DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed on April 28,2026.
Claims 1-25 are presented for Examination. Claims 1-11, 13-17, and 21-25 are original.
Claims 12 and 19-20 are currently amended.
Claim 18 is canceled.
Claim 26 is new.
Thus, claims 1-17 and 19-26 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The Examiner has carefully considered the Applicant's remarks and arguments filed on 04/28/2026, and specifically the arguments presented on pages 2-5 of the response regarding the rejection of claims 1-17 and 19-26 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinderliter (US 2019/0010793 A1). The Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive for the following reasons.
Response to Argument #1
The Applicant argues that Hinderliter does not disclose "a junction panel configured to receive electric power at a first voltage level and electric power at a second voltage level from a power distribution system" because Hinderliter fails to disclose that 600V is supplied to the transformers 105. The Applicant contends that Hinderliter only discloses that 600V power is supplied from the transformers 105 to the VFD houses 110.
This argument is not persuasive. While it is true that Hinderliter discloses the transformers 105 receiving 13.8kV power and supplying stepped-down voltage (down to about 600V or less) to the VFD houses, the claimed limitation requires a junction panel that receives power at two different voltage levels from a power distribution system. Hinderliter's system as a whole receives power at multiple voltage levels. Specifically, paragraph [0049] of Hinderliter discloses:
"In the illustrated embodiment, two additional transformers 105-i, 105-j receive up to about 13.8 kV power or more from a switchgear trailer and provide a stepped-down voltage of down to about 600V or less to sand equipment 145, a hydration unit 160, blenders 165-a, 165-b, and/or a chemical additive unit 170."
The power distribution system in Hinderliter's disclosure includes the switchgear trailers that supply power at different voltage levels to various components of the system. The transformers 105-a through 105-h, along with transformers 105-i and 105-j, collectively function as a junction panel that receives power at the first voltage level (13.8kV) and distributes power at the second voltage level (600V) throughout the hydraulic fracturing system.
Response to Argument #2
The Applicant argues that Hinderliter does not disclose "a first variable frequency drive (VFD) configured to receive the electric power at the first voltage level from the junction panel" because Hinderliter discloses that the VFD house 110a receives 600V power from the transformers, not 13.8kV.
This argument mischaracterizes the rejection. The Examiner did not map Hinderliter's 13.8kV to the claimed first voltage level at the VFD input. Rather, the rejection properly maps:
The first voltage level (13.8kV) to the input of the junction panel (transformers 105)The second voltage level (600V) to the output of the junction panelThe first VFD (VFD house 110a) receives power at the second voltage level (600V) from the junction panel
The claim requires the first VFD to receive power "at the first voltage level from the junction panel" - this is satisfied by Hinderliter's disclosure where the VFD houses receive power from the transformers (junction panel) at the stepped-down voltage level that was originally received by the transformers at the higher voltage level.
Response to Argument #3
The Applicant argues that Hinderliter does not disclose "a second VFD configured to receive the electric power at the second voltage level from the junction panel, and drive one or more auxiliary systems" because VFD house 110b is not connected to the additional transformers 105i, 105j.
This argument is not persuasive. Paragraph [0050] of Hinderliter explicitly discloses:"In typical, hydraulically-powered systems, two or more auxiliary trailers (not shown) would be included in the hydraulic fracturing system 100 to house the hydraulic equipment and related power equipment such as VFDs, soft starters, motor control centers (MCCs), and breakers, for example. In the illustrated embodiment, the two transformers 105-i, 105-j are provided in lieu of the two auxiliary trailers, as bulky hydraulic motors may not be needed to power the ancillary equipment."
Hinderliter clearly teaches that the system includes auxiliary systems ([0049], sand equipment 145, hydration unit 160, blenders 165-a, 165-b, and chemical additive unit 170) that are powered through transformers 105-i and 105-j. The VFD houses associated with these auxiliary systems receive power at the stepped-down voltage level (600V) and drive the various auxiliary components, satisfying the claim limitation.
Clarification of the Rejection
To clarify the rejection mapping:
Junction Panel: Hinderliter's transformers 105-a through 105-h and 105-i, 105-j collectively function as a junction panel that receives and distributes power at different voltage levels.
First Voltage Level (13.8kV): The input voltage to the transformers as disclosed in paragraphs [0046] and [0049].
Second Voltage Level (600V): The stepped-down output voltage from the transformers as disclosed in paragraphs [0046] and [0049].
First VFD: Hinderliter's VFD houses 110-a through 110-h that receive 600V power from transformers ([0046]) and control the fracturing pumps.
Second VFD: Hinderliter's VFD houses associated with the auxiliary equipment (hydration unit, blenders, chemical additive unit) that receive 600V power and drive the auxiliary systems.
Auxiliary Systems: The sand equipment 145, hydration unit 160, blenders 165-a, 165-b, and chemical additive unit 170 as disclosed in paragraph [0049].
The Examiner maintains that Hinderliter anticipates all the limitations of claims 1-17 and 19-26 as properly construed. The Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because they rely on a narrow interpretation of the claim terms that is not supported by the specification or the plain meaning of the claim language.
The rejection of claims 1-17 and 19-26 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinderliter (US 2019/0010793 A1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinderliter (US 2019/0010793).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hinderliter discloses that a pump trailer for hydraulic fracturing (Fig.1-2), comprising:
a junction panel (Fig.1:105) configured to receive electric power at a first voltage level ([0046]; 13.8kV) and electric power at a second voltage level ([0046]; 600V) from a power distribution system;
a first variable frequency drive (VFD) (Fig.1: 110a) configured to receive the electric power at the first voltage level from the junction panel, and drive an electric motor (Fig.1:115-a-1), wherein the electric motor is mechanically coupled to a hydraulic pump ([0048]); and
a second VFD (Fig.1: 110-b) configured to receive the electric power at the second voltage level from the junction panel, and drive one or more auxiliary systems ([0049] and [0050]; “105-i, 105-j”),
wherein the first voltage level (13.8kV) is higher than the second voltage level (600V).
Regarding claim 2, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the junction panel, the first VFD, and the second VFD are disposed inside a cabin of the pump trailer (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the electric motor and the pump are disposed on the pump trailer and outside of the cabin (Fig.3 and [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first voltage level is 5 kV to 72 kV ([0046]; 13.8kV).
Regarding claim 5, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the second voltage level is less than 1 kV ([0046]; 0.6Kv).
Regarding claim 6, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first VFD is configured to convert the electric power at the first voltage level to electric power at a third voltage level, and control the electric motor using the electric power at the third voltage level ([0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the third voltage level is higher than the second voltage level and lower than the first voltage level ([0055]; “4.16kV”).
Regarding claim 8, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the third voltage level is 2 kV to 8 kV ([0055]; “4.16kV”).
Regarding claim 9, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise a filtration unit ([0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise an intake blower and an exhaust blower ([0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise cooling fans configured to cool the first VFD ([0030]).
Regarding independent claim 12, Hinderliter discloses that a method of hydraulic fracturing(Fig.1-2), comprising:
generating, by a power generation system([0046]; 13.8kV), electric power;
receiving the electric power generated by the power generation system at a power distribution system(Fig.1:105 and [0049]);
distributing, by the power distribution system, electric power at a first voltage level to first variable frequency drives (VFDs) respectively disposed on pump trailers([0046]; 600V, [0049]);
respectively driving, by each first VFD(Fig.1: 110a), a motor, wherein each motor is disposed on one of the pump trailers;
respectively driving, by each motor, a hydraulic pump to pump hydraulic fluid to fracking equipment, wherein each hydraulic pump is disposed on one of the pump trailers([0048]); and
performing hydraulic fracturing, by the fracking equipment, using the hydraulic fluid ([0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the generating of the electric power comprises generating the electric power using a gas turbine engine (Claim 14).
Regarding claim 14, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the gas turbine engine generates the electric power at a voltage between 5 kV and 72 kV ([0046]; 13.8kV).
Regarding claim 15, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising distributing, by the power distribution system, electric power to one or more auxiliary systems([0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the one or more auxiliary systems comprise a hydration system, a chemical additive system, a blending system, a mixing system, or combinations thereof([0028]).
Regarding claim 17, Hinderliter discloses that wherein each first VFD is disposed inside a cabin of one of the pump trailers (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 19, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first voltage level is higher than the second voltage level([0046]; 13.8Kv,0.6Kv).
Regarding claim 20, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising driving, by each second VFD, an auxiliary system, wherein each auxiliary system is disposed on one of the pump trailers (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the auxiliary system comprises an intake blower, an exhaust blower, a cooling fan, or combinations thereof([0028]).
Regarding claim 22, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the fracking equipment is disposed on a fracking trailer (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising extracting hydrocarbons from a well after the hydraulic fracturing.
Regarding claim 24, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the first voltage level is between 1 kV and 72 kV (13.8kV).
Regarding claim 25, Hinderliter discloses that wherein the second voltage level is less than 1 kV ([0046]; 0.6kV)
Regarding claim 26, Hinderliter discloses that further comprising a cabin having a sidewall (Fig.2, 380 and [0068]), wherein the cabin contains the first VFD,the junction panel is disposed on the sidewall, the junction panel comprises a first connector and a second connector (Fig.1), the junction panel is configured to receive the electric power at the first voltage level through a first power line extending from the power distribution system to the first connector, and the junction panel is configured to receive the electric power at the second voltage level through a second power line extending from the power distribution system to the second connector ([0046] and [0049]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846