DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Application
This notice is in response to the amendments filed 27 February 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application where claims 1, 10, and 16-17 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments related to newly added limitations “cause…the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes” for claim 1 (and those newly added limitations similar in scope to the other independent claims 10 and 16) are not persuasive. Those limitations are addressed in the rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Newly amended limitation appears in part (lines 3-4): “by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to an optical cable…”. There is a subsequent appearance of “an optical connector” on line 5. It is clear this “optical connector” and the newly added “optical connector” are intended as the same, but the second appearance should be corrected to “the optical connector” since proper antecedence has already been given.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0228648 A1 by Yu Huang et al. (herein after “Huang”) in view of US 2019/0003923 A1 by Jay Brace et al. (herein after “Brace”). Examiner notes that the reference Brace was cited by applicant in the IDS filed 08 April 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable (Huang title, abstract device for inspecting fiber ends of an optical connector end face [one or more optical fibers in an optical cable]), the device comprising:
a microscope (Huang [0013] and fig. 2 disclose anatomy of a microscope system according to the embodiments of Huang);
one or more adjustment components (Huang [0089] a visual inspection module 100 includes a tunable lens 103 whose focal length is adjustable; an electromagnetic actuator is used to change the curvature of the tunable lens 103 to adjust the focus of an image [here the electromagnetic actuator is considered the one or more adjustment components]); and
one or more processors (Huang [0084] microscope system comprising the visual inspection system comprises controllers, displays, processors, communication devices, etc.) configured to:
determine that an optical connector is connected to the optical cable (Huang [0143] discloses that a determination is made whether the connector should be accepted or not based on levels of contamination being above or below a threshold – were the adjustment component unable to determine that an optical connector was connected to the optical cable, the determination that the connector contamination is below a threshold would be unable to be made; therefore the processor can determine that an optical connector is connected);
identify a structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [0143] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins/holes are identified])
cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position such that the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] and fig. 29A show focusing process steps comprising a course focus process 720 and a fine focus process 730; the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change optical power of the tunable lens 103 [adjustment components adjust the microscope to a particular position]; it is shown in fig. 28 that the pins and holes of the optical connector [structural feature(s)] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [structural feature is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope]);
cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on the adjustment components adjusting the microscope to the particular position);
analyze, using a first set of one or more analysis techniques, the one or more images to generate assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector via one or more analysis techniques]); and
provide the assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes such that the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope.
However, Brace does address this limitation. Huang and Brace are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are microscopes used to investigate optical fibers within an optical cable.
Brace discloses “the one or more processors configured to:
cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes such that the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope” (Brace fig. 1C and [0024]-[0025] discloses an optical fiber inspection device where an autofocus lens 114 (analogous to that of Huang above) may be focused based on an angle of pivot of the microscope, where 116-1, 116-2, and 116-3 (disclosed in [0026]-[0029]) represent the centered field of view of the microscope, after adjustment via the pivot; fig. 1C shows the field of view 116-1 vs 116-3 along different axes relative to optical connector 106 [adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes]; [0002] discloses processors configured to perform a modification of position of the microscope [processors configured to cause an adjustment of the microscope]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate the one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes such that the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a particular optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers (Huang [0145]-[0146] and fig. 28 disclose the partitioning of the image captured by the image sensor 104 into tiles; tiles 430 and 435 are shown to contain edge fibers, and tile 425 is shown to contain the center fibers of the connector [i.e. particular optical fibers are identified via the tiling process of the image sensor]);
cause, based on identifying the particular optical fiber, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the particular optical fiber is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] has been used to teach a similar limitation within claim 1 above, wherein the one or more adjustment components adjust the microscope to a particular position (via a particular focus of the tunable lens 103); [0146]-[0149] discloses that the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change the optical power of the tunable lens [adjusting the microscope to a/another particular position via the one or more adjustment components]; fig. 28 again shows that the pins of the optical connector [a pin corresponding to at least a particular optical fiber] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [at least one particular optical fiber is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope]);
cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 1 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on the adjustment components adjusting the microscope to the other/subsequent particular position containing the particular optical fiber)
analyze, using a second set of one or more analysis techniques, the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0181], as with claim 1 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber of the optical connector via a second set of one or more analysis techniques – examiner notes that the second set of one or more analysis techniques are not required by the claim to be different than the first set of analysis techniques]); and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Regarding claim 3, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify another structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [01430] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins and/or holes are identified]; whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 1 reads on “another structural feature of the optical connector”);
cause, based on identifying the other structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the other structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] and fig. 29A show focusing process steps comprising a course focus process 720 and a fine focus process 730; the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change optical power of the tunable lens 103 [adjustment components adjust the microscope to a particular position – since there is a sweep of currents, there are a plurality of particular positions the microscope is adjusted to]; it is shown in fig. 28 that the pins and holes of the optical connector [structural feature(s)] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [structural feature is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope] – as with the preceding limitation, whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 1 reads on “the other structural feature” in the claim);
cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more other images associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on the adjustment components adjusting the microscope to the particular position – as with the preceding limitations, whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 1 reads on “the other structural feature” in the claim, and images obtained capture the other structural feature);
analyze, using the first set of one or more analysis techniques, the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector via one or more analysis techniques] – as with the preceding limitations, the images generate assessment information associated with any structural feature that was not the structural feature identified in claim 1); and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Regarding claim 4, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 3, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is associated with a first ferrule of the optical connector and the other structural feature of the optical connector is associated with a second ferrule of the optical connector (Huang [0184] and fig. 41 discloses an exemplary image taken by the image sensor which captures two alignment holes [a first alignment hole is considered “the structural feature of the optical connector” and a second alignment hole is considered “the other structural feature of the optical connector”]; the first and second alignment holes are considered as a first ferrule and a second ferrule of the optical connector, and fig. 41 shows contamination around either the first or second ferrule).
Regarding claim 5, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 3, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the structural feature of the optical connector and the other structural feature of the optical connector are each associated with a single ferrule of the optical connector (Huang [0184] and fig. 41 discloses an exemplary image taken by the image sensor which captures two alignment holes [a first alignment hole is considered “the structural feature of the optical connector” and a second alignment hole is considered “the other structural feature of the optical connector”]; the first and second alignment holes are considered as individual ferrules of the optical connector – each structural feature is associated with a single ferrule of the optical connector).
Regarding claim 6, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the structural feature includes at least one of:
an attachment component of the optical connector (Huang [0184] and fig. 41 discloses alignment holes captured in at least one images of the optical connector; here the alignment hole is considered an attachment component, since it enables alignment for attachment purposes); or
an edge of a ferrule of the optical connector (not considered due to the “or” statement).
Regarding claim 8, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable (Huang fig. 41 shows an image taken by the image sensor, comprising a field of view of the lens of the microscope, where since the image has been taken by the microscope, it is associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the microscope; [0184] alignment holes are shown in the image along with optical fibers of the optical cable [image shows the structural feature and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the one or more processors, to provide the assessment information, are configured to:
send the assessment information to a display screen of the device (Huang [0126] discloses a display 150; claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face),
wherein sending the assessment to the display screen allows the display screen to display at least a portion of the assessment information (Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face [allows display screen to display at least a portion of assessment information).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable (Huang title, abstract device for inspecting fiber ends of an optical connector end face [one or more optical fibers in an optical cable]), the device comprising:
a microscope (Huang [0013] and fig. 2 disclose anatomy of a microscope system according to the embodiments of Huang);
one or more processors (Huang [0084] microscope system comprising the visual inspection system comprises controllers, displays, processors, communication devices, etc.) configured to:
identify a structural feature of an optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [01430] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins/holes are identified]);
cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position such that the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] and fig. 29A show focusing process steps comprising a course focus process 720 and a fine focus process 730; the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change optical power of the tunable lens 103 [adjust the microscope to a particular position]; it is shown in fig. 28 that the pins and holes of the optical connector [structural feature(s)] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [structural feature is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope);
cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on adjusting the microscope to the particular position);
analyze the one or more images to generate assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images] and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector]); and
provide the assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes such that the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope.
However, Brace does address this limitation. Huang and Brace are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are microscopes used to investigate optical fibers within an optical cable.
Brace discloses “the one or more processors configured to:
cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes such that the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope” (Brace fig. 1C and [0024]-[0025] discloses an optical fiber inspection device where an autofocus lens 114 (analogous to that of Huang above) may be focused based on an angle of pivot of the microscope, where 116-1, 116-2, and 116-3 (disclosed in [0026]-[0029]) represent the centered field of view of the microscope, after adjustment via the pivot; fig. 1C shows the field of view 116-1 vs 116-3 along different axes relative to optical connector 106 [adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes]; [0002] discloses processors configured to perform a modification of position of the microscope [processors configured to cause an adjustment of the microscope]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate the one or more processors configured to cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes such that the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] has been used to teach a similar limitation within claim 10 above, wherein adjustment of the microscope to a particular position occurs (comprising a particular focus of the tunable lens 103); [0146]-[0149] discloses that the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change the optical power of the tunable lens [adjusting the microscope to a/another particular position]; fig. 28 again shows that the pins of the optical connector [a pin corresponding to at least a particular optical fiber] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [at least one particular optical fiber is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope]);
cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 10 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on the adjustment of the microscope to the other/subsequent particular position containing the particular optical fiber);
analyze the one or more images to generate other assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0181], as with claim 10 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber of the optical connector]), and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Regarding claim 12, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that another structural feature of the optical connector is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [01430] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins/holes are identified]; [0146]-[0149] and fig. 29A show focusing process steps comprising a course focus process 720 and a fine focus process 730; the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change optical power of the tunable lens 103 [adjustment of the microscope to a particular position – since there is a sweep of currents, there are a plurality of particular positions the microscope is adjusted to]; it is shown in fig. 28 that the pins and holes of the optical connector [structural feature(s)] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [structural feature is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope] – whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 10 reads on “another structural feature” in the claim);
cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on the adjustment components adjusting the microscope to the particular position – as with the preceding limitation, whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 10 reads on “another/the other structural feature” in the claim, and the images obtained therefore capture the other structural feature);
analyze the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector] – as with the preceding limitations, the images generate assessment information associated with any structural feature that was not the structural feature identified in claim 10); and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Regarding claim 14, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable (Huang fig. 41 shows an image taken by the image sensor, comprising a field of view of the lens of the microscope, where since the image has been taken by the microscope, it is associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the microscope; [0184] alignment holes are shown in the image along with optical fibers of the optical cable [image shows the structural feature and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the one or more processors, to provide the assessment information, are configured to:
send the assessment information to a display screen of the device to allow the display screen to display at least apportion of the assessment information (Huang [0126] discloses a display 150; claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face; Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face [allows display screen to display at least a portion of assessment information).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses a method (Huang [0081] apparatus and method of optical fiber connector inspection disclosed), comprising:
causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers, included in an optical cable (Huang title/abstract, device for inspecting fiber ends of an optical connector end face [one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable]), adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position such that a structural feature of an optical connector that is connected to the optical cable is within an on-axis region of a field of view of lens of the microscope (Huang [0013] and fig. 2 disclose anatomy of a microscope system according to the embodiments within Huang; [0146]-[0149] and fig. 29A show focusing process steps comprising a course focus process 720 and a fine focus process 730; the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change optical power of the tunable lens 103 [adjust the microscope to a particular position]; it is shown in fig. 28 that the pins and holes of the optical connector [structural feature(s)] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [structural feature is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope); [0084] microscope system (and method of operation) comprising the visual inspection system comprises controllers, displays, processors, communication devices, etc.);
analyzing, by the device and based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the particular position, one or more images obtained by a camera of the microscope (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on adjusting the microscope to the particular position) to generate assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images] and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector]); and
providing, by the device, the assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable, adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to an optical cable, along one or more optical axes such that a structural feature of an optical connector that is connected ot the optical cable is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope.
However, Brace does address this limitation. Huang and Brace are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are microscopes used to investigate optical fibers within an optical cable.
Brace discloses “causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable, adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to an optical cable, along one or more optical axes such that a structural feature of an optical connector that is connected to the optical cable is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope” (Brace fig. 1C and [0024]-[0025] discloses an optical fiber inspection device where an autofocus lens 114 (analogous to that of Huang above) may be focused based on an angle of pivot of the microscope, where 116-1, 116-2, and 116-3 (disclosed in [0026]-[0029]) represent the centered field of view of the microscope, after adjustment via the pivot; fig. 1C shows the field of view 116-1 vs 116-3 along different axes relative to optical connector 106 [adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes]; figs 1A and 1C show the optical connector 106 coupled to the optical cable 102 containing the optical fibers 104-n; [0004] discloses the method of use for the device within Brace fig. 1c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable, adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to an optical cable, along one or more optical axes such that a structural feature of an optical connector that is connected to the optical cable is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method further comprising:
causing adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] has been used to teach a similar limitation in the method of claim 16 above, wherein adjustment of the microscope to a particular position occurs; [0146]-[0149] discloses that the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change the optical power of the tunable lens [adjusting the microscope to a/another particular position]; fig. 28 again shows that the pins and holes of the optical connector [particular optical fibers] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [at least one particular optical fiber is/are within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope]);
analyzing, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, one or more images obtained by the camera of the microscope (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with the method of claim 16 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on adjusting the microscope to the other/subsequent particular position(s) containing the optical particular optical fiber) to generate other assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0181], as with the method of claim 16 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images] and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber of the optical connector]), and
providing the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Regarding claim 18, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method further comprising:
causing adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that another structural feature of the optical connector is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang [0146]-[0149] has been used to teach a similar limitation in the method of claim 16 above, wherein adjustment of the microscope to a particular position occurs; [0146]-[0149] discloses that the coarse focus process 720 includes sweeping through focus currents to change the optical power of the tunable lens [adjusting the microscope to a/another particular position]; fig. 28 again shows that the pins and holes of the optical connector [another structural feature] is/are within the field of view of the image sensor (and therefore tunable lens 103) of the microscope [another structural feature is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope] – the “another structural feature” of the claim may be one such that it is different than the structural feature of claim 16);
analyzing, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, one or more other images obtained by the camera of the microscope (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with the method of claim 16 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; iterations of images are captured for each current sent to the tunable lens 103, and the images are based on adjusting the microscope to the other/subsequent particular position(s) containing the other structural feature – as with the preceding limitation, the “other structural feature” of the claim may be one such that it is different than the structural feature of claim 16) to generate other assessment information associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181], as with the method of claim 16 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images] and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector] – as with the preceding limitation, the “other structural feature” of the claim may be one such that it is different than the structural feature of claim 16), and
providing the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Regarding claim 19, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang fig. 29A, as with claim 1, the image taken by the image sensor includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope – i.e. the region captured by the image sensor is said region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope), and wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang fig. 28 shows both holes and pins [i.e. structural features of the optical connector]).
Regarding claim 20, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method wherein providing the assessment information allows a display screen of the device to display at least a portion of the assessment information (Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face [allows display screen to display at least a portion of assessment information).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Brace, and further in view of US 9,880,105 B2 by William Henry Thompson (herein after “Thompson”).
Regarding claim 7, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang fig. 29A, as with claim 1, the image taken by the image sensor includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope – i.e. the region captured by the image sensor is said region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope).
Huang when modified by Brace is silent to the device of claim 1, wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable.
However, Thompson does address this limitation. Huang, Brace, and Thompson are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are related to microscopes used for the inspection of optical fibers within fiber optic connectors.
Thompson discloses the device of claim 1, “wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable” (Thompson fig. 2A shows a fiber scope used with a fiber optic connector inspection display system (figs. 1A-1D); fig. 5B shows an image of the fiber optic connector inspection display system wherein a snapshot of an optical connector is shown; col 4 ll. 32-50 describes a live image mode and snapshot mode [i.e. obtaining images of the optical cable], where zooming and panning the field of view is possible; in fig. 5B, an equivalent of a single structural feature of Huang is shown, where no other components are seen in the field of view [region of the image shows the structural feature and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical connector]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Brace to incorporate wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable as suggested by Thompson for the advantage of enabling an operator to zoom or pan to areas of interest, enabling a more precise capture of contamination or damage to the fiber optic connectors that a large field of view image may not reveal (Thompson col 4 ll. 32-50).
Regarding claim 13, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang fig. 29A, as with claim 1, the image taken by the image sensor includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope – i.e. the region captured by the image sensor is said region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope).
Huang when modified by Brace is silent to the device of claim 10, wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable.
However, Thompson does address this limitation. Huang, Brace, and Thompson are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are related to microscopes used for the inspection of optical fibers within fiber optic connectors.
Thompson discloses the device of claim 10, “wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable” (Thompson fig. 2A shows a fiber scope used with a fiber optic connector inspection display system (figs. 1A-1D); fig. 5B shows an image of the fiber optic connector inspection display system wherein a snapshot of an optical connector is shown; col 4 ll. 32-50 describes a live image mode and snapshot mode [i.e. obtaining images of the optical cable], where zooming and panning the field of view is possible; in fig. 5B, an equivalent of a single structural feature of Huang is shown, where no other components are seen in the field of view [region of the image shows the structural feature and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical connector]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Brace to incorporate wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable as suggested by Thompson for the advantage of enabling an operator to zoom or pan to areas of interest, enabling a more precise capture of contamination or damage to the fiber optic connectors that a large field of view image may not reveal (Thompson col 4 ll. 32-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA M CARLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877