Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/05/2024 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference characters “30a”, “30b” and “30c” has been used in the drawings (Fig 2), however specification does not mention them. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “30a”, “30b” and “30c” has been used in the drawings (Fig 2), however disclosure does not mention them. The reference character “56” has been used to designate both as “programing module” and as “fourth priority outlet” (Fig 4), [0031].
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a priority system” in Claims 1, 15 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
● In Claim 15, Line 5, “circuits” should be changed to read - - circuit outlets - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Collie (US 2013/0293023) in view of Sorenson (US 11,271,399).
Regarding Claim 1, Collie (In Fig 1) disclose a portable power distribution system (28) comprising:
a portable generator ( 24) comprising:
a frame (28);
a plurality of wheels (48) connected to the frame (28) that enable the portable generator (24) to be propelled from a first location to a second location (Fig 1);
a plurality of circuit outlets (52) associated with the portable generator (24) to provide power to a plurality of devices (Load, ¶ 29, II. 9-14), however Collie does not disclose wherein a priority system associated with the plurality of circuit outlets configured to allow a user to prioritize the plurality of circuit outlets used with the plurality of devices.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) teaches wherein a priority system (50), (Col 10, II. 26-30) associated with the plurality of circuit outlets (20) configured to allow a user to prioritize the plurality of circuit outlets used with the plurality of devices (1), (Col 10, II. 26-30), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with a priority system associated with the plurality of circuit outlets configured to allow a user to prioritize the plurality of circuit outlets used with the plurality of devices to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 2, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of circuit outlets comprises a first circuit outlet and a second circuit outlet; wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output; wherein power to the first outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is reached; and wherein power to the second outlet is terminated when the designated maximum power output is reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the plurality of circuit outlets (20) comprises a first circuit outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) and a second circuit outlet (25, 26); wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24); wherein power to the first outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) is maintained when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached; and wherein power to the second outlet (25, 26) is terminated when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with the plurality of circuit outlets comprising a first circuit outlet and a second circuit outlet; wherein the portable generator having a designated maximum power output; and power to the first outlet being maintained when the designated maximum power output being reached; and wherein power to the second outlet being terminated when the designated maximum power output being reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of circuit outlets comprises a first circuit outlet, a second circuit outlet, and a third circuit outlet; wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output; wherein power to the first outlet and second outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is initially reached; and wherein power to the third outlet is terminated when the maximum power output is initially reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the plurality of circuit outlets (20) comprises a first circuit outlet (21, 22), a second circuit outlet (23, 24), and a third circuit outlet (25, 26); wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24); wherein power to the first outlet (21, 22) and second outlet (23, 24) is maintained when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is initially reached; and wherein power to the third outlet (25, 26) is terminated when the maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is initially reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with the plurality of circuit outlets comprising a first circuit outlet, a second circuit outlet, and a third circuit outlet; wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output; wherein power to the first outlet and second outlet being maintained when the designated maximum power output being initially reached; and wherein power to the third outlet being terminated when the maximum power output being initially reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of circuit outlets comprises a first plurality of circuit outlets and a second plurality of circuit outlets; wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output; wherein power to the first plurality of circuit outlets is maintained when the designated maximum power output is reached; and wherein power to the second plurality of outlets is terminated when the designated maximum power output is reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the plurality of circuit outlets (20) comprises a first plurality of circuit outlets (21/22/23/24) and a second plurality of circuit outlets (25/26); wherein the portable generator has a designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24); wherein power to the first plurality of circuit outlets (21/22/23/24) is maintained when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached; and wherein power to the second plurality of outlets (25/26) is terminated when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with the plurality of circuit outlets comprising a first plurality of circuit outlets and a second plurality of circuit outlets; wherein the portable generator having a designated maximum power output; wherein power to the first plurality of circuit outlets being maintained when the designated maximum power output being reached; and wherein power to the second plurality of outlets being terminated when the designated maximum power output being reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 9, Collie (In Fig 1) disclose a method of using a portable power distribution system (28), comprising the steps of: supplying a portable generator (24) having a plurality of circuit outlets (52); inserting power cords (¶ 23, II. 11-15) associated with a plurality of devices (Load, ¶ 29, II. 9-14) into the plurality of circuit outlets (52), however Collie does not disclose prioritizing the power supplied to each of the plurality of circuit outlets.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) teaches prioritizing the power supplied to each of the plurality of circuit outlets (20), (Col 10, II. 26-30), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with prioritizing the power supplied to each of the plurality of circuit outlets to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 10, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the method further comprising the steps of: providing power to a first circuit outlet and a second circuit outlet; monitoring the total power supplied to the first circuit outlet and the second circuit outlet; comparing the total power to a maximum power output; maintaining power supply to the first circuit outlet when the maximum power output is reached; and terminating power supply to the second circuit outlet when the maximum power output is reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the method further comprising the steps of: providing power to a first circuit outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) and a second circuit outlet (25, 26); monitoring the total power supplied to the first circuit outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) and the second circuit outlet (25, 26); comparing the total power to a maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24); maintaining power supply to the first circuit outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) when the maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached; and terminating power supply to the second circuit outlet (25, 26) when the maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with providing power to a first circuit outlet and a second circuit outlet; monitoring the total power supplied to the first circuit outlet and the second circuit outlet; comparing the total power to a maximum power output; maintaining power supply to the first circuit outlet when the maximum power output is reached; and terminating power supply to the second circuit outlet when the maximum power output is reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 11, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the method further comprising the steps of: providing power to a first plurality of circuit outlets and a second plurality of circuit outlets; monitoring the total power supplied to the first plurality of circuit outlets and the second plurality of circuit outlets; comparing the total power to a maximum power output; maintaining power supply to the first plurality of circuit outlets when the maximum power output is reached; and terminating power supply to the second plurality of circuit outlets when the maximum power output is reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the method further comprising the steps of: providing power to a first plurality of circuit outlets (21/22/23/24) and a second plurality of circuit outlets (25/26); monitoring the total power supplied to the first plurality of circuit outlets (21/22/23/24) and the second plurality of circuit outlets (25/26); comparing the total power to a maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24); maintaining power supply to the first plurality of circuit outlets (21/22/23/24) when the maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached; and terminating power supply to the second plurality of circuit outlets (25/26) when the maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with the method further comprising the steps of: providing power to a first plurality of circuit outlets and a second plurality of circuit outlets; monitoring the total power supplied to the first plurality of circuit outlets and the second plurality of circuit outlets; comparing the total power to a maximum power output; maintaining power supply to the first plurality of circuit outlets when the maximum power output is reached; and terminating power supply to the second plurality of circuit outlets when the maximum power output is reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 14, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the method further comprising the step of providing at least one power strip.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the method further comprising the step of providing at least one power strip (Col 7, II. 58-64).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with the method further comprising the step of providing at least one power strip to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 15, Collie (In Fig 1) disclose a portable power distribution system (28), however Coliie does not disclose wherein a portable power strip; a plurality of circuit outlets associated with the portable power strip to provide power to a plurality of devices; and a priority system associated with the plurality of circuits configured to allow a user to prioritize the plurality of circuit outlets used with the plurality of devices.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) teaches wherein a portable power strip (Col 7, II. 58-64); a plurality of circuit outlets (20) associated with the portable power strip (Col 7, II. 58-64) to provide power to a plurality of devices (1); and a priority system (50), (Col 10, II. 26-30) associated with the plurality of circuits (20) configured to allow a user to prioritize the plurality of circuit outlets (20) used with the plurality of devices (1), (Col 10, II. 26-30), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with a portable power strip; a plurality of circuit outlets associated with the portable power strip to provide power to a plurality of devices; and a priority system associated with the plurality of circuits configured to allow a user to prioritize the plurality of circuit outlets used with the plurality of devices to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 16, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 15, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the portable power strip comprises: a first outlet; and a second outlet; wherein power to the first outlet is maintained when the portable power strip reaches a maximum power output; and wherein power to the second outlet is terminated when the portable power strip reaches the maximum power output.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the portable power strip (Col 7, II. 58-64) comprises: a first outlet (21, 22, 23, 24); and a second outlet (25, 26); wherein power to the first outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) is maintained when the portable power strip (Col 7, II. 58-64) reaches a maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24); and wherein power to the second outlet is terminated when the portable power strip reaches the maximum power output. (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24), (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with the portable power strip comprising a first outlet; and a second outlet; wherein power to the first outlet being maintained when the portable power strip reaches a maximum power output; and wherein power to the second outlet being terminated when the portable power strip reaches the maximum power output to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Claims 6-8, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Shurchkov (WO2013109169).
For the purpose of citation, Examiner used machine translation of WO2013109169, said translation has been provided herewith to the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 6, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the portable power distribution system further comprising a visual indicator identifying the order of importance of the plurality of circuit.
Instead, Shurchkov (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the portable power distribution system (mobile device, Technical Challenge, II. 5-11) further comprising a visual indicator (6) identifying the order of importance of the plurality of circuit outlets (Technical Solution, II. 1-13), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson and further with Shurchkov with the portable power distribution system further comprising a visual indicator identifying the order of importance of the plurality of circuit to benefit from increasing the efficiency of using the allocated power through targeted control of non-priority loads for connection on the basis of plug and play principle (Shurchkov, Mobile Device and Method of Address Management of Non-Priority Load, II. 5-9 ).
Regarding Claim 7, Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Shurchkov discloses the limitations of Claim 6, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the visual indicator is one or more LED light indicators.
Instead, Shurchkov (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the visual indicator (6) is one or more LED light indicators (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson and further with Shurchkov with the visual indicator being one or more LED light indicators to benefit from increasing the efficiency of using the allocated power through targeted control of non-priority loads for connection on the basis of plug and play principle (Shurchkov, Mobile Device and Method of Address Management of Non-Priority Load, II. 5-9 ).
Regarding Claim 8, Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Shurchkov discloses the limitations of Claim 7, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the one or more LED light indicators are configured to display one or more of load percentage or usage.
Instead, Shurchkov (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the one or more LED light indicators (6) are configured to display one or more of load percentage or usage (Technical Solution, II. 1-13), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson and further with Shurchkov with the one or more LED light indicators are configured to display one or more of load percentage or usage to benefit from increasing the efficiency of using the allocated power through targeted control of non-priority loads for connection on the basis of plug and play principle (Shurchkov, Mobile Device and Method of Address Management of Non-Priority Load, II. 5-9 ).
Regarding Claim 12, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the method further comprising the step of activating a visual indicator to identify the order of importance of the plurality of circuit outlets.
Instead, Shurchkov (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the method further comprising the step of activating a visual indicator (6) to identify the order of importance of the plurality of circuit outlets (Technical Solution, II. 1-13), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson and further with Shurchkov with the step of activating a visual indicator to identify the order of importance of the plurality of circuit outlets to benefit from increasing the efficiency of using the allocated power through targeted control of non-priority loads for connection on the basis of plug and play principle (Shurchkov, Mobile Device and Method of Address Management of Non-Priority Load, II. 5-9 ).
Regarding Claim 13, Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Shurchkov discloses the limitations of Claim 12, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the visual indicator is one or more LED light indicators.
Instead, Shurchkov (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the method further teaches wherein the visual indicator (6) is one or more LED light indicators (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson and further with Shurchkov with the visual indicator being one or more LED light indicators to benefit from increasing the efficiency of using the allocated power through targeted control of non-priority loads for connection on the basis of plug and play principle (Shurchkov, Mobile Device and Method of Address Management of Non-Priority Load, II. 5-9 ).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Proctor et al (US 5,844,326).
Regarding Claim 17, Collie in view of Sorenson discloses the limitations of Claim 15, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of circuit outlets further comprises a first plurality of circuit outlets and a second plurality of circuit outlets; wherein the first plurality of circuit outlets comprises a first duplex outlet having a first outlet and a second outlet; wherein the second plurality of circuit outlets comprises second duplex outlet having a third outlet and a fourth outlet; and wherein power to the second duplex outlet is discontinued when the designated maximum power output is initially reached and power to the first duplex outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is initially reached.
Instead, where Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the plurality of circuit outlets (20) further comprises a first plurality of circuit outlets (21/22/23/24) and a second plurality of circuit outlets (25/26).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson the plurality of circuit outlets further comprises a first plurality of circuit outlets and a second plurality of circuit outlets to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2), however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein the first plurality of circuit outlets comprises a first duplex outlet having a first outlet and a second outlet; wherein the second plurality of circuit outlets comprises second duplex outlet having a third outlet and a fourth outlet; and wherein power to the second duplex outlet is discontinued when the designated maximum power output is initially reached and power to the first duplex outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is initially reached.
Instead, Proctor (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the first plurality of circuit outlets (54/56) comprises a first duplex outlet (50) having a first outlet (54) and a second outlet (56); wherein the second plurality of circuit outlets (82/84) comprises second duplex outlet (80) having a third outlet (82) and a fourth outlet (84); and wherein power to the second duplex outlet (80) is discontinued when the designated maximum power output (over current condition, Col 7, II. 3-21) is initially reached and power to the first duplex outlet (50) is maintained when the designated maximum power output (over current condition, Col 7, II. 3-21) is initially reached (Col 4, II. 25-30), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson and further with Proctor with the first plurality of circuit outlets comprises a first duplex outlet having a first outlet and a second outlet; wherein the second plurality of circuit outlets comprises second duplex outlet having a third outlet and a fourth outlet; and wherein power to the second duplex outlet is discontinued when the designated maximum power output being initially reached and power to the first duplex outlet being maintained when the designated maximum power output is initially reached to benefit from a managed electrical outlet addressing over-current condition, it may be preferable to turn one or more of the appliances off while one or more on the other appliance is operating (Proctor, Col 1, II. 45-50).
Regarding Claim 18, Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Proctor discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Collie as modified does not disclose wherein power to the second outlet is discontinued when the designated maximum power output is subsequently reached and power to the first outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is subsequently reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein power to the second outlet (25, 26) is discontinued when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is subsequently reached and power to the first outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) is maintained when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is subsequently reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with power to the second outlet being discontinued when the designated maximum power output being subsequently reached and power to the first outlet being maintained when the designated maximum power output being subsequently reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Regarding Claim 19, Collie in view of Sorenson and further in view of Proctor discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Collie as modified does not disclose
wherein power to the fourth outlet is discontinued when the designated maximum power output is initially reached and power to the first outlet, the second outlet, and the third outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is initially reached.
Instead, Sorenson (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein power to the fourth outlet (25, 26) is discontinued when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is initially reached and power to the first outlet (21, 22, 23, 24), the second outlet (21, 22, 23, 24), and the third outlet (21, 22, 23, 24) is maintained when the designated maximum power output (threshold cumulative power draw level, Col 2, II. 20-24) is initially reached (Col 10, II. 26-33), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Collie with Sorenson with power to the fourth outlet being discontinued when the designated maximum power output being initially reached and power to the first outlet, the second outlet, and the third outlet being maintained when the designated maximum power output being initially reached to benefit from eliminating the overload condition, while lower priority outlets may remain energized if the power draws of those outlets may be too little to influence an overload condition (Sorenson, Col 2, II. 61-67, Col 3, II.1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claims 4 and 20, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claims 4 and 20 and at least in part because Claims 4 and 20 recite, “wherein power to the first outlet is maintained when the designated maximum power output is reached for a second time; and wherein power to the second outlet is terminated when the maximum power output is reached for a second time” in Claim 4, and “wherein power to the second outlet is discontinued when the designated maximum power output is reached for a third time and power to the first outlet is maintained” in Claim 20.
The aforementioned limitation in combination with all remaining limitations of Claims 4 and 20 are believed to render said Claims 4 and 20 patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Sorenson (US 11,271,399 – hereafter “Sorenson”).
While Sorenson Fig 1 teaches many of limitations of base Claims 1 and 15 and intervening Claims 3, 17 and 19 as per rejection of Claims 1, 15 and 3, 17 and 19 above, however neither Sorenson nor any other art of record, either alone or in a combination, teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 4 and 20.
Any comment considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submission should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Management Module, Z-Strip, and Mini-ATS Systems and Related Components US 2021/0076529, Smart Outlet US 2018/0226797, Worksite Power Distribution Box US 2014/0240902, Photovoltaic Smart Power Distribution Box and Controller US 2021/0263578. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835