claim 5) wherein brackets (#44) separate the portion (#22) from the remainder (#11; figure 4; column 7, line 48-column 8, line 2);
(claim 6) wherein a bumper (#23) is affixed to an end (front end) of the pair of the longitudinal beams (#11, 22) opposite from the unibody structure (figures 1-3);
(claim 7) wherein the subframe (#25) further includes first and second cross members (including front member #92 and rear member #93) connecting the additional pair of beams (left and right frame portions #91; figures 1, 2; column 10, lines 15-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2) in view of Yamada et al. (US 8480102 B2). While Tatsuwaki et al. appears to show connecting points on subframe (#25) for suspension components (figures 1, 3, 5, 9), Tatsuwaki et al. does not disclose wherein vehicle suspension components are mounted to the subframe. Yamada et al. teaches an apparatus for front impact structure (figures 1-3) for a vehicle, the apparatus comprising a pair of longitudinal beams (#11) and a subframe (#20), wherein vehicle suspension components (including lower arms #30) are mounted to the subframe (figures 1-3; column 4, lines 34-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tatsuwaki et al. to include vehicle suspension components mounted to the subframe, as taught by Yamada et al., so as to provide support to suspension arms that serve to suspend front wheels on the vehicle body (Yamada et al.: Abstract; columns 6-9).
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, 14, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell et al. (US 6938948 B1) in view of Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2).
In regards to claims 1-7, Cornell et al. discloses an apparatus for front impact structure (front frame structure #10) for a vehicle (#12), the apparatus comprising:
(claim 1) a pair of longitudinal beams (pair of main frame rails #22, 24) running parallel to the vehicle (#12) lengthwise (to the same extent as Applicant’s claimed invention; figures 3-5) and extending forward from a unibody structure (including side rails #16, 18, floor pan #14, and other body/frame structure of passenger compartment; figures 1, 3, 5) of the vehicle (#12), wherein the pair of longitudinal beams are configured to crush towards the unibody structure during an impact (has the ability to so perform; figures 2, 6, 7; column 4, line 61-column 7, line 5);
a subframe (engine cradle #26) mounted to the vehicle (#12) below the pair of longitudinal beams (#22, 24), wherein the subframe includes an additional pair of beams (side rails #34, 36) parallel to the pair of longitudinal beams (figures 1, 3-5, 8-10), wherein the additional pair of beams include indents (including bend initiating dimples #70, slots #74, locally thinning of the walls of the side rails #34, 36, or by including judiciously placed crush initiating dimples, beads or bend initiators, such as those shown at #60 in figure 9) for encouraging the additional pair of beams to bend during the impact (figures 2, 6, 7, 9-11; column 6, line 25-column 7, line 5), and wherein a portion (front of deformable forward section #38) of the pair of longitudinal beams forward of the subframe is configured to crush prior to compromising integrity of a remainder (portions of main frame rails #22, 24 other than front of deformable forward section #38) of the pair of longitudinal beams (figures 1-9; column 4, line 61-column 7, line 5);
(claim 2) wherein each longitudinal beam (#22, 24) of the pair of longitudinal beams crushes progressively after the portion (front of deformable forward section #38) crushes (figures 1-9; column 4, line 61-column 7, line 5);
(claim 3) wherein at least the portion (front of deformable forward section #38) crushes prior to the additional pair of beams (#34, 36) beginning to bend (column 5, lines 46-57: “Through judicious design of the above described components, the front frame structure 12 may be configured so that it is predisposed to collapse in a sequential fashion, during a frontal collision, whereby the front sections 38 of the main frame rails 22, 24 are predisposed to deform first...”);
(claim 4) wherein the additional pair of beams (#34, 36) does not receive impact energy until after the portion (front of deformable forward section #38) crushes (column 5, lines 46-57: “Through judicious design of the above described components, the front frame structure 12 may be configured so that it is predisposed to collapse in a sequential fashion, during a frontal collision, whereby the front sections 38 of the main frame rails 22, 24 are predisposed to deform first...”);
(claim 5) wherein brackets (at resilient mounts #50) separate the portion (front of deformable forward section #38) from the remainder (portions of main frame rails #22, 24 other than front of deformable forward section #38; figures 3, 4, 8, 9);
(claim 6) wherein a bumper (#20) is affixed to an end (front end) of the pair of the longitudinal beams (#22, 24) opposite from the unibody structure (figures 1, 3-5, 8, 9; column 4, line 43-column 5, line 6);
(claim 7) wherein the subframe (#26) further includes first and second cross members (two cross members, which are not labeled, but can be seen extending from #34 to #36 in figures 3, 5, 10) connecting the additional pair of beams (#34, 36).
In regards to claims 9-12 and 14, Cornell et al. discloses an apparatus for a vehicle structure (front frame structure #10) of a vehicle (#12), the apparatus comprising:
(claim 9) a first longitudinal beam (one of main frame rails #22, 24) running parallel to the vehicle (#12) lengthwise (to the same extent as Applicant’s claimed invention; figures 3-5);
a second longitudinal beam (other of main frame rails #22, 24) parallel to the first longitudinal beam, wherein portions (front of deformable forward section #38) of the first longitudinal beam and the second longitudinal beam forward of a first subframe beam and a second subframe beam (side rails #34, 36) running parallel to the first longitudinal beam and the second longitudinal beam are configured to crush prior to compromising integrity of remainders (portions of main frame rails #22, 24 other than front of deformable forward section #38) of the first longitudinal beam and the second longitudinal beam (figures 1- 9; column 4, line 61-column 7, line 5);
the first subframe beam and the second subframe beam (side rails #34, 36), wherein tops of the first subframe beam and the second subframe beam are less rigid than bottoms of the first subframe beam and the second subframe beam (due to bend initiating dimples #70, slots #74, locally thinning of the walls of the side rails #34, 36, or by including judiciously placed crush initiating dimples, beads or bend initiators, such as those shown at #60 in figure 9) so the first subframe beam and the second subframe beam bend upward when receiving impact energy (figures 2, 6, 7, 9-11; column 6, line 25-column 7, line 5);
(claim 10) wherein indents (including bend initiating dimples #70, slots #74, locally thinning of the walls of the side rails #34, 36, or by including judiciously placed crush initiating dimples, beads or bend initiators, such as those shown at #60 in figure 9) in the tops cause the tops to be less rigid (figures 6, 7, 9-11; column 6, line 25-column 7, line 5);
(claim 11) wherein the first subframe beam and the second subframe beam (#34, 36) are box beams and the indents (including bend initiating dimples #70, slots #74, locally thinning of the walls of the side rails #34, 36, or by including judiciously placed crush initiating dimples, beads or bend initiators, such as those shown at #60 in figure 9) are in upper corners of the box beams (figures 6, 7, 9-11);
(claim 12) wherein openings (including bend initiating dimples #70, slots #74, locally thinning of the walls of the side rails #34, 36, or by including judiciously placed crush initiating dimples, beads or bend initiators, such as those shown at #60 in figure 9) in the tops cause the tops to be less rigid (figures 6, 7, 9-11);
(claim 14) a plurality of brackets (at resilient mounts #50) separating the portions (front of deformable forward section #38) from the remainders (portions of main frame rails #22, 24 other than front of deformable forward section #38; figures 3, 4, 8, 9).
In regards to claims 16 and 18-20, Cornell et al. discloses an apparatus for a vehicle structure (figure 1), the apparatus comprising:
(claim 16) a unibody structure (including side rails #16, 18, floor pan #14, and other body/frame structure of passenger compartment; column 4, lines 28-34) for a passenger compartment (column 2, lines 5-11) of a vehicle (#12; figures 1, 3-5);
a primary crash structure (including pair of main frame rails #22, 24) comprising two longitudinal beams (#22, 24) running parallel to the vehicle (#12) lengthwise (to the same extent as Applicant’s claimed invention; figures 3-5) and connected at one end (rear end) to the unibody structure (figures 1, 3-5, 8; column 4, line 54-column 5, line 27), wherein a portion (front of deformable forward section #38) of the primary crash structure is configured to crush during a front impact before a secondary crash structure (including engine cradle #26) is impacted (has the ability to so perform; figures 2, 6, 7; column 4, line 61-column 7, line 5; specifically column 5, lines 46-57: “Through judicious design of the above described components, the front frame structure 12 may be configured so that it is predisposed to collapse in a sequential fashion, during a frontal collision, whereby the front sections 38 of the main frame rails 22, 24 are predisposed to deform first...”);
the secondary crash structure comprising a front subframe (engine cradle #26) for the vehicle (#12) connected to the unibody structure (figures 1, 3-5, 8; column 5, lines 28-46), wherein the front subframe is configured to bend upward when impacted after the primary crash structure (#22, 24) begins crushing (has the ability to so perform; figures 2, 6, 7, 11; column 4, line 61-column 7, line 5; specifically column 5, lines 46-57: “Through judicious design of the above described components, the front frame structure 12 may be configured so that it is predisposed to collapse in a sequential fashion, during a frontal collision, whereby the front sections 38 of the main frame rails 22, 24 are predisposed to deform first...”);
(claim 18) wherein the primary crash structure (#22, 24) progressively crushes in three stages with the portion (front of deformable forward section #38) comprising a first of the three stages (crush progression can include numerous stages based on location of deformable and nondeformable sections, force of impact, and direction of impact; columns 4-7);
(claim 19) wherein the front subframe (#26) begins to bend during a second (such as, after front sections #38 of main frame rails #22, 24 deform) of the three stages;
(claim 20) wherein indents (including bend initiating dimples #70, slots #74, locally thinning of the walls of the side rails #34, 36, or by including judiciously placed crush initiating dimples, beads or bend initiators, such as those shown at #60 in figure 9) in the front subframe (#26) cause the front subframe to bend upward (figures 2, 6, 7, 9-11; column 6, line 25-column 7, line 5).
Cornell et al. discloses wherein a portion (front of deformable forward section #38) of the pair of longitudinal beams (#22, 24) forward of the subframe (#26) is replaceable (has the ability to be replaced), but does not disclose wherein a portion of the pair of longitudinal beams forward of the subframe is replaceable independently from a remainder of the pair of longitudinal beams. Tatsuwaki et al. teaches an apparatus for front impact structure (vehicle front body structure #10) for a vehicle, as set forth above, wherein a portion (left and right bumper beam extensions #22) of the pair of longitudinal beams forward of the subframe (#25) is replaceable independently from a remainder (left and right front side frames #11) of the pair of longitudinal beams (has the ability to so perform, since left and right bumper beam extensions #22 are separate components attached to left and right front side frames #11 via mounting bracket #44, bolts #45, and nuts #46; figure 4; column 7, line 48-column 8, line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Cornell et al. such that a portion of the pair of longitudinal beams forward of the subframe is replaceable independently from a remainder of the pair of longitudinal beams, as taught by Tatsuwaki et al., for the predictable result of providing separate components attached together, which allow for more controlled crushing, bending, and energy absorption of each component of the front impact structure, with additional reinforcement from the mounting bracket between the components.
Claim(s) 8, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell et al. (US 6938948 B1) in view of Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2), further in view of Yamada et al. (US 8480102 B2). Cornell et al., as modified by Tatsuwaki et al., discloses wherein the front subframe (engine cradle #26) comprises a rectangle of beams (including side rails #34, 36 and two cross members; figures 3, 5, 10) to which vehicle propulsion (including “engine” from phrase “engine cradle”) is mounted, but does not disclose vehicle suspension components mounted to the subframe. Yamada et al. teaches an apparatus for front impact structure (figures 1-3) for a vehicle, the apparatus comprising a pair of longitudinal beams (#11) and a subframe (#20), wherein vehicle suspension components (including lower arms #30) are mounted to the subframe (figures 1-3; column 4, lines 34-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Cornell et al., as modified by Tatsuwaki et al., to include vehicle suspension components mounted to the subframe, as taught by Yamada et al., so as to provide support to suspension arms that serve to suspend front wheels on the vehicle body (Yamada et al.: Abstract; columns 6-9).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell et al. (US 6938948 B1) in view of Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2), further in view of Nagasawa (US 2023/0382458 A1). Cornell et al., as modified by Tatsuwaki et al., discloses the subframe (#26) is an engine cradle, but does not specifically disclose an electric motor mounted between the first and second longitudinal beams (#34, 36) of the subframe. Nagasawa teaches an apparatus for a vehicle subframe (including sub-frames #200, sub-cross members #210), wherein an electric motor (part of power unit #20; paragraphs 0025-0027) is mounted between first and second longitudinal beams (#200) of the subrame (figures 1, 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electric motor mounted between the first and second longitudinal beams as taught by Nagasawa, to improve the apparatus of Cornell et al., as modified by Tatsuwaki et al., for the predictable result of utilizing the apparatus of Cornell et al., as modified by Tatsuwaki et al., in a hybrid vehicle or an electric vehicle that includes an electric motor in a front portion of the frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to page 7, Applicant argues that Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2) does not disclose a pair of longitudinal beams running parallel to the vehicle lengthwise. Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2) and Cornell et al. (US 6938948 B1) both teach this feature to the same extent as Applicant’s claimed invention, which is to say that Applicant’s claimed invention discloses a pair of longitudinal beams (#101, 102) running substantially parallel to the vehicle lengthwise (figure 2).
In regards to page 7, Applicant argues that Tatsuwaki et al. (US 9751565 B2) discloses portions (left and right bumper beam extensions #22) of a pair of longitudinal beams (left and right front side frames #11) forward of a subframe (#25) are separate components that are affixed to the longitudinal beams. This argument merely supports Examiner’s prior art rejection since the independent claims require “a portion of the pair of longitudinal beams forward of the subframe is replaceable independently from a remainder of the pair of longitudinal beams”, and thus require that the crushable forward portion be a separable component that can be attached to and detached from the remainder of the longitudinal beams. In addition, Examiner makes note of previously cited references Sato (JP 2000-016327 A), Shinta et al. (US 7464964 B2), and Iwamoto (US 11661021 B2), which also teach a crushable portion of a pair of longitudinal beams forward of a subframe that is replaceable independently from a remainder of the pair of longitudinal beams.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614