DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second fastener” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas (U.S. Patent No. 6,848,492).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas teaches a decorative window insulation device (abstract) comprising: a body (figure 1) comprised of an insulating material (abstract), the body comprised of: a front surface (figure 1) comprised of a first indicia (decorative patterns [not labeled]; figure 1) and a fastener (06); and a rear surface (figure 2) comprised of a second indicia (decorative patterns [not labeled]; figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Thomas teaches a shape of the body is comprised of an object (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas teaches the body is comprised of an insulating foam (col. 5, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas teaches the first indicia is comprised of a pattern (figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas teaches the second indicia is comprised of a pattern (figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas teaches the fastener is comprised of an adhesive hook and loop fastener (col. 5, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas teaches the fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (col. 5, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas teaches a method of using a decorative window insulation device (abstract), the method comprising the following steps: providing a decorative window insulation device (figures 1-3) comprised of a body (figure 1) made from an insulating material (abstract), the body comprised of a front surface (figure 1) comprised of a first indicia (decorative patterns [not labeled]; figure 1) and a first fastener (06) and a rear surface (figure 2) comprised of a second indicia (decorative patterns [not labeled]; figure 2); and attaching the body to a window frame (figure 3) via the fastener (at 06; figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (U.S. Patent No. 6,848,492) in view of Cowden et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,272,934).
Regarding claim 8, Thomas does not specifically disclose the fastener is comprised of a magnet fastener.
Cowden et al. discloses a window insulation attachment (abstract) including a magnet fastener (col. 4, lines 10-15).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cowden et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the window insulation assembly of Thomas to include a magnet fastener, as taught by Cowden et al., in order to prolong the life of the fastener, as hook and loop fasteners tend to wear down and lose grip over time.
Regarding claim 9, Thomas teaches a decorative window insulation device (abstract) comprising: a body (figure 1) comprised of an insulating material (abstract), the body comprised of: a front surface (figure 1) comprised of a first indicia (decorative patterns [not labeled]; figure 1) and a fastener (06); and a rear surface (figure 2) comprised of a second indicia (decorative patterns [not labeled]; figure 2).
Thomas does not specifically disclose a second fastener.
Cowden et al. discloses a window insulation attachment (abstract) including a second fastener (132; figure 4).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cowden et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the window insulation assembly of Thomas to include a second fastener, as taught by Cowden et al., in order to apply additional decorative attachments to the window insulation device, for the desired aesthetic.
Regarding claim 10, Thomas teaches the first indicia is comprised of a pattern (figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas teaches the second indicia is comprised of a pattern (figure 1) that differs from the first indicia (since the second pattern occupies a greater surface area than the first, they are different).
Regarding claim 12, Thomas teaches a shape of the body is comprised of an object (figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Thomas teaches the body is comprised of an insulating foam (col. 5, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas teaches the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive hook and loop fastener (col. 5, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 15, Thomas teaches the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (col. 5, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 16, Thomas does not specifically disclose the first fastener is comprised of a magnet fastener.
Cowden et al. discloses a window insulation attachment (abstract) including a magnet fastener (col. 4, lines 10-15).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cowden et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the window insulation assembly of Thomas to include a magnet fastener, as taught by Cowden et al., in order to prolong the life of the fastener, as hook and loop fasteners tend to wear down and lose grip over time.
Regarding claim 17, Cowden et al. in the combination discloses the second fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (secured by an adhesive; col. 2, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 18, Cowden et al. in the combination discloses the second fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (secured by an adhesive; col. 2, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 19, Cowden et al. in the combination discloses the second fastener is comprised of a magnet fastener (col. 4, lines 10-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited patents listed on the included form PTO-892 further show the state of the art with respect to decorative window insulation in general.
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633