DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on August 04, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 7-8 are amended. Claim 6 is cancelled. Claims 17 and 18 are new, no new matter is present. Claims 1-5 and 7-18 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed August 14, 2026, with respect to the title objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The title objection of May 19, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed August 14, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kanetake (JP 2009021333 A).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner suggests the Applicant more clearly define the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element with respect to the one or more openings of the first sheet and the uneven portion (e.g. wherein the one or more openings of the first sheet are overlapping with the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element in a vertical direction and surrounded by the uneven portion). The Examiner is available at the number below for an interview to discuss ideas at the Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (US 2014/0159062 A1) in view of Kanetake (JP 2009021333 A).
Claim 1, Nomura discloses a semiconductor device (optical coupling device is a semiconductor device, hereinafter, semiconductor device, Annotated Fig. 13) comprising:
a first die pad (electrically conductive paste 3 is a first die pad within the region of the second lead frame 4-2, hereinafter, first die pad 3-2, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13) including a first obverse surface (top surface of the first die pad 3-2 is a first obverse surface, hereinafter, first obverse surface 3-2a, [0106], Fig. 13) facing a first side in a thickness direction (first obverse surface 3-2a is facing a first side of the first die pad 3-2 in a vertical direction, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13);
a light-receiving element (light receiving device 2 is a light-receiving element, hereinafter, light-receiving element 2, [0106], Fig. 13) mounted on the first obverse surface (light-receiving element 2 is mounted on the first obverse surface 3-2a, [0106], Fig. 13);
a light-emitting element (light emitting element 1 is a light-emitting element, hereinafter, light-emitting element 1, [0106], Fig. 13) disposed on the first side in the thickness direction with respect to the light-receiving element 2 (light-emitting element 1 is disposed on the first side in the vertical direction with respect to the light-receiving element 2, [0106], Fig. 13);
a first sheet (translucent insulating film 17 is a first sheet, hereinafter, first sheet 17, [0106], Fig. 13) with light-passing and insulating properties (first sheet 17 with light-passing and insulating properties, [0106], Fig. 13) interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 in the thickness direction (i.e. vertical direction) (first sheet 17 is interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 in the vertical direction, [0106], Fig. 13); and
a resin part (silicon-based resin layer 6 and disturbance light-blocking resin layer 13 form a resin part, hereinafter, resin part 6/13, [0109], Fig. 13) covering the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17 (resin part 6/13 covers the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13), wherein
the first sheet 17 includes a first surface facing the first side in the thickness direction (i.e. facing a first side 3-2a) and a second surface facing away from the first surface (i.e. facing a second side 3-1a) (first sheet 17 includes a first surface facing the first side in the thickness direction and a second surface facing away from the first surface, [0109], Fig. 13).
Nomura does not explicitly disclose at least a portion of the first surface and the second surface includes an uneven portion with irregularities.
However, Nomura discloses wherein at least a portion of the first surface (i.e. interface between first die pad 3-2 and light-receiving element 2) and the second surface (i.e. interface between second die pad 3-1 and light-emitting element 1) includes an uneven portion with irregularities (Nomura, first die pad 3-2 and second die pad 3-1 are formed of a conductive paste and includes an uneven portion with irregularities, [0091], Fig. 13). The combination to utilize a first and second surface within the semiconductor device further including an uneven portion with irregularities can improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a first and second surface within the semiconductor device to further include an uneven portion with irregularities to improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011]).
Nomura does not explicitly disclose the first sheet is formed with one or more openings each penetrating from the first surface to the second surface, and each of the openings is filled with the resin part.
However, Kanetake discloses a first sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element in the thickness direction (Kanetake, first sheet 120 with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element 115 and the light-emitting element 105 in the thickness direction, [0031], Fig. 8; Nomura, first sheet 17 is interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 in the vertical direction, [0106], Fig. 13); and a resin part covering the light-receiving element, the light-emitting element and the first sheet (Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8; Nomura, resin part 6/13 covers the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13), the first sheet is formed with one or more openings each penetrating from the first surface to the second surface, and each of the openings is filled with the resin part (Kanetake, first sheet 120 is formed with one or more openings 124 each penetrating from the first surface to the second surface, and each of the openings 124 is filled with the resin part 123, [0031], Figs. 5, 6, and 8; Nomura, resin part 6/13 covers the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13). The combination to utilize a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element ensures that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element to ensure that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Annotated Fig. 13 (Nomura) – Illustrates a first die pad 3-2 including a first obverse surface 3-2a facing a first side in a vertical direction and a second die pad 3-1 disposed on the first side in the thickness direction with respect to the first die pad 3-2 while being spaced apart from the first die pad 3-2 and including a second obverse surface facing the second side 3-1a in the thickness direction and facing the first obverse surface 3-1a.
Claim 2, Nomura discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 1.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein the light-emitting element overlaps with the light-receiving element as viewed in the thickness direction (Nomura, light-emitting element 1 overlaps with the light-receiving element 2 as viewed in the vertical direction, [0108], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 3, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 1.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses further comprising a second die pad (Nomura, electrically conductive paste 3 is a second die pad within the region of the first lead frame 4-1, hereinafter, second die pad 3-1, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) disposed on the first side in the thickness direction with respect to the first die pad while being spaced apart from the first die pad (Nomura, second die pad 3-1 is disposed on the first side in the vertical direction with respect to the first die pad 3-2 while being spaced apart from the first die pad 3-2, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), wherein
the second die pad includes a second obverse surface (Nomura, top surface of the second die pad 3-1 is a second obverse surface, hereinafter, second obverse surface 3-1a, [0106], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) facing the second side in the thickness direction and facing the first obverse surface (Nomura, second obverse surface 3-1a, [0106], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8),
the light-emitting element (Nomura, light emitting element 1 is a light-emitting element, hereinafter, light-emitting element 1, [0106], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) is mounted on the second obverse surface (Nomura, light-emitting element 1 is mounted on the second obverse surface 3-1a, [0106], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), and
the resin part includes a transparent resin (Nomura, silicon-based resin layer 6 is a transparent resin, hereinafter, transparent resin 6, claim 1, [0108], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) and a sealing resin (Nomura, disturbance light-blocking resin layer 13 is a sealing resin, hereinafter, sealing resin 13, [0111], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), the transparent resin covering at least a portion of each of the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element and a portion of the first sheet (Nomura, transparent resin 6 covering at least a portion of each of the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 and a portion of the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), the sealing resin covering the transparent resin and a portion of the first sheet (Nomura, sealing resin 13 covering the transparent resin 6 and a portion of the first sheet 17, [0111], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 7, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 3.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein each of the openings is filled with the transparent resin (Nomura, each of the openings is filled with the transparent resin 6, [0108], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 8, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 1.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses further comprising a wire (Nomura, Ag wire 12-1 and Ag wire 12-2 are a wire, hereinafter, wire 12-1/12-2, [0109]; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) bonded to the light-receiving element (Nomura, wire 12-2 is bonded to the light-receiving element 2, [0113], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) or the light-emitting element (Nomura, wire 12-1 is bonded to the light-emitting element 1, [0107], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 9, Nomura discloses the semiconductor device (semiconductor device, Fig. 13) according to claim 8.
Nomura does not explicitly disclose wherein as viewed in the thickness direction, a dimension of each of the openings in a direction in which the wire extends is in a range of 0.5 to 2 times a diameter of the wire.
However, Kanetake (JP 2009021333 A) discloses in Fig. 8 wherein as viewed in the thickness direction, a dimension of each of the openings 124 in a direction in which the wire extends is in a range of 0.5 to 2 times a diameter of the wire.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary, through routine experimentation, “the result effective variable of opening dimension to wire diameter ratio (result effective at least insofar as opening dimension to wire diameter ratio to improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011])) in order to optimize the functionality of the device (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.05).
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed opening dimension to wire diameter ratio or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 10, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 2.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein the first sheet and the light-emitting element are stacked on the first side in the thickness direction with respect to the light-receiving element (Nomura, first sheet 17 and the light-emitting element 1 are stacked on the first side in the thickness direction with respect to the light-receiving element 2, [0108], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 11, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 2.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein the first sheet includes a first region, a second region and a third region, the first region overlapping with both the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element as viewed in the thickness direction, the second region overlapping with the light-receiving element and not overlapping with the light-emitting element as viewed in the thickness direction, the third region not overlapping with either the light-receiving element or the light-emitting element as viewed in the thickness direction (Nomura, first sheet 17 includes a first region, a second region and a third region, the first region overlapping with both the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 as viewed in the thickness direction, the second region overlapping with the light-receiving element 2 and not overlapping with the light-emitting element 1 as viewed in the thickness direction, the third region not overlapping with either the light-receiving element 2 or the light-emitting element 1 as viewed in the thickness direction, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), and
the uneven portion is provided at least in the second region (Nomura, uneven portion is provided at least in the second region, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 12, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 10.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein the resin part includes a transparent resin (Nomura, silicon-based resin layer 6 is a transparent resin, hereinafter, transparent resin 6, claim 1, [0108], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) and a sealing resin (Nomura, disturbance light-blocking resin layer 13 is a sealing resin, hereinafter, sealing resin 13, [0111], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), the transparent resin being interposed between the light-receiving element and the first sheet in the thickness direction (Nomura. transparent resin 6 being interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the first sheet 17 in the thickness direction, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), the sealing resin covering the light-receiving element, the light-emitting element, the first sheet and the transparent resin (Nomura, sealing resin 13 covering the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element, the first sheet 17 and the transparent resin 6, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 14, Nomura discloses a semiconductor device (optical coupling device is a semiconductor device, hereinafter, semiconductor device, Annotated Fig. 13) comprising:
a first die pad (electrically conductive paste 3 is a first die pad within the region of the second lead frame 4-2, hereinafter, first die pad 3-2, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13) including a first obverse surface (top surface of the first die pad 3-2 is a first obverse surface, hereinafter, first obverse surface 3-2a, [0106], Fig. 13) facing a first side in a thickness direction (first obverse surface 3-2a is facing a first side of the first die pad 3-2 in a vertical direction, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13);
a light-receiving element (light receiving device 2 is a light-receiving element, hereinafter, light-receiving element 2, [0106], Fig. 13) mounted on the first obverse surface (light-receiving element 2 is mounted on the first obverse surface 3-2a, [0106], Fig. 13);
a second die pad (electrically conductive paste 3 is a second die pad within the region of the first lead frame 4-1, hereinafter, second die pad 3-1, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13) disposed on the first side in the thickness direction with respect to the first die pad 3-2 while being spaced apart from the first die pad 3-2 (second die pad 3-1 is disposed on the first side in the vertical direction with respect to the first die pad 3-2 while being spaced apart from the first die pad 3-2, [0091] and [0106], Fig. 13) and including a second obverse surface (top surface of the second die pad 3-1 is a second obverse surface, hereinafter, second obverse surface 3-1a, [0106], Fig. 13) facing the second side 3-1a in the thickness direction and facing the first obverse surface 3-1a (second obverse surface 3-1a, [0106], Fig. 13);
a light-emitting element (light emitting element 1 is a light-emitting element, hereinafter, light-emitting element 1, [0106], Fig. 13) mounted on the second obverse surface 3-1a (light-emitting element 1 is mounted on the second obverse surface 3-1a, [0106], Fig. 13);
a first sheet (translucent insulating film 17 is a first sheet, hereinafter, first sheet 17, [0106], Fig. 13) with light-passing and insulating properties (first sheet 17 with light-passing and insulating properties, [0106], Fig. 13) interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 in the thickness direction (i.e. vertical direction) (first sheet 17 is interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 in the vertical direction, [0106], Fig. 13); and
a resin part (silicon-based resin layer 6 and disturbance light-blocking resin layer 13 form a resin part, hereinafter, resin part 6/13, [0109], Fig. 13) covering the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17 (resin part 6/13 covers the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13), wherein
the first sheet 17 includes a first surface facing the first side in the thickness direction (i.e. facing a first side 3-2a) and a second surface facing away from the first surface (i.e. facing a second side 3-1a) (first sheet 17 includes a first surface facing the first side in the thickness direction and a second surface facing away from the first surface, [0109], Fig. 13),
the resin part 6/13 includes a transparent resin (silicon-based resin layer 6 is a transparent resin, hereinafter, transparent resin 6, claim 1, [0108], Fig. 13) and a sealing resin (disturbance light-blocking resin layer 13 is a sealing resin, hereinafter, sealing resin 13, [0111], Fig. 13), the transparent resin 6 covering at least a portion of each of the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 and a portion of the first sheet 17 (transparent resin 6 covering at least a portion of each of the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 and a portion of the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13), the sealing resin 13 covering the transparent resin 6 and a portion of the first sheet 17 (sealing resin 13 covering the transparent resin 6 and a portion of the first sheet 17, [0111], Fig. 13).
Nomura does not explicitly disclose the first sheet is formed with one or more openings each penetrating from the first surface to the second surface, and each of the openings is filled with the resin part.
However, Kanetake discloses a first sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element in the thickness direction (Kanetake, first sheet 120 with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element 115 and the light-emitting element 105 in the thickness direction, [0031], Fig. 8; Nomura, first sheet 17 is interposed between the light-receiving element 2 and the light-emitting element 1 in the vertical direction, [0106], Fig. 13); and a resin part covering the light-receiving element, the light-emitting element and the first sheet (Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8; Nomura, resin part 6/13 covers the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13), the first sheet is formed with one or more openings each penetrating from the first surface to the second surface, and each of the openings is filled with the resin part (Kanetake, first sheet 120 is formed with one or more openings 124 each penetrating from the first surface to the second surface, and each of the openings 124 is filled with the resin part 123, [0031], Figs. 5, 6, and 8; Nomura, resin part 6/13 covers the light-receiving element 2, the light-emitting element 1, and the first sheet 17, [0109], Fig. 13). The combination to utilize a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element ensures that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element to ensure that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Claim 15, Nomura discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 14.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein each of the openings is filled with the transparent resin (Nomura, each of the openings is filled with the transparent resin 6, [0108], Fig. 13; Kanetake, each opening 124 is filled with resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 16, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 15.
Nomura/Kanetake discloses further comprising a wire (Nomura, Ag wire 12-1 and Ag wire 12-2 are a wire, hereinafter, wire 12-1/12-2, [0109]; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) bonded to the light-receiving element (Nomura, wire 12-2 is bonded to the light-receiving element 2, [0113], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) or the light-emitting element (Nomura, wire 12-1 is bonded to the light-emitting element 1, [0107], Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Nomura does not explicitly disclose wherein as viewed in the thickness direction, a dimension of each of the openings in a direction in which the wire extends is in a range of 0.5 to 2 times a diameter of the wire.
However, Kanetake (JP 2009021333 A) discloses in Fig. 8 wherein as viewed in the thickness direction, a dimension of each of the openings 124 in a direction in which the wire extends is in a range of 0.5 to 2 times a diameter of the wire.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary, through routine experimentation, “the result effective variable of opening dimension to wire diameter ratio (result effective at least insofar as opening dimension to wire diameter ratio to improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011])) in order to optimize the functionality of the device (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.05).
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed opening dimension to wire diameter ratio or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 4-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura in view of Kanetake, and further in view of Ono (JP H01128478 A).
Claim 4, Nomura discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 3.
Nomura/Kanetake does not explicitly disclose wherein the uneven portion is held in contact with the sealing resin.
However, Ono discloses wherein the uneven portion (Ono, film 10 includes periphery 10b which is an uneven portion, hereinafter, uneven portion 10b, Fig. 1; Nomura, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) is held in contact with the sealing resin (Ono, uneven portion 10b is held in contact with the varnish 6 which is a sealing resin, Fig. 1; Nomura, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8). The combination to utilize an uneven portion with irregularities in contact with a sealing resin can improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an uneven portion with irregularities in contact with a sealing resin to improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011]).
Claim 5, Ono/Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Ono, Fig. 1; Nomura, Fig. 13; Kanetake, Fig. 8) according to claim 4.
Ono/Nomura/Kanetake discloses wherein the first surface and the second surface each include a flat portion that is flatter than the uneven portion (Ono, the first surface and the second surface each include a flat portion that is flatter than the uneven portion, Fig. 1; Nomura, the first surface and the second surface each include a flat portion that is flatter than the uneven portion, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8), and
the transparent resin is held in contact with only the flat portion of the first surface and the second surface (Ono, Fig. 1; Nomura, transparent resin 6 is held in contact with only the flat portion of the first surface and the second surface, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8).
Claim 13, Nomura discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 1.
Nomura/Kanetake does not explicitly disclose wherein the uneven portion has a surface area that is 1.5 times or greater than a surface area when no irregularities are formed.
However, Ono discloses wherein the uneven portion (Ono, film 10 includes periphery 10b which is an uneven portion, hereinafter, uneven portion 10b, Fig. 1; Nomura, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) has a surface area that is 1.5 times or greater than a surface area when no irregularities are formed (Ono, uneven portion 10b has a surface area that is 1.5 times or greater than a surface area when no irregularities are formed, Fig. 1; Nomura, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8). The combination to utilize an uneven portion with irregularities in contact with a sealing resin can improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an uneven portion with irregularities in contact with a sealing resin to improve a light transfer rate of the resultant device (Nomura, [0011]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura in view of Kanetake, and further in view of Tanuma (US 2020/0144784 A1).
Claim 17, Nomura/Kanetake discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 1.
Nomura/Kanetake does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more openings comprise at least two openings.
However, Tanuma discloses wherein the one or more openings comprise at least two openings (Tanuma, plurality of light emitting regions 460, [0051], Fig. 1; Nomura, one or more openings comprise at least two openings; Kanetake, opening 124, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8). The combination to utilize a plurality of openings in combination with a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element ensures that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a plurality of openings in combination with a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element to ensure that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Claim 18, Nomura discloses the semiconductor device (Nomura, semiconductor device, Fig. 13; Kanetake, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8) according to claim 14.
Nomura/Kanetake does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more openings comprise at least two openings.
However, Tanuma discloses wherein the one or more openings comprise at least two openings (Tanuma, plurality of light emitting regions 460, [0051], Fig. 1; Nomura, one or more openings comprise at least two openings; Kanetake, opening 124, resin part 123 covering the light-receiving element 115, the light-emitting element 105 and the first sheet 120, [0031], Fig. 8). The combination to utilize a plurality of openings in combination with a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element ensures that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a plurality of openings in combination with a sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element to ensure that light transmittance is improved, and the light transmission efficiency between the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element is improved (Kanetake, [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noguchi (US 2007/0102712 A1) discloses a photocoupler semiconductor device but does not explicitly disclose a first sheet with light-passing and insulating properties interposed between the light-receiving element and the light-emitting element in the thickness direction
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812