DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 12/21/2025 wherein claims 7 and 10-19 are canceled and claims 1-6, 8-9, and 20-31 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "a first fuel inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first fuel inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 21 is referring to the same “first fuel inlet” in line 4 of claim 1 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "a second fuel inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second fuel inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 21 is referring to the same “second fuel inlet” in line 16 of claim 1 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason discussed above based on its dependency to claim 21.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a first air inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first air inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 22 is referring to the same “first air inlet” in line 6 of claim 1 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a second air inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second air inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 22 is referring to the same “second air inlet” in line 19 of claim 1 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "a first fuel inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first fuel inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 23 is referring to the same “first fuel inlet” in line 4 of claim 1 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "a second fuel inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second fuel inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 23 is referring to the same “second fuel inlet” in line 16 of claim 1 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "a third fuel inlet" in line 7. It is unclear if the “third fuel inlet” recited in line 7 of Claim 23 is referring to the same “third fuel inlet” in line 5 of claim 8 that is “connected directly to the third combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claims 24-27 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 23.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "a first air inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first air inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 24 is referring to the same “first air inlet” in line 6 of claim 1 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "a second air inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second air inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 24 is referring to the same “second air inlet” in line 19 of claim 1 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claims 25-27 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 24.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a first fuel inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first fuel inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 25 is referring to the same “first fuel inlet” in line 4 of claim 1 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a second fuel inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second fuel inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 25 is referring to the same “second fuel inlet” in line 16 of claim 1 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a third fuel inlet" in line 7. It is unclear if the “third fuel inlet” recited in line 7 of Claim 25 is referring to the same “third fuel inlet” in line 5 of claim 8 that is “connected directly to the third combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claims 26-27 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 25.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "a first air inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first air inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 26 is referring to the same “first air inlet” in line 6 of claim 1 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "a second air inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second air inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 26 is referring to the same “second air inlet” in line 19 of claim 1 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on its dependency to claim 26.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "a first fuel inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first fuel inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 29 is referring to the same “first fuel inlet” in line 9 of claim 20 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "a second fuel inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second fuel inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 29 is referring to the same “second fuel inlet” in line 21 of claim 20 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "a third fuel inlet" in line 7. It is unclear if the “third fuel inlet” recited in line 7 of Claim 29 is referring to the same “third fuel inlet” in line 5 of claim 28 that is “connected directly to the third combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claims 30-31 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 29.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "a first air inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first air inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 30 is referring to the same “first air inlet” in line 11 of claim 20 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "a second air inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second air inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 30 is referring to the same “second air inlet” in line 24 of claim 20 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 31 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on its dependency to claim 30.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "a first fuel inlet" in line 3. It is unclear if the “first fuel inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 31 is referring to the same “first fuel inlet” in line 9 of claim 20 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "a second fuel inlet" in line 5. It is unclear if the “second fuel inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 31 is referring to the same “second fuel inlet” in line 21 of claim 20 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "a third fuel inlet" in line 7. It is unclear if the “third fuel inlet” recited in line 7 of Claim 31 is referring to the same “third fuel inlet” in line 5 of claim 28 that is “connected directly to the third combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different fuel inlet.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "a first air inlet" in line 10. It is unclear if the “first air inlet” recited in line 3 of Claim 31 is referring to the same “first air inlet” in line 11 of claim 20 that is “connected to the injector-mixer” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "a second air inlet" in line 12. It is unclear if the “second air inlet” recited in line 5 of Claim 31 is referring to the same “second air inlet” in line 24 of claim 20 that is “connected directly to the second combustion zone” or if it is referring to a different air inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogata et al. (US 2016/0033131).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ogata teaches (Figures 1-7) a combustor (2) of a turbine engine (GT), the combustor (2) comprising:
a first combustion zone (S1) operable to combust a first fuel and air mixture (M1);
an injector-mixer (14) connected to (see Figure 2) the first combustion zone (S1);
at least one first fuel inlet (17) connected to injector-mixer (14), providing a first fuel (F1) to the first combustion zone (S1) via the injector-mixer (14);
at least one first air inlet (14a) connected to the injector-mixer (14), providing first zone air (A) to the first combustion zone (S1) via the injector-mixer (14), the first fuel (F1) and the first zone air (A) combining in the injector-mixer (14) to form the first fuel and air mixture (M1) for delivery to the first combustion zone (S1);
a second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) combusting a second fuel and air mixture (M2), the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) being at least partially radially in line with (with respect to axis C; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) the first combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) has an axial dimension (with respect to axis C; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) that is smaller than (see Figures 5 and 6) an axial dimension (with respect to axis C; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) of the first combustion zone (S1), and wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is located biased in an axially downstream direction (with respect to the flow of combustion gases G along the longitudinal axis of the combustor; see Figures 5-6) of the first combustion zone (S1), and wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is located radially inward of (see Figures 1-2) the first combustion zone (S1);
at least one second fuel inlet (20e or 20i; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) connected directly to (see Figure 2) the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), providing a second fuel (F2) to the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), that operates when the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is operating and does not operate when the second combustion zone is not operating (based on the opening of the valves 28, 29 in dependence on the variation of the operating load so that a predetermined amount of the fuels can be supplied to the supplemental burner; see Paragraph 0029); and
at least one second air inlet (43) directly connected to (see Figure 2) the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), providing second zone air (A) to the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), the second fuel (F2) and the second zone air (A) combining within the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) to form the second fuel and air mixture (M2) in the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21),
wherein the first fuel (F1) and the second fuel (F2) are disparate fuels (from 18 and 19; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7 and Paragraph 0030).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Ogata teaches (Figures 1-7) a turbine engine (GT) comprising:
a compressor section (1) that provides a compressed air flow (A);
a fuel system (18, 19) that provides fuel (F1, F2);
a combustor (2) located downstream of the compressor section (1), the combustor (2) receiving the compressed air flow (A) and the fuel (F1, F2) to form a fuel and air mixture (M1, M2), and combusting the fuel and air mixture (M1, M2) to generate combustion gases (G), the combustor (2) comprising:
a first combustion zone (S1) operable to combust a first fuel and air mixture (M1);
an injector-mixer (14) connected to (see Figure 2) the first combustion zone (S1);
at least one first fuel inlet (17) connected to the injector-mixer (14), providing a first fuel (F1) to the first combustion zone (S1) via the injector-mixer (14);
at least one first air inlet (14a) connected to the injector-mixer (14), providing first zone air (A) to the first combustion zone (S1) via the injector-mixer (14), the first fuel (F1) and the first zone air (A) combining in the injector-mixer (14) to form the first fuel and air mixture (M1) for delivery to (see Figure 2) the first combustion zone (S1);
a second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) combusting a second fuel and air mixture (M2), the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) being at least partially radially in line with (with respect to axis C; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) the first combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) has an axial dimension (with respect to axis C; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) that is smaller than (see Figures 5 and 6) an axial dimension (with respect to axis C; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) of the first combustion zone (S1), and wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is located biased in an axially downstream direction (with respect to the flow of combustion gases G along the longitudinal axis of the combustor; see Figures 5-6) of the first combustion zone (S1), and wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is located radially inward of (see Figures 1-2) the first combustion zone (S1);
at least one second fuel inlet (20e or 20i; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7) connected directly to (see Figure 2) the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), providing a second fuel (F2) to the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), that operates when the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is operating and does not operate when the second combustion zone is not operating (based on the opening of the valves 28, 29 in dependence on the variation of the operating load so that a predetermined amount of the fuels can be supplied to the supplemental burner; see Paragraph 0029); and
at least one second air inlet (43) connected directly to (see Figure 2) the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), providing second zone air (A) to the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21), the second fuel (F2) and the second zone air (A) combining within the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) to form the second fuel and air mixture (M2) in the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21); and
a turbine section (3) that is caused to rotate (Paragraph 0027) by the combustion gases (G),
wherein the first fuel (F1) and the second fuel (F2) are disparate fuels (from 18 and 19; see Figures 1-2 and 5-7 and Paragraph 0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 6,481,209) in view of Dudebout (US 2024/0110520) and Venkatesan et al. (US 2019/0017441).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Johnson teaches (Figures 1-4) a combustor (200) of a turbine engine (10), the combustor (30, 200, 300) comprising:
a first combustion zone (182) operable to combust a first fuel and air mixture (fuel from 142 and air from 112; see Figures 2-4 and Column 6, lines 13-19);
an injector-mixer (96) connected to (see Figure 3) the first combustion zone (182);
at least one first fuel inlet (142) connected to the injector-mixer (96), providing a first fuel (from 142) to the first combustion zone (182) via the injector-mixer (96);
at least one first air inlet (air from 112; see Figures 2-4 and Column 6, lines 13-19) connected to the injector-mixer (96), providing first zone air (see Figures 2-4 and Column 5, lines 8-13 and Column 6, lines 49-55) to the first combustion zone (182) via the injector-mixer (96), the first fuel (from 142) and the first zone air (see Figures 2-4 and Column 5, lines 8-13 and Column 6, lines 49-55) combining in the injector-mixer (96) to form the first fuel and air mixture (see Column 6, lines 49-55 and Column 7, lines 12-19) for delivery to the first combustion zone (182);
a second combustion zone (180, within 202) combusting a second fuel and air mixture (fuel from 230 and air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 202; see Figures 2-4, Column 3, lines 50-67 and Column 6, lines 16-19), the second combustion zone (180, within 202) being at least partially radially in line with (see Figures 2-4) the first combustion zone (at 182), wherein the second combustion zone (180, within 202) is located radially inward of (see Figure 3) the first combustion zone (182);
at least one second fuel inlet (230) directly connected to (see Figure 3) the second combustion zone (180, within 202), providing a second fuel (from 230) to the second combustion zone (180, within 202), that operates when the second combustion zone (180, within 202) is operating and does not operate when the second combustion zone is not operating (see Column 5, lines 5-13, Column 6, lines 43-55, and Figures 1-3); and
at least one second air inlet (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 202; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67 and Column 6, lines 16-19) directly connected to (see Figure 3) the second combustion zone (180, within 202), providing second zone air (see Column 3, lines 50-67 and Column 6, lines 16-19) to the second combustion zone (180, within 202), the second fuel (from 230) and the second zone air (Column 3, lines 50-67 and Column 6, lines 16-19) combining within the second combustion zone (180, within 202) to form the second fuel and air mixture (see Column 5, lines 9-24) in the second combustion zone (180, within 202).
Johnson does not teach, as discussed, so far, wherein the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels, or wherein the second combustion zone has an axial dimension that is smaller than an axial dimension of the first combustion zone, and wherein the second combustion zone is located biased in an axially downstream direction of the first combustion zone.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson to have the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout). Johnson in view of Dedebout does not teach wherein the second combustion zone has an axial dimension that is smaller than an axial dimension of the first combustion zone, and wherein the second combustion zone is located biased in an axially downstream direction of the first combustion zone.
Venkatesan teaches (Figures 1-7) a second combustion zone (210) has an axial dimension that is smaller than (see Figure 4) an axial dimension of a first combustion zone (208), wherein the second combustion zone (210) is located in an axially downstream direction of the first combustion zone (secondary combustion reaction 210 is located within cavity 150, which can be located at different axial locations along an axial length of the combustor liner and spaced apart axially from the dome plate; see Paragraphs 0033 and 0042)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout to have the second combustion zone be smaller in an axial dimension than an axial dimension of the first combustion zone, and wherein the second combustion zone is located biased in an axially downstream direction of the first combustion zone, as taught by Venkatesan, in order to dampen one or more specific frequencies (Paragraphs 0040-0041 of Venkatesan) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 2, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the first fuel is a relatively longer residence time fuel and the second fuel is a relatively shorter residence time fuel.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031). Applicant’s specification in Paragraph 0031 recites “liquid fuels such as Jet-A require a longer residence time, while gaseous fuels such as hydrogen require a shorter residence time”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to utilize Jet-A fuel and hydrogen fuels as the first and second fuels, as taught by Dudebout, for the same reasons discussed in claim 1. It has also been held that "the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Regarding Claim 3, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the first fuel is Jet-A.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to utilize Jet-A fuel a first fuel, as taught by Dudebout, for the same reasons discussed in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the first fuel is sustainable aviation fuel.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels and liquidous fuels in a combustor (Paragraph 0031), wherein the liquidous fuel may include, for example, Jet-A fuel or Sustainable Aviation fuel (see Paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to utilize Sustainable Aviation fuel a first fuel, as taught by Dudebout, for the same reasons discussed in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the second fuel is hydrogen.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to utilize hydrogen fuel a second fuel, as taught by Dudebout, for the same reasons discussed in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the second combustion chamber (180, in one of 70 or 202) is a trapped vortex combustion zone (see Figures 2-4). Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan does not teach that the second combustion zone is at least partially disposed downstream of the first combustion zone.
Venkatesan teaches (Figures 1-7) a trapped vortex cavity combustion chamber (within 150) that may be located at different axial locations along an axial length of the outer liner and spaced apart axially from the dome plate (see Paragraphs 0033 and 0042).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to have the second combustion zone is at least partially disposed downstream of the first combustion zone, as taught by Venkatesan, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 8, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson further teaches (Figures 1-4) a third combustion zone (at 180, within 70) disposed upstream of (due to the angle of the dome shown in Figures 3-4) the second combustion zone (at 180, within 202) for combusting a third fuel and air mixture (Column 5, lines 37-46; see Figures 3-4), wherein the third combustion zone (at 180, within 70) is located radially outward of the first combustion zone (182), at least one third fuel inlet (at 140), connected directly to (see Figure 3) the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70), providing a third fuel (from 140) to the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70), that operates when the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70) is operating and does not operate when the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70) is not operating (see Figures 2-4); and at least one third air inlet (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 70; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67), providing third zone air (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 70; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67) directly to (see Figure 3) the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70), the third fuel (from 140) and the third zone air (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 70; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67) combing within the third combustion zone (at 180, within 70) to form the third fuel and air mixture in the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70). Although Johnson does not teach that the first fuel and third fuel have a similar residence time, Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031). Applicant’s specification in Paragraph 0031 recites “liquid fuels such as Jet-A require a longer residence time, while gaseous fuels such as hydrogen require a shorter residence time”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to have fuel nozzles capable of using both liquid and gaseous fuels such that one of the fuels exiting a first nozzle can have a similar residence time as one of the fuels exiting another fuel nozzle, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout).
It is additionally noted, regarding the axial locations of the trapped vortex combustion zones within the combustor liners, Venkatesan teaches (Figures 1-7) a trapped vortex cavity combustion chamber (150) that may be located at different axial locations along an axial length of the outer liner and spaced apart axially from the dome plate (see Paragraphs 0033 and 0042). It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Johnson teaches (Figures 1-4) a turbine engine (10) comprising:
a compressor section (14) that provides a compressed air flow (see Figures 1-2);
a fuel system that provides fuel (160; see Figure 2);
a combustor (30, 200, 300) located downstream of (see Figure 1) the compressor section (14), the combustor (30, 200, 300) receiving the compressed air flow (via 50) and the fuel (from 160) to form a fuel and air mixture (see Figures 2-4), and combusting the fuel and air mixture to generate combustion gases (see Figures 2-4 and Column 6, lines 56-67), the combustor (30, 200, 300) comprising:
a first combustion zone (182) operable to combust a first fuel and air mixture (fuel from 142 and air from 112; see Figures 2-4 and Column 6, lines 13-19);
an injector-mixer (96) connected to (see Figure 3) the first combustion zone (182);
at least one first fuel inlet (142) connected to the injector-mixer (96), providing a first fuel (from 142) to the first combustion zone (182) via the injector-mixer (96);
at least one first air inlet (air from 112; see Figures 2-4 and Column 6, lines 13-19) connected to the injector-mixer (96), providing first zone air (see Figures 2-4 and Column 5, lines 8-13 and Column 6, lines 49-55) to the first combustion zone (182) via the injector-mixer (96), the first fuel (from 142 or 230) and the first zone air (see Figures 2-4 and Column 5, lines 8-13 and Column 6, lines 49-55) combining in the injector-mixer (96) to form the first fuel and air mixture (see Column 6, lines 49-55 and Column 7, lines 12-19) for delivery to the first combustion zone (182);
a second combustion zone (180, within 202) combusting a second fuel and air mixture (fuel from 230 and air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 202; see Figures 2-4 and Column 3, lines 50-67), the second combustion zone (180) being at least partially radially in line with (see Figures 2-4) the first combustion zone (at 182), and wherein the second combustion zone (180, within 202) is located radially inward of (see Figure 3) the first combustion zone (at 182);
at least one second fuel inlet (152) directly connected to (see Figure 3) the second combustion zone (180), providing a second fuel (from 152) to the second combustion zone (180), that operates when the second combustion zone (180) is operating and does not operate when the second combustion zone is not operating (see Column 5, lines 5-13 and Figures 1-3); and
at least one second air inlet (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 202; see Figures 3-4 and Column 3, lines 50-67) connected directly to (see Figure 3) the second combustion zone (180), providing second zone air (see Column 3, lines 50-67) to the second combustion zone (180), the second fuel (from 152) and the second zone air (Column 3, lines 50-67) combining within the second combustion zone (at 180) to form the second fuel and air mixture (see Column 5, lines 9-24) in the second combustion zone (180); and
a turbine section (18, 20) that is caused to rotate by the combustion gases (Column 3, lines 23-27).
Johnson does not teach, as discussed, so far, wherein the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson to have the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout).
Regarding Claim 28, Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Johnson further teaches (Figures 1-4) a third combustion zone (at 180, within 70) disposed upstream of (due to the angle of the dome shown in Figures 3-4) the second combustion zone (at 180, within 202) for combusting a third fuel and air mixture (Column 5, lines 37-46; see Figures 3-4), wherein the third combustion zone (at 180, within 70) is located radially outward of the first combustion zone (182), at least one third fuel inlet (at 140), connected directly to (see Figure 3) the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70), providing a third fuel (from 140) to the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70), that operates when the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70) is operating and does not operate when the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70) is not operating (see Figures 2-4); and at least one third air inlet (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 70; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67), providing third zone air (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 70; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67) directly to (see Figure 3) the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70), the third fuel (from 140) and the third zone air (air from passages not shown through the walls of the cavity 70; see Figures 3-4, Column 3, lines 50-67) combing within the third combustion zone (at 180, within 70) to form the third fuel and air mixture in the third combustion zone (at 182, within 70). Although Johnson does not teach that the first fuel and third fuel have a similar residence time, Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031). Applicant’s specification in Paragraph 0031 recites “liquid fuels such as Jet-A require a longer residence time, while gaseous fuels such as hydrogen require a shorter residence time”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson in view of Dudebout and Venkatesan to have fuel nozzles capable of using both liquid and gaseous fuels such that one of the fuels exiting a first nozzle can have a similar residence time as one of the fuels exiting another fuel nozzle, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout).
It is additionally noted, regarding the axial locations of the trapped vortex combustion zones within the combustor liners, Venkatesan teaches (Figures 1-7) a trapped vortex cavity combustion chamber (150) that may be located at different axial locations along an axial length of the outer liner and spaced apart axially from the dome plate (see Paragraphs 0033 and 0042). It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 1, 8-9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman et al. (US 2019/0120493) in view of Boardman et al. (US 2019/0212009) and Dudebout (US 2024/0110520).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Boardman ‘493 teaches (Figures 1-6) a combustor (50) of a turbine engine (10), the combustor (50) comprising:
a first combustion zone (61) operable to combust a first fuel and air mixture (fuel from 210 and air from 102; see Figures 5-6);
at least one first fuel inlet (103, for fuel injector 210) connected to the first combustion zone (61), providing a first fuel (from 210) to the first combustion zone (61);
at least one first air inlet (104) connected to the first combustion zone (61), providing first zone air (see Figures 5-6) to the first combustion zone (61), the first fuel (from 210) and the first zone air (from 102) combining to form the first fuel and air mixture (from 210 and 102) in the first combustion zone (61);
a second combustion zone (67) combusting a second fuel and air mixture (fuel from 230 and air through 123; see Paragraph 0042), the second combustion zone (67) being at least partially radially in line with (see Figures 5-6) the first combustion zone (61), wherein the second combustion zone (67) has an axial dimension that is smaller than (see Figures 5-6) an axial dimension of the first combustion zone (61), and wherein the second combustion zone (67) is located biased in an axially downstream direction (see Figures 5-6) of the first combustion zone (61), and wherein the second combustion zone (67) is located radially inward of (see Figures 5-6) the first combustion zone (61);
at least one second fuel inlet (at 123, for fuel injector 230) connected directly to (see Figure 5) the second combustion zone (67), providing a second fuel (from 230) to the second combustion zone (67), that operates when the second combustion zone (67) is operating and does not operate when the second combustion zone is not operating (see Figures 5-6); and
at least one second air inlet (through 123; see Paragraphs 0042 and 0054) connected directly to (see Figures 5-6) the second combustion zone (67), providing second zone air (see Paragraphs 0042 and 0054) to the second combustion zone (67), the second fuel (from 230) and the second zone air (from 123) combining within the second combustion zone (67) to form the second fuel and air mixture (fuel from 230 and air from 123; see Paragraphs 0042, 0054, and Figures 5-6) in the second combustion zone (67).
Boardman ‘493 does not teach, as discussed so far, that his first fuel inlet and first air inlet are connected to an injector-mixer that is connected to the first combustion zone, or wherein the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels.
Boardman ‘009 teaches (Figures 1-11) a first fuel inlet (329) and a first air inlet (313) that are connected to (see Figures 2, 6, and 9-10) an injector-mixer (300) that is connected to a first combustion zone (61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boardman ‘493 to have the first fuel inlet and first air inlet are connected to an injector-mixer that is connected to the first combustion zone, as taught by Boardman ‘009, in order to allow the flows of oxidizer and fuel to be mixed in a region within the fuel injector to yield a relatively low swirl, high momentum flow into the combustion chamber (Paragraphs 0085-0086 of Boardman ‘009). Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 to have the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout).
Regarding Claim 8, Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 and Dudebout teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Boardman ‘493 further teaches (Figures 1-4) a third combustion zone (at 66) disposed upstream of (see Figures 5-6) the second combustion zone (67) for combusting a third fuel and air mixture (fuel from 220 and air from 102; see Figures 5-6), wherein the third combustion zone (at 66) is located radially outward of (with respect to a center of reference line 95) the first combustion zone (at 61), at least one third fuel inlet (at 107), connected to the third combustion zone (at 66), providing a third fuel (from 220) to the third combustion zone (at 66), that operates when the third combustion zone (at 66) is operating and does not operate when the third combustion zone (at 66) is not operating (see Figures 5-6); and at least one third air inlet (at 102; see Figures 5-6), providing third zone air (from 102) to the third combustion zone (at 66), the third fuel (from 220) and the third zone air (from 102) combing to form the third fuel and air mixture in the third combustion zone (at 66). Although Boardman ‘493 does not teach that the first fuel and third fuel have a similar residence time, Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031). Applicant’s specification in Paragraph 0031 recites “liquid fuels such as Jet-A require a longer residence time, while gaseous fuels such as hydrogen require a shorter residence time”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 and Dudebout to have fuel nozzles capable of using both liquid and gaseous fuels such that one of the fuels exiting a first nozzle can have a similar residence time as one of the fuels exiting another fuel nozzle, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout).
Regarding Claim 9, Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 and Dudebout teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Boardman ‘493 further teaches (Figures 1-6) a second combustion zone (67) that is smaller than a third combustion zone (66).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Boardman ‘493 teaches (Figures 1-6) a turbine engine (10) comprising:
a compressor section (22, 24) that provides a compressed air flow (82);
a fuel system that provides fuel (210, 220, 230);
a combustor (50) located downstream of the compressor section (22, 24), the combustor receiving the compressed air flow (82) and the fuel (from 210, 220, 230) to form a fuel and air mixture (see Figures 5-6), and combusting the fuel and air (from 102, 107 and 210, 220, 230; see Figures 5-6) to generate combustion gases (86), the combustor (50) comprising:
a first combustion zone (61) operable to combust a first fuel and air mixture (fuel from 210 and air from 102; see Figures 5-6);
at least one first fuel inlet (103, for fuel injector 210) connected to the first combustion zone (61), providing a first fuel (from 210) to the first combustion zone (61);
at least one first air inlet (104) connected to the first combustion zone (61), providing first zone air (see Figures 5-6) to the first combustion zone (61), the first fuel (from 210) and the first zone air (from 102) combining to form the first fuel and air mixture (from 210 and 102) in the first combustion zone (61);
a second combustion zone (67) combusting a second fuel and air mixture (fuel from 230 and air through 123; see Paragraph 0042), the second combustion zone (67) being at least partially radially in line with (see Figures 5-6) the first combustion zone (61), wherein the second combustion zone (67) has an axial dimension that is smaller than (see Figures 5-6) an axial dimension of the first combustion zone (61), and wherein the second combustion zone (67) is located biased in an axially downstream direction (see Figures 5-6) of the first combustion zone (61), and wherein the second combustion zone (67) is located radially inward of (see Figures 5-6) the first combustion zone (61);
at least one second fuel inlet (at 123, for fuel injector 230) connected directly to (see Figures 5-6) the second combustion zone (67), providing a second fuel (from 230) to the second combustion zone (67), that operates when the second combustion zone (67) is operating and does not operate when the second combustion zone is not operating (see Figures 5-6); and
at least one second air inlet (through 123; see Paragraphs 0042 and 0054) connected directly to (see Figures 5-6) the second combustion zone (67), providing second zone air (see Paragraphs 0042 and 0054) to the second combustion zone (67), the second fuel (from 230) and the second zone air (from 123) combining within the second combustion zone (at 67) to form the second fuel and air mixture (fuel from 230 and air from 123; see Paragraphs 0042, 0054, and Figures 5-6) in the second combustion zone (67).
Boardman ‘493 does not teach, as discussed so far, that his first fuel inlet and first air inlet are connected to an injector-mixer that is connected to the first combustion zone, or wherein the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels.
Boardman ‘009 teaches (Figures 1-11) a first fuel inlet (329) and a first air inlet (313) that are connected to (see Figures 2, 6, and 9-10) an injector-mixer (300) that is connected to a first combustion zone (61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boardman ‘493 to have the first fuel inlet and first air inlet are connected to an injector-mixer that is connected to the first combustion zone, as taught by Boardman ‘009, in order to allow the flows of oxidizer and fuel to be mixed in a region within the fuel injector to yield a relatively low swirl, high momentum flow into the combustion chamber (Paragraphs 0085-0086 of Boardman ‘009). Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels.
Dudebout teaches the capability of fuel nozzles to use both gaseous fuels (e.g., hydrogen) and liquidous fuels (e.g., Jet-A) in a combustor (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boardman ‘493 in view of Boardman ‘009 to have the first fuel and the second fuel are disparate fuels, as taught by Dudebout, in order to accommodate a potential inadequate supply of gaseous fuel or to run a mission using gaseous fuel for a short-range mission and switching to liquidous fuel for long-range mission (Paragraph 0031 of Dudebout).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-27 and 29-31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does not teach, in combination with the other limitations of the independent claims: “a first fuel inlet entering the second combustion zone through a forward wall defining the second combustion zone; a second fuel inlet entering the second combustion zone through an aft wall defining the second combustion zone; and a third fuel inlet entering the second combustion zone through a radially inner wall defining the second combustion zone” (Claims 21, lines 8; Claim 23; lines 3-8; and Claim 29, lines 3-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a first air inlet connected to an injector-mixer, a first fuel inlet connected to the injector-mixer, and the injector-mixer connected to the first combustion zone, wherein the second combustion zone is located radially inward of the first combustion zone, the second fuel and second zone air combining within the second combustion zone. In response and as discussed in the body of the rejection above, it is noted that Ogata teaches (Figures 1-7) an injector-mixer (14) connected to (see Figure 2) the first combustion zone (S1); at least one first fuel inlet (17) connected to injector-mixer (14), at least one first air inlet (14a) connected to the injector-mixer (14), wherein the second combustion zone (the area surrounding S2 and 21) is located radially inward of (see Figures 1-2) the first combustion zone (S1). It is also noted that Johnson teaches (Figures 1-4) an injector-mixer (96) connected to (see Figure 3) the first combustion zone (182), at least one first fuel inlet (142) connected to the injector-mixer (96), at least one first air inlet (air from 112; see Figures 2-4 and Column 6, lines 13-19) connected to the injector-mixer (96), wherein the second combustion zone (180, within 202) is located radially inward of (see Figure 3) the first combustion zone (182).
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claims 1, 8-9, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action, necessitated by amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741