Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0322374), in view of Yamashita (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0279996), in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0139831)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a third gate structure including a plurality of third conductive layers (46A-46B) alternately stacked with a plurality of third insulating layers; and a first contact plug (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the third gate structure and the second gate structure, the first contact plug connected to a first (bottom contact pad) of the plurality of first conductive layers; a plurality of second contact plugs (66C-66D) extending into the second gate structure through the third gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one (66C to 46D, 66D to 46C) of the plurality of second conductive layers; and a plurality of third contact plugs (66E-66F) located in the third gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of third contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of third conductive layers (66C to 46D, 66D to 46C), wherein the plurality of third contact plugs are free of inflection portions.
Sano is silent with respect to “the first contact plug including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure”.
FIG. 24 of Yamashita discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug (68) including a first inflection portion, wherein the plurality of third contact plugs (51) are free of inflection portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Yamashita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of suppressing stress ([0052] of Yamashita).
Sano as modified by Yamashita is silent with respect to “the first contact plug including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure”.
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug (136) including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure (US) and the third gate structure (LS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of providing a semiconductor device which may improve integration density and reliability ([0004] of Kim).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the first contact plug comprises: a first sub-contact plug extending into the first gate structure through the second gate structure and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers; and a second sub-contact plug connected to the first sub-contact plug through the third gate structure; wherein a width of the first sub-contact plug is different from a width of the second sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion; and wherein the first inflection portion is formed at an interface where the first sub-contact plug and the second sub-contact plug meet.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses at least one channel structure (81) extending through the third gate structure, the second gate structure, and the first gate structure, wherein the at least one channel structure includes a second inflection portion located at an interface between the first gate structure and the second gate structure and a third inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the first inflection portion includes a step in a sidewall at an interface between consecutive sections of the first contact plug.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a plurality of first contact plugs (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the second gate structure; and a plurality of second contact plugs (66C-66D) extending through the second gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of second conductive layers, wherein the plurality of second contact plugs are free of inflection portions; wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs comprises: a first sub-contact plug (upper portion of 66A) extending into the first gate structure and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers; and a second sub-contact plug (lower portion of 66A) extending through the second gate structure.
Sano is silent with respect to “each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a first inflection portion located at an interface between the first gate structure and the second gate structure”; a second sub-contact plug “connected to the first sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion”; “a central axis of the first sub-contact plug deviates from a central axis of the second sub-contact plug”.
FIG. 24 of Yamashita discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug (68) including a first inflection portion, wherein the plurality of third contact plugs (51) are free of inflection portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Yamashita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of suppressing stress ([0052] of Yamashita).
Sano as modified by Yamashita is silent with respect to “the first contact plug including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure”.
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug (136) including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure (US) and the third gate structure (LS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of providing a semiconductor device which may improve integration density and reliability ([0004] of Kim).
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, in view of Shoji (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0292626)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a third gate structure including a plurality of third conductive layers (46A-46B) alternately stacked with a plurality of third insulating layers; and a first contact plug (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the third gate structure and the second gate structure, the first contact plug connected to a first (bottom contact pad) of the plurality of first conductive layers; a plurality of second contact plugs (66C-66D) extending into the second gate structure through the third gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one (66C to 46D, 66D to 46C) of the plurality of second conductive layers; and a plurality of third contact plugs (66E-66F) located in the third gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of third contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of third conductive layers (66C to 46D, 66D to 46C), wherein the plurality of third contact plugs are free of inflection portions.
Sano is silent with respect to “the first contact plug including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure”.
FIG. 3 of Shoji discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug including a first inflection portion, wherein the plurality of third contact plugs (CC) are free of inflection portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Shoji. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of forming vertical word line contacts ([0057] of Shoji).
Claims 3, 4, 6 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, Yamashita and Kim, in view of Fukuda (U.S. Patent No. 2017/0256588).
Regarding Claim 3
Sano as modified by Yamashita and Kim discloses Claim1, wherein the first contact plug comprises: a first sub-contact plug located in the first gate structure and the second gate structure, wherein; and a second sub-contact plug connected to the first sub-contact plug and extending through the third gate structure.
Sano as modified by Yamashita and Kim is silent with respect to “the first sub-contact plug includes a first pad located in the first gate structure and extends into the first gate structure through the first pad and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers”.
FIG. 5 of Fukuda discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first sub-contact plug includes a first pad (Z1b) located in the first gate structure and extends into the first gate structure through the first pad and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Fukuda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of increasing capacity ([0005] of Fukuda).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 5 of Fukuda discloses the first pad protrudes from sidewalls of the first sub-contact plug.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Sano discloses each of the plurality of second contact plugs includes a second pad located in the second gate structure and extends into the second gate structure through the second pad.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Sano discloses the second pad protrudes from sidewalls of the second contact plug.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0355735).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a third gate structure including a plurality of third conductive layers (46A-46B) alternately stacked with a plurality of third insulating layers; and a first contact plug (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the third gate structure and the second gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of first conductive layers; and each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of second conductive layers; and a plurality of third contact plugs (66E-66F) located in the third gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of third contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of the third conductive layers; wherein the plurality of third contact plugs are free of pads.
Sano is silent with respect to “each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a first pad located in the first gate structure, extends into the first gate structure through the first pad”.
FIG. 24 of Yamashita discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug (68) including a first inflection portion, wherein the plurality of third contact plugs (51) are free of inflection portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Yamashita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of suppressing stress ([0052] of Yamashita).
Sano as modified by Yamashita is silent with respect to the inflection portions are pads located in the first gate structure, extends into the first gate structure through the first pad”.
FIG. 2 of Lee discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs (170) includes a first pad located in the first gate structure (130M), extends into the first gate structure through the first pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of increasing date storage capacity ([0003] of Lee).
Claims 11-13 and 15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, in view of Shoji (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0292626), in view of Fukuda (U.S. Patent No. 2017/0256588).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a third gate structure including a plurality of third conductive layers (46A-46B) alternately stacked with a plurality of third insulating layers; and a first contact plug (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the third gate structure and the second gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of first conductive layers; and each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of second conductive layers; and a plurality of third contact plugs (66E-66F) located in the third gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of third contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of the third conductive layers; wherein the plurality of third contact plugs are free of pads.
Sano is silent with respect to “each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a first pad located in the first gate structure, extends into the first gate structure through the first pad”.
FIG. 3 of Shoji discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug including a first inflection portion, wherein the plurality of third contact plugs (CC) are free of inflection portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Shoji. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of forming vertical word line contacts ([0057] of Shoji).
Sano as modified by Shoji is silent with respect to the inflection portions are pads located in the first gate structure, extends into the first gate structure through the first pad”.
FIG. 13 of Fukuda discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a first pad located in the first gate structure, extends into the first gate structure through the first pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Fukuda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of increasing capacity ([0005] of Fukuda).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 13 of Fukuda discloses the second pad protrudes from sidewalls of the second contact plug.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 5 of Fukuda discloses the first pad protrudes from sidewalls of at least one of the plurality of first contact plugs.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 5 of Fukuda discloses each of the plurality of second contact plugs includes a second pad located in the second gate structure, extends into the second gate structure through the second pad, and is connected to a different one of the plurality of second conductive layers.
Regarding Claim 16
Modified Sano discloses the second pad overlaps with an uppermost second conductive layer of the plurality of second conductive layers.
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Sano discloses the second pad protrudes from sidewalls of the second contact plug.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano ,Shoji and Fukuda, in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0139831).
Regarding Claim 18
Sano as modified by Shoji and Fukuda discloses Claim14.
Sano as modified by Shoji and Fukuda is silent with respect to “the first contact plug includes an inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure”.
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug (136) including a first inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure (LS) and the third gate structure (LS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of providing a semiconductor device which may improve integration density and reliability ([0004] of Kim).
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0355735).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a plurality of first contact plugs (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the second gate structure; and a plurality of second contact plugs (66C-66D) extending through the second gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of second conductive layers, wherein the plurality of second contact plugs are free of inflection portions; wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs comprises: a first sub-contact plug (lower portion of 66A) extending into the first gate structure and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers; and a second sub-contact plug (upper portion of 66A) extending through the second gate structure.
Sano is silent with respect to “each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a first inflection portion located at an interface between the first gate structure and the second gate structure”; a second sub-contact plug “connected to the first sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion”; “a central axis of the first sub-contact plug deviates from a central axis of the second sub-contact plug”.
FIG. 4 of Lee discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs (170) includes a first inflection portion located at an interface between the first gate structure and the second gate structure; each of the plurality of first contact plugs comprises: a first sub-contact plug extending into the first gate structure and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers; and a second sub-contact plug connected to the first sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion; and a central axis of the first sub-contact plug deviates from a central axis of the second sub-contact plug.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of increasing date storage capacity ([0003] of Lee).
Claims 19-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, in view of Shoji, in view of Kidoh (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0109072).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first gate structure including a plurality of first conductive layers (46E-46F) alternately stacked with a plurality of first insulating layers (32); a second gate structure including a plurality of second conductive layers (46C-46D) alternately stacked with a plurality of second insulating layers; a plurality of first contact plugs (66A) extending into the first gate structure through the second gate structure; and a plurality of second contact plugs (66C-66D) extending through the second gate structure, wherein each of the plurality of second contact plugs is connected to a different one of the plurality of second conductive layers, wherein the plurality of second contact plugs are free of inflection portions; wherein each of the plurality of first contact plugs comprises: a first sub-contact plug (lower portion of 66A) extending into the first gate structure and connected to the first of the plurality of first conductive layers; and a second sub-contact plug (upper portion of 66A) extending through the second gate structure.
Sano is silent with respect to “each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a first inflection portion located at an interface between the first gate structure and the second gate structure”; a second sub-contact plug “connected to the first sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion”; “a central axis of the first sub-contact plug deviates from a central axis of the second sub-contact plug”.
FIG. 3 of Shoji discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first contact plug including a first inflection portion, wherein the plurality of second contact plugs (CC) are free of inflection portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Shoji. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of forming vertical word line contacts ([0057] of Shoji).
Sano as modified by Shoji is silent with respect to a second sub-contact plug “connected to the first sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion” and “a central axis of the first sub-contact plug deviates from a central axis of the second sub-contact plug”.
FIG. 1 of Kidoh discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein of the plurality of first contact plugs (31) includes a first inflection portion located at an interface between the first gate structure(ML1) and the second gate structure (ML2); each of the plurality of first contact plugs comprises: a first sub-contact plug extending into the first gate structure; and a second sub-contact plug connected to the first sub-contact plug at the first inflection portion; and a central axis of the first sub-contact plug deviates from a central axis of the second sub-contact plug.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sano, as taught by Kidoh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sano in the above manner for purpose of preventing cost from increasing ([0009] of Kidoh).
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 14 of Sano discloses a third gate structure (46A-46B) stacked over the second gate structure and including a plurality of third conductive layers alternately stacked with a plurality of third insulating layers; and a plurality of third contact plugs extending through the third gate structure, wherein the plurality of third contact plugs are free of inflection portions.
Regarding Claim 21
FIG. 1 of Kidoh discloses each of the plurality of first contact plugs includes a second inflection portion located at an interface between the second gate structure and the third gate structure.
Regarding Claim 22
FIG. 1 of Kidoh discloses each of the plurality of first contact plugs further comprises: a third sub-contact plug extending through the third gate structure and connected to the second sub-contact plug at the second inflection portion; wherein a central axis of the third sub-contact plug deviates from the central axis of the second sub-contact plug.
Pertinent Art
Mori (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0277596), Yamashita (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0279996), Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0223345) and Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0061301). 20100109072
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897