The amendments filed on 7/2/2026 have been fully considered and made of record in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 13-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Chang et al. (US 11,670,597).
With respect to Claims 1, 9, and 15, Chang teaches a first fan out redistribution layer 131 on a first carrier 121. A first semiconductor die 101 disposed on a first side, in a direction, of the first fan out redistribution layer 131 and coupled to a first face of the first fan out redistribution layer. Bonding a second carrier 151 to a second redistribution layer 157,159. Debonding the first carrier from the first redistribution layer 131.
A second semiconductor die 137a or 137b disposed on a second side, in the direction, of the first fan out redistribution layer 131, different from the first side, and coupled to a
second face of the first fan out redistribution layer, different from the first face. The semiconductor die 137a, 137b is at least partially encased by a second mold layer 143. The mold layer 143 being ground to expose a surface of the second semiconductor die (see col. 3 lines 5-67, col. 4 lines 1-67, col. 5 lines 1-67, and col. 6 lines 1-67; Figs. 1E – 1J).
With respect to Claims 2, Chang teaches a second fan out redistribution layer 157, 159, wherein the second fan out redistribution layer is disposed on an opposite side, in the direction, of the first semiconductor die 101 than a side on which the first fan out redistribution layer is disposed (see Fig. 1I – 1J).
With respect to Claims 5, 13, and 18, Chang teaches a plurality of solder bumps 165 coupled to the second fan out redistribution layer 157, 159, wherein the plurality of solder bumps 220 is disposed on an opposite side, in the direction, of the second fan out redistribution layer than a side on which the first semiconductor die is disposed (see
Fig. 1I – 1J).
With respect to Claim 6, Chang teaches the first semiconductor die 101 and the
second semiconductor die 137a, 137b are electrically coupled to the first fan out redistribution layer without use of a through silicon via 220 (see Figs. 1I -1J).
With respect to Claims 7 and 14, Chang teaches the first semiconductor die is
encased by a first mold layer 125. The second semiconductor die 137a, 137b is encased by a second mold layer 143 different from the first mold layer (see Figs. 1I – 1J).
With respect to Claim 10, Chang teaches a second redistribution layer 157, 159
, wherein the first semiconductor die 101 is disposed between, in a direction, the first redistribution layer and the second redistribution layer (see Figs 1I – 1J).
With respect to Claim 19, Chang teaches after encasing the second semiconductor die 137a, 137b in a second mold compound. Debonding the second carrier from the second redistribution layer (see Figs. 1G – 1J)
With respect to Claim 20, Chang teaches grinding the second mold compound 143 to expose a surface of the second semiconductor die (see col. 7 lines 55-65; Figs. 1I – 1K).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 8, 11, 12, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 11,670,597) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Jeng et al. (US 11,239,194).
With respect to Claims 3, 11, and 21, Chang discloses the claimed invention except for the first fan out redistribution layer (i.e. the center RDL) is electrically coupled to the second fan out redistribution layer via a plurality of conducting through-package posts. However, Jeng discloses the first fan out redistribution layer (i.e. the center RDL) is electrically coupled to the second fan out redistribution layer (i.e. located at R1) via a plurality of conducting through-package posts 190 (see Figs. 1K and 1L). Thus, Chang and Jeng have substantially the same environment of a first chip between a plurality of RDL, wherein the first chip is encapsulated. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would readily recognize incorporating a plurality of conducting through posts in the package of Chang, since the plurality of through posts would facilitate in an additional electrical connection between the first and second chips to an external device as evident by Jeng.
With respect to Claim 4, Jeng discloses the first die 140 is encased by a mold compound 160 . The plurality of conducting through package posts 190 extend through the mold compound see Figs. 1K and 1L).
With respect to Claim 8, Jeng discloses a second fan out redistribution layer (i.e. located at R1), wherein the first fan out redistribution layer is electrically coupled to the second fan out redistribution layer via a plurality of conducting through-package posts 190 disposed in the first mold layer. The second mold layer in package 300 does not include conducting through-package posts (see Fig. 1L).
With respect to Claim 12, Jeng discloses the first redistribution layer is electrically coupled to the second redistribution layer (i.e. located at R1) via a plurality of conducting through-package posts 190 (see Fig. 1L).
With respect to Claim 16, Jeng discloses the first redistribution layer includes a plurality of pillars 130 extending away from the first face of the first redistribution layer. Forming the second redistribution layer (i.e. located at R1) on the first mold compound (i.e. located in package 200). The second redistribution layer including a second plurality of electrical traces electrically coupled to the first plurality of electrical traces via the plurality of pillars (see Fig. 1L).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.usptol gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/Septermber 13, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897