DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
In par. [0001]: insert US Patent no. 11,984,446.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 2, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhie (US 2016/0155744) in view of Lin et al. (US 2013/0283913).
Re claim 1, Rhie teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1, 6, 10 & 11, [0014, 0016, 0022, 0025, 0029], a semiconductor device comprising:
-a first capacitor (102) located at a first height from one surface (of 100); and
-a second capacitor (103) spaced apart (e.g., by 126, 136) from the first capacitor (102) and located at a second height from the one surface (of 100), the second height being different from the first height (e.g., 103 located higher than 102),
wherein each of the first and second capacitors (102, 103) includes a lower electrode (132A, 134B in capacitor 102; 142A in capacitor 103), an upper electrode (125 in capacitor 102; 146A in capacitor 103) and a dielectric layer (130A in capacitor 102; 144A in capacitor 103) between the lower electrode and the upper electrode.
Rhie does not explicitly teach
wherein a selected one of the lower and upper electrodes includes:
a first portion having a cylindrical shape including a closed lower surface and an opened upper surface; and
a second portion vertically extended from the first portion of the selected one,
wherein a selected another one of the lower and upper electrodes includes:
a first portion having a bar shape extended into the first portion of the selected one;
a second portion vertically extended from the first portion of the selected another one; and
a third portion having a cylindrical shape including a closed upper surface and an opened lower surface between the first portion and the second portion in the selected another one and the third portion configured to surround the first portion of the selected one.
Lin teaches, under BRI, portion of Fig. 1, [0023],
wherein a selected one of the lower and upper electrodes (in lower portion) includes:
a first portion (34, 36) having a cylindrical shape including a closed lower surface and an opened upper surface (defined by 34, 36); and
a second portion (78) vertically extended from the first portion of the selected one,
wherein a selected another one of the lower and upper electrodes (in upper portion) includes:
a first portion (32) having a bar shape extended into the first portion (34, 36) of the selected one;
a second portion (78) vertically extended from the first portion (32) of the selected another one; and
a third portion (left right 30) having a cylindrical shape including a closed upper surface and an opened lower surface (defined by left right 30) between the first portion and the second portion in the selected another one (e.g., in vertical direction) and the third portion (left right 30) configured to surround the first portion (34, 36) of the selected one.
As taught by Lin, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Rhie to obtain first/second portions of a selected one and first/second/third portions of selected another one as claimed, because it aids in reducing sizes in the formed device, and achieving high integrated structure. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) & it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lin in combination Rhie due to above reason.
Re claim 2, in combination cited above, Lin teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the dielectric layer (one or more dielectric layers) is disposed between the first portion (34, 36) of the selected one and the first portion (32) of the selected another one, and between the first portion (34, 36) of the selected one and the third portion (left right 30) of the selected another one.
Re claim 5, Rhie teaches, Fig. 11, wherein a shape of the second capacitor (203) is substantially same with a shape of the first capacitor (202).
Re claim 6, Rhie teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the first lower electrode (132B, 134B) and the second lower electrode (142B) are partially overlapped with each other in a planar view.
Re claim 7, Rhie teaches, Fig. 11, [0029], a third capacitor spaced (204) apart from the first capacitor (202) and the second capacitor (203), the third capacitor (203) including a third lower electrode (242B), a third upper electrode (246B) and a third dielectric layer (244B) disposed between the third lower electrode and the third upper electrode at a third height from the one surface, and the third height is different from the first and second heights (204 located higher than 202, 203).
Re claim 8, Rhie teaches, Fig. 11, wherein the first lower electrode (234B), the second lower electrode (240B) and the third lower electrode (242B) are partially overlapped with each other in a planar view.
Re claim 10, Rhie teaches, under BRI, Fig. 11, [0014, 0016, 0022, 0025-0029], a semiconductor device comprising:
-a first capacitor (202) located at a first height from one surface (of 200); and
-a second capacitor (203) located at a second height from the one surface (of 200) to be insulated (via 226, 235) from the first capacitor (202), the second height being different from the first height (e.g., 203 located higher than 202),
wherein a shape of the first capacitor (202) is substantially same with a shape of the second capacitor (203),
wherein each of the first and second capacitors includes a lower electrode (232B, 234B or 239B, 240B), an upper electrode (235 or 236), and a dielectric layer (230B or 238B) between the lower electrode (232B, 234B or 239B, 240B) and the upper electrode (235 or 236), and
wherein the lower electrodes include a cylindrical shape (e.g., cylinder-shaped storage node electrode 234A/B).
Rhie does not explicitly teach wherein the upper electrodes include a cylindrical shape, and wherein the lower electrode and the upper electrode of the first capacitor are arranged to interdigitated each other.
Lin teaches wherein the upper electrodes include a cylindrical shape (defined by 30, 32), and wherein the lower electrode (34, 36) and the upper electrode (30, 32) of the first capacitor are arranged to interdigitated each other.
As taught by Lin, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Rhie to obtain the upper electrodes including cylindrical shape & the lower electrode and the upper electrode of the first capacitor are arranged to interdigitated each other as claimed, because it aids in reducing sizes in the formed device, and achieving high integrated structure. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) & it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lin in combination Rhie due to above reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/650,124 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim and require similar limitations such as first/second capacitors at different heights, each capacitor includes lower electrode, upper electrode & dielectric layer, first/second portion of a selected one and first/second/third portions of selected another one, overlapped electrodes, and third capacitor etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current application 18/629,936
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a first capacitor located at a first height from one surface; and
a second capacitor spaced apart from the first capacitor and located at a second height from the one surface, the second height being different from the first height,
wherein each of the first and second capacitors includes a lower electrode, an upper electrode and a dielectric layer between the lower electrode and the upper electrode,
wherein a selected one of the lower and upper electrodes includes:
a first portion having a cylindrical shape including a closed lower surface and an opened upper surface; and
a second portion vertically extended from the first portion of the selected one,
wherein a selected another one of the lower and upper electrodes includes:
a first portion having a bar shape extended into the first portion of the selected one;
a second portion vertically extended from the first portion of the selected another one; and
a third portion having a cylindrical shape including a closed upper surface and an opened lower surface between the first portion and the second portion in the selected another one and the third portion configured to surround the first portion of the selected one.
10. A semiconductor device comprising:
a first capacitor located at a first height from a one surface; and
a second capacitor located at a second height from the one surface to be insulated from the first capacitor, the second height being different from the first height,
wherein a shape of the first capacitor is substantially same with a shape of the second capacitor,
wherein each of the first and second capacitors includes a lower electrode, an upper electrode, and a dielectric layer between the lower electrode and the upper electrode,
wherein the lower electrodes and the upper electrodes include a cylindrical shape, respectively, and
wherein the lower electrode and the upper electrode of the first capacitor are arranged to interdigitate each other.
18/650,124
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a first capacitor located at a first height from an one surface; and
a second capacitor spaced apart from the first capacitor and located at a second height from the one surface, the second height being different from the first height,
wherein each of the first and second capacitor includes a lower electrode, an upper electrode and a dielectric layer between the lower electrode and the upper electrode,
wherein a selected one of the lower and upper electrodes includes:
a first portion having a cylindrical shape including a closed lower surface and an opened upper surface; and
a second portion vertically extended from the first portion of the selected one,
wherein a selected another one of the lower and upper electrodes includes:
a first portion having a bar shape extended into the first portion of the selected one;
a second portion vertically extended from the first portion of the selected another one; and
a third portion having a disc shape between the first portion and the second portion in the selected another one.
10. A semiconductor device comprising:
a first capacitor located at a first height from one surface; and
a second capacitor located at a second height from the one surface to be insulated from the first capacitor, the second height being different from the first height,
wherein a shape of the first capacitor is substantially same with a shape of the second capacitor,
wherein each of the first and second capacitors includes a lower electrode, an upper electrode, and a dielectric layer between the lower electrode and the upper electrode,
wherein a selected one of the lower and the upper electrodes includes a cylinder including a closed surface and an opened surface, and a first bar connected to the closed surface of the cylinder, and
wherein a selected another one of the lower and upper electrodes includes a second bar inserted into the opened surface of the cylinder of the selected one,
wherein at least one of the first and second bars includes a variable width.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3, 4 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under Double Patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 6/1/26