CTNF 18/627,682 CTNF 84727 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 4-5, 10 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Claim 4, the recitations of “the resonant frequency corresponds to a desired transmission signal frequency” is not clear because as to how to determine the resonant frequency would corresponds to a desired transmission signal frequency since the desired transmission signal frequency is not clearly defined or specified. Further clarification is needed. In Claim 5, the recitations of “the resonant frequency is adjustable in response to a change in the desired transmission signal frequency” is not clear as to how the resonant frequency is adjustable in response to a change in the desired transmission signal frequency since the resonant frequency is adjustable does not appear in response to a change in the desired transmission signal frequency. Further clarification is needed. Claim 10 is rejected in the same manner as discussed in claim 5. In claim 22, the recitation of “the desired resonance frequency”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that claim 22 depend on claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 & 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Meck (US 7265618 B1 . Regarding claim 1 : Meck discloses in Fig. 3 (Col. 3, lines 26-28, bipolar transistors may be used), a power amplifier comprising: an input stage (stage include transistor M1) that includes a first amplifying transistor (transistor M1) having an input nod (far left node near capacitor C1) and an output node (far right node near inductor Lg), such that a signal at the input node has a first power level and an amplified signal at the output node has a second power level; a second stage (a stage include transistor M2) implemented relative to the output node that includes a second amplifying transistor (transistor M2); and an adjustable frequency resonant circuit (circuit which include inductor L6 and capacitor C8 & C9 wherein LC tank circuit includes L6 and L9 and a node between inductor Lg and capacitor C9 which provide a voltage signal by control voltage Vg2) implemented relative to an input of the second stage, configured to store energy of the amplified signal at the second power level. Regarding claims 4 & 5 as best understood : Meck discloses in Fig. 3 wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit (values of elements L6, C8, C9 which can be set and control signal Vg2), is configured to store energy (capacitors C8 and C9 for storage energy) of the amplified signal relative to a resonant frequency of the adjustable frequency resonant circuit (frequency would be affected by adjusting control signal Vg2), and wherein the resonant frequency inherent corresponds to a desired transmission signal frequency (any frequency which predetermine or preset); and (claim 5) wherein the resonant frequency is adjustable (control signal Vg2) inherent in response to a change in the desired transmission signal frequency (predetermine or preset frequency) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Szymanowski et al., (US 20210194440 A1, hereinafter, Szymanowski) . Regarding claim 30: Szymanowski discloses in Figs 1-5, a packaged module (232) comprising: a packaging substrate (substrate, par. (0027]); and a semiconductor die (semiconductor die, par. [0011]) mounted on the packaging substrate and including a power amplifier (amplifier, Fig. 5), the power amplifier including an input stage (stage include transistor 540) that includes an amplifying transistor (transistor 540) having an input node (node 502) and an output node (node 504), such that a signal at the input node has a first power level and an amplified signal at the output node has a second power level, the power amplifier further including a second stage (stage include transistor 572) implemented relative to the output node (504) that includes a second amplifying transistor (transistor 572), the power amplifier further including an adjustable frequency resonant circuit (form by inductor 552, capacitor 553 and control signal provide to the inductor 552 and capacitor 553) implemented relative to an input of the second stage, configured to store energy (capacitor 553) of the amplified signal at the second power level. Regarding claim 31: Szymanowski discloses in Figs 1-5, a wireless device (par. [0002], wireless devices, par. [0016], wireless system), comprising: an antenna (252, Fig. 2) configured to receive a signal; an amplifier assembly (232, Fig. 2 )in communication with the antenna (252) and configured to amplify the signal, the amplifier assembly including a power amplifier (amplifier 244 / 262, details amplifier in Fig. 5 ), including an input stage (stage includes transistor 540, Fig. 5) that includes an amplifying transistor (540) having an input node (502) and an output node (504), such that a signal at the input node has a first power level and an amplified signal at the output node has a second power level and a second stage (stage includes transistor 572) implemented relative to the output node that includes a second amplifying transistor (transistor 572), and further including an adjustable frequency resonant circuit (form by inductor 552, capacitor 553 and control signal provide to the inductor 552 and capacitor 553) implemented relative to an input of the second stage, configured to store energy of the amplified signal at the second power level; and a transceiver (see abstract and par. [0005], [0023], transceiver) in communication with the amplifier assembly and configured to process the amplified signal. Regarding claim 32: Szymanowski discloses in Figs 1-5, wherein the wireless device is a cellular phone (cellular and alternatively, any wireless system device, hence circuit of Szymanowski is suitable to use in the cellular phone or mobile phone) configured to operate in one or more cellular bands. Regarding claim 33: Szymanowski discloses in Figs 1-5, wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit is configured to store energy (capacitor 553 for storage energy) of the amplified signal relative to a resonant frequency of the adjustable frequency resonant circuit . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3, 6-10 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meck in view of Harris et al. (US 20120105147 A1, hereinafter Harris) . Regarding claims 2, 6 & 22 : Meck discloses in Fig. 3, wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit comprises a series LC tank circuit (inductor L6 and capacitor C9) except where capacitor is a varactor. Harris discloses in Fig. 12 an amplifier circuit comprising matching network that includes an inductor being connected to a varactor V10 (see [0074], varactor which is a variable capacitor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the capacitors C8 and C9 taught Meck with varactor as taught by Harris. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of efficiency, linearity and functional bandwidth and performance , see paragraph [0049]), last 3 lines, as taught by Harris, to Meck reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification. Accordingly, as an obvious consequence above, the combination (Meck in view of Harris) further discloses an adjustable capacitance (varactor V10 of Harris, adjustable capacitor) for tuning a resonant frequency of the series LC tank circuit. Regarding claim 3 : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) discloses further comprising an adjustable control voltage (impedance of LC circuit would be affected by control voltage Vg2 of Meck, Fig. 3) configured to set or adjust the adjustable capacitance of the series LC tank circuit. Regarding claim 6 : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) discloses wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit comprises a varactor (V10, Fig. 12 of Harris) in series with an inductance. Regarding claim 7 : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) discloses wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit (inductor in series with varactor (adjustable capacitor) where varactor may be tune for harmonic trap) comprises a harmonic trap with an adjustable resonant frequency. Regarding claim 8 : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) discloses wherein a resonant frequency of the adjustable frequency resonant circuit (varactor and inductor in series) is adjusted by adjusting a capacitance of the varactor (varactor V10). Regarding claim 9 : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) discloses wherein the capacitance of the varactor (V10 of Harris, varactor can be controlled by control circuit such as circuit 30 as shown in Fig. 9 of Harris) is controlled via an adjustable control voltage or an adjustable control current. Regarding claim 10 as be understood : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) discloses wherein a value of the adjustable control voltage (control signal Szc of circuit 30) or a value of the adjustable control current is inherent adjusted in response to a change in a desired transmission signal frequency (any preset frequency or predetermine). Regarding claim 22 as best understood : The combination (Meck in view of Harris) wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit includes a diode capacitance circuit (varactor is well-known as varicap which includes a diode and a capacitor) controlled by a control signal (control signal Szc of circuit 30) that depends on desired resonance frequency (any frequency, it is noted that no specific desire resonant frequency being defined by the applicant) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szymanowski in view of Harris et al. (US 20120105147 A1, hereinafter Harris) . Regarding claim 35: Szymanowski discloses in Figs. 1-5, wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit comprises a series LC tank circuit (inductor 552 and capacitor 553) except where capacitor is a varactor. Harris discloses in Fig. 12 an amplifier circuit comprising matching network that includes an inductor being connected to a varactor V10 (see [0074], varactor which is a variable capacitor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the capacitor 553 as taught Szymanowski with varactor as taught by Harris. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of efficiency, linearity and functional bandwidth and performance , see paragraph [0049]), last 3 lines, as taught by Harris, to Szymanowski reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification. Accordingly, as an obvious consequence above, the combination (Szymanowski in view of Harris) further discloses an adjustable capacitance (varactor V10 of Harris, adjustable capacitor) for tuning a resonant frequency of the series LC tank circuit . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11-13 & 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 11-13 are allowable since the closest prior (i.e., Meck) does not disclose wherein the varactor comprises two reverse-biased Schottky diodes arranged cathode to cathode, with a control voltage inserted at a node between the cathodes, the control voltage arranged to set or adjust a capacitance of the varactor. Claim 25 is allowable since the closet prior art (i.e., Meck) does not disclose wherein the adjustable frequency resonant circuit includes a first diode and a second diode arranged such that an anode of the first diode is on an input side of the variable capacitance circuit, and anode of the second diode is on an output side of the variable capacitance circuit, and cathodes of the first and second diodes are coupled to each other, and a control voltage being provided to a node between the cathodes of the first and second diodes. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHIEM D NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3941. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00 AM-5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jessica Han can be reached at (571) 272-2078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 2 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 3 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 4 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 5 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 6 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 7 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 8 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 9 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 10 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 11 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/627,682 Page 12 Art Unit: 2843