Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference characters “112”, and “300” has been mentioned in the specification [0027], and [0028], however drawings does not illustrate them. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p) (5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: second convex “112” [0027], and a condensation device “300” [0028].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Megaridis et al (US 2023/0332839).
Regarding Claim 1, Megaridis (In Fig 1) discloses a uniform temperature plate (100) comprising:
a first plate (104);
a second plate (102) enclosed with the first plate (104) to form a containing cavity (100),
wherein the containing cavity (100) is filled with working liquid (liquid, ¶ 54, II. 1-6), the containing cavity (100) comprises an evaporation zone (102/114) and a condensation zone (102); and,
a braided wire (112) having a capillary structure (wicking structure, ¶ 52, II. 1-2), wherein the braided wire (112) is arranged in the containing cavity (100), a first end of the braided wire (112) is arranged in the evaporation zone (102/114), a second end of the braided wire (112) is arranged in the condensation zone (102), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Megaridis discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Megaridis (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the braided wire (112) comprises a plurality of intertwined metal wires (wicking structure, ¶ 52, II. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, Megaridis discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Megaridis (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of metal wires (wicking structure, ¶ 52, II. 1-2) is made of copper (copper wick, ¶ 71, II. 1-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Megaridis discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Megaridis (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the containing cavity (100) is configured to be vacuum (¶ 54, II. 1-6).
Claims 9-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al (US 2025/0107043).
Regarding Claim 9, Sun (In Fig 1) discloses an electronic equipment (Fig 1) comprising a first chip (20) and a uniform temperature plate (10), wherein the first chip (20) is arranged close to a first surface of the uniform temperature plate (10), the uniform temperature plate (10) comprises:
a first plate (11);
a second plate (12) enclosed with the first plate (11) to form a containing cavity (15), wherein the containing cavity (15) is filled with working liquid (liquid, ¶ 15, II. 11-13), the containing cavity (15) comprises an evaporation zone (111) and a condensation zone (112), (Fig 1); and
a braided wire (141) having a capillary structure (¶ 63, II. 5-8), wherein the braided wire (141) is arranged in the containing cavity (15), (Fig 1), a first end of the braided wire (141) is arranged in the evaporation zone (111), a second end of the braided wire (141) is arranged in the condensation zone (112), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Sun (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the braided wire (141) comprises a plurality of intertwined metal wires (¶ 63, II. 5-8).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Sun (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of metal wires is made of copper (¶ 63, II. 5-8).
Regarding Claim 12, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Sun (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the containing cavity is configured to be vacuum (¶ 29, II. 8-10).
Regarding Claim 16, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Sun (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the first plate (11) comprises a second convex (111) in a direction away from the containing cavity (15), a position of the second convex (111) is arranged corresponding to a heating element (20), (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Megaridis in view of Yang (CN203432427).
For the purpose of citation, Examiner used machine translation of CN203432427, said translation has been provided herewith to the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 5, Megaridis discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Megaridis does not disclose wherein the first plate comprises a plurality of first convexes in a direction facing the containing cavity.
Instead, Yang (In Fig 3) teaches wherein the first plate (11b) comprises a plurality of first convexes (1111) in a direction facing the containing cavity (114), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Megaridis with Yang with the first plate comprising a plurality of first convexes in a direction facing the containing cavity to benefit from enhancing heat transfer and reflux efficiencies by means of increased capillary structure within thin and light electronic devices (¶ 7, II. 1-13).
Regarding Claim 6, Megaridis in view of Yang discloses the limitations of Claim 5, however Megaridis (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the uniform temperature plate (100) further comprising a capillary structure layer (110), wherein the capillary structure layer is arranged on the first plate (104) or on the second plate (Fig 1).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Megaridis in view of Yang and further in view of Lee et al (KR20210138333).
For the purpose of citation, Examiner used machine translation of KR20210138333, said translation has been provided herewith to the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 7, Megaridis in view of Yang discloses the limitations of Claim 6, however Megaridis as modified does not disclose wherein the capillary structure layer comprises a plurality of round holes, a position of each of the plurality of round holes is arranged corresponding to a position of each of the plurality of the first convexes.
Instead, Lee (In Figs 11-12) teaches wherein the capillary structure layer (22) comprises a plurality of round holes (round holes accommodating 24), a position of each of the plurality of round holes (round holes accommodating 24) is arranged corresponding to a position of each of the plurality of the first convexes (24), (Fig 12).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Megaridis with Yang and further with Lee with the capillary structure layer comprising a plurality of round holes, a position of each of the plurality of round holes is arranged corresponding to a position of each of the plurality of the first convexes to benefit from absorbing heat from the heat source and evaporates, thereby cooling the heat source along the wick by capillary action, achieving efficient cooling through phase change (Lee ¶ 7, II. 1-5).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Megaridis in view of Sun.
Regarding Claim 8, Megaridis discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Megaridis does not disclose wherein the first plate comprises a second convex in a direction away from the containing cavity, a position of the second convex is arranged corresponding to a heating element.
Instead, Sun (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the first plate (11) comprises a second convex (111) in a direction away from the containing cavity (15), a position of the second convex (111) is arranged corresponding to a heating element (20), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Megaridis with Sun with the first plate comprises a second convex in a direction away from the containing cavity, a position of the second convex being arranged corresponding to a heating element to benefit from improved transmission efficiency of the vapor chamber in high power consumption and high heat flow density chip application (Sun ¶ 15, II. 23-32).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Yang.
Regarding Claim 13, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Sun does not disclose wherein the first plate comprises a plurality of first convexes in a direction facing the containing cavity.
Instead, Yang (In Fig 3) teaches wherein the first plate (11b) comprises a plurality of first convexes (1111) in a direction facing the containing cavity (114), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun with Yang with the first plate comprising a plurality of first convexes in a direction facing the containing cavity to benefit from enhancing heat transfer and reflux efficiencies by means of increased capillary structure within thin and light electronic devices (¶ 7, II. 1-13).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun in view of Yang discloses the limitations of Claim 13, however Sun (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the uniform temperature plate (10) further comprises a capillary structure layer (113, 114, 121), the capillary structure layer (113, 114, 121) is arranged on the first plate (11) or on the second plate (12), (Fig 1).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Yang and further in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 15, Sun in view of Yang discloses the limitations of Claim 14, however Sun as modified does not disclose wherein the capillary structure layer comprises a plurality of round holes, a position of each of the plurality of round holes is arranged corresponding to a position of each of the plurality of the first convexes.
Instead, Lee (In Figs 11-12) teaches wherein the capillary structure layer (22) comprises a plurality of round holes (round holes accommodating 24), a position of each of the plurality of round holes (round holes accommodating 24) is arranged corresponding to a position of each of the plurality of the first convexes (24), (Fig 12).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun with Yang and further with Lee with the capillary structure layer comprising a plurality of round holes, a position of each of the plurality of round holes is arranged corresponding to a position of each of the plurality of the first convexes to benefit from absorbing heat from the heat source and evaporates, thereby cooling the heat source along the wick by capillary action, achieving efficient cooling through phase change (Lee ¶ 7, II. 1-5).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Wang (US 2010/0319881).
Regarding Claim 17, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Sun does not disclose wherein the electronic equipment further comprising a condensation device, wherein the condensation device is arranged close to a second surface of the uniform temperature plate, the first surface is arranged relative to the second surface.
Instead, Wang (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the electronic equipment (20) further comprising a condensation device (30), wherein the condensation device (30) is arranged close to a second surface of the uniform temperature plate (11), the first surface is arranged relative to the second surface (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun with Wang with a condensation device, the condensation device being arranged close to a second surface of the uniform temperature plate, the first surface being arranged relative to the second surface to benefit from absorbing the heat and dissipating the heat to ambient air (Wang ¶ 17, II. 1-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Vapor Chamber with Microstructure Layer US 2024/0318921, Heat Pipe with Composite Capillary Wick and Method of Making the Same US 2007/0267179, Vapor Chamber System US 2024/0302108, Mobile Terminal, Vapor Chamber and Preparation Method Thereof, and Electronic Device US 2023/0019481. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835