DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al. U.S. Publication No. 2023/0325983 A1 in view of Wu et al. U.S. Publication No. 2020/0293064 A1.
- With regards to claim 1, Shibata et al. disclose a processor, (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) comprising: one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) to use one or more neural networks to use first sensor information from one or more simulations of a device (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 5, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0031, 0035 - 0038 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 5 ¶ 0088 - 0089, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0205 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 17 ¶ 0307) to adjust second sensor information of the device. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315) Shibata et al. fail to disclose explicitly an autonomous device. Pertaining to analogous art, Wu et al. disclose using one or more neural networks to use first sensor information from one or more simulations of an autonomous device to adjust second sensor information of the autonomous device. (Wu et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 - 4, 7, 8 & 14A - 14D, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0004 - 0006, Pg. 2 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 3 ¶ 0033, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035, Pg. 4 ¶ 0041 and 0044, Pg. 8 ¶ 0080 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0086 - 0087, Pg. 13 ¶ 0129 - 0130, Pg. 14 ¶ 0135 and 0138, Pg. 18 ¶ 0171, Pg. 20 ¶ 0190 - 0193, Pg. 24 ¶ 0232) Shibata et al. and Wu et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems that utilize neural networks to process image data captured from vehicle-mounted cameras. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata et al. with the teachings of Wu et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Shibata et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Wu et al. applied to a comparable device. Adjusting sensor information of an autonomous device, as taught by Wu et al., would enhance the base device of Shibata et al. by allowing for it to improve the reliability of sensor data obtained and/or employed in a wider variety of situations and for it to be utilized in an increased number and variety of related and applicable applications and/or environments, such as autonomous driving functions, thereby improving its overall appeal, usefulness and marketability to potential end-users. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Shibata et al. that their teachings may be applied to sensor data acquired from sensors mounted on a vehicle, that the sensor data may be used for various types of processing related to the vehicle including processing performed using artificial intelligence, that data generated during a travel simulation of the vehicle may be utilized to generate replacement data and that neural networks may be used to generate the replacement data, see at least page 2 paragraphs 0025 - 0026 and 0030, page 6 paragraphs 0104 - 0105, page 12 paragraphs 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, page 14 paragraphs 0248 - 0256 and page 18 paragraph 0315 of Shibata et al. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the base device of Shibata et al. would be utilized in connection with sensor data acquired from an autonomous device so as to allow for the base device of Shibata et al. to be utilized in an increased number of applications and/or environments and improve the reliability of sensor data obtained and/or employed in a wider variety of situations so as to improve its overall appeal, usefulness and marketability to potential end-users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shibata et al. with Wu et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
- With regards to claim 2, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to replace one or more portions of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 3, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the processor of claim 1, wherein: the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are further to label one or more first portions of the second sensor information as including validated data and one or more second portions of the second sensor information as including unvalidated data; (Shibata et al., Abstract, Figs. 2A - 5 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 3 ¶ 0048 - 0051 and 0055 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0085, Pg. 8 ¶ 0137 - 0138 and 0141 - 0143, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203, 0213 and 0218, Pg. 15 ¶ 0267 - 0273 [Noise portions of the sensor data, image, in Shibata et al. correspond to one or more second portions including unvalidated data and the remaining portions of the sensor data, image, correspond to one or more first portions including validated data.]) and the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to adjust the one or more second portions. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 4, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are further to identify the second sensor information as comprising corrupted data. (Shibata et al., Abstract, Figs. 2A - 5 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 3 ¶ 0048 - 0051 and 0055 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0085, Pg. 8 ¶ 0137 - 0138 and 0141 - 0143, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203, 0213 and 0218, Pg. 15 ¶ 0267 - 0273)
- With regards to claim 5, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are further to use one or more simulators to generate the one or more simulations based, at least in part, on the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 3 ¶ 0060 - 0061, Pg. 4 ¶ 0066 - 0068 and 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0088 - 0089, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215)
- With regards to claim 6, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to adjust a smoothness of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0032 and 0040, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0083 and 0088 - 0093, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 7 ¶ 0135 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0138, Pg. 9 ¶ 0156 - 0158, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273) In addition, analogous art Wu et al. disclose using the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to adjust a smoothness of the second sensor information. (Wu et al., Pg. 2 ¶ 0032, Pg. 3 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0041, Pg. 4 ¶ 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0045 - 0046, Pg. 19 ¶ 0183 - 0185)
- With regards to claim 7, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to modify one or more first portions of the second sensor information and maintain one or more second portions of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 8, Shibata et al. disclose a system, (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0024 - 0025 and 0043, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0205 and 0208 - 0211, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) comprising: one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) to use one or more neural networks to use first sensor information from one or more simulations of a device (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 5, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0031, 0035 - 0038 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 5 ¶ 0088 - 0089, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0205 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 17 ¶ 0307) to adjust second sensor information of the device. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315) Shibata et al. fail to disclose explicitly an autonomous device. Pertaining to analogous art, Wu et al. disclose using one or more neural networks to use first sensor information from one or more simulations of an autonomous device to adjust second sensor information of the autonomous device. (Wu et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 - 4, 7, 8 & 14A - 14D, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0004 - 0006, Pg. 2 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 3 ¶ 0033, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035, Pg. 4 ¶ 0041 and 0044, Pg. 8 ¶ 0080 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0086 - 0087, Pg. 13 ¶ 0129 - 0130, Pg. 14 ¶ 0135 and 0138, Pg. 18 ¶ 0171, Pg. 20 ¶ 0190 - 0193, Pg. 24 ¶ 0232) Shibata et al. and Wu et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems that utilize neural networks to process image data captured from vehicle-mounted cameras. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata et al. with the teachings of Wu et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Shibata et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Wu et al. applied to a comparable device. Adjusting sensor information of an autonomous device, as taught by Wu et al., would enhance the base device of Shibata et al. by allowing for it to improve the reliability of sensor data obtained and/or employed in a wider variety of situations and for it to be utilized in an increased number and variety of related and applicable applications and/or environments, such as autonomous driving functions, thereby improving its overall appeal, usefulness and marketability to potential end-users. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Shibata et al. that their teachings may be applied to sensor data acquired from sensors mounted on a vehicle, that the sensor data may be used for various types of processing related to the vehicle including processing performed using artificial intelligence, that data generated during a travel simulation of the vehicle may be utilized to generate replacement data and that neural networks may be used to generate the replacement data, see at least page 2 paragraphs 0025 - 0026 and 0030, page 6 paragraphs 0104 - 0105, page 12 paragraphs 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, page 14 paragraphs 0248 - 0256 and page 18 paragraph 0315 of Shibata et al. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the base device of Shibata et al. would be utilized in connection with sensor data acquired from an autonomous device so as to allow for the base device of Shibata et al. to be utilized in an increased number of applications and/or environments and improve the reliability of sensor data obtained and/or employed in a wider variety of situations so as to improve its overall appeal, usefulness and marketability to potential end-users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shibata et al. with Wu et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
- With regards to claim 9, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to generate data to replace one or more portions of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 10, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the system of claim 8, wherein: the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are further to generate a first set of labels identifying one or more first portions of the second sensor information as including validated data and a second set of labels identifying one or more second portions of the second sensor information as including unvalidated data; (Shibata et al., Abstract, Figs. 2A - 5 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 3 ¶ 0048 - 0051 and 0055 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0085, Pg. 8 ¶ 0137 - 0138 and 0141 - 0143, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203, 0213 and 0218, Pg. 15 ¶ 0267 - 0273 [Noise portions of the sensor data, image, in Shibata et al. correspond to one or more second portions labeled as unvalidated data and the remaining portions of the sensor data, image, correspond to one or more first portions labeled as validated data.]) and the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information based, at least in part, on the first and second sets of labels. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 11, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the system of claim 8, wherein: the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are further to identify the second sensor information as comprising corrupted data; (Shibata et al., Abstract, Figs. 2A - 5 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 3 ¶ 0048 - 0051 and 0055 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0085, Pg. 8 ¶ 0137 - 0138 and 0141 - 0143, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203, 0213 and 0218, Pg. 15 ¶ 0267 - 0273) and the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to remove the corrupted data from the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 12, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are further to use one or more simulators to generate the one or more simulations at least by simulating the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 3 ¶ 0060 - 0061, Pg. 4 ¶ 0066 - 0068 and 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0088 - 0089, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215)
- With regards to claim 13, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to increase a smoothness across the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0032 and 0040, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0083 and 0088 - 0093, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 7 ¶ 0135 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0138, Pg. 9 ¶ 0156 - 0158, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273) In addition, analogous art Wu et al. disclose using the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to increase a smoothness across the second sensor information. (Wu et al., Pg. 2 ¶ 0032, Pg. 3 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0041, Pg. 4 ¶ 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0045 - 0046, Pg. 19 ¶ 0183 - 0185)
- With regards to claim 14, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors (Shibata et al., Figs. 1, 6A, 6B, 9 & 10, Pg. 8 ¶ 0146 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0151, Pg. 16 ¶ 0285 - 0287, Pg. 16 ¶ 0290 - Pg. 17 ¶ 0295) are to use the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information at least by using the one or more neural networks to modify one or more first portions of the second sensor information and maintain one or more second portions of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 15, Shibata et al. disclose a method, (Shibata et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 3 2 0044 - 0051, Pg. 6 ¶ 0108 - 0118, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0205 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 15 ¶ 0263 - 0273, Pg. 16 ¶ 0287 and 0294) comprising: using one or more neural networks to use first sensor information from one or more simulations of a device (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 5, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0031, 0035 - 0038 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 5 ¶ 0088 - 0089, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0205 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 17 ¶ 0307) to adjust second sensor information of the device. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315) Shibata et al. fail to disclose explicitly an autonomous device. Pertaining to analogous art, Wu et al. disclose using one or more neural networks to use first sensor information from one or more simulations of an autonomous device to adjust second sensor information of the autonomous device. (Wu et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 - 4, 7, 8 & 14A - 14D, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 and 0004 - 0006, Pg. 2 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 3 ¶ 0033, Pg. 3 ¶ 0035, Pg. 4 ¶ 0041 and 0044, Pg. 8 ¶ 0080 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0086 - 0087, Pg. 13 ¶ 0129 - 0130, Pg. 14 ¶ 0135 and 0138, Pg. 18 ¶ 0171, Pg. 20 ¶ 0190 - 0193, Pg. 24 ¶ 0232) Shibata et al. and Wu et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards image processing systems that utilize neural networks to process image data captured from vehicle-mounted cameras. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata et al. with the teachings of Wu et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Shibata et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Wu et al. applied to a comparable device. Adjusting sensor information of an autonomous device, as taught by Wu et al., would enhance the base device of Shibata et al. by allowing for it to improve the reliability of sensor data obtained and/or employed in a wider variety of situations and for it to be utilized in an increased number and variety of related and applicable applications and/or environments, such as autonomous driving functions, thereby improving its overall appeal, usefulness and marketability to potential end-users. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Shibata et al. that their teachings may be applied to sensor data acquired from sensors mounted on a vehicle, that the sensor data may be used for various types of processing related to the vehicle including processing performed using artificial intelligence, that data generated during a travel simulation of the vehicle may be utilized to generate replacement data and that neural networks may be used to generate the replacement data, see at least page 2 paragraphs 0025 - 0026 and 0030, page 6 paragraphs 0104 - 0105, page 12 paragraphs 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, page 14 paragraphs 0248 - 0256 and page 18 paragraph 0315 of Shibata et al. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the base device of Shibata et al. would be utilized in connection with sensor data acquired from an autonomous device so as to allow for the base device of Shibata et al. to be utilized in an increased number of applications and/or environments and improve the reliability of sensor data obtained and/or employed in a wider variety of situations so as to improve its overall appeal, usefulness and marketability to potential end-users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shibata et al. with Wu et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
- With regards to claim 16, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein using the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information comprises using the one or more neural networks to generate data, based, at least in part, on the first sensor information, to replace one or more portions of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 17, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising labeling corrupted data in the second sensor information as unvalidated data, (Shibata et al., Abstract, Figs. 2A - 5 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 3 ¶ 0048 - 0051 and 0055 - 0058, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0085, Pg. 8 ¶ 0137 - 0138 and 0141 - 0143, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203, 0213 and 0218, Pg. 15 ¶ 0267 - 0273 [Noise portions of the sensor data, image, in Shibata et al. correspond to corrupted data labeled as unvalidated data.]) and wherein using the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information comprises using the one or more neural networks to correct the labeled corrupted data. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
- With regards to claim 18, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising using one or more simulators to generate the one or more simulations at least by using the second sensor information to update one or more parameters of a simulated environment. (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025, Pg. 3 ¶ 0060 - 0061, Pg. 4 ¶ 0066 - 0068 and 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0088 - 0095, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0233 - 0235, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315 [The generated replacement data corresponding to the noise portion of the sensor data corresponds to a simulated environment.])
- With regards to claim 19, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein: using the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information comprises using the one or more neural networks to increase a smoothness of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 2A - 3B, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0032 and 0040, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0073, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081 - 0083 and 0088 - 0093, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115, Pg. 7 ¶ 0135 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0138, Pg. 9 ¶ 0156 - 0158, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273) Shibata et al. fail to disclose expressly wherein: the second sensor information is a time series. In addition, Shibata et al. fail to disclose explicitly increasing a smoothness of the second sensor information with respect to time. Pertaining to analogous art, Wu et al. disclose wherein: the second sensor information is a time series, (Wu et al., Abstract, Figs. 4, 9 & 10, Pg. 2 ¶ 0030, Pg. 3 ¶ 0033 and 0035 - 0038, Pg. 5 ¶ 0048 - 0049 and 0056, Pg. 6 ¶ 0058, Pg. 10 ¶ 0096 - 0098, Pg. 11 ¶ 0105 - 0106) and using the one or more neural networks to increase a smoothness of the second sensor information with respect to time. (Wu et al., Pg. 2 ¶ 0032, Pg. 3 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 4 ¶ 0041, Pg. 4 ¶ 0043, Pg. 5 ¶ 0045 - 0046, Pg. 19 ¶ 0183 - 0185) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. with additional teachings of Wu et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Wu et al. applied to a comparable device. Adjusting a time series of sensor information and increasing a smoothness of the sensor information with respect to time, as taught by Wu et al., would enhance the combined base device by allowing for it to improve the reliability of an increased number and variety of types of sensor information that are typically employed and utilized in connection with autonomous vehicles and/or autonomous driving functions, such as sequences of captured images, and by further improving the quality and reliability of the second sensor information so as to enhance the ability of the combined base device to make accurate and reliable decisions based upon the second sensor information. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Shibata et al. that their teachings may be applied to sensor data acquired from sensors mounted on a vehicle, that the sensor data may be used for various types of processing related to the vehicle including processing performed using artificial intelligence, that replacement data may be generated on the basis of neighboring pixel, that an average value of relevant neighboring pixels may be used to generate the replacement data and that a value equal to an adjacent pixel value may be used to generate the replacement data, see at least page 2 paragraphs 0025 - 0026 and 0030 and page 4 paragraphs 0070 - 0073 of Shibata et al. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a smoothness of a time series of sensor information would be increased with respect to time so as to allow for the combined base device to improve the reliability of an increased number and variety of types of sensor information and to further improve the quality and reliability of the second sensor information so as to enhance the ability of the combined base device to make accurate and reliable decisions based upon the second sensor information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. with additional teachings of Wu et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
- With regards to claim 20, Shibata et al. in view of Wu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein using the one or more neural networks to adjust the second sensor information comprises using the one or more neural networks to modify one or more first portions of the second sensor information and maintain one or more second portions of the second sensor information. (Shibata et al., Figs. 1 - 5, 9, 10 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008, Pg. 2 ¶ 0025 - 0026, 0029 - 0032 and 0040, Pg. 3 ¶ 0051, Pg. 4 ¶ 0070 - 0074, Pg. 5 ¶ 0081, Pg. 6 ¶ 0104 - 0105 and 0115 - 0117, Pg. 12 ¶ 0203 - 0204 and 0212 - 0215, Pg. 13 ¶ 0219 - 0221, Pg. 14 ¶ 0248, 0252 and 0255, Pg. 15 ¶ 0259 and 0270 - 0273, Pg. 18 ¶ 0312 - 0315)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Branson et al. U.S. Publication No. 2017/0075959 A1; which is directed towards a system and method for receiving and processing streaming data, wherein substitute data is generated for missing data in the received streaming data.
Kristensen et al. U.S. Publication No. 2021/0286923 A1; which is directed towards systems and methods for learning sensor models, wherein a sensor model is trained to predict virtual sensor data for a given scene configuration.
Laftchiev et al. U.S. Publication No. 2022/0292301 A1; which is directed towards a system and method for training a neural network having autoencoder architecture to recover missing data, wherein the neural network is trained to produce a full set of sensor measurement data from an incomplete set of sensor measurement data.
Seo et al. U.S. Publication No. 2020/0090322 A1; which is directed towards systems and methods for detecting regions of blindness or compromised visibility in sensor data, wherein a deep neural network is trained to predict regions of blindness or compromised visibility in sensor data.
/ERIC RUSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677