DETAILED ACTION
Application status
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 08 April 2024
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8, 9 and 10, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to written description requirement have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) of claims 1-3, 10-12 and 15-17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8, 9 and 10, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to indefiniteness requirement have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments, does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See new ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15 -17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Jiang”) In the Patent Application Publication Number US 20200387283 A1. In view of CHEN et al. (Hereinafter, “Chen”) in the Patent Application Publication Number US 20140139255 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Jiang teaches, “A display module inspection device comprising: a waveform generator electrically connected to a display data-signal wire of a display module, ([0027], “The touch chip 32 includes a sync signal controller 321, a driving signal generator 322, and a signal detection gate 323.” Moreover, [0061], “and the touch chip 32 is connected to the touch display panel 31. See Fig 3a.” Reads on, “waveform generator electrically connected to a display data-signal wire of a display module.”)
Jiang is silent on, “And configured to generate a first test signal as a simulated data signal and to transmit the first test signal to a display module;”
Chen teaches, “And configured to generate a first test signal as a simulated data signal and to transmit the first test signal to a display module using the display data-signal wire;” ([0021], “the display panel comprises a first substrate 20, a plurality of display units 90, a plurality of first signal lines 40, a plurality of pixel control lines CA and testing lines T1 and T2.” Moreover, [0023], “The testing lines T1 and T2 are electrically connected to the testing pads D1 and D2 respectively, for providing the pixel units 30 with signals transmitted from the testing pads D1 and D2. In the display panel 100.” Reads on, “And configured to generate a first test signal as a simulated data signal and to transmit the first test signal to a display module using the display data-signal wire;”)
Implementing a Testing line 1 as disclosed by Chen with the teachings of the touch chip by Jiang further grants the technician to begin the process of performing integrity checks within a controlled environment. This also allows for the opportunity to obtain threshold levels of functionality. The use of test signals for testing electronics is a well-known procedure in the manufacturing industry.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Chen by combining the first test signal which would allow the technician to begin the essential step in ensuring the display module to be tested is operating within the tolerances of the specification as designed by the manufacture. (KSR)
Jiang does teach, “using the display data-signal wire;” ([0022],) “such that its sensing wire can not only detect a large effective signal amount, but also be little affected by a display driving operation of a displayer, thereby improving the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of a finally detected effective signal.” Reads on “display data-signal wire.”
Jiang further teaches, “And a noise sensing unit electrically connected to the display data-signal wire of the display module” ([0061], “The capacitance detection circuit is located in the touch chip 32, and the touch chip 32 is connected to the touch display panel 31.” Reads on, “And a noise sensing unit electrically connected to the display data-signal wire of the display module.”)
While Jiang is silent on, “And configured to receive a second test signal from the display module,”
Chen teaches, “And configured to receive a second test signal from the display module,” ([0021], “the display panel comprises a first substrate 20, a plurality of display units 90, a plurality of first signal lines 40, a plurality of pixel control lines CA and testing lines T1 and T2.” Moreover, [0023], “The testing lines T1 and T2 are electrically connected to the testing pads D1 and D2 respectively, for providing the pixel units 30 with signals transmitted from the testing pads D1 and D2. In the display panel 100”)
Implementing a Testing line 2 as disclosed by Chen with the teachings of the touch chip by Jiang further grants the technician to begin the process of performing integrity checks within a controlled environment. This also allows for the opportunity to obtain multiple threshold levels of functionality by the implementation of a second test signal. Injecting multiple test signals is essential as no single signal can evaluate all aspects of a display performance. The use of test signals for testing electronics is a well-known procedure in the manufacturing industry.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Chen by combining a testing line 2 which would further allow the technician to begin the essential step in ensuring the display module to be tested is operating within the targeted tolerances of the specification as designed by the manufacture. (KSR)
Jiang teaches, “wherein the second test signal is indicative of a mutual capacitance between a plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module,” ([0046], “coupling capacitance” reads on “mutual capacitance.” “Sensing electrode RX” reads on “sensing electrodes”, referring to Fig. 1 discloses Rx1-Rx5.)
Jiang teaches, “And wherein the noise sensing unit is configured to calculate a capacitance value indicative of a measured noise based on the mutual capacitance and the first test signal; and wherein the capacitance value is indicative of noise.”
([0085], “Referring to FIG. 3a, the signal detection gate 323 of the present disclosure gatedly connects the signal value of the capacitance sensor to a VrefBuffer storing a reference voltage Vref during the period of the display driving noise, the VrefBuffer is connected to an input terminal of a differential circuit.” Reads on, “calculate a capacitance value indicative of a measured noise based on the mutual capacitance and the first test signal.”)
As per claim 2, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 1, further comprising a display unit, wherein the noise sensing unit outputs, to the display unit, test data” ([0046], “The signal value of the capacitance sensor in the touch display panel is gated by the signal detection gate 323 in the touch chip 32 for detection to obtain a waveform portion of an output signal Vout. Therefore, position coordinates of the user touch in the touch display panel 31 are obtained based on the output signal Vout.” Reads on, “the noise sensing unit outputs, to the display unit, test data.”
“Including a respective capacitance value for each channel formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module.” ([0083], “driving electrode TX” and “sensing electrode Rx” reads on “plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module.”)
As per claim 3, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 1, wherein the noise sensing unit outputs test data including a respective capacitance value for each channel formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module, ([0046], “The driving electrode Tx in the touch display panel 31 is driven by the sync driving signal Vtx. A change of a coupling capacitance of the driving electrode Tx and the sensing electrode Rx in the touch display panel 31 caused by a user touch is the signal value of the capacitance sensor in the touch display panel.” Reads on, “noise sensing unit outputs test data including a respective capacitance value for each channel formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module.”)
Jiang teaches, “Wherein the noise sensing unit identifies wires of a circuit board connected to a display layer of the display module that contribute to an interference characteristic of the measured noise, wherein the wires correspond to each channel formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module” ([0022], “generate a trigger signal in a period in which a display driving noise is avoided based on a received real-time sync signal, generate a sync driving signal in the period in which the display driving noise is avoided based on the received trigger signal, to drive a driving electrode of the touch display panel, and detect a signal value of a capacitance sensor in the touch display panel in the period in which the display driving noise is avoided based on the received trigger signal.” Reads on, “noise sensing unit identifies wires of a circuit board connected to a display layer of the display module that contribute to an interference characteristic of the measured noise, wherein the wires correspond to each channel formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes.”)
Regarding independent claim 15, Jiang teaches “A method of inspecting a display module using a display module inspection device including a waveform generator and a noise sensing unit,” ([0019], “capacitance detection circuit” reads on “display module inspection device including a waveform generator and a noise sensing unit.”)
“The method comprising: connecting the display module to a display data-signal wire of the display module inspection device, the display module including a display layer,” ([0027], “touch display panel 31” reads on “inspection device” and “display layer”)
“A sensor layer including a plurality of sensing electrodes,” ([0046], “sensing electrode RX” see Fig 1 discloses Rx1-Rx5. Reads on “sensing electrodes,”)
“A plurality of first wires, including the display data-signal wire, electrically connected to the display layer, and a plurality of second wires electrically connected to the sensor layer; ([0027], “the touch sensor 311 is coupled to the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx, the display driving chip 313 is coupled to the display panel 312, and the display panel 312 is coupled to the touch sensor 311.” Reads on, “plurality of first wires,” “data-signal wire,” additionally “electrically connected to display layer” and “sensor layer.”)
Jiang is silent on, “Transmitting, by the waveform generator electrically connected to the display data-signal wire of the display module, a first test signal as a simulated data signal to the display data-signal wire; receiving, by the noise sensing unit electrically connected to the display module, a second test signal from the plurality of first wires using the display data-signal wire.”
Chen teaches, “Transmitting, by the waveform generator electrically connected to the display data-signal wire of the display module, a first test signal as a simulated data signal to the display data-signal wire; receiving, by the noise sensing unit electrically connected to the display module, a second test signal from the plurality of first wires using the display data-signal wire,
([0021], “the display panel comprises a first substrate 20, a plurality of display units 90, a plurality of first signal lines 40, a plurality of pixel control lines CA and testing lines T1 and T2.” Moreover, [0023], “The testing lines T1 and T2 are electrically connected to the testing pads D1 and D2 respectively, for providing the pixel units 30 with signals transmitted from the testing pads D1 and D2. In the display panel 100.” Reads on “Transmitting, by the waveform generator electrically connected to the display data-signal wire of the display module, a first test signal as a simulated data signal to the display data-signal wire; receiving, by the noise sensing unit electrically connected to the display module, a second test signal from the plurality of first wires using the display data-signal wire,”)
Implementing a Testing line 1 as disclosed by Chen with the teachings of the touch chip by Jiang further grants the technician to begin the process of performing integrity checks within a controlled environment. This also allows for the opportunity to obtain threshold levels of functionality. The use of test signals for testing electronics is a well-known procedure in the manufacturing industry.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Chen by combining the first test signal which would allow the technician to begin the essential step in ensuring the display module to be tested is operating within the tolerances of the specification as designed by the manufacture. (KSR)
Jiang teaches, “The second test signal being indicative of mutual capacitance between the plurality of sensing electrodes; and detecting, noise of the display module based on the second test signal.” ([0046], “The driving electrode Tx in the touch display panel 31 is driven by the sync driving signal Vtx. A change of a coupling capacitance of the driving electrode Tx and the sensing electrode Rx.” Reads on, “mutual capacitance between the plurality of sensing electrodes.”)
Jiang further teaches, “And an interference characteristic contributed by the plurality of first wires and the plurality of second wires.” ([0021], “The touch sensor 11 has a two-layer structure. Here, a driving layer thereof is called Tx, a sensing layer thereof is called Rx, and a display panel 14 is below the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx. Interference from driving the display panel 14 will affect a sensing precision of the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx.” Reads on, “and an interference
characteristic contributed by the plurality of first wires and the plurality of second wires.”)
As per claim 16, Jiang teaches, “The method of claim 15, wherein the detecting of the noise includes: calculating, by the noise sensing unit, a plurality of capacitance values based on the mutual capacitance,” ([0048], “3a, the signal detection gate 323 of the present disclosure gatedly connects the signal value of the capacitance sensor to a VrefBuffer storing a reference voltage Vref during the period of the display driving noise, the VrefBuffer is connected to an input terminal of a differential circuit.” Reads on, “calculating, by the noise sensing unit, a plurality of capacitance values based on the mutual capacitance.”)
“The plurality of capacitance values corresponding to a plurality of channels formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes.” ([0083], “driving electrode Tx” and “sensing electrode Rx” reads on “plurality of sensing electrodes.”)
As per claim 17, Jiang teaches, “The method of claim 16, wherein the detecting of the noise further includes: outputting, by the noise sensing unit, test data ([0046], “output signal Vout” reads on, “outputting” and “test data.”)
“Including the plurality of capacitance values corresponding to the plurality of channels formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes.” ([0083], “driving electrode Tx” and “sensing electrode Rx” Reads on “plurality of sensing electrodes of the display module.”)
As per claim 19, “The method of claim 15, wherein the transmitting of the first test signal includes: outputting a 1-1st test signal having a first frequency to the first wire; and outputting a 1-2nd test signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency to the first wire.” ([0040], “the sync driving signal Vtx is the high-low level waveform generated due to trigger by the trigger signal associated with the horizontal sync signal (Hsync), a frequency of the horizontal sync signal (Hsync) is an integral multiple of a frequency of the sync driving signal Vtx. The frequency of the horizontal sync signal (Hsync) in FIG. 5 is twice the frequency of the sync driving signal Vtx.” Reads on, “1-2nd test signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency.”)
As per claim 20, Jiang teaches, “The method of claim 16, wherein the detecting of the noise includes: detecting noise of the sensor layer upon determining that the capacitance value is different than an expect value given the first test signal” ([0102], “signal detection gate” reads on “detects noise of the sensor layer” Moreover, ([0104],) “a correlation obtaining unit 3211.” Reads on, “capacitance value is different than an expect value.”)
Claims 4-11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang ‘283 A1 In view of KWAK et al. (Hereinafter, “Kwak”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2024053758 A1. And further in view of Kuwajima et al. (Hereinafter, “Kuwajima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number US 20100085320 A1.
Regarding independent claim 4, Jiang teaches “A display module inspection device” ([0027], “Referring to FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, the touch display panel 31 according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes a touch sensor 311, a display panel 312, and a display driving chip 313.”) Jiang is silent on, “Comprising: a first connector”
Kuwajima teaches, “Comprising: a first connector ([0007], “test connectors”)
Adding test connectors within an inspection setup is essential for communication between two devices to send and receive feed back in a controlled environment which minimalizes interference and allows for accurate measurements and analysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Kuajima by combining a test connector with the touch chip circuit to establish a solid connection which would improve accuracy of testing. The use of connectors for testing purposes is widely used and well-known in the industry. (KSR)
Jiang is silent on, “configured to deliver a first test signal to, and receive a second test signal from a display data-signal wire of a display module,”
Kwak teaches, “Configured to deliver a first test signal to, and receive a second test signal from a display data-signal wire of a display module,” ([page 6, paragraph 2], “the display module 1200 transmits one feedback signal(FF) after receiving all of the first to third test signals (T1) (T2) (T3).”)
Taking the test connectors as taught by Kuwajima and placing them in the 1st embodiment as taught by Kwak which can transmit feedback signals after receiving up to 3 test signals and combining them with the touch display panel as taught by Jiang would yield the predictable result of a configuration set up in a manner utilizing wire connections between peripherals making it a more reliable set up for signal stability which greatly reduces the chance of noise or any other type of interference from impacting the testing procedure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Kwak and further in view of Kuwajima by combining the teachings of a touch display panel, sending and receiving testing signals by the use of testing connectors to ensure a more stable testing setup. The use of wires and connectors is a well-known and commonly used set up in the testing industry. (KSR)
Jiang teaches, “The display module including a sensor layer including a plurality of sensing electrodes, wherein the sensor layer is disposed on a display layer;” ([0021], “touch sensor 11.” Reads on, “sensing layer and electrodes,” and “on a display layer.”
Jiang teaches, “A waveform generator ([0021], “touch chip.” Reads on “waveform generator.”)
Jiang is silent on, “Electrically connected to the first connector”
Kuwajima teaches, “Electrically connected to the first connector.”
([0007], “test connectors”. Reads on “electrically connected to the first connector.”)
Adding test connectors within an inspection setup is essential for communication between two devices to send and receive feed back in a controlled environment which minimalizes interference and allows for accurate measurements and analysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Kuajima by combining a test connector with the touch chip circuit to establish a solid connection which would improve accuracy of testing. The use of connectors for testing purposes is widely used and well-known in the industry. (KSR)
Jiang is silent on, “and configured to generate the first test signal as a simulated data signal and to transmit the first test signal to the display module using the display data-signal wire;”
Kwak teaches, “and configured to generate the first test signal as a simulated data signal and to transmit the first test signal to the display module using the display data-signal wire;” ([page 4, paragraph 9], “the main module 1100 transmits test signals for detecting the transmission environment of video signals to the display module 1200,”)
Taking the touch chip of Jiang and implementing a test connector as taught by Kuwajima along with the transmission of test signals as disclosed by Kwak would yield the predictable result of providing a reliable signal path as well as reducing testing times allowing technicians to gather data with minimum interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Kwak and further in view of Kuwajima by combining the teachings of the touch chip, test connector and the testing procedure to improve measurement accuracy. A set up comprising this, is well-known and widely used in the testing industry. (KSR)
Jiang teaches, “And a noise sensing unit” ([Abstract], “capacitance detection circuit.” Reads on “noise sensing unit.”)
Jiang teaches, “Electrically connected to the first connector and configured to receive the second test signal from the display module,” ([0061], “the touch chip 32 is connected to the touch display panel 31.” Reads on, “Electrically connected to the first connector and configured to receive the second test signal from the display module.”)
“Wherein the second test signal is indicative of a mutual capacitance between the plurality of sensing electrodes.” ([0046], “The driving electrode Tx in the touch display panel 31 is driven by the sync driving signal Vtx. A change of a coupling capacitance of the driving electrode Tx and the sensing electrode Rx in the touch display panel 31 caused by a user touch is the signal value of the capacitance sensor in the touch display panel.” Reads on, “second test signal is indicative of a mutual capacitance between the plurality of sensing electrodes.”)
Jiang teaches, “And an interference characteristic contributed by wires of a circuit board connected to the display layer of the display module.” ([0021], “The touch sensor 11 has a two-layer structure. Here, a driving layer thereof is called Tx, a sensing layer thereof is called Rx, and a display panel 14 is below the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx. Interference from driving the display panel 14 will affect a sensing precision of the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx.” Reads on, “interference characteristic contributed by wires of a circuit board connected to the display layer of the display module.”)
As per claim 5, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 4, wherein the display module further includes: a display layer;” ([0021], “Display panel reads on “display layer.”)
Jiang teaches, “A circuit board connected to the display layer and including a circuit board connector connected to the first connector; ([0061], “and the touch chip 32 is connected to the touch display panel 31.” Reads on, circuit board connector connected to the first connector.”)
Jiang teaches, “A data driver disposed on the display layer and electrically connected to the circuit board connector and configured to drive the display layer based on the first test signal; a sensor driver chip disposed on circuit board and configured to drive the sensor layer.” ([0027], “the touch display panel 31 according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes a touch sensor 311, a display panel 312, and a display driving chip 313. The display driving chip 313 sends the real-time sync signal, the touch sensor 311 is coupled to the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx, the display driving chip 313 is coupled to the display panel 312, and the display panel 312 is coupled to the touch sensor 311. ” See fig 3b.)
As per claim 6 Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 5, wherein the display module further includes: a plurality of first wires disposed on the circuit board,” ([0060], “the display panel 312 is coupled to the touch sensor 311.” Reads on, “plurality of first wires disposed on the circuit board.” Examiner sees this as a design concept.)
Jiang teaches, “Electrically connected to between the data driver and the circuit board connector; and a plurality of second wires disposed on the circuit board, electrically connected between the sensor driver chip and the sensor layer.” ([0060], “the touch sensor 311 is coupled to the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx, Jiang further teaches, [0061], “The capacitance detection circuit is located in the touch chip 32, and the touch chip 32 is connected to the touch display panel 31. The touch display panel includes the touch sensor, the touch chip 32, the host, and the display panel. The touch sensor has a two-layer structure. Here, a driving layer thereof is called Tx, a sensing layer thereof is called Rx, and a display panel is below the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx.” Reads on, “electrically connected between the sensor driver chip and the sensor layer.” The examiner interprets this as a design choice as well.)
As per claim 7, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 6, wherein the waveform generator is electrically connected to the first connector through a second connector” (Examiner interprets this as a design choice.)
“And transmits the first test signal to the data driver through the second connector, ([0027], “display driving chip” reads on “waveform generator.” Moreover, “sends real-time sync signal” reads on, transmits the first test signal.)
The first connector, and the plurality of first wires, and wherein the noise sensing unit is electrically connected to the first connector through a third connector and receives the second test signal through the third connector, the first connector and the plurality of first wires.” ([0027], “S1: receiving a real-time sync signal sent from a display panel, and generating a trigger signal in a period in which a display driving noise is avoided based on the real-time sync signal.” See fig 1, 3a and 3b. Reads on, “noise sensing unit is electrically connected” and “receives the second test signal.”)
As per claim 8, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 6, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of first wires overlay at least a portion of the plurality of second wires.”
([0021], “The touch sensor 11 has a two-layer structure. Here, a driving layer thereof is called Tx, a sensing layer thereof is called Rx, and a display panel 14 is below the driving layer Tx and the sensing layer Rx.” See fig. 1. Reads on, “plurality of first wires overlay at least a portion of the plurality of second wires.”)
As per claim 9, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 8, wherein the noise sensing unit calculates a capacitance value based on the mutual capacitance.” ([0048], “differential circuit” reads on, “calculate a capacitance value.”)
As per claim 10, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 9, wherein the noise sensing unit outputs test data” ([0046], “output signal Vout” reads on “outputs test data.”)
“Including a respective capacitance value for each channel formed by the plurality of sensing electrodes.” ([0083], “driving electrode Tx” and “sensing electrode Rx” reads on “plurality of sensing electrodes.”)
As per claim 11, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 9, wherein the noise sensing unit detects noise of the sensor layer.” ([0102], “signal detection gate” reads on “detects noise of the sensor layer.”)
As per claim 13, See explanation of claim 4.
As per claim 14, Jiang teaches, “The display module inspection device of claim 4, wherein the waveform generator is configured to generate the first test signal including the first test signal including a 1-1st test signal having a first frequency and a 1-2nd test signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency.” ([0039], “The driving signal generator 322 is configured to generate the sync driving signal Vtx based on the trigger signal, such that the sync driving signal Vtx is an approximately square waveform with a high level, a zero level, and a low level, as shown in FIG. 5.” Moreover, [0040], “the sync driving signal Vtx is the high-low level waveform generated due to trigger by the trigger signal associated with the horizontal sync signal (Hsync), a frequency of the horizontal sync signal (Hsync) is an integral multiple of a frequency of the sync driving signal Vtx. The frequency of the horizontal sync signal (Hsync) in FIG. 5 is twice the frequency of the sync driving signal Vtx.”)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang ‘283 A1, Kwak ‘758 A1 and Kuwajima ‘320 A1 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of OMORI et al. (Hereinafter, “Omori”) in the Patent Application Publication Number US 20190251667 A1.
As per claim 12 where Jiang, is silent on, "The display module inspection device of claim 9, wherein the noise sensing unit is configured to calculate a color dependent on a value of the capacitance value."
Omori teaches on, “The display module inspection device of claim 9,
wherein the noise sensing unit is configured to calculate a color dependent on a value of the
capacitance value.” ([Abstract], "color value calculation circuit configured to calculate color values from an image signal acquired through imaging, an average value calculation circuit configured to calculate average values of the image signal, and a processing circuit configured to perform noise reduction processing on the image signal, with an intensity according to evaluation values including the color values and the average values." Reads on, "calculate a color dependent on a value of
the capacitance value.")
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Omori, to implement a "color value calculation
circuit". Using color-coding to visually convey variations of measured values, is a well-known and
predictable and user-interface technique that displays real time data to an operator or technician
looking for specific information at a glance. (KSR)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang ‘283 A1 and Chen ‘255 A1 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Omori ‘667 A1.
As per claim 18, Jiang and Chen is silent on, “The method of claim 16, further comprising: displaying, by a display unit, the plurality of capacitance values in a color depending on the capacitance value.”
Omori teaches, “The method of claim 16, further comprising: displaying, by a display unit, the plurality of capacitance values in a color depending on the capacitance value.” ([Abstract], "color value calculation circuit configured to calculate color values from an image signal acquired through imaging, an average value calculation circuit configured to calculate average values of the image signal, and a processing circuit configured to perform noise reduction processing on the image signal, with an intensity according to evaluation values including the color values and the average values." Reads on, "calculate a color dependent on a value of the capacitance value.")
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Omori, to implement a "color value calculation
circuit". Using color-coding to visually convey variations of measured values, is a well-known and
predictable and user-interface technique that displays real time data to an operator or technician
looking for specific information at a glance. (KSR)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARELL W PAXTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
6/12/2026