DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Status of Application
This notice is in response to the amendments filed 06 July 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application where claims 1, 9-10, and 16 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 16 with respect to the reference Huang filed 06 July 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the rejection set forth below does not rely upon Huang to teach the limitations related to the “adjustment of the microscope to a particular position relative to the optical connector”. Instead, a revised interpretation of previously cited reference Brace teaches this limitation.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 06 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument (remarks page 3 paragraph 4 – page 4 paragraph 2) directed to Brace not disclosing adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector…”, and draws a distinction between Brace moving a microscope to analyze optical fibers not to inspect structural features of an optical connector, examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the optical fibers also serve as a part of the optical connector in question, and also possess structural features. Therefore, the “positioning of the microscope to point at an optical fiber” as disclosed in Brace would be considered as an equivalent to “positioning the microscope to point at a structural feature of the optical connector” by one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to the identification of the structural feature of an optical connector not being taught by Brace (remarks page 4 paragraph 3), examiner notes that Huang has been cited for the explicit identification of the structural feature of the optical connector, though as indicated in the previous paragraph, an optical fiber may also be considered as a structural feature of the optical connector.
Regarding applicant’s argument (remarks page 4 paragraph 3) that Brace does not disclose “the structural feature of the optical connector centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope” based on the language of Brace with respect to the pivot 128 and the alignment of the lens of the microscope along the reference lines 116-1 through 116-4 within fig. 1C, it is clear the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope, as is disclosed in the rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to, as the limitation “wherein the structural feature of the optical connector centered within an on-axis region of a field of view” is missing the verb “is”. The limitation should be corrected to “wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view”, consistent with the same limitation in the other independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0228648 A1 by Yu Huang et al. (herein after “Huang”) in view of US 2019/0003923 A1 by Jay Brace et al. (herein after “Brace”). Examiner notes that the reference Brace was cited by applicant in the IDS filed 08 April 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable (Huang title, abstract device for inspecting fiber ends of an optical connector end face [one or more optical fibers in an optical cable]), the device comprising:
a microscope (Huang [0013] and fig. 2 disclose anatomy of a microscope system according to the embodiments of Huang); and
one or more processors (Huang [0084] microscope system comprising the visual inspection system comprises controllers, displays, processors, communication devices, etc.) configured to:
determine that an optical connector is connected to the optical cable (Huang [0143] discloses that a determination is made whether the connector should be accepted or not based on levels of contamination being above or below a threshold – were the one or more processors unable to determine that an optical connector was connected to the optical cable, the determination that the connector contamination is below a threshold would be unable to be made; therefore the processor can determine that an optical connector is connected);
identify a structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [0143] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins/holes are identified]);
cause a camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]);
analyze, using a first set of one or more analysis techniques, the one or more images to generate assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector via one or more analysis techniques]); and
provide the assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to one or more adjustment components, and one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector and to allow light associated with the structural feature of the optical connector to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain images.
However, Brace does address this limitation. Huang and Brace are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are microscopes used to investigate optical fibers within an optical cable.
Brace discloses “one or more adjustment components” (Brace fig. 1B and [0014]-[0015] disclose an opto-mechanical assembly 112 which is used to move a microscope relative to optical fibers 104-1 through 104-4; [0016] the opto-mechanical assembly 112 includes step motors 120-1 through 120-2 (step motors)), “and one or more processors configured to:
cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector” (Brace [0016] and fig. 1B discloses the step motors 120-1 through 120-2 which modify the position of the microscope of the assembly relative to the optical fibers 104-1 through 104-4 [one or more adjustment components adjust the microscope to a particular position]; [0016]-[0017] disclose the step motors modify the position of the microscope relative to the optical fibers [adjust the microscope relative to the optical connector]; [0022] discloses shafts 122, cams 124 and a pivot 128 along/about which the microscope moves [adjust microscope along one or more axis, which enable the pointing of the microscope at any desired feature]) “and to allow light associated with the structural feature of the optical connector to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope” (Brace [0015] discloses the microscope includes a lens 114, where the lens is focused on a point shown by reference number 116-1 and is dependent on an angle of pivot of the microscope of the device 112 [i.e. the lens focused on an optical fiber 104-3, or focused on the structural component identified within Huang above]; camera 118 captures images of the field of view of the lens [allow light associated with the field of view of the lens to propagate and pass through the lens] – the focus of the lens dependent on an angle of pivot of the microscope teaches the feature being centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens, and the center of the lens 114 would be along the reference line 116-1 [i.e. the lens is aligned with reference 116-1 via its pivot about pivot point 128]; given the disclosure within Huang of identifying a structural feature of the optical connector coupled with the adjustment member of Brace pointing the lens of the microscope at a desired feature, the device of Huang in view of Brace is therefore capable of pointing the microscope at the structural feature, and thereby centering it within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope); and
“cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain images” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate one or more adjustment components, and one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector and to allow light associated with the structural feature of the optical connector to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to a particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain images as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a particular optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers (Huang [0145]-[0146] and fig. 28 disclose the partitioning of the image captured by the image sensor 104 into tiles; tiles 430 and 435 are shown to contain edge fibers, and tile 425 is shown to contain the center fibers of the connector [i.e. particular optical fibers are identified via the tiling process of the image sensor]),
cause the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more other images associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 1 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]),
analyze, using a second set of one or more analysis techniques, the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0181], as with claim 1 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber of the optical connector via a second set of one or more analysis techniques – examiner notes that the second set of one or more analysis techniques are not required by the claim to be different than the first set of analysis techniques]); and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the device of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on identifying the particular optical fiber, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the particular optical fiber is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images.
However, Brace does address this limitation.
Brace discloses the device of claim 1, “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on identifying the particular optical fiber, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the particular optical fiber is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope” (Brace [0016], fig. 1B, and claim 1 above has disclosed adjustment components which adjust the microscope to a particular position such that a particular part of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope; [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1C show a plurality of other reference numbers 116-2 through 116-4 where the position of the microscope is adjusted so as to bring subsequent optical fibers within the field of view of the lens 114 [adjustment components adjust the microscope to another particular position], and therefore align them within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens), and
“cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position; [0029] recites that similar image capture and analysis for the first position of the microscope is applicable to the subsequent positions of the microscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on identifying the particular optical fiber, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the particular optical fiber is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify another structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [01430] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins and/or holes are identified]; whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 1 reads on “another structural feature of the optical connector”);
cause the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more other images associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 1 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor] – as with the preceding limitation, whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 1 reads on “another/the other structural feature” in the claim, and the images obtained therefore capture the other structural feature),
analyze, using the first set of one or more analysis techniques, the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector via one or more analysis techniques] – as with the preceding limitations, the images generate assessment information associated with any structural feature that was not the structural feature identified in claim 1) and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the device of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on identifying the other structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the other structural feature is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images.
However, Brace does address this limitation.
Brace discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
“cause, based on identifying the other structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the other structural feature is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope” (Brace [0016], fig. 1B, and claim 1 above has disclosed adjustment components which adjust the microscope to a particular position such that a particular part of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope; [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1C show a plurality of other reference numbers 116-2 through 116-4 where the position of the microscope is adjusted so as to bring subsequent optical fibers (or the other structural feature associated and identified within Huang above) within the field of view of the lens 114 [adjustment components adjust the microscope to another particular position], and therefore align them (subsequent optical fiber or other structural feature associated and identified within Huang above) within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens), and
“cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position; [0029] recites that similar image capture and analysis for the first position of the microscope is applicable to the subsequent positions of the microscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on identifying the other structural feature, the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to another particular position such that the other structural feature is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the one or more adjustment components to adjust the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 3, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is associated with a first ferrule of the optical connector and the other structural feature of the optical connector is associated with a second ferrule of the optical connector (Huang [0184] and fig. 41 discloses an exemplary image taken by the image sensor which captures two alignment holes [a first alignment hole is considered “the structural feature of the optical connector” and a second alignment hole is considered “the other structural feature of the optical connector”]; the first and second alignment holes are considered as a first ferrule and a second ferrule of the optical connector, and fig. 41 shows contamination around either the first or second ferrule).
Regarding claim 5, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 3, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the structural feature of the optical connector and the other structural feature of the optical connector are each associated with a single ferrule of the optical connector (Huang [0184] and fig. 41 discloses an exemplary image taken by the image sensor which captures two alignment holes [a first alignment hole is considered “the structural feature of the optical connector” and a second alignment hole is considered “the other structural feature of the optical connector”]; the first and second alignment holes are considered as individual ferrules of the optical connector – each structural feature is associated with a single ferrule of the optical connector).
Regarding claim 6, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the structural feature includes at least one of:
an attachment component of the optical connector (Huang [0184] and fig. 41 discloses alignment holes captured in at least one images of the optical connector; here the alignment hole is considered an attachment component, since it enables alignment for attachment purposes); or
an edge of a ferrule of the optical connector (not considered due to the “or” statement).
Regarding claim 8, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable (Huang fig. 41 shows an image taken by the image sensor, comprising a field of view of the lens of the microscope, where since the image has been taken by the microscope, it is associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the microscope; [0184] alignment holes are shown in the image along with optical fibers of the optical cable [image shows the structural feature and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the one or more processors, to provide the assessment information, are configured to:
send the assessment information to a display screen of the device (Huang [0126] discloses a display 150; Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face),
wherein sending the assessment information to the display screen allows the display screen to display at least a portion of the assessment information (Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face [allows display screen to display at least a portion of assessment information).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable (Huang title, abstract device for inspecting fiber ends of an optical connector end face [one or more optical fibers in an optical cable]), the device comprising:
a microscope (Huang [0013] and fig. 2 disclose anatomy of a microscope system according to the embodiments of Huang); and
one or more processors (Huang [0084] microscope system comprising the visual inspection system comprises controllers, displays, processors, communication devices, etc.) configured to:
identify a structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [0143] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins/holes are identified]);
cause a camera of the microscope to obtain one or more images associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]);
analyze the one or more images to generate assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images] and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector]), and
provide the assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector and to allow light associated with the structural feature to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain images.
However, Brace does address this limitation. Huang and Brace are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are microscopes used to investigate optical fibers within an optical cable.
Brace discloses “the one or more processors configured to:
cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector” (Brace [0016] and fig. 1B discloses the step motors 120-1 through 120-2 which modify the position of the microscope of the assembly relative to the optical fibers 104-1 through 104-4 [adjustment the microscope to a particular position]; [0016]-[0017] disclose the step motors modify the position of the microscope relative to the optical fibers [adjust the microscope relative to the optical connector]; [0022] discloses shafts 122, cams 124 and a pivot 128 along/about which the microscope moves [adjust microscope along one or more axis, which enable the pointing of the microscope at any desired feature]) “and to allow light associated with the structural feature to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope” (Brace [0015] discloses the microscope includes a lens 114, where the lens is focused on a point shown by reference number 116-1 and is dependent on an angle of pivot of the microscope of the device 112 [i.e. the lens focused on an optical fiber 104-3, or focused on the structural component identified within Huang above]; camera 118 captures images of the field of view of the lens [allow light associated with the field of view of the lens to propagate and pass through the lens] – the focus of the lens dependent on an angle of pivot of the microscope teaches the feature being centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens, and the center of the lens 114 would be along the reference line 116-1 [i.e. the lens is aligned with reference 116-1 via its pivot about pivot point 128]; given the disclosure within Huang of identifying a structural feature of the optical connector coupled with the adjustment member of Brace pointing the lens of the microscope at a desired feature, the device of Huang in view of Brace is therefore capable of pointing the microscope at the structural feature, and thereby centering it within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope); and
“cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain images” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate the one or more processors configured to: cause, based on identifying the structural feature, adjustment of the microscope to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to the optical connector along one or more axes to point the microscope at the structural feature of the optical connector and to allow light associated with the structural feature to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope wherein the structural feature of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of a field of view of a lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain images as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more other images associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 10 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]);
analyze the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber (Huang [0181], as with claim 10 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber of the optical connector]) and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the device of claim 10 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images.
However, Brace does address this limitation.
Brace discloses the device of claim 10, “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope” (Brace [0016], fig. 1B, and claim 10 above has disclosed adjustment of the microscope to a particular position such that a particular part of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope; [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1C show a plurality of other reference numbers 116-2 through 116-4 where the position of the microscope is adjusted so as to bring subsequent optical fibers within the field of view of the lens 114 [adjustment of the microscope to another particular position], and therefore align them within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens), and
“cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position; [0029] recites that similar image capture and analysis for the first position of the microscope is applicable to the subsequent positions of the microscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, a camera of the microscope to obtain the other images as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause the camera of the microscope to obtain one or more other images associated with the other structural feature (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 10 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor] – whichever hole or pin area was not identified by the processor in claim 10 reads on “another/the other structural feature” in the claim, and the images obtained therefore capture the other structural feature);
analyze the one or more other images to generate other assessment information associated with the other structural feature of the optical connector (Huang [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing using one or more analysis techniques], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector via one or more analysis techniques]) and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that another structural feature of the optical connector is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain the other images.
However, Brace does address this limitation.
Brace discloses the device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
“cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that another structural feature of the optical connector is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope” (Brace [0016], fig. 1B, and claim 10 above has disclosed adjustment of the microscope to a particular position such that a particular part of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope; [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1C show a plurality of other reference numbers 116-2 through 116-4 where the position of the microscope is adjusted so as to bring subsequent optical fibers (or the other structural feature associated and identified within Huang above) within the field of view of the lens 114 [adjustment of the microscope to another particular position], and therefore align them (subsequent optical fiber or other structural feature associated and identified within Huang above) within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens), and
“cause based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain the other images” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position; [0029] recites that similar image capture and analysis for the first position of the microscope is applicable to the subsequent positions of the microscope, i.e. at fields of view 116-2 through 116-4 shown in fig. 1C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that another structural feature of the optical connector is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and cause based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, the camera of the microscope to obtain the other images as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device according to claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable (Huang fig. 41 shows an image taken by the image sensor, comprising a field of view of the lens of the microscope, where since the image has been taken by the microscope, it is associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the microscope; [0184] alignment holes are shown in the image along with optical fibers of the optical cable [image shows the structural feature and at least a portion of one optical fiber of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable])
Regarding claim 15, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein the one or more processors, to provide the assessment information, are configured to:
send the assessment information to a display screen of the device to allow the display screen to display at least apportion of the assessment information (Huang [0126] discloses a display 150; claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face; Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face [allows display screen to display at least a portion of assessment information).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses a method (Huang [0081] apparatus and method of optical fiber connector inspection disclosed), comprising: a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable (Huang title/abstract, device for inspecting fiber ends of an optical connector end face [one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable]) and a microscope of the device (Huang [0013] and fig. 2 disclose anatomy of a microscope system according to embodiments within Huang), analyzing, by the device, one or more images obtained by a camera of the microscope to generate assessment information associated with a structural feature of an optical connector (Huang [0145] and fig. 28 disclose an image sensor 104 divided into tiles, where the connector end face 401 (see [0143] and fig. 27) is shown projected on the image sensor; tiles 413 and 415 are shown to contain pin/hole area, and tile 420 contains two fibers [structural features, i.e. pins/holes are identified of an optical connector]; [0146] and [0148] disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120; [0181] describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images] and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the structural feature of the optical connector]), and providing, by the device, the assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable, adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to the optical cable, along one or more axes to point the microscope at a structural feature of the optical connector and to allow light associated with the structural feature to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope, wherein the structure feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope.
However, Brace does address this limitation. Huang and Brace are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are microscopes used to investigate optical fibers within an optical cable.
Brace discloses “causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable, adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to the optical cable, along one or more axes to point the microscope at a structural feature of the optical connector” (Brace [0016] and fig. 1B discloses the step motors 120-1 through 120-2 which modify the position of the microscope of the assembly relative to the optical fibers 104-1 through 104-4 [adjustment the microscope to a particular position]; [0016]-[0017] disclose the step motors modify the position of the microscope relative to the optical fibers [adjust the microscope relative to the optical connector]; [0022] discloses shafts 122, cams 124 and a pivot 128 along/about which the microscope moves [adjust microscope along one or more axis, which enable the pointing of the microscope at any desired feature]) “and to allow light associated with the structural feature to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope, wherein the structure feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope (Brace [0015] discloses the microscope includes a lens 114, where the lens is focused on a point shown by reference number 116-1 and is dependent on an angle of pivot of the microscope of the device 112 [i.e. the lens focused on an optical fiber 104-3, or focused on the structural component identified within Huang above]; camera 118 captures images of the field of view of the lens [allow light associated with the field of view of the lens to propagate and pass through the lens] – the focus of the lens dependent on an angle of pivot of the microscope teaches the feature being centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens, and the center of the lens 114 would be along the reference line 116-1 [i.e. the lens is aligned with reference 116-1 via its pivot about pivot point 128]; given the disclosure within Huang of identifying a structural feature of the optical connector coupled with the adjustment member of Brace pointing the lens of the microscope at a desired feature, the device of Huang in view of Brace is therefore capable of pointing the microscope at the structural feature, and thereby centering it within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate causing, by a device for inspecting a set of one or more optical fibers included in an optical cable, adjustment of a microscope of the device to a particular position by adjusting the microscope relative to an optical connector, coupled to the optical cable, along one or more axes to point the microscope at a structural feature of the optical connector and to allow light associated with the structural feature to propagate to, and pass through, a center of a lens of the microscope along an optical axis of the lens of the microscope, wherein the structure feature of the optical connector is centered within an on-axis region of a field of view of the lens of the microscope as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method further comprising: analyzing one or more images obtained by the camera of the microscope to generate other assessment information associated with a particular optical fiber (Huang [0146] and [0148], as with claim 16 above, disclose the capturing of images [via image sensor 104] of the connector end face 401 that are stored within memory 120 [i.e. captured by the processor]; [0181] as with claim 16 above, describes the evaluation of the images taken of the connector end face 401 in the preceding steps [analyzing the one or more images], and the processor detects contamination and provides spatial information about the location of the contamination, in cartesian or polar coordinates, and transmits the information; analysis techniques include shape or reflectivity identification [generating assessment information associated with the particular optical fiber of the optical connector]), and
provide the other assessment information (Huang [0182] discloses that the contamination detection results are reported and compared with standards specifications).
Huang is silent to the method of claim 16, further comprising: causing adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and analyzing, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, one or more images obtained by the camera to generate other assessment information.
However, Brace does address this limitation.
Brace discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising: “causing adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope” (Brace [0016], fig. 1B, and claim 10 above has disclosed adjustment of the microscope to a particular position such that a particular part of the optical connector is within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope; [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1C show a plurality of other reference numbers 116-2 through 116-4 where the position of the microscope is adjusted so as to bring subsequent optical fibers (or the other structural feature associated and identified within Huang above) within the field of view of the lens 114 [adjustment of the microscope to another particular position], and therefore align them (subsequent optical fiber or other structural feature associated and identified within Huang above) within an on-axis region of the field of view of the lens), and
“analyzing, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, one or more images obtained by the camera to generate other assessment information” (Brace [0015] and fig. 1B discloses the capture of images of the field of view of the lens 114 via camera 118, once the microscope is adjusted to the particular position; [0029] recites that similar image capture and analysis for the first position of the microscope is applicable to the subsequent positions of the microscope – any analysis of the subsequently obtained images of the other particular position will inherently be based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to said other particular position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to incorporate causing adjustment of the microscope to another particular position such that a particular optical fiber, of the set of one or more optical fibers, is within the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope, and analyzing, based on causing the adjustment of the microscope to the other particular position, one or more images obtained by the camera to generate other assessment information as suggested by Brace for the advantage of enabling a full analysis of a set of optical fibers without moving the fibers themselves (a characteristic shared by both the claimed invention and Huang) (Brace [0013]).
Regarding claim 19, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang fig. 29A, as with claim 16, the image taken by the image sensor includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope – i.e. the region captured by the image sensor is said region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope), and wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector (Huang fig. 28 shows both holes and pins [i.e. structural features of the optical connector]).
Regarding claim 20, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the method of claim 16, and Huang further teaches the method wherein providing the assessment information allows a display screen of the device to display at least a portion of the assessment information (Huang claim 17 discloses executable instructions by the processor which control a display device to display a visible message indicating a pass or fail of the connector end face [allows display screen to display at least a portion of assessment information).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Brace, and further in view of US 9,880,105 B2 by William Henry Thompson (herein after “Thompson”).
Regarding claim 7, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 1, and Huang further teaches the device wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang fig. 29A, as with claim 1, the image taken by the image sensor includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope – i.e. the region captured by the image sensor is said region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope).
Huang when modified by Brace is silent to the device of claim 1, wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable.
However, Thompson does address this limitation. Huang, Brace, and Thompson are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are related to microscopes used for the inspection of optical fibers within fiber optic connectors.
Thompson discloses the device of claim 1, “wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable” (Thompson fig. 2A shows a fiber scope used with a fiber optic connector inspection display system (figs. 1A-1D); fig. 5B shows an image of the fiber optic connector inspection display system wherein a snapshot of an optical connector is shown; col 4 ll. 32-50 describes a live image mode and snapshot mode [i.e. obtaining images of the optical cable], where zooming and panning the field of view is possible; in fig. 5B, an equivalent of a single structural feature of Huang is shown, where no other components are seen in the field of view [region of the image shows the structural feature and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical connector]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Brace to incorporate wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable as suggested by Thompson for the advantage of enabling an operator to zoom or pan to areas of interest, enabling a more precise capture of contamination or damage to the fiber optic connectors that a large field of view image may not reveal (Thompson col 4 ll. 32-50)
Regarding claim 13, Huang when modified by Brace discloses the device of claim 10, and Huang further teaches the device, wherein each image, of the one or more images, includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope (Huang fig. 29A, as with claim 10, the image taken by the image sensor includes a region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope – i.e. the region captured by the image sensor is said region associated with the on-axis region of the field of view of the lens of the microscope).
Huang when modified by Brace is silent to the device of claim 10, wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable.
However, Thompson does address this limitation. Huang, Brace, and Thompson are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are related to microscopes used for the inspection of optical fibers within fiber optic connectors.
Thompson discloses the device of claim 10, “wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable” (Thompson fig. 2A shows a fiber scope used with a fiber optic connector inspection display system (figs. 1A-1D); fig. 5B shows an image of the fiber optic connector inspection display system wherein a snapshot of an optical connector is shown; col 4 ll. 32-50 describes a live image mode and snapshot mode [i.e. obtaining images of the optical cable], where zooming and panning the field of view is possible; in fig. 5B, an equivalent of a single structural feature of Huang is shown, where no other components are seen in the field of view [region of the image shows the structural feature and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical connector]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Brace to incorporate wherein the region of the image shows the structural feature of the optical connector and does not show any of the set of one or more optical fibers of the optical cable as suggested by Thompson for the advantage of enabling an operator to zoom or pan to areas of interest, enabling a more precise capture of contamination or damage to the fiber optic connectors that a large field of view image may not reveal (Thompson col 4 ll. 32-50).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA M CARLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877