DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 05/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 08/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,4,7,15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Biederman (US 20180026678).
As to claim 1, Biederman discloses an analyte sensor system ([0018] FIG. 1A, The system 100 comprises wearable device 101, which may comprise a wearable analyte sensor, e.g., a wearable glucose sensor), comprising:
a power switch (112);
a power control sensor (112 and Sensor 108);
an analog front end (AFE) component (FIG. 1A-B 114,116, 214, 216 and processor 102); and
one or more other electrical components (FIG. 1A-1B,104, 106,108, 250 and 208), wherein:
the power control sensor is configured to detect whether a signal is applied to the power control sensor and, based on the detection, operate the power switch to control current flow from a battery of the analyte sensor system to at least a transcutaneous analyte sensor of the analyte sensor system, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory. [0042] … is configured to close switch 112 and thus provide current to one or more active components on wearable device 101, e.g., processor 102, memory 104, and sensor 108);
the power control sensor is configured to receive a first set of control signals from the AFE component for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory. [0003] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current); and
the AFE component is configured to receive a second set of control signals from at least one of a near field communication (NFC) reader device or the one or more other electrical components instructing the AFE component to output the first set of control signals for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch ([0003] [0031] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current …The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory).
As to claim 2, Biederman discloses the analyte sensor system of claim 1, wherein: the AFE component further includes circuitry for harvesting energy from the second set of control signals for powering the AFE component; and the AFE component is configured to output the first set of control signals to the power control sensor based on the energy harvested from the second set of control signals ([0031] [0042] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory).
As to claim 4, Biederman discloses the analyte sensor system of claim 1, wherein: the AFE component is configured to receive the second set of control signals from the NFC reader during a manufacturing procedure of the analyte sensor system or after the manufacturing procedure has been completed ([0031]. Bierderman method inherently occurred after the system was assembled); and the second set of control signals instruct the AFE component to output the first set of control signals to the power control sensor to open the power switch ([0003] [0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory); and based on the first set of control signals, the power control sensor is configured to open the power switch to prevent the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0003] [0031] [0042] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current).
As to claim 7, Biederman discloses the analyte sensor system of claim 1, wherein the power control sensor includes a set of control pins for receiving the first set of control signals from the AFE component (Fig. 1A-B and [0042] signal input to switch 112 from antenna/rectifier and processor 102).
As to claim 15, Biederman discloses a method for operating a power switch at an analyte sensor system ([0018] FIG. 1A 1B. The system 100 comprises wearable device 101, which may comprise a wearable analyte sensor, e.g., a wearable glucose sensor), comprising:
detecting, by a power control sensor of the analyte sensor system whether a signal is applied to the power control sensor ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory);
receiving, by an analog front end (AFE) component of the analyte sensor system (FIG. 1A-B 114,116, 214, 216 and processor 102) from at least one of a near field communication (NFC) reader device or one or more other electrical components of the analyte sensor system, a second set of control signals for instructing the power control sensor to operate a power switch to control current flow from a battery of the analyte sensor system to at least a transcutaneous analyte sensor of the analyte sensor system, and the one or more other electrical components ([0003] [0031] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current …The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory);
outputting, by the AFE component based on the second set of control signals, a first set of control signals for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory. [0003] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current); receiving, by the power control sensor, the first set of control signals from the AFE component ([0031] [0003]); and operating, by the power control sensor based on the first set of control signals and the detection of whether the signal is applied to the power control sensor, the power switch to control the current flow from the battery of the analyte sensor system to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory. [0042] … is configured to close switch 112 and thus provide current to one or more active components on wearable device 101, e.g., processor 102, memory 104, and sensor 108).
As to claim 16, Biederman discloses the method of claim 15, wherein: receiving the second set of control signals comprises receiving the second set of control signals from the NFC reader during a manufacturing procedure of the analyte sensor system or after the manufacturing procedure has been completed ([0031]. Bierderman method inherently occurred after the system was assembled); the second set of control signals instruct the AFE component to output the first set of control signals to the power control sensor to open the power switch ([0003] [0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory); and based on the first set of control signals, operating the power switch comprises opening the power switch to prevent the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0003] [0031] [0042] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5-6 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biederman (US 20180026678).
As to claim 5, Biederman discloses the analyte sensor system of claim 4, wherein: the AFE component is configured to receive, a third set of control signals from the NFC reader device instructing the AFE component to output a fourth set of control signals to the power control sensor to close the power switch ([0003] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch ,, closed by the current. [0042]…in a configuration such that current from RF rectifier 116 is configured to close switch 112 and thus provide current to one or more active components on wearable device 101, e.g., processor 102); based on the fourth set of control signals from the AFE component, the power control sensor is configured to close the power switch to allow the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0003] [0031][0042]); the one or more other electrical components are configured to perform one or more testing procedures associated with the analyte sensor system based on the third set of control signals received from the NFC reader device and the current flow from the battery ([0023] Sensor 108 comprises a sensor configured to measure information about a user, e.g., an analyte sensor, e.g., a wearable glucose sensor, hydration sensor, oxygen sensor, or other type of sensor).
Biederman does not disclose/teach receiving the third set of control signals during the manufacturing procedure.
However, Examiner takes official notice that testing the function of an electronics system during its manufacturing process in old and well known.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analyte sensor system of Biederman to include receiving the third set of control signals during the manufacturing procedure in order to ensure quality and reliability in the product for the user.
As to claim 6, Biederman discloses the analyte sensor system of claim 1.
Biederman does not disclose/teach wherein the one or more other electrical components are configured to: detect a failure of the analyte sensor system; and output, based on the detected failure, a third set of control signals instructing the power control sensor to open the power switch to prevent the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analyte sensor system of Biederman to wherein the one or more other electrical components are configured to: detect a failure of the analyte sensor system; and output, based on the detected failure, a third set of control signals instructing the power control sensor to open the power switch to prevent the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components in order to prevent draining and damaging the system during diagnosing and repair.
As to claim 17, Biederman the discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising receiving, by the AFE component, a third set of control signals from the NFC reader device instructing the AFE component to output a fourth set of control signals to the power control sensor to close the power switch ([0003] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch ,, closed by the current. [0042]…in a configuration such that current from RF rectifier 116 is configured to close switch 112 and thus provide current to one or more active components on wearable device 101, e.g., processor 102, ), wherein: based on the fourth set of control signals from the AFE component, operating the power switch comprises closing the power switch to allow the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0003] [0031][0042]).
Biederman does not disclose/teach receiving the third set of control signals during the manufacturing procedure.
However, Examiner takes official notice that testing the function of an electronics system during its manufacturing process in old and well known.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Biederman to include receiving the third set of control signals during the manufacturing procedure in order to ensure quality and reliability in the product for the user.
As to claim 18, Biederman teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising performing, by the one or more other electrical components, one or more testing procedures associated with the analyte sensor system based on the third set of control signals received from the NFC reader device and the current flow from the battery ([0023] Sensor 108 comprises a sensor configured to measure information about a user, e.g., an analyte sensor, e.g., a wearable glucose sensor, hydration sensor, oxygen sensor, or other type of sensor).
As to claim 19, Biederman teaches the method of claim 15.
Biederman does not disclose/teach further comprising: detecting, by the one or more other electrical components, a failure of the analyte sensor system; and outputting, by the one or more other electrical components based on the detected failure, a third set of control signals instructing AFE component to output a fourth set of control signals to the power control sensor to open the power switch; and based on the fourth set of control signals, operating the power switch comprises opening the power switch to prevent the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Biederman to detecting by the one or more other electrical components, a failure of the analyte sensor system; and outputting, by the one or more other electrical components based on the detected failure, a third set of control signals instructing AFE component to output a fourth set of control signals to the power control sensor to open the power switch; and based on the fourth set of control signals, operating the power switch comprises opening the power switch to prevent the current flow from the battery to at least the transcutaneous analyte sensor, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components in order to prevent draining and damaging the system during diagnosing and repair.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biederman (US 20180026678) in view of Antonio (US 20210378560).
As to claim 3, Biederman teaches the analyte sensor system of claim 1, wherein: the power control sensor (112 and Sensor 108);
Biederman does not disclose/teach the power control sensor comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) sensor; and the signal applied to the power control sensor comprises a magnetic field.
Antonio teaches the power control sensor comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) sensor; and the signal applied to the power control sensor comprises a magnetic field ([0072] the magnet sensor 119 is a tunneling magnetoresistive (TMR) sensor. The use of the magnet sensor 119 in cooperation with the magnet 214 maintains the physiological characteristic sensor 102 in a low-power state in the presence of the magnetic field generated by the magnet 214, which preserves a life of the batteries 142 prior to the deployment of the physiological characteristic sensor 102 (i.e. when the physiological characteristic sensor 102 is on the shelf)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power control sensor to comprises a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) sensor; and the signal applied to the power control sensor comprises a magnetic field in order to preserves a life of the batteries 142 prior to the deployment of the device ([0072]).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biederman (US 20180026678) in view Brauker (US 20050203360).
As to claim 20, Biederman discloses an analyte monitoring system (Fig. 1A-1B), comprising: an analyte sensor system configured to perform analyte measurements associated with a user of the analyte sensor system ([0018] FIG. 1A, The system 100 comprises wearable device 101, which may comprise a wearable analyte sensor, e.g., a wearable glucose sensor); and
wherein: the analyte sensor system includes: a power switch (112);
a power control sensor (112 and Sensor 108);
an analog front end (AFE) component (FIG. 1A-B 114,116, 214, 216 and processor 102); and
one or more other electrical components (FIG. 1A-1B,104, 106,108, 250 and 208);
the power control sensor is configured to detect whether a signal is applied to the power control sensor and, based on the detection, operate the power switch to control current flow from a battery of the analyte sensor system to at least a transcutaneous analyte sensor of the analyte sensor system, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory. [0042] … is configured to close switch 112 and thus provide current to one or more active components on wearable device 101, e.g., processor 102, memory 104, and sensor 108);
the power control sensor is configured to receive a first set of control signals from the AFE component for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch ([0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory. [0003] applying the current to a switch positioned to interrupt current flow between a power supply and a load, the switch opened or closed by the current); and the AFE is configured to receive a second set of control signals from at least one of a near field communication (NFC) reader device or the one or more other electrical components instructing the AFE to output the first set of control signals for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch ([0003] [0031] The NFC signals are used by RF rectifier 216 to generate a current. This current is provided to switch 212 and closes the switch, thus providing current from power supply 212 to active components 250, e.g., one or more processor(s) and a memory).
Biederman does not disclose/teach a display device configured to receive the analyte measurements from the analyte sensor system.
Brauker teaches a display device configured to receive the analyte measurements from the analyte sensor system ([0129] a system for displaying analyte data from a continuous analyte sensor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analyte monitoring system of Biederman to include a display device configured to receive the analyte measurements from the analyte sensor system in order to inform the user of the analyte measurements to manage health.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 8, Although the prior art discloses an analyte sensor system, comprising: a power switch; a power control sensor; an analog front end (AFE) component; and one or more other electrical components, wherein: the power control sensor is configured to detect whether a signal is applied to the power control sensor and, based on the detection, operate the power switch to control current flow from a battery of the analyte sensor system to at least a transcutaneous analyte sensor of the analyte sensor system, the AFE component, and the one or more other electrical components; the power control sensor is configured to receive a first set of control signals from the AFE component for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch; and the AFE component is configured to receive a second set of control signals from at least one of a near field communication (NFC) reader device or the one or more other electrical components instructing the AFE component to output the first set of control signals for instructing the power control sensor to operate the power switch, wherein the power control sensor includes a set of control pins for receiving the first set of control signals from the AFE component, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“the first set of control signals comprises a LOCK signal and a force sleep (FSLP) signal; and the set of control pins comprises two control pins including a LOCK pin for receiving the LOCK signal and a FSLP pin for receiving the FSLP signal.”
Dependent claims 9-14 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al (US 9110897) is cited for having (75) When the switch 243 is turned on, the switch 243 connects the charging battery 242 and the DC-DC converter 244 and transfers a DC voltage that is charged at the charging battery 242 to the DC-DC converter 244. The switch 243 may be turned on by an external control, and when a voltage of the charging battery 242 arrives at a threshold voltage, the switch 243 may be turned on. In the sensors 230.sub.1-230.sub.n, when collection (sensing) of sensor data is necessary, an external control may be performed by a manager.
Chen et al (US 20120028575) is cited for having [0032] In Step 420, a signal detecting unit 320 detects a wireless signal S0 transmitted from an NFC reader (not shown) via electromagnetic induction to generate a detection signal S1…when the value of the detection signal S1 generated by the signal detecting unit 320 is 1, the switch 340 is turned on to provide power from the battery to the communication device 360. When the value of the detection signal S1 detected by the signal detecting unit 320 is 0, the switch 340 is turned off to stop providing power from the battery to the communication apparatus 360.
Cole et al (US 20150018643, Fig. 3,7) is cited for having [0079] In certain embodiments, microprocessor 256 is capable of applying (and holding) a gate bias voltage to the gate of NMOS pass transistor 304 in order to allow current to flow across transistor 304 and thereby latch PMOS 302 in the "ON" state. Stated differently, processor 256 is capable of bypassing the optical sensor after changing the power state of device 102. Thus, should the light incident on the optical sensor (e.g., photodiode 308) become interrupted, sensor electronics 250 will remain active.
BONGERS (US 20190042905, Fig. 3,7) is cited for having [0041] From a perspective of the wearable device 20 the NFC communication and the pairing goes passively. One idea of the present invention is to use the energy transmitted by the NFC transmitter 10 to trigger an electronic switch to power the wireless device 20. Hence, the wireless device 20 does not need to be in a deep sleep or standby mode (which consumes power),but can be completely switched on in a passive way. In this way the costs and surface of a physical switch can be saved and the wireless device 20 has a maximum shelf time, which is only determined by the self-discharge of the power supply 22.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859