DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-9, 11, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mukhtarov et al. (US 2015/0042772A1) (hereinafter Mukhtarov).
Regarding claim 1, Mukhtarov discloses a display device (e.g., see abstract; Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a display panel (e.g., see Fig. 1: display panel 130) configured to display a plurality of 2D images (e.g., see abstract, paragraphs 0009, 0012: outputting 2D image frame);
an optical member (e.g., see Figs. 2-3: Lens module 132) configured to refract 2D image display light displayed in a display area of the display panel into a first refraction direction or a second refraction direction to output 3D stereoscopic image display light (e.g., see paragraphs 0017, 0018, 0025: controlling a direction of polarization of light output from the display panel to output 3D image frame; paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0056: outputting 2D and 3D image by controlling the refractive index performed by direction of light that output from the display panel 130); and
a display driver (e.g., see Fig. 2: image processor 120a) configured to control a refraction direction of the 3D stereoscopic image display light by dividing a 3D stereoscopic image display period of at least one frame into first and second time-division frames and supplying driving voltages (e.g., see Fig. 4, paragraph 0070: voltage V) to the optical member in each of the first and second time-division frames (e.g., see paragraphs 0054-0057: the controller 120a may control the panel module 131 to output light in a direction perpendicular to an orientation direction of the panel module 131, alternately displaying the 2D image frame and the 3D image frame; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0066-0071).
Regarding claim 2, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the optical member comprises: a first polarization member configured to output the 2D image display light displayed in the display area in a first linear polarization direction (e.g., see paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0017: polarization direction); a polarization control layer configured to output the 2D image display light in the first linear polarization direction incident through the first polarization member in the first linear polarization direction without change, or to output the 2D image display light as 3D stereoscopic image display light by converting a polarization direction of the 2D image display light into a second linear polarization direction (e.g., see paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0017: a polarization switch configured to be capable of switching the direction of polarization; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0059, 0064; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0068-0070); and a second polarization member configured to output the 2D image display light as the 3D stereoscopic image display light by converting the polarization direction of the 2D image display light in the first linear polarization direction incident through the polarization control layer into the second linear polarization direction, or to output the 3D stereoscopic image display light incident (e.g., see paragraphs 0011, 0053: incident light) in the second linear polarization in the second linear polarization direction without change (e.g., see paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0017: a polarization switch configured to be capable of switching the direction of polarization; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0059, 0064; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0068-0070).
Regarding claim 3, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the first polarization member comprises: a first base substrate (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40 uses a special coating or structure on a transparent substrate (like glass or fused silica) to filter light); a plurality of first anisotropic lenses configured to output the 2D image display light, which is incident through the first base substrate (e.g., see paragraphs 0010,0064: anisotropic lens), in the first linear polarization direction (e.g., see paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0017: direction of polarization; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0059, 0064; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0068-0070); and a first polarization electrode disposed on a front side of the first base substrate, wherein the first polarization electrode covers an entire front surface of the first base substrate, or is formed on a front side of the plurality of first anisotropic lenses and covers all of the plurality of first anisotropic lenses which are disposed on the front surface of the first base substrate (e.g., see paragraphs 0010,0064: anisotropic lens; Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40).
Regarding claim 4, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of first anisotropic lenses is formed in a half-cylindrical shape (e.g., see Fig. 3-4B: lens 31) and forms a light propagation path in the first linear polarization direction according to an arrangement of liquid crystals or slits included in each of the plurality of first anisotropic lenses, and outputs the 2D image display light in the first or second linear polarization direction incident through the first base substrate in the first linear polarization direction (e.g., see paragraphs 0010,0064: anisotropic lens; Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40, polarization direction and lens 31).
Regarding claim 5, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the polarization control layer outputs the 2D image display light in the first linear polarization direction incident through the plurality of first anisotropic lenses (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0010,0064: anisotropic lens) in the first linear polarization direction without change, or converts the polarization direction of the 2D image display light into the second linear polarization direction so that the 2D image display light is refracted in the first refraction direction (e.g., see paragraphs 0010, 0044, 0047: refracted light) along the first linear polarization direction at a boundary between the plurality of first anisotropic lenses and the polarization control layer (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40, polarization direction and lens 31; paragraphs 0010, 0064: anisotropic lens).
Regarding claim 6, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the second polarization member comprises: a second base substrate (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40, polarization direction and lens 31); a plurality of second anisotropic lenses disposed on a rear side of the second base substrate and configured to output the 3D stereoscopic image display light incident through the polarization control layer in the second linear polarization direction (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40 (substrate), polarization direction and lens 31); and a second polarization electrode disposed on the rear side of the second base substrate and covering an entire rear surface of the second base substrate, or formed on a rear side of each of the plurality of second anisotropic lenses and covering all of the plurality of second anisotropic lenses which are disposed on the rear surface of the second base substrate (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40, polarization direction and lens 31; paragraphs 0010, 0064: anisotropic lens).
Regarding claim 7, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of second anisotropic lenses is formed in a semi-circular concave lens shape and forms a light propagation path in the second linear polarization direction (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40, polarization direction and lens 31; paragraphs 0010, 0064: anisotropic lens) according to an arrangement of liquid crystals or slits included in each of the plurality of second anisotropic lenses (e.g., see paragraphs 0052, 0057, 0087: liquid crystal layer; also see paragraphs 0088, 0089), and outputs the 3D stereoscopic image display light incident through the first polarization control layer in the second linear polarization direction as the 3D stereoscopic image display light or as the 2D image display light by converting the second linear polarization direction into the first linear polarization direction (e.g., see paragraphs 0054-0057: the controller 120a may control the panel module 131 to output light in a direction perpendicular to an orientation direction of the panel module 131, alternately displaying the 2D image frame and the 3D image frame; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0066-0071).
Regarding claim 8, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the plurality of second anisotropic lenses outputs the 3D stereoscopic image display light in the second linear polarization direction incident through the polarization control layer in the first refraction direction without change (e.g., see paragraphs 0010, 0044, 0047: refracted light; Figs. 3-4B), and converts the 2D image display light in the first linear polarization direction incident through the polarization control layer into the second linear polarization direction so that the 2D image display light is refracted in the second refraction direction along the second linear polarization direction and is output as the 3D stereoscopic image display light (e.g., see paragraphs 0054-0057: the controller 120a may control the panel module 131 to output light in a direction perpendicular to an orientation direction of the panel module 131, alternately displaying the 2D image frame and the 3D image frame; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0066-0071).
Regarding claim 9, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the display driver supplies a reference voltage of a predetermined low-level equally to the first and second polarization electrodes during the first time-division frame among the first and second time-division frames (e.g., see Figs. 3-4, paragraphs 0059, 0070: voltage V or power), and supplies the reference voltage to the first polarization electrode and a predetermined driving voltage to the second polarization electrode during the second time-division frame among the first and second time-division frames (e.g., see Figs. 3-4, paragraphs 0059, 0070: voltage V or power).
Regarding claim 11, Mukhtarov discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of second anisotropic lenses outputs the 3D stereoscopic image display light (e.g., see Figs. 3-4B, paragraphs 0058, 0059: polarizing plate 40, polarization direction and lens 31; paragraphs 0010, 0064: anisotropic lens) in the second linear polarization direction incident through the polarization control layer in the first refraction direction without change (e.g., see paragraphs 0010, 0044, 0047: refracted light; Figs. 3-4B), and converts the 2D image display light in the first linear polarization direction incident through the polarization control layer into the second linear polarization direction so that the 2D image display light is refracted in the second refraction direction along the second linear polarization direction and is output as the 3D stereoscopic image display light (e.g., see paragraphs 0054-0057: the controller 120a may control the panel module 131 to output light in a direction perpendicular to an orientation direction of the panel module 131, alternately displaying the 2D image frame and the 3D image frame; also see Figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 0066-0071).
Regarding claim 15, it contains the limitations of claims 1 and 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 16, it contains the limitations of claims 9 and 15, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 17, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 18, it contains the limitations of claims 6 and 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 19, it contains the limitations of claims 8 and 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 20, it contains the limitations of claims 11 and 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 10, 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein the polarization control layer outputs the 2D image display light in the first linear polarization direction incident through the plurality of first anisotropic lenses in the first linear polarization direction without change by a voltage difference between the reference voltage and the predetermined driving voltage, or converts the polarization direction of the 2D image display light into the second linear polarization direction so that the 2D image display light is refracted in the first refraction direction along the first linear polarization direction at a boundary between the plurality of first anisotropic lenses and the polarization control layer; wherein each of the first anisotropic lenses is convex and each of the second anisotropic lenses is concave, wherein a width and a length of each of the plurality of first anisotropic lenses are equal to a width and a length of each of the plurality of second anisotropic lenses, and wherein a maximum height of each of the first anisotropic lenses is equal to or greater than a maximum depth of each of the second anisotropic lenses; wherein the plurality of first anisotropic lenses and the plurality of second anisotropic lenses face each other and are shifted by about ½ spacing in either direction of an x-axis direction or a y-axis direction, and are arranged such that lowest portions of the plurality of second anisotropic lenses are in line with highest portions of the first anisotropic lenses; wherein a distance between the plurality of first anisotropic lenses and the plurality of second anisotropic lenses facing each other is equal to or greater than the maximum height of each of the first anisotropic lenses.
Conclusion
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486