DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed on April 05,2024.
Claims 1-25 are presented for Examination. Claims 1 and 12 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinderliter (US 2019/0010793).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hinderliter discloses that a pump trailer for hydraulic fracturing (Fig.1-2), comprising:
a junction panel (Fig.1:105) configured to receive electric power at a first voltage level ([0046]; 13.8kV) and electric power at a second voltage level ([0046]; 600V) from a power distribution system;
a first variable frequency drive (VFD) (Fig.1: 110a) configured to receive the electric power at the first voltage level from the junction panel, and drive an electric motor (Fig.1:115-a-1), wherein the electric motor is mechanically coupled to a hydraulic pump ([0048]); and
a second VFD (Fig.1: 110-b) configured to receive the electric power at the second voltage level from the junction panel, and drive one or more auxiliary systems ([0050]; “105-i, 105-j”),
wherein the first voltage level (13.8kV) is higher than the second voltage level (600V).
Regarding claim 2, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the junction panel, the first VFD, and the second VFD are disposed inside a cabin of the pump trailer (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the electric motor and the pump are disposed on the pump trailer and outside of the cabin (Fig.3 and [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first voltage level is 5 kV to 72 kV ([0046]; 13.8kV).
Regarding claim 5, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the second voltage level is less than 1 kV ([0046]; 0.6Kv).
Regarding claim 6, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first VFD is configured to convert the electric power at the first voltage level to electric power at a third voltage level, and control the electric motor using the electric power at the third voltage level ([0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the third voltage level is higher than the second voltage level and lower than the first voltage level ([0055]; “4.16kV”).
Regarding claim 8, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the third voltage level is 2 kV to 8 kV ([0055]; “4.16kV”).
Regarding claim 9, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise a filtration unit ([0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise an intake blower and an exhaust blower ([0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise cooling fans configured to cool the first VFD ([0030]).
Regarding independent claim 12, Hinderliter discloses that a method of hydraulic fracturing(Fig.1-2), comprising:
generating, by a power generation system([0046]; 13.8kV), electric power;
receiving the electric power generated by the power generation system at a power distribution system(Fig.1:105);
distributing, by the power distribution system, electric power at a first voltage level to first variable frequency drives (VFDs) respectively disposed on pump trailers([0046]; 600V);
respectively driving, by each first VFD(Fig.1: 110a), a motor, wherein each motor is disposed on one of the pump trailers;
respectively driving, by each motor, a hydraulic pump to pump hydraulic fluid to fracking equipment, wherein each hydraulic pump is disposed on one of the pump trailers([0048]); and
performing hydraulic fracturing, by the fracking equipment, using the hydraulic fluid ([0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the generating of the electric power comprises generating the electric power using a gas turbine engine (Claim 14).
Regarding claim 14, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the gas turbine engine generates the electric power at a voltage between 5 kV and 72 kV ([0046]; 13.8kV).
Regarding claim 15, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising distributing, by the power distribution system, electric power to one or more auxiliary systems([0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise a hydration system, a chemical additive system, a blending system, a mixing system, or combinations thereof([0028]).
Regarding claim 17, Hinderliter discloses that wherein each first VFD is disposed inside a cabin of one of the pump trailers (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 18, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising distributing, by the power distribution system, electric power at a second voltage level to second VFDs respectively disposed on the pump trailers ([0046]; 0.6Kv).
Regarding claim 19, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first voltage level is higher than the second voltage level([0046]; 13.8Kv,0.6Kv).
Regarding claim 20, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising driving, by each second VFD, an auxiliary system, wherein each auxiliary system is disposed on one of the pump trailers (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the auxiliary system comprises an intake blower, an exhaust blower, a cooling fan, or combinations thereof([0028]).
Regarding claim 22, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the fracking equipment is disposed on a fracking trailer (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising extracting hydrocarbons from a well after the hydraulic fracturing.
Regarding claim 24, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first voltage level is between 1 kV and 72 kV (13.8kV).
Regarding claim 25, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the second voltage level is less than 1 kV ([0046]; 0.6kV)
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846