DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 8 claims and claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasuka et al. (US 2016/0069998) in view of YAMAMOTO ( US 2021/0373133 A1; filed Aug. 11, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Takasuka discloses a vehicle mounting structure for a ranging device, the vehicle mounting structure comprising([abstract]-a vehicle mount device ): a ranging device configured to measure a distance to an object by emitting a transmitted wave and detecting a reflected wave from the object to which the transmitted wave has been emitted([abstract and claim 1]- vehicle-mounted device mounted on a first vehicle, the first vehicle including: a first electromagnetic wave ranging sensor that successively transmits a first transmission wave as an electromagnetic wave, receives a first reflected wave produced when the first transmission wave is reflected off an object, and measures a distance to the object based on information of the first transmission wave and the first reflected wave; and a first wireless communication device that receives transmission time frame information indicating a time frame when a second electromagnetic wave ranging sensor that is a ranging sensor mounted on a second vehicle and transmits a second transmission wave that may be received by the first electromagnetic wave ranging sensor transmits the second transmission wave, by wireless communication with a second wireless communication device mounted on the second vehicle); a bracket that attaches the ranging device in a mounting space formed on an outer surface of a vehicle and capable of accommodating the ranging device([para 0011-0012]- , a vehicle-mounted device is mounted on a first vehicle including a first electromagnetic wave ranging sensor that successively transmits a first transmission wave as an electromagnetic wave, receives a first reflected wave produced when the first transmission wave is reflected off an object, and measures a distance to the object based on information of the first transmission wave and the first reflected wave. The first vehicle includes a first wireless communication device that receives transmission time frame information indicating a time frame when a second electromagnetic wave ranging sensor that is a ranging sensor mounted on a second vehicle; it is obvious that to mount the ranging device would require a bracket).
However, Takasuka does not explicitly disclose a shielding plate that covers the mounting space from an outer-surface side of the vehicle with the ranging device attached in the mounting space, wherein the mounting space is provided on at least one of a front surface of the vehicle, a side surface of the vehicle, or a rear surface of the vehicle, and the shielding plate forms an opening for introducing into the mounting space traveling wind occurring along with travel of the vehicle.
In an analogous art, YAMAMOTO a shielding plate that covers the mounting space from an outer-surface side of the vehicle with the ranging device attached in the mounting space, wherein the mounting space is provided on at least one of a front surface of the vehicle, a side surface of the vehicle, or a rear surface of the vehicle, and the shielding plate forms an opening for introducing into the mounting space traveling wind occurring along with travel of the vehicle([see in Fig. 4 and para 0059]- a shielding plate; The shielding plate 49 may be firmly secured to the second portion 41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of YAMAMOTO to the modified system of Takasuka a ranging apparatus which measures a distance to an object to minimize a reduction in ranging ability thereof caused by stray light [YAMAMOTO; abstract].
Regarding claim 2, YAMAMOTO discloses wherein the opening has a width of 0.5 mm to 4 mm([see in Fig. 4]-in fig. 4, element 49 discloses a shielding plate has an opening).
Regarding claim 3, YAMAMOTO discloses wherein the opening includes a through hole formed in the shielding plate([see in Fig. 4]-in fig. 4, element 49 discloses a shielding plate has an opening).
Regarding claim 4, YAMAMOTO discloses wherein the shielding plate is made from a material that permits the transmitted wave and the reflected wave to pass therethrough, and entirely covers the mounting space including an area in which the ranging device is positioned([see in Fig. 4]- in FIG. 4, has the shielding plate 49 secured on an inner surface thereof. The inner surface is a portion of an inner surface of the housing 25. The shielding plate 49 is disposed along a boundary between the emitting window 45 and the receiving window 47. The shielding plate 49 extends from the front surface 27 toward the back surface 29. The shielding plate 49 is made from resinous material through which the emitted light 21 and the reflected light 23 hardly transmit).
Regarding claim 5, YAMAMOTO discloses wherein the bracket and the shielding plate are formed of a single component([see in Fig. 1-7]- the ranging apparatus 1 is mounted in, for example, a vehicle and fig. 4 show a shielding plate).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 8 have been met in claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasuka in view of YAMAMOTO as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of TOBIASSEN et al. (US 2021/0063093).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takasuka and YAMAMOTO do not exclusively disclose a case that accommodates a component for measuring the distance; and a heat sink that is disposed on a surface of the case other than a surface through which the transmitted wave and the reflected wave pass.
In an analogous art, TOBIASSEN discloses a case that accommodates a component for measuring the distance([para 0065-0066]- the AV system 120 includes sensors 121 for measuring or inferring properties of state or condition of the AV 100); and a heat sink that is disposed on a surface of the case other than a surface through which the transmitted wave and the reflected wave pass([para 0006-0008]- a heat sink configured to attach to the lower section of the second mounting bracket and below the sensor, wherein the second mounting bracket is configured to direct the sourced air to the heat sink via the second duct path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of TOBIASSEN to the modified system of Takasuka and YAMAMOTO an autonomous driving sensors mounted to an exterior of a vehicle do not benefit from temperature regulation of the interior of the vehicle provided by a vehicle's HVAC system [TOBIASSEN; para 0003].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, The vehicle mounting structure for the ranging device according to claim 1, wherein the ranging device includes: a case having an internal space that accommodates a component for measuring the distance, and having formed therein a connection portion that connects the internal space with an outside; and a breathing filter disposed in the connection portion.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. YAMAMOTO, US 2021/0188219 A1, discloses is a ranging device mounted to a vehicle and configured to measure a distance to an object ahead of the vehicle.
2. TACHINO, US 2021/0341592 A1, discloses an optical ranging device.
3. Nagi et al., US 2021/0382177 A1, discloses a system for monitoring surroundings of a vehicle.
4. Yoshihide, US. 2021/0396878 A1, discloses an optical ranging device is disclosed which applies light to a target and measures a distance to the target by using time of flight (TOF) of light elapsed before a reflected light is received.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487