DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 16 are independent.
This Application was published as US 20250313434.
Apparent priority is 6 April 2024.
The instant Application is directed to a voice command system for an overhead hoist transport which verified the user unless the command is to stop.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that, if presented, were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims.
This action is Final.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claim 11 do not recite sufficient structure to avoid the claim being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Note that MPEP 2181.I states: “Application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is driven by the claim language, not by applicant’s intent or mere statements to the contrary included in the specification or made during prosecution… A claim limitation is presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) when it explicitly uses the term "means" or "step" and includes functional language. The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) applies is overcome when the limitation further includes the structure, material or acts necessary to perform the recited function.” Claim 11 is amended to recite a housing; however, a housing by itself as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art could not perform the recited functions (receiving sound, storing data, extracting voiceprints, processing data, etc.). Therefore, the claims are still interpreted under 112(f) as outlined below.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 19) that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found a reason to modify the teachings of Xia with the teachings of Zhang 1 because in Xia’s example, the mechanism is stopped in normal use, not in an emergency. However, as cited in the previous office action, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the teaching of Xia and add an immediate emergency stop as taught by Zhang1 in order to increase safety in the case of an emergency.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Even though Xia does not explicitly disclose the case of an emergency, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that an emergency situation could occur, as disclosed by Zhang1.
Further, applicant argues (pg. 18-19) that the combination of Xia and Zhang 1 do not teach shutting down all operations of the entire system and remaining in idle after the stop command.
Xia teaches that upon a stop command, the mechanism stops descending; the stop command is not axis specific and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would understand it to stop all motion. Further, Zhang 1 explicitly discloses that in an emergency stop, a stop message is sent to the motion control module which would stop all motion. Stopping motion without explicitly shutting down the system would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as an idle state.
Applicant argues (pg. 20) that “Xia should require the verification of qualified operating authorization through accurate comparison of voice signals and voiceprint information”. This is explicitly disclosed by Xia in [00043]. Applicant further states that “Xia should require authorization verification through voiceprint comparison, such modification of Zhang 1 and Xia may destroy the purpose or function of Xia.” Xia discloses the purpose of the invention: “[00010] The embodiment of the present invention provides a hoisting machine to solve the problems of low working efficiency and low operating accuracy of traditional hoisting machines.” Adding an emergency stop that bypasses the voiceprint verification would in no way destroy the purpose of Xia to increase working efficiency and accuracy. It would not alter the way Xia’s system fundamentally works; instead it would add a beneficial layer of safety. Because Zhang1 also discloses a method for motion control by voice with voiceprint verification, it is clear that this function can be added without changing the fundamental functions.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: : a sound receiving unit, a database unit, a voiceprint extracting unit, and a processing unit in claims 11-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (CN 112520583 A) in view of Zhang et al (CN 117392976 A), hereinafter as Zhang1.
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses: 1. A voice control method of an overhead hoist transport (OHT), comprising: ("[00024] In the hoisting machinery provided by the embodiment of the present invention, the voiceprint information of the operator is pre-recorded in the signal transmitter. During lifting operations, the signal transmitter will communicate with the recorded voiceprint information after receiving the voice signal. By comparison, when it is determined as the operator's command and instruction, the control signal is sent to the signal receiver, and the corresponding operation can be completed without the cooperation of multiple operators at the same time, which can not only improve the efficiency of lifting operations, but also effectively improve the lifting The accuracy of the assignment." )
(a) receiving an ambient sound; ("[00039] Specifically, the voice receiving unit is a microphone or a pickup, which are two preferred modes listed in the embodiment of the present invention, and should not be understood as a limitation of the present invention." )
(b) determining whether the ambient sound is corresponded to one of control commands for controlling the OHT; ("[00036] The signal transmitter 50 is used to recognize the received voice information, and when the voice information is recognized as a command instruction, send a control signal corresponding to the voice information to the signal receiver 40." )
(c) determining whether the one of the control commands is for immediately stopping the OHT when a determination is made that the ambient sound is corresponded to the one of the control commands for controlling the OHT; ("[00053] ... The heavy mechanism stops descending; when the operator sends out the voice signal of "descent, descend, descend", the execution time of the lowering operation of the crane mechanism can be set as continuous execution, that is, until the operator sends the "stop" voice signal Then exit the descending operation." )
(d) immediately stopping the OHT when a determination is made that the one of the control commands is for immediately stopping the OHT; ("[00053] ... until the operator sends the "stop" voice signal Then exit the descending operation." Xia does not explicitly disclose that the OHT stops without determining a voiceprint match as is understood by “immediately”. )
wherein step (d) further comprises: activating a brake of the OHT for stopping the OHT immediately; and instructing the OHT to terminate all actions and stay idle ("[00053]…that is, until the operator sends the "stop" voice signal Then exit the descending operation." - One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that stopping the descending operation would include applying a brake so the hoist does not further descend. Xia discloses a generic “stop” command, rather than a specific direction stop, so it would be understood that this terminates any directional action. The hoist is therefore in an idle state.)
without requiring to preliminarily confirm a permissions for the one of the control commands; (Not explicitly disclosed by Xia)
(e) determining whether a voiceprint pattern of the ambient sound matches a preset voiceprint pattern of an authorized user when a determination is made that the one of the control commands is not for immediately stopping the OHT; and ("[00043] After the voice receiving unit 52 receives the voice signal, the voice recognition unit 53 performs voiceprint recognition on the voice signal, and the signal judging unit 54 performs operations recorded in advance in the voiceprint storage unit 51 The operator’s voiceprint information is used to determine whether the voice signal is a command instruction of the operator..." )
(f) instructing the OHT to perform a move corresponding to the one of the control commands when a determination is made that the voiceprint pattern matches the preset voiceprint pattern. ("[00043]... The operator’s voiceprint information is used to determine whether the voice signal is a command instruction of the operator, and when the voice signal is determined to be a command instruction, the signal sending unit 55 sends a corresponding control signal to the signal receiver 40." )
Xia does not disclose that the OHT is immediately stopped without matching the voiceprint, as is understood to be the meaning of “immediately stopping”.
Zhang1 discloses: (d) immediately stopping the OHT when a determination is made that the one of the control commands is for immediately stopping the OHT; ("[00087] In one embodiment of the present invention, a solution is proposed in response to the need for emergency stop during puncture: after each voice signal is collected, it is determined whether the corresponding converted text information belongs to the preset stop instruction set (such as Stop, terminate), if so, the processing module skips the step of extracting voiceprint features (that is, it will not perform the operations of generating potential instruction text information, feedback, and re-confirmation), and directly sends a stop message to the motion control module. Movement instructions. It can be seen from the above that the emergency stop command is not limited to the voice with the target voiceprint. Therefore, when anyone on the scene (including the patient) expresses the voice of the stop command, the system can respond in time, thereby reducing the patient's surgical costs. Medium risk" )
wherein step (d) further comprises: activating a brake of the OHT for stopping the OHT immediately; (One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that stopping the descending operation would include applying a brake so the hoist does not further descend.)
and instructing the OHT to terminate all actions and stay idle without requiring to preliminarily confirm a permissions for the one of the control commands ("[00087] … it is determined whether the corresponding converted text information belongs to the preset stop instruction set (such as Stop, terminate), if so, the processing module skips the step of extracting voiceprint features (that is, it will not perform the operations of generating potential instruction text information, feedback, and re-confirmation), and directly sends a stop message to the motion control module…" – sending a stop message to the motion control module would terminate all motion actions and stay idle.)
Xia and Zhang1 are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice control systems for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Xia with an immediate stop option as disclosed by Zhang1. Doing so would have been beneficial so that anyone on the scene can stop the system in an emergency. (Zhang1, [00087])
Regarding claim 2, Xia discloses: 2. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 1, further comprising: processing the ambient sound before step (b). ("[00049] Specifically, after the signal receiving unit receives the control signal sent by the signal transmitter, the signal processing unit needs to perform related signal processing, such as demodulating and amplifying the signal. In order to improve the signal quality, the control signal can also be processed. Filtering and noise reduction processing. Of course, the embodiment of the present invention does not need to limit the related algorithms of signal processing. Those skilled in the art need to select a suitable algorithm according to the specific conditions in the actual application to ensure the signal quality of the control signal obtained." )
Regarding claim 3, Xia discloses: 3. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 2, wherein the step of processing the ambient sound comprises: performing an audio filtering process to the ambient sound. ("[00049] Specifically, after the signal receiving unit receives the control signal sent by the signal transmitter, the signal processing unit needs to perform related signal processing, such as demodulating and amplifying the signal. In order to improve the signal quality, the control signal can also be processed. Filtering and noise reduction processing. Of course, the embodiment of the present invention does not need to limit the related algorithms of signal processing. Those skilled in the art need to select a suitable algorithm according to the specific conditions in the actual application to ensure the signal quality of the control signal obtained." )
Regarding claim 7, Xia does not disclose the additional limitations.
Zhang1 discloses: 7. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 1, wherein step (b) further comprises: converting the ambient sound into a text message; and ("[00013] A speech recognition module configured to use NLP technology to convert the speech signals collected by the speech collection module into text information;”)
identifying the text message of the ambient sound and determining whether the text message matches one of the control commands stored in a database unit. (“[00014] A processing module configured to extract the voiceprint characteristics of the voice signal collected by the voice collection module, match the voice signal that conforms to the preset target voiceprint, and convert the text information from the voice recognition module Match the text information corresponding to the speech signal that matches the preset target voiceprint, and extract keywords from it to generate potential instruction text information;" )
Xia and Zhang1 are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice control systems for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Xia with the text processing disclosed by Zhang1. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding claim 8, Xia discloses: 8. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the one of the control commands is designated for the OHT after step (e); and when a determination is made that the one of the control commands is designated for the OHT, instructing the OHT designated by the one of the control commands to perform the move corresponding to the one of the control commands. ("[00052] The following will describe with a specific example. For example, if an operator needs to perform a lowering operation on a crane structure, first, the voiceprint information of the operator has been pre-stored in the voiceprint storage unit in the signal transmitter. When the operator sends out a "down" voice signal, the voice signal is converted into an electrical signal by a voice receiving unit such as a microphone or a pickup, and the electrical signal is matched with the voiceprint signal of the operator through the voice recognition unit. Determine that the voice signal is a command instruction, and then the signal sending unit sends the control signal to the signal receiving unit in the signal receiver, and the signal processing unit processes the signal to obtain the corresponding control instruction, that is, the down instruction, thereby controlling The crane structure realizes the lowering operation." )
Regarding claim 10, Xia discloses: 10. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 1, wherein step (e) further comprises: extracting the voiceprint pattern from the ambient sound; and identifying the voiceprint pattern of the ambient sound and determining whether the voiceprint pattern of the ambient sound matches the preset voiceprint pattern registered in a database unit. ("[00052] The following will describe with a specific example. For example, if an operator needs to perform a lowering operation on a crane structure, first, the voiceprint information of the operator has been pre-stored in the voiceprint storage unit in the signal transmitter. When the operator sends out a "down" voice signal, the voice signal is converted into an electrical signal by a voice receiving unit such as a microphone or a pickup, and the electrical signal is matched with the voiceprint signal of the operator through the voice recognition unit..." )
Claim 11 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, Xia teaches: a housing (“[00047] In a specific embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG. 3, it is a structural diagram of a signal receiver”)
a sound receiving unit, (“[00017] Preferably, the voice receiving unit is a microphone or a pickup.)
a database unit, (“[00016] Preferably, the storage unit in the signal transmitter pre-stores at least one operator's voiceprint information.”)
a voiceprint extracting unit, (“[00043] After the voice receiving unit 52 receives the voice signal, the voice recognition unit 53 performs voiceprint recognition on the voice signal…” )
and a processing unit (“[00047] In a specific embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG. 3, it is a structural diagram of a signal receiver provided by an embodiment of the present invention. The signal receiver 40 includes a signal receiving unit 41, a signal processing unit 42, and an instruction sending unit. 43;”)
Regarding claim 12, Xia discloses: 12. The voice control system of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 11, further comprising: a wave filter electrically connected to the processing unit and the sound receiving unit and configured to perform an audio filtering process to the ambient sound. (“[00049] Specifically, after the signal receiving unit receives the control signal sent by the signal transmitter, the signal processing unit needs to perform related signal processing, such as demodulating and amplifying the signal. In order to improve the signal quality, the control signal can also be processed. Filtering and noise reduction processing. Of course, the embodiment of the present invention does not need to limit the related algorithms of signal processing. Those skilled in the art need to select a suitable algorithm according to the specific conditions in the actual application to ensure the signal quality of the control signal obtained.)
Claim 16 is a device claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, Xia teaches: a housing; a pick-up system disposed on the housing for picking up an object; a transmission system disposed on the housing for moving along a rail; a control circuit portion disposed in the housing, and electrically connected to the pick-up system and the transmission system for controlling the pick-up system and the transmission system. (“[0006] According to the "Special Equipment Catalogue" promulgated by the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine, cranes are divided into: bridge cranes, gantry cranes, tower cranes, mobile cranes, portal cranes, lifts, cable cranes, mast cranes, Mechanical parking equipment.” – at least bridge cranes and gantry cranes include a housing, a pickup system, a transmission system, and a control circuit.)
Claim 17 is a device claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 12 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Zhang1 as applied in claim 3 above, further in view of Zhang et al (CN 113409786 B), hereinafter as Zhang2.
Regarding claim 4, Xia and Zhang1 do not disclose the additional limitations.
Zhang2 discloses: 4. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 3, wherein the step of performing the audio filtering process to the ambient sound comprises: blocking an environmental noise part and a non-human vocal part in a frequency range of the ambient sound, and enabling a main part in the frequency range of the ambient sound to be passed through only. ("[00071] In one example, in order to achieve high-quality recognition of control voice commands, the received control voice commands can also be denoised on the logistics robot side. For example, Wiener filtering noise reduction method can be used for noise reduction processing; in addition, for example, audio noise reduction algorithms based on deep neural network (DNN) or recurrent neural network (RNN) can also be used to control voice commands. Noise reduction processing, this example is not particularly limited. Through the above method, background noise in the warehousing environment can be better removed, thereby improving the quality of receiving and recognizing control voice commands and reducing the probability of recognition failure due to the influence of noise." )
Xia, Zhang1, and Zhang2 are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice control systems for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with noise filtering as disclosed by Zhang2. This would have been beneficial in order to reduce the probability of recognition failure due to the influence of noise. (Zhang2 [00071])
Regarding claim 9, Xia does not disclose the additional limitations.
Zhang1 discloses: 9. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 8, wherein the step of determining whether the ambient sound is designated for the OHT comprises: converting the ambient sound into a text message; ("[00013] A speech recognition module configured to use NLP technology to convert the speech signals collected by the speech collection module into text information;”)
and identifying the text message and determining whether at least one part of the text message matches a serial number of the OHT, wherein when a determination is made that the at least one part of the text message matches the serial number, only instructing the OHT designated by the one of the control commands to perform the move corresponding to the one of the control commands. (not explicitly disclosed.)
See motivation statement for claim 7.
Zhang1 does not disclose determining which unit to control based on serial number in the command.
Zhang2 discloses: identifying the text message and determining whether at least one part of the text message matches a serial number of the OHT, wherein when a determination is made that the at least one part of the text message matches the serial number, only instructing the OHT designated by the one of the control commands to perform the move corresponding to the one of the control commands. ("[00059] In this example embodiment, in the activated state, the user can issue control voice commands to each logistics robot, and the control voice commands can include specific identity information and action commands of the specific logistics robot designated by the user. For example, identity information can be preset for all logistics robots in the current work area. For example, a total of 50 logistics robots can be preset with numbers 1 to 50, so that when the logistics robot detects a voice command that matches its own number, At this time, it can be known that the voice command is issued for itself. For example, if the user wants to designate the logistics robot numbered 3 to perform the cargo lifting task, the user can issue the control voice command "Car No. 3, lift". In this case, the logistics robot No. 3 is the specific logistics robot, and The identity information "No. 3" is the specific identity information, and the "lift" in it is the specific action command." )
Xia, Zhang1, and Zhang2 are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice control systems for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with control by serial number as disclosed by Zhang2. This would have been beneficial so that multiple machines could be controlled individually.
Claim 15 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 9 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is a device claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 9 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5, 13-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Zhang1 as applied in claim 3 above, further in view of Liu et al. (US 20200227039 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Xia discloses: 5. The voice control method of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 3, wherein the step of processing the ambient sound comprises: determining whether an intensity of the ambient sound is greater than a preset threshold; and when a determination is made that the intensity of the ambient sound is greater than the preset threshold, performing an active noise-reduction process to the ambient sound after performing the audio filtering process to the ambient sound. ("[00049] Specifically, after the signal receiving unit receives the control signal sent by the signal transmitter, the signal processing unit needs to perform related signal processing, such as demodulating and amplifying the signal. In order to improve the signal quality, the control signal can also be processed. Filtering and noise reduction processing. Of course, the embodiment of the present invention does not need to limit the related algorithms of signal processing. Those skilled in the art need to select a suitable algorithm according to the specific conditions in the actual application to ensure the signal quality of the control signal obtained." )
Xia does not disclose that the noise reduction processing occurs only if the ambient noise is greater than a preset threshold. Neither does Zhang1.
Liu discloses: determining whether an intensity of the ambient sound is greater than a preset threshold; and when a determination is made that the intensity of the ambient sound is greater than the preset threshold, performing processing. (“[0037] In step S321, according to the sound intensity of the first sound signal, a portion of the first sound signal whose sound intensity is greater than a trigger sound intensity threshold in the first sound signal is identified. In an embodiment, the voice trigger circuit 121 only keeps a sound signal within a human voice frequency band (e.g., 300 Hertz to 3400 Hertz), so that the first sound signal is a sound signal corresponding to the human voice frequency band. In this way, the computational load can be reduced, and the influences of other types of noise can be avoided by focusing on the human voice frequency band only. In addition, clear/dull sounds uttered at a faster rate or lacking intensity may also be sensed.” – the voice trigger circuit only activates if the received ambient noise exceeds a threshold. This means any processing including noise reduction occurs only if the threshold is met.)
Xia, Zhang1, and Liu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice control systems for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with a voice trigger as disclosed by Liu. This would have been beneficial in order to reduce computational load. (Liu [0037])
Claim 13 is a system claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 5 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, Xia discloses: 14. The voice control system of the overhead hoist transport (OHT) of claim 13, wherein the active noise cancellation circuit is inbuilt in the processing unit. (“[00082] In an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the processing module 540 may also be used to cause each logistics robot to perform noise reduction processing on the control voice command.” – the processing module 540 is the same processing unit used to perform the other task; see e.g. [00079]-[00080].)
Claim 18 is a device claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim and 5 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is a device claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 14 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON CHRISTOPHER MEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654