DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “interesting” should read “intersecting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 7-9, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach nor render obvious the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2022/0141967 to Gu et al. (herein Gu).
Regarding claim 1, Gu teaches a display device including a display substrate and a backboard support structure comprising a substrate support film and an adhesive layer (abstract) wherein the display device, display substrate, substrate support film, and adhesive layer correspond to the display device, display layer, support plate, and barrier layer recited in the instant claims. Gu teaches that the display device includes a bendable region and a non-bent region (paragraph 0003), corresponding to the folding area and non-folding area recited in the instant claims, wherein a non-bent region is disposed on either side of a bendable region (Fig 2A and paragraph 0080). Gu teaches that the adhesive layer comprises a first portion located in the bendable region and a second portion in the non-bent region (Fig 2A and paragraph 0080), wherein the first and second portions correspond to the first and second parts recited in the instant claims, and that the first portion has a modulus of elasticity that is lower than the modulus of elasticity of the second portion (paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 2, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Gu teaches that the first portion has a modulus of elasticity that is lower than the modulus of elasticity of the second portion (paragraph 0081).
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 10, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fig 2A of Gu shows the first and second portions are next to each other in a direction opposite the folding direction. Gu teaches that a plurality of bending regions and non-bent regions can be present (paragraph 0083) which would require a plurality of first and second regions as well.
Regarding claim 6, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fig 5 of Gu shows a spacing layer 103 can be present and Fig 3A shows that spacing layer 103 covers the support substrate film (paragraph 0089).
Claim(s) 13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu.
Regarding claim 13, Gu teaches a display device including a display substrate and a backboard support structure comprising a substrate support film and an adhesive layer (abstract) wherein the display device, display substrate, substrate support film, and adhesive layer correspond to the display device, display layer, support plate, and barrier layer recited in the instant claims. Gu teaches that the display device includes a bendable region and a non-bent region (paragraph 0003), corresponding to the folding area and non-folding area recited in the instant claims, wherein a non-bent region is disposed on either side of a bendable region (Fig 2A and paragraph 0080). Gu teaches that the adhesive layer comprises a first portion located in the bendable region and a second portion in the non-bent region (Fig 2A and paragraph 0080), wherein the first and second portions correspond to the first and second parts recited in the instant claims, and that the first portion has a modulus of elasticity that is lower than the modulus of elasticity of the second portion (paragraph 0081).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Fig 2A of Gu shows the first and second portions adjacent to one another and covering the substrate support film (paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 18, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Fig 2B of Gu shows the first and second portions in the same layer (paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 19, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Gu teaches that the display device has a body region and a peripheral region (paragraph 0087) wherein the body region and the peripheral region correspond to the display area and non-display area recited in the instant claims. Gu teaches that the display substrate has a bendable region and a non-bent region (paragraph 0097) and can bend such that opposing ends of the display substrate face one another (paragraph 0099 and Fig 8) such that the display device is outfolded to expose the display substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu as applied above.
Regarding claims 11 and 12¸Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fig 2A of Gu shows the second portion overlapping the non-bent region. Gu does not teach the first portion being surrounded by the second portion nor that the first portion does not overlap the edge of the substrate support film. However, such arrangement of the first and second portions would amount to a change in shape thereby rendering the claimed configurations obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu as applied above and in view of U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2021/0174711 to Cho et al. (herein Cho).
Regarding claim 15, Gu teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Fig 2A of Gu shows the first portion overlaps the bendable region (paragraph 0080).
Gu is silent as to there being a plurality of openings in the folding area of the substrate support film.
Cho teaches a foldable display device comprising a display panel having a folding area and a non-folding area, a back plate disposed under the display panel, and a first support layer disposed under the back plate (abstract). Cho teaches that the first support layer has a pattern of openings in the folding area (Fig 1 and paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate support film of Gu to have a pattern of openings in the bendable region as taught by Cho because it increases the elastic deformation region thereby allowing for restoration (paragraph 0100).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783