Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagaya (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0035684).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Nagaya discloses a SiC semiconductor device including a SiC semiconductor layer composed of SiC single crystal [0003], the SiC semiconductor layer comprising: a mounted surface (10a) on which an element (30) is mounted; a non-mounted surface (10b) opposed to the mounted surface; and a side surface (12, 13) connecting the mounted surface to the non-mounted surface, wherein the side surface is on a cleavage plane of the SiC single crystal.
Regarding Claim 2
The limitation “the amount (area ratio) of an area having crystal defects detected over the side surface of the SiC semiconductor layer by means of an EBSD (Electron Backscatter Diffraction Pattern) analysis is 10% or less” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 5
The limitation “the SiC semiconductor device is produced by forming a scribe line on a SiC semiconductor wafer using a scribing tool and then applying an external force along the scribe line to divide the SiC semiconductor wafer” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 6
The limitation “the second side region originates from a vertical crack generated by forming the scribe line, and the first side region is a divided surface formed by applying the external force along the scribe line to divide the SiC semiconductor wafer” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 7
The limitation “on the side surface of the SiC semiconductor layer, the vertical crack surface is adjacent to the mounted surface, and the divided surface is adjacent to the non-mounted surface” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 8
The limitation “on the side surface of the SiC semiconductor layer, the vertical crack surface is adjacent to the non-mounted surface, and the divided surface is adjacent to the mounted surface” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 9
The limitation “a thickness of which the vertical crack surface extends along a thickness direction of the SiC semiconductor layer is 20% or less of a thickness of the SiC semiconductor layer” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113. For example, [0013] of US 20220025546 discloses a method for thermal post-treatment of SiC crystals which allows to reduce stress in crystals. JP 2014013812 discloses use of a cutting blade to reduce crack.
Regarding Claim 10
The limitation “a horizontal arithmetic mean surface roughness (Ra, horizontal) along the horizontal direction is equal to or more than a vertical arithmetic mean surface roughness (Ra, vertical) along the horizontal direction to satisfy Ra [vertical crack surface, horizontal] ≤ Ra [divided surface, horizontal]” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueno (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0234007).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Ueno discloses a SiC semiconductor device including a SiC semiconductor layer composed of SiC single crystal [0094], the SiC semiconductor layer comprising: a mounted surface (3) on which an element is mounted; a non-mounted surface (4) opposed to the mounted surface; and a side surface (21, 22) connecting the mounted surface to the non-mounted surface, wherein the side surface is on a cleavage plane of the SiC single crystal.
Claims 11-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuji (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0069926).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 23 of Fuji discloses a SiC semiconductor device containing a SiC [0404] semiconductor layer (1) composed of SiC single crystal, the SiC semiconductor layer comprising: a mounted surface (2) on which an element (53) is mounted; a non-mounted surface (3) opposed to the mounted surface; (FIG. 24) a first pair of side surfaces connecting the mounted surface to the non-mounted surface and opposing to each other, each of the first pair of side surfaces being on a cleavage plane of the SiC single crystal; and a second pair of side surfaces connecting the mounted surface to the non-mounted surface and opposing to each other, wherein each of the second pair of side surfaces includes first (52) and second (51) side regions, one of the first and second side regions being adjacent to the mounted surface and another one of the first and second side regions being adjacent to the non-mounted surface, and the first side region is inclined to the second side region by a predetermined angle.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 24 of Fuji discloses one of the second pair of side surfaces has a ridge line where the first side region meets the second side region, and another one of the second pair of side surfaces has a valley line where the first side region meets the second side region.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 24 of Fuji discloses the predetermined angle (C) between the first side region and the second side region is within the range of 0.1° to 10° [0151].
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 24 of Fuji discloses the second side region is inclined by a given angle (A) within the range of 80° to 100°, to either one of the mounted surface or the non-mounted surface which is adjacent to the second side region [0151].
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 24 of Fuji discloses the first side region is on a {11-20} plane of the SiC single crystal [0140].
Regarding Claim 16
The limitation “wherein the SiC semiconductor device is produced by forming a scribe line on a SiC semiconductor wafer using a scribing tool and then applying an external force along the scribe line to divide the SiC semiconductor wafer” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 17
The limitation “the second side region originates from a vertical crack generated by forming the scribe line, and the first side region is a divided surface formed by applying the external force along the scribe line to divide the SiC semiconductor wafer” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 24 of Fuji discloses the first side region is adjacent to the mounted surface, and the second side region is adjacent to the non-mounted surface.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 9 of Fuji discloses a thickness of which the second side region extends along a thickness direction of the SiC semiconductor layer is 20% or less of a thickness of the SiC semiconductor layer [0207-0208].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 9 of Fuji discloses an angle between one of the non-mounted surface or the mounted surface and the first side region adjacent to the one of the non-mounted surface or the mounted surface is closer to 90° than another angle between another one of the mounted surface or the non-mounted surface and the second side region adjacent to the another one of the mounted surface or the non-mounted surface [0151].
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0068195).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 20 of Harada discloses a SiC semiconductor device containing a SiC [0106] semiconductor layer (20) composed of SiC single crystal, the SiC semiconductor layer comprising: a mounted surface (20A) on which an element is mounted [0110]; a non-mounted surface opposed to the mounted surface; a first pair of side surfaces (20B) connecting the mounted surface to the non-mounted surface and opposing to each other, each of the first pair of side surfaces being on a cleavage plane of the SiC single crystal; and a second pair of side surfaces connecting the mounted surface to the non-mounted surface and opposing to each other, wherein each of the second pair of side surfaces includes first and second side regions, one of the first and second side regions being adjacent to the mounted surface and another one of the first and second side regions being adjacent to the non-mounted surface, and the first side region is inclined to the second side region by a predetermined angle [0110].
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 3 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaya, in view of Shibata (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0206842).
Regarding Claim 3
Nagaya discloses Claim 1.
Nagaya is silent with respect to “in a middle portion of the side surface along a thickness direction of the SiC semiconductor layer, each of a vertical surface roughness (maximum height Rz, vertical) along the thickness direction and a horizontal surface roughness (maximum height Rz, horizontal) along a horizontal direction orthogonal to the thickness direction is 5 μm or less”.
Shibata discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein in a middle portion of the side surface along a thickness direction of the SiC semiconductor layer, each of a vertical surface roughness (maximum height Rz, vertical) along the thickness direction and a horizontal surface roughness (maximum height Rz, horizontal) along a horizontal direction orthogonal to the thickness direction is 5 μm or less [0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagaya, as taught by Shibata. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nagaya in the above manner for purpose of reducing optical coupling loss ([0006] of Shibata).
Furthermore, the limitation “the second side region originates from a vertical crack generated by forming the scribe line, and the first side region is a divided surface formed by applying the external force along the scribe line to divide the SiC semiconductor wafer” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113. For example, US 20040134418 discloses a method to obtain a surface roughness of about 10nm to about 1000nm [0020]. [0041] of US 20110265616 discloses the roughness depends on the feed rate per revolution. Other references include US 20170073837 and JP 2012044040.
Regarding Claim 4
The limitation “a horizontal arithmetic mean surface roughness (Ra, horizontal) along the horizontal direction is equal to or more than a vertical arithmetic mean surface roughness (Ra, vertical) along the horizontal direction to satisfy Ra [horizontal direction]≥Ra [vertical direction]” is related to process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Pertinent Art
US 20040266138.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897