DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and amendments filed on 02/04/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-13, 15-20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed on 02/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-6, 13-14, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Inoguchi in view of Fowe EP 3 745 087 B1 (the reference was provided by the examiner on 11/20/2025, hence Fowe) as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 13-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoguchi et al US 2009/0292456 A1 (hence Inoguchi) in view of Fowe EP 3 745 087 B1 (hence Fowe).
In re claims 1, 13, and 19, Inoguchi discloses a traffic information generating method for generating traffic information about a road on which a vehicle travels (Abstract) and teaches the following:
receiving driving data from a plurality of vehicles within a sampling region (Fig.12 and Paragraph 0147 “the representative congestion degrees for the same link generated by plural vehicles”), the driving data including speeds (Fig.3, #11, Paragraph 0059 “a vehicle speed sensor” and Paragraph 0060 “The communication device 13 is configured to transmit vehicle information to the vehicle information center 5”), positions (Fig.3, #14 “GPS”, and Paragraph 0060 ““The communication device 13 is configured to transmit vehicle information to the vehicle information center 5”), and lane change activity of the plurality of vehicles (The BRI of the claim is a vehicle turning at intersection, Fig.9, and Paragraph 0093 “an example of congestion degrees detected at the time of a right turn”, furthermore, said data is collected and never used in claims 1, 13, and 19);
identifying first locations of one or more back of queue samples based on the driving data (Fig.2, step 1, data collected to the left side of the chart that corresponds to Link 1 of steps 3-4, and Paragraph 0050 “in the example of FIG. 2, there are five links delimited by dotted lines. Such link information may be obtained from a map data storing unit 15 of a car navigation system shown in FIG. 3B”, and “allocating the congestion information to the individual links” read on locations);
each of the one or more back of queue samples indicating a location of a rear portion of a vehicle queue (Fig.13, and Paragraph 0158 (b), and Paragraph 0159);
identifying second locations of one or more front of queue samples based on the driving data (Fig.2, step 1, data collected to the right side of the chart that corresponds to Links 4-5 of steps 3-4, and Paragraph 0050 “in the example of FIG. 2, there are five links delimited by dotted lines. Such link information may be obtained from a map data storing unit 15 of a car navigation system shown in FIG. 3B”, and “allocating the congestion information to the individual links” read on locations);
each of the one or more front of queue samples indicating a location of a front portion of a vehicle queue (Fig.13, and Paragraph 0158 (a), and Paragraph 0159);
performing cluster analysis on the first locations and the second locations (Fig.2, S3 and Paragraph 0048 “When equal congestion degrees continue in a section, the section is regarded as a continuation of the same congestion degree”);
identifying one or more clusters of back of queue samples and one or more clusters of front of queue samples based on the cluster analysis (Fig.2, S4, and Paragraph 0049 “links (which are roads connecting intersections) are allocated individual congestion degrees”, and Fig.13, (a), (b), and (c), and Paragraphs 0158-0170);
determining a number of lane-level traffic jams within the sampling region based on a number of clusters of back of queue samples identified and a number of clusters of front of queue samples identified (Fig.2, S5, Link1 – Link4, Paragraph 0050 “By allocating the congestion information to the individual links, the degree of congestion of an individual link as a whole and the more detailed congestion degree information within the link can be detected” and Paragraphs 0145 and 0149 that detail S5, wherein Paragraph 0149 discloses “the congestion location grouping unit 12e generates detailed congestion degrees within the link from the vehicle information about the plural vehicles”, and Fig.13, (a), (b), and (c), and Paragraphs 0158-0170)
However, Inoguchi doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
autonomously controlling a vehicle based on the determined number of lane-level traffic jams within the sampling region
Nevertheless, Fowe discloses determining lane level speed profiles, and more particularly, to using historical vehicle speed data to establish speed profiles on a lane level of granularity for road segments and for a series of road segments (Abstract) and teaches the following:
autonomously controlling a vehicle based on the determined number of lane-level traffic jams within the sampling region (Paragraphs 0036 and 0038)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the reference to include the autonomous control of a vehicle, as taught by Fowe, in order to provide instructions for directing travel of a vehicle in the identified lane based on traffic (Fowe, Paragraph 0008).
In re claim 2, Fowe teaches the following:
using K-means clustering to determine the number of clusters of back of queue samples and the number of clusters of front of queue samples (Paragraph 0006)
In re claims 5 and 14, Inoguchi teaches the following:
identifying the one or more back of queue samples where a speed of one or more of the plurality of vehicles drops below a first threshold (Fig.2, Link 1 to link 2 where congestion increases from V to IV, see Paragraph 0044);
and identifying the one or more front of queue samples where a speed of one or more of the plurality of vehicles increases above a second threshold (Fig.2, Link 4 to link 5 where congestion increases from I to V, see Paragraph 0044)
In re claim 6, Inoguchi teaches the following:
wherein the number of lane-level traffic jams within the sampling region is equal to a maximum of the number of clusters of back of queue samples and the number of clusters of front of queue samples (Paragraph 0050 “there are five links delimited by dotted lines” which add up to the entire link)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoguchi in view of Fowe and further in view of Adcock et al US 2023/0179604 A1 (hence Adcock).
In re claim 3, Inoguchi discloses the claimed invention as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
performing Silhouette analysis to determine the number of clusters of back of queue samples and the number of clusters of front of queue samples
Nevertheless, Adcock discloses a system to receive user profile data for a plurality of users and user activity data associated with each user (Abstract) and teaches the following:
performing Silhouette analysis to determine the number of clusters of back of queue samples and the number of clusters of front of queue samples (Paragraph 0049 “the optimum number of clusters may be determined based on performing a silhouette analysis”, and Paragraph 0070 “implementations of the disclosed technology can be utilized with automobiles”)
perform clustering analysis”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Inoguchi reference to include performing Silhouette analysis to determine the number of clusters, as taught by Adcock, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for determining an optimum number of clusters (Adcock, Paragraph 0062).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-12, 15-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669