Detailed Action
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, and 14 of U.S. application No. 17/803,107 in view of Chandler (US 4,501,459).
App. No. 18/630420
App. No. 17/803,107
1. An electrified office furniture system, comprising:
at least one piece of office furniture; and
an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system including:
a first electrical module; and
a second electrical module,
the first electrical module and the second electrical module being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in one of two orientations, and being configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in the other of the two orientations.
7. The electrified office furniture system of claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
1. An electrified office furniture system, comprising:
at least one piece of office furniture; and
an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system including:
a first electrical module including a first electrical module latching arrangement which includes a first pair of female latch members and a first pair of male latch members; and
a second electrical module including a second electrical module latching arrangement which includes a first pair of female latch members and a first pair of male latch members,
the first pair of female latch members of the first electrical module latching arrangement and the first pair of male latch members of the first electrical module latching arrangement being selectively and releasably coupled with the first pair of male latch members of the second electrical module latching arrangement and the first pair of female latch members of the second electrical module latching arrangement respectively.
7. The electrified office furniture system of claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
8. An electrical distribution system for an electrified office furniture system,
the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture,
the electrical distribution system being associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system comprising:
a first electrical module which is configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly with a second electrical module in one of two orientations and for being selectively and releasably connected directly with the second electrical module in the other of the two orientations.
8. An electrical distribution system for an electrified office furniture system,
the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture,
the electrical distribution system being associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system comprising:
a first electrical module including a first electrical module latching arrangement which includes a first pair of female latch members and a first pair of male latch member, the first pair of female latch members of the first electrical module latching arrangement and the first pair of male latch members of the first electrical module latching arrangement being configured for being selectively and releasably coupled with a first pair of male latch members of a second electrical module latching arrangement of a second electrical module and a first pair of female latch members of the second electrical module latching arrangement respectively.
14. A method of using an electrified office furniture system, the method comprising the steps of:
providing that the electrified office furniture system includes an at least one piece of office furniture and an electrical distribution system which is associated with the at least one piece of office furniture;
connecting, selectively and releasably, a first electrical module of the electrical distribution system and a second electrical module of the electrical distribution system directly to one another in one of two orientations; and connecting, selectively and releasably, the first electrical module and the second electrical module directly to one another in the other of the two orientations.
20. The method of claim 14, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
14. A method of using an electrified office furniture system, the method comprising the steps of:
providing that the electrified office furniture system includes at least one piece of office furniture and an electrical distribution system which is associated with the at least one piece of office furniture,
the electrical distribution system including a first electrical module and a second electrical module, the first electrical module including a first electrical module latching arrangement which includes a first pair of female latch members and a first pair of male latch members, the second electrical module including a second electrical module latching arrangement which includes a first pair of female latch members and a first pair of male latch members; and
coupling, selectively and releasably, the first pair of female latch members of the first electrical module latching arrangement and the first pair of male latch members of the first electrical module latching arrangement with the first pair of male latch members of the second electrical module latching arrangement and the first pair of female latch members of the second electrical module latching arrangement respectively.
20. The method of claim 14, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
The instant application includes the claim limitations of i U.S. application No. 17/803,107 except for the first electrical module and the second electrical module each includes a pair of female latch members and a pair of male latch members and the second electrical modules. Chandler teaches the first electrical module (fig. 3) and the second electrical module (fig. 3 and col. 2, ll. 18-19) each includes a pair of female latch members (28) and a pair of male latch members (27 and col. 2, 40-42, “complementary latches comprising a T-slot 36 in one arm 27 for receiving a T-bar 37 in the other arm 28”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrical connectors of the instant invention for the electrical connectors of Chandler for the purpose of providing a “connector assembly is relatively inexpensive to manufacture in relation to its versatility and reliability of operation providing both reliable electrical characteristics and mechanical mating and mounting characteristics” (col. 5, ll. 3-7).
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 13, and 18 of U.S. application No. 18/630,385 in view of Chandler (US 4,501,459).
App. No. 18/630420
App. No. 18/630,385
1. An electrified office furniture system, comprising:
at least one piece of office furniture; and
an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system including:
a first electrical module; and
a second electrical module,
the first electrical module and the second electrical module being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in one of two orientations, and being configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in the other of the two orientations.
7. The electrified office furniture system of claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
1. An electrified office furniture system, comprising:
at least one piece of office furniture; and
an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system including:
a first electrical module which is a first electrical receptacle or a first jumper assembly, the first electrical module including a first electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic; and
a second electrical module which is a second electrical receptacle or a second jumper assembly, the second electrical module including a second electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic,
the first electrical module and the second electrical module being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another by way of the first electrical connection arrangement and the second electrical connection arrangement.
6. The electrified office furniture system of claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
8. An electrical distribution system for an electrified office furniture system,
the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture,
the electrical distribution system being associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system comprising:
a first electrical module which is configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly with a second electrical module in one of two orientations and for being selectively and releasably connected directly with the second electrical module in the other of the two orientations.
7. An electrical distribution system for an electrified office furniture system,
the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture,
the electrical distribution system being associated with the at least one piece of office furniture, the electrical distribution system comprising:
a first electrical module, the first electrical module being a first electrical receptacle or a first jumper assembly, the first electrical module including a first electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic, the first electrical module being configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly to a second electrical module-which is a second electrical receptacle or a second jumper assembly and includes a second electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic—by way of the first electrical connection arrangement and the second electrical connection arrangement.
14. A method of using an electrified office furniture system, the method comprising the steps of:
providing that the electrified office furniture system includes an at least one piece of office furniture and an electrical distribution system which is associated with the at least one piece of office furniture;
connecting, selectively and releasably, a first electrical module of the electrical distribution system and a second electrical module of the electrical distribution system directly to one another in one of two orientations; and connecting, selectively and releasably, the first electrical module and the second electrical module directly to one another in the other of the two orientations.
20. The method of claim 14, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
13. A method of using an electrified office furniture system, the method comprising the steps of:
providing that the electrified office furniture system includes at least one piece of office furniture and an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture,
the electrical distribution system including a first electrical module and a second electrical module, the first electrical module being a first electrical receptacle or a first jumper assembly and including a first electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic, the second electrical module being a second electrical receptacle or a second jumper assembly and including a second electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic; and connecting, selectively and releasably, the first electrical module and the second electrical module directly to one another by way of the first electrical connection arrangement and the second electrical connection arrangement.
18. The method according to claim 13, wherein the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table.
The instant application includes the claim limitations of i U.S. application No. 18/630,385 except for including a first electrical connection arrangement (fig. 4 on the left) and a second electrical connection arrangement (fig. 4 on the right) that is hermaphroditic. Chandler teaches a first electrical connection arrangement and a second electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic (claim 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrical connectors of the instant invention for the electrical connectors of Chandler for the purpose of providing a “connector assembly is relatively inexpensive to manufacture in relation to its versatility and reliability of operation providing both reliable electrical characteristics and mechanical mating and mounting characteristics” (col. 5, ll. 3-7).
Claim Interpretation
The term “associated with” is understood to mean “to be connected, linked, or related to something.”
The term “directly connected to” is understood as any type of direct connection including but not limited to a mechanical or an electrical direct connection.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [0033], line 7, :219” should be “819”; and
Para. [0041], line 14, “109-B” should be “104-B”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9; Claim 8, line 7; and Claim 14, line 10, “the other “lacks antecedent basis and should be “another”;
Claim 7, line 7; and Claim 20, line 7, “an office wall panel” should be “the office wall panel” having antecedence in “an office wall panel of line 6 of claims 7 or 20, respectively;
Claim 7, line 9; and Claim 20, line 9, “the bottom” lacks antecedent basis and should be “a bottom”; and
Claim 7, line 9; and Claim 20, line 9, “an desk or table” should be “the desk or table” having antecedence in “a desk or table” panel of line 8 of claims 7 or 20, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 requires “for an electrified office furniture system, the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture” which is under stood as intended use of the electrical distribution system and then requires “the electrical distribution system being associated with the at least one piece of office furniture” which appears to positively claim the “at least one piece of office furniture” because “the electrical distribution system” has to be associated with the “at least one piece of office furniture.” Is the “at least one piece of office furniture” being positively claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Holder (US 8,845,129).
With respect to Claim 1, Holder teaches an electrical distribution system (fig. 10, 1000) including: a first electrical module (fig. 10, 1st illumination module of 1000); and a second electrical module (2nd illumination module of 1000), the first electrical module and the second electrical module being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in one (col. 6, ll. 35-38, “one-dimensional array” “two hermaphroditic connectors, one on each opposite end”) of two orientations (col. 6, ll. 37-41, “one-dimensional array” and “two-dimensional arrays”), and being configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in the other (col. 6, ll. 38-41 “two-dimensional arrays” “connectors can be arranged along other edges”) of the two orientations. Holder fails to disclose an electrified office furniture system, comprising: at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. Official Notice is taken that an electrified office furniture system, comprising: at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture is well known in the art (in this case illumination sources are associated with at least one piece of office furniture by providing lighting to the at least one piece of office furniture by providing lighting). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Holder with a well-known piece of office furniture for the purpose of providing modular system of illumination for the piece of office furniture, so a user can perform work on the piece of office furniture.
With respect to Claim 8, Holder teaches an electrical distribution system (fig. 10, 1000) for an electrified office furniture system, the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture (“for . . . “ is intended use and does not positively claim “an office furniture system” or “at least one piece of office furniture”), the electrical distribution system (fig. 10, 1000) comprising: a first electrical module (fig. 10, 1st illumination module of 1000) which is configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly with a second electrical module (2nd illumination module of 1000) in one (col. 6, ll. 35-38, “one-dimensional array” “two hermaphroditic connectors, one on each opposite end”) of two orientations (col. 6, ll. 37-41, “one-dimensional array” and “two-dimensional arrays”) and for being selectively and releasably connected directly with the second electrical module in the other (col. 6, ll. 38-41 “two-dimensional arrays” “connectors can be arranged along other edges”) of the two orientations. Holder fails to disclose an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. Official Notice is taken that an electrified office furniture system, comprising: at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture is well known in the art (in this case illumination sources are associated with at least one piece of office furniture by providing lighting to the at least one piece of office furniture by providing lighting). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Holder with a well-known piece of office furniture for the purpose of providing modular system of illumination for the piece of office furniture, so a user can perform work on the piece of office furniture.
With respect to Claim 14, Holder teaches a method of using an electrical distribution system (fig. 10, 1000); connecting, selectively and releasably, a first electrical module (fig. 10, 1st illumination module of 1000) of the electrical distribution system and a second electrical module (2nd illumination module of 1000) of the electrical distribution system directly to one another in one (col. 6, ll. 35-38, “one-dimensional array” “two hermaphroditic connectors, one on each opposite end”) of two orientations (col. 6, ll. 37-41, “one-dimensional array” and “two-dimensional arrays”); and connecting, selectively and releasably, the first electrical module and the second electrical module directly to one another in the other (col. 6, ll. 38-41 “two-dimensional arrays” “connectors can be arranged along other edges”) of the two orientations. Holder fails to disclose using an electrified office furniture system, the method comprising the steps of: providing that the electrified office furniture system includes an at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system which is associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. Official Notice is taken that an electrified office furniture system, comprising: at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture is well known in the art (in this case illumination sources are associated with at least one piece of office furniture by providing lighting to the at least one piece of office furniture by providing lighting). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Holder with a well-known piece of office furniture for the purpose of providing modular system of illumination for the piece of office furniture, so a user can perform work on the piece of office furniture.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Rupert (US 5,915,984) and Kondas (US 7,9222,508).
Examiner’s understanding of Rupert (US 5,915,984). shows an electrical module 10 with connectors 20 on both ends. Based upon figs. 1 and 2, the connectors on the opposing ends appear to be opposite hand to each other so that in a first orientation, a right end of a second electrical module 10, can be connected directly to a right end of the electrical module 10 (see illustration below) or through an accompanying cable that is included with the electrical module, and in a second orientation, a left end of the second electrical module 10, when flipped up-side down and rotated, can be connected directly to a right end of the electrical module 10 (see illustration below) or through an accompanying cable included with the electrical module. Since Rupert is one of the inventors of the instant application, can the inventor provide information as to the exact configuration of the electrical module 10 and whether these electrical module 10 can be directly connected together in anyway including mechanically and/or electrically. The electrical module can either be as shown in Rupert or with an accompanying cable where Rupert’s 10 and the accompanying cable form a claimed electrical module. There is no current requirement that the first and second electrical modules be identical to each other, so an electrical module with a cable and be directly connected to another electrical moule without a cable. Further there is no requirement that the first and second electrical connectors of each of the first and second electrical modules be identical to each other. If the electrical connectors on the first and second ends are identical each other, then the lower side of a first connector in the illustration below and the upper side of a second connector that faces upwards, and the upper side of the first connector that faces upwards in the illustration below and the lower side of the second connector that faces downwards, so that the end views of the left and right sides of the electrical module as shown in a mechanical drawing would be shown as mirror images of each other.
1st orientation
1st 20 1st 10 (outlet face - near side) 2nd 20
2nd 20 2nd 10 (outlet face -near side) 1st 20
2nd orientation
1st 20 1st 10 (outlet face - near side) 2nd 20
1st 20 2nd 10 (outlet face - far side) 2nd 20
With respect to Claim 1, Rupert teaches an electrical distribution system (fig. 1) including: a first electrical module (fig. 1, 1st 10); and a second electrical module (2nd 10), the first electrical module and the second electrical module being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in one (when right end 1st 10 is connected to right end of 2nd 10) of two orientations (1st orientation – receptacles of 1st and 2nd 10s facing toward near side, 1st orientation – receptacles of 1st 10s facing toward near side and receptacles of 2nd 10 facing far side), and being configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in the other (when right end 1st 10 is connected to left end of 2nd 10, 2nd 10 is flipped upside down and rotated 180 degrees) of the two orientations. Rupert fails to disclose a second electrical module, and an electrified office furniture system, comprising: at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to duplicate the electrical module creating first and second electrical modules in order to provide additional receptacles to plug-in additional electrical equipment, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Kondas teaches an electrified office furniture system (fig. 1), comprising: at least one piece of office furniture (fig. 1, 12; col. 1, l. 24); and an electrical distribution system (10) associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rupert with the electrified office furniture system of Kondas for the purpose of “electrif[ying] to provide electrical power to lighting, computers, etc.” (col. 1, ll. 30-31).
With respect to Claim 8, Rupert teaches an electrical distribution system (fig. 1) for an electrified office furniture system, the electrified office furniture system including at least one piece of office furniture (“for . . . “ is intended use and does not positively claim “an office furniture system” or “at least one piece of office furniture”), the electrical distribution system comprising: a first electrical module (fig. 1, 1st 10) which is configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly with a second electrical (2nd 10) in one (when right end 1st 10 is connected to right end of 2nd 10) of two orientations (1st orientation – receptacles of 1st and 2nd 10s facing toward near side, 1st orientation – receptacles of 1st 10s facing toward near side and receptacles of 2nd 10 facing far side) and for being selectively and releasably connected directly with the second electrical module in the other (when right end 1st 10 is connected to left end of 2nd 10, 2nd 10 is flipped upside down and rotated 180 degrees) of the two orientations. Rupert fails to disclose an electrical distribution system associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to duplicate the electrical module creating first and second electrical modules in order to provide additional receptacles to plug-in additional electrical equipment, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Kondas teaches an electrical distribution system (fig. 1, 10) associated with the at least one piece of office furniture (12; col. 1, l. 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rupert with the electrified office furniture system of Kondas for the purpose of “electrif[ying] to provide electrical power to lighting, computers, etc.” (col. 1, ll. 30-31).
With respect to Claim 14, Rupert teaches a method of using an electrical distribution system (fig. 1); connecting, selectively and releasably, a first electrical module (fig. 1, 1st 10) of the electrical distribution system and a second electrical module (2nd 10) of the electrical distribution system directly to one another in one (when right end 1st 10 is connected to right end of 2nd 10) of two orientations (1st orientation – receptacles of 1st and 2nd 10s facing toward near side, 1st orientation – receptacles of 1st 10s facing toward near side and receptacles of 2nd 10 facing far side); and connecting, selectively and releasably, the first electrical module and the second electrical module directly to one another in the other (when right end 1st 10 is connected to left end of 2nd 10, 2nd 10 is flipped upside down and rotated 180 degrees) of the two orientations. Rupert fails to disclose using an electrified office furniture system, the method comprising the steps of: providing that the electrified office furniture system includes an at least one piece of office furniture; and an electrical distribution system which is associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to duplicate the electrical module creating first and second electrical modules in order to provide additional receptacles to plug-in additional electrical equipment, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Kondas teaches using an electrified office furniture system (fig. 1), the method comprising the steps of: providing that the electrified office furniture system includes an at least one piece of office furniture (12; col. 1, l. 24); and an electrical distribution system (10) which is associated with the at least one piece of office furniture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rupert with the electrified office furniture system of Kondas for the purpose of “electrif[ying] to provide electrical power to lighting, computers, etc.” (col. 1, ll. 30-31).
With respect to Claim 2, Rupert further teaches each of the first electrical module and the second electrical module includes a first end (left side of in 1st orientation above) including a first electrical connector (20 on left in 1st orientation above), a second end (right side of in 1st orientation above) opposing the first end and including a second electrical connector (20 on right in 1st orientation above), and an outlet face (near side of 10 in 1st orientation above), wherein the two orientations includes a first orientation (1st orientation above) and a second orientation (2nd orientation above), wherein, when the first electrical module and the second electrical module are in the first orientation relative to one another, the outlet face of the first electrical module and the outlet face of the second electrical module each face in a first direction (outlet face on near side in 1st orientation above) (claims 2 and 15), when the first electrical module and the second electrical module are in the first orientation relative to one another, the second electrical connector of the first electrical module is connected directly (see 1st orientation above [either first or second modules can have a cable included with that module) to the first electrical connector of the second electrical module (claims 3, 10, and 16), when the first electrical module and the second electrical module are in the second orientation (see 2nd orientation above) relative to one another, the outlet face of the first electrical module faces (see 2nd orientation above for left 10) in the first direction, and the outlet face of the second electrical module faces in a second direction (see 2nd orientation above for right 10) which opposes the first direction (claims 4, 11, and 17), when the first electrical module and the second electrical module are in the second orientation relative to one another, the second electrical connector of the first electrical module is connected directly (see 2nd orientation above [either first or second modules can have a cable included with that module) to the second electrical connector of the second electrical module (claims 5, 12, and 18), the first electrical module and the second electrical module each includes an electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic (see fig. 2, the connector appears to both male and female components such as keying in bottom of right column [a male component] fitting to into space at top of left column [a female component] (claims 6, 11, and 19) and the electrical distribution system includes the second electrical module (2nd 10), the first electrical module and the second electrical module being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in one (when right end 1st 10 is connected to right end of 2nd 10) of two orientations (1st orientation – receptacles of 1st and 2nd 10s facing toward near side, 1st orientation – receptacles of 1st 10s facing toward near side and receptacles of 2nd 10 facing far side) and being configured for being selectively and releasably connected directly to one another in the other (when right end 1st 10 is connected to left end of 2nd 10, 2nd 10 is flipped upside down and rotated 180 degrees) of the two orientations, wherein each of the first electrical module and the second electrical module includes a first end (left side of in 1st orientation above) including a first electrical connector (20 on left in 1st orientation above), a second end opposing the first end and including a second electrical connector (20 on right in 1st orientation above), and an outlet face (near side of 10 in 1st orientation above), wherein the two orientations includes a first orientation (1st orientation above) and a second orientation (2nd orientation above), wherein, when the first electrical module and the second electrical module are in the first orientation relative to one another, the outlet face of the first electrical module and the outlet face of the second electrical module each face in a first direction (outlet face on near side in 1st orientation above) (claim 9).
Alternately with respect to Claims 6 and 13, and 20, Rupert fails to explicitly disclose the first electrical module and the second electrical module each includes an electrical connection arrangement that is hermaphroditic. Official Notice is taken that the first electrical module and the second electrical module each including a hermaphroditic electrical connection arrangement is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rupert with a well-known hermaphroditic electrical connection arrangement on each end, so that the first and second electrical modules can be daisy-chained into a one-dimension array.
With respect to Claims 7 and 20, Rupert discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement, the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement, the first electrical module and the second electrical module each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising one of: a beltline raceway in an office wall panel; a bottom raceway in an office wall panel; a distribution channel formed in a desk or table; and a distribution channel attached to the bottom of a desk or table. Kondas teaches the at least one piece of office furniture includes an elongate distribution arrangement (fig. 1, 18), the electrical distribution system being associated with the elongate distribution arrangement (10), the first electrical module (fig. 2, 24 on left) and the second electrical module (fig. 2, 24 on right) each being positioned within the elongate distribution arrangement, each said elongate distribution arrangement comprising a bottom raceway (see fig. 2 and col. 3, l. 2, “baseline”) in an office wall panel (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rupert with the electrified office furniture system of Kondas for the purpose of “electrif[ying] to provide electrical power to lighting, computers, etc.” (col. 1, ll. 30-31).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4,295,697, 4,740,167, 5,015,203, 7,114,972, 7,871,280, 8,146,229, 8,152,546, 8.496,492, 8,790,126, 9,722,372, 11,133,627, 11,901,680 and 2024/0186755 disclose one or more electrical modules with outlet faces facing in opposite directions.
US 4,313,646, 5,092,787, 7,108,532, 7,303,417, and 8,317,547 disclose an electrical module having an outlet face.
US 4,711,507, 6,814,600, 9,257,778, 9,831,605, 9,985,388, 9,948,028, 10,249,974, 10,416,395, 10,795,097, 2023/0275379 and EP 4254102 (fig. 4) disclose a hermaphrodite electrical connectors.
US 2025/0316927, 2025/0316937, D1,103,110 and D1,106,960 are related inventions.
US RE 32760 is in the same patent family as US 4,501,459.
RJH 3/14/2026
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835