DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 were previously examined.
Claims 2 have been amended on February, 5, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
On page 7 of the remark, Applicant argued that Sun reference does not clearly disclose the limitation such as “LDPC encoding operation to generate an encoded unit with a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments”
On pages 8-10, Applicant’s reasons for argument are:
The cited references an "MPDU" refers to a MAC Protocol Data Unit. An MPDU (or MAC frame) includes a MAC header, a frame body, and an FCS field, but does not include a preamble, LDPC indicators or LDPC symbol padding information….
[0017] FIG. 9 depicts an example procedure to perform LDPC encoding based on individual MPDU in an A-MPDU frame;….
[0119] the MPDU is a unit used to perform a low-density parity-check (LDPC) coding procedure, and the procedure may be repeated for all the MPDUs in the A-MPDU. In this way, each MPDU may have its own information block length, for example an LDPC codeword length (CW length or information block length). As used herein, the term codeword is synonymous with an information block
In Responses:
Examiner disagrees because the recited claim does not mention or require such as “include a preamble, LDPC indicators or LDPC symbol padding information”. The recited claim only requires to “generate an encoded data unit with a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments”.
Therefore, Sun in paragraph in [0019] clearly discloses the requirement ““generate an encoded data unit with a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments”. It discloses to perform LDPC encoding based on individual MPDU wherein the encoded individual MDPU may carried a more LDPC extra symbol segment fields.
(Sun [0017] FIG. 9 … to perform LDPC encoding based on individual MPDU in an A-MPDU frame;…. )
(Sun [0122]: …a. More LDPC Extra Symbol Segment fields may be carried … each may be related to an MPDU…)
In addition, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Sun’s method of generating more LDPC extra symbol segment fields as optional parameter to carry extra signal field into the system in order to improve the transmission.
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0,389,259), in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0,133,677)
As per claim 1: (Original)
Zhang discloses:
A wireless device comprising:
(Zhang, Fig. 1, Access Point 114, Client 154-1)
(Zhang, 0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
a controller configured to generate a control signal; and
(Zhang, [0034] the PHY processor 130 additionally or alternatively includes a low density parity check (LDPC) encoder)
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
a wireless transceiver configured to,
(Zhang, 0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
in response the control signal,
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
perform a low-density parity-check (LDPC) encoding operation to generate an encoded data unit
(Zhang, [0034] the PHY processor 130 additionally or alternatively includes a low density parity check (LDPC) encoder)
with
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, [0149]…in response to the trigger frame… iii) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether client station(s) should include an extra OFDM symbol segment for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for the trigger-based HARQ PPDU)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
Zhang does not clearly disclose a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments
Sun discloses a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments
(Sun [0122] PHY layer signaling may be modified to include one or more of below subfields: …a. More LDPC Extra Symbol Segment fields may be carried and each may be related to an MPDU. In one method, one LDPC Extra Symbol Segment field may be included in a mandatory SIG field, e.g., U-SIG or EHT SIG field. The rest of LDPC Extra Symbol Segment fields may be carried in an Extra SIG field)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Sun’s method of generating more LDPC extra symbol segment fields as optional parameter to carry extra signal field into the system in order to improve the transmission.
(Sun [0122] PHY layer signaling may be modified to include one or more of below subfields: …a. More LDPC Extra Symbol Segment fields may be carried and each may be related to an MPDU. In one method, one LDPC Extra Symbol Segment field may be included in a mandatory SIG field, e.g., U-SIG or EHT SIG field. The rest of LDPC Extra Symbol Segment fields may be carried in an Extra SIG field)
As per claim 2: (Currently Amended)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the encoded data unit comprises the data field a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU).
(Zhang, 0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
As per claim 3: (Currently Amended)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the encoded data comprises a payload that contains a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, and wherein a number of the OFDM contained in the payload is equal to or smaller than a predefined threshold.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 4: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, in response the control signal,
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
determine a number of extra LDPC symbol segments to be included in the encoded data unit based on a plurality of different criteria.
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 1st (one) extra LDPC symbols segment)
As per claim 5: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, in response the control signal,
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
determine one extra LDPC symbol segment to be included in the encoded data unit based on a first criterion,
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 1st (one) extra LDPC symbols segment)
two extra LDPC symbol segments to be included in the encoded data unit based on a second criterion and
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 2nd (two) extra LDPC symbols segment)
to determine three extra LDPC symbol segments to be included in the encoded data unit based on a third criterion.
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 3rd (three) extra LDPC symbols segment)
As per claim 6: (Currently Amended)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, in response the control signal,
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
set an extra symbol segment field to indicate the extra LDPC symbol segments within the encoded data unit.
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 1st (one) extra LDPC symbols segment)
As per claim 7: (Currently Amended)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, in response the control signal,
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
set a 2-bit extra symbol segment field to indicate up to three extra LDPC symbol segments included in the encoded data unit.
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 1st (one) extra LDPC symbols segment)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 2nd (two) extra LDPC symbols segment)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C shows 3rd (three) extra LDPC symbols segment)
As per claim 8: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, in response the control signal, determine an adaptive number of extra LDPC symbol segments to be included in the encoded data unit to fill to an end of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 9: (Currently Amended)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the adaptive number of extra LDPC symbol segments is greater than a threshold, and wherein an OFDM is added if an initial number of the extra LDPC symbol segments is less than the threshold.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 10: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, in response the control signal, add an additional extra LDPC symbol segment in the encoded data unit when a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols contained in a payload of the encoded data unit is equal to or smaller than a predefined threshold.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 11: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to,
in response the control signal, add an additional extra LDPC symbol segment in the encoded data unit based on a punctured parity bit ratio that is lower than a standard punctured parity bit ratio when a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols contained in a payload of the encoded data unit is equal to or smaller than a predefined threshold.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 12: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein a smallest encoding boundary of a last orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) data symbol and a size of an LDPC symbol segment is less than a standard value of one OFDM symbol.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 13: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless device comprises a wireless access point (AP), and wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the encoded data unit to a second device, which comprises a non-AP wireless station (STA) device.
(Zhang, Fig. 1, Access Point 114, Client 154-1)
(Zhang, 0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
As per claim 14: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless device is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol.
(Zhang, [0031] … the MAC processor 126 and/or the PHY processor 130 of the AP 114 are configured to generate data units, and process received data units, that conform to a WLAN communication protocol such as a communication protocol conforming to the IEEE 802.11)
As per claim 15: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless device is a component of a multi-link device (MLD).
(Zhang, Fig. 1, Access Point 1144 connects to multi-link Device such as Client 154-1, 154-2 and 154-3)
As per claim 16: (Original)
Claims 16-19 recite limitations similar claims 1-15. See rejection above also.
Zhang discloses:
A wireless access point (AP) comprising:
(Zhang, Fig. 1, Access Point 114, Client 154-1)
(Zhang, [0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
a controller configured to generate a control signal; and
(Zhang, [0034] the PHY processor 130 additionally or alternatively includes a low density parity check (LDPC) encoder)
a wireless transceiver configured to, in response the control signal,
(Zhang, [0154] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
(Zhang, [0156] In response to the LDPC Extra Segment subfield 860 being set to one, a client station receiving the trigger frame 800 will include an extra OFDM symbol segment in a last-occurring OFDM symbol …)
perform a low- density parity-check (LDPC) encoding operation to generate a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)
(Zhang, [0034] the PHY processor 130 additionally or alternatively includes a low density parity check (LDPC) encoder)
with a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments and to transmit the PPDU to a non-AP wireless station (STA) device,
(Zhang, Fig. 1, Access Point 114, Client 154-1)
(Zhang, [0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
wherein the PPDU comprises a payload that contains a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, and wherein a number of the OFDM symbols contained in the payload is equal to or smaller than a predefined threshold.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, [0149]…in response to the trigger frame… iii) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether client station(s) should include an extra OFDM symbol segment for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for the trigger-based HARQ PPDU)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 17: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to,
in response the control signal, determine a number of extra LDPC symbol segments to be included in the PPDU based on a plurality of different criteria.
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 18: (Original)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to,
in response the control signal, define a 2-bit extra symbol segment field to indicate up to three extra LDPC symbol segments included in the PPDU.
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 19: (Currently Amended)
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to,
in response the control signal, add an additional extra LDPC symbol segment in the PPDU when a number of the OFDM symbol contained in the payload is equal to or smaller than a predefined threshold.
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
As per claim 20: (Original)
Claim 20 recites limitations similar claim 1. See rejection above also.
Zhang discloses:
A method for wireless communications, the method comprising:
(Zhang, Fig. 1, Access Point 114, Client 154-1)
(Zhang, 0028] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example WLAN 110, according to an embodiment. The WLAN 110 includes an access point (AP) 114 that is configured to transmit and receive PPDUs that are formatted for HARQ.)
at a first wireless device, performing a low-density parity-check (LDPC) encoding operation to generate an encoded data unit
(Zhang, [0034] the PHY processor 130 additionally or alternatively includes a low density parity check (LDPC) encoder)
with a plurality of extra LDPC symbol segments; and from the first wireless device, transmitting the encoded data unit to a second wireless device.
(Zhang, [0072] …HARQ SIG … a receiver to calculate a number of OFDM symbols in the PPDU), iv) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether an extra OFDM symbol segment is present for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for encoding the PHY data portion, v) a space-time block code (STBC) subfield that is used to indicate whether STBC is used for the PHY data portion, etc.…)
(Zhang, [0149]…in response to the trigger frame… iii) an LDPC extra symbol segment subfield that indicates whether client station(s) should include an extra OFDM symbol segment for pre-FEC padding when LDPC is used for the trigger-based HARQ PPDU)
(Zhang, Fig. 3B, 5A, Num of OFDM Symbols 506, LDPC Extra Symbol Segment 510…)
(Zhang, Fig. 6C, 8B Num of OFDM Symbols , LDPC Extra Symbol Segment …)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US 2021/0,135,803) in [0166] discloses a method of encoding the plurality of additional OFDM symbols…located adjacent to the …block.
Luby (US 2016/0,028,416) in [0056] discloses to receive, on average, two additional encoded symbols beyond the original number of source symbols to insure a high reliability of decoding.
Roberts (US 2015/0293,812) in [0021] discloses e-encoding may be performed using more than two additional check symbols, to allow for a greater number of corrected errors and failed chips.
Chen et al. in [0064] discloses that a multiple extra LDPC symbols may needed.
Rueger et al. (US 2022/0,069,899) in [0072] discloses that rate of a code may be associated with the number of extra symbols needed … to recover an original message may increase significantly.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111