DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the identified first column,” “the lowest threshold value” and “the threshold value in the identified first column” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the threshold values in the cells” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites both “the identified first column” and “the first column.” While it is believed these two terms are intended to refer to the same thing, the claim is nonetheless indefinite. Correction is required.
Because all other claims depend from claim 1, they are also rejected on this basis.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is not understood what “circularizing” is intended to mean within the context of the claims.
Because claim 4 depends from claim 3, it is also rejected on this basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metcalfe et al. (8,955,937) in view of Mizutani (8,139,267).
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 16, Metcalfe teaches a method for compensating for defective ink jets comprising:
for an original screen including cells (fig. 5C, items 520) arranged in columns and rows (fig. 5C, note columns 514 and unlabeled rows), each cell comprising a threshold value (see fig. 5C, note threshold values of 1 or 0 depending on whether a droplet is to be ejected), identifying a first column (fig. 5C, column corresponding to nozzle 508C) in the original screen corresponding to a defective inkjet in a marking device (see fig. 5C);
generating a permuted screen (fig. 5D) from the original screen with a protocol which includes:
(a) for each row in the original screen, providing for swapping a threshold value of a cell in the identified first column with threshold values in cells of neighboring columns, such that the first column assumes the lowest threshold value of: the threshold value in the identified first column, a threshold value in a first of the neighboring columns, and a threshold value in a second of the neighboring columns; and
storing the permuted screen for an input image to be printed by the marking device (see fig. 5D, Note that the lowest threshold value 0 is swapped with the larger threshold value of 1 in rows where a pixel is to be printed with the defective nozzle. Note first and second neighboring columns).
Metcalfe does expressly not teach wherein the original screen and the permuted screen are halftone screens.
Mizutani teaches halftone screens with threshold values that are converted to values for using nozzles to print or not print in pixels (Mizutani, see fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a halftoning printing scheme, as disclosed by Mizutani, with the defective nozzle compensation scheme disclosed by Metcalfe because doing so would amount to combining prior art teachings according to known methods to obtain predictable results. In other words, because Metcalfe does not go into any specific image processing scheme for image formation, and Mizutani does not go into detail about any process for compensating for defective nozzles, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at a more comprehensive printing device.
Upon combination of the two teachings, higher threshold values would correspond with cells not to be printed as shown in Mizutani, and applying this to the compensation scheme of Metcalfe would yield a process whereby the rows corresponding to the defective nozzle would apply the highest threshold value in the row to the column with the defective nozzle, swapping threshold values.
Regarding claim 2, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in (a), where the threshold values in the cells of the first and second neighboring columns are both larger than the threshold value of the cell in the identified first column, the protocol includes swapping the threshold value of the cell in the identified first column with a smaller one of the threshold values in the cells of the first and second of the neighboring columns, followed by swapping the threshold value currently in the cell in the identified first column with the threshold value in the other of the first and second neighboring columns (Note that, upon combination of Mizutani with Metcalfe, the limitation would be met. That is, while Metcalfe teaches swapping binary threshold numbers, it would have been obvious given Mizutani’s greyscale threshold value assignation to swap the threshold value of the first column with the highest of the neighboring columns so as to keep the threshold value of the cell in the first column as close to a value corresponding to zero ink ejection as possible).
Regarding claim 3, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the protocol further includes: (b) circularizing the threshold values in the first column in a first direction; (c) after step (b), repeating step (a); (d) circularizing the threshold values in the first column in a second direction, opposite to the first direction (Metcalfe, see fig. 5, Note that the neighboring columns to the first column on both sides are evaluated in a circular fashion to determine a proper swapping cell for the cell in the first column).
Regarding claim 4, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the protocol further includes: (e) circularizing the threshold values in the first column in the second direction; (f) after step (e), repeating step (a); and (h) circularizing the threshold values in the first column in the first direction (Metcalfe, see fig. 5, Note that the neighboring columns to the first column on both sides are evaluated in a circular fashion to determine a proper swapping cell for the cell in the first column).
Regarding claim 5, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the protocol includes at least two iterations, wherein in a first of the iterations, the neighboring columns are each spaced from the first column by one cell, and in a second of the iterations, the neighboring columns are each spaced from the first column by more than one cell (Metcalfe, see fig. 5, Note that the neighboring columns can be either one or two cells away from the first column).
Regarding claim 6, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 5, wherein in the second of the iterations, the neighboring columns are each spaced from the first column by two cells (Metcalfe, see fig. 5, Note that the neighboring columns can be either one or two cells away from the first column).
Regarding claim 7, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 6, wherein in a third of the iterations, the neighboring columns are each spaced from the first column by three cells (Metcalfe, see figs. 3, 5, Note that, while Figure 5 shows an abbreviated representation of the number of nozzles used for the process, Figure 3 shows the more accurate representation of hundreds of nozzles, which would result in neighboring cells three and more columns away from the first column).
Regarding claim 8, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the original screen comprises a first row of sub-screens, the method comprising performing the protocol for each of the sub-screens in the first row that include a first column corresponding to a respective defective inkjet in the marking device and assembling the permuted subscreens to form the permuted screen (Metcalfe, see figs. 3, 5, Note that, while Figure 5 shows an abbreviated representation of the number of nozzles used for the process, Figure 3 shows the more accurate representation of hundreds of nozzles, which would result in neighboring cells three and more columns away from the first column. Note that, extrapolating the representation in Figure 5 over all nozzles represented in Figure 3, there would be any number of rows of subscreens and permuted subscreens).
Regarding claim 9, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the original screen comprises a plurality of rows of sub-screens, the method comprises repeating the permuted subscreens to form a plurality of rows of the permuted screen (Metcalfe, see figs. 3, 5, Note that, while Figure 5 shows an abbreviated representation of the number of nozzles used for the process, Figure 3 shows the more accurate representation of hundreds of nozzles, which would result in neighboring cells three and more columns away from the first column. Note that, extrapolating the representation in Figure 5 over all nozzles represented in Figure 3, there would be any number of rows of subscreens and permuted subscreens).
Regarding claim 10, 17 and 18, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the marking device comprises a plurality of printheads, a first of the printheads ejecting a first ink through respective inkjets and a second of the printheads ejecting a second ink through respective inkjets, the method including generating a first permuted halftone screen from the original halftone screen with the protocol to compensate for defective ink jets in the first printhead and generating a second permuted halftone screen from the original halftone screen or from another halftone screen with the protocol to compensate for defective ink jets in the second printhead (Metcalfe, see fig. 6, Note that there is a plurality of printheads, each of the printheads using its own halftone screens and compensation protocols to arrive at permuted halftone screens).
Regarding claim 11, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein step (a) is performed with a processor including hardware (Metcalfe, see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising detecting the defective inkjets, the detecting including rendering a halftone test pattern with the marking device to generate a printed image and evaluating the printed image (Metcalfe, cols. 6-7, lines 65-17).
Regarding claim 13, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the identifying of the first column in the original halftone screen corresponding to a defective inkjet includes accessing a data structure which lists pixels in the original halftone screen corresponding to the defective inkjet (Metcalfe, see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Metcalfe in view of Mizutani teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising halftoning an input image with the permuted screen to generate a halftone image and printing an output image with the marking device, using the halftone image (Note that, upon combination, the claimed limitation is met).
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853