DETAILED ACTION
Election Acknowledged
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) and Species I-B (claims 1 and 4-6) in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the inventions are not independent or distinct, that the inventions and species do not induce a serious search and/or examination burden, and that the Examiner made merely conclusory statements with respect to search burden.
This is not found persuasive because the restriction provides multiple reasons explaining why products and methods are distinct. Products are not defined by their method of manufacture and are rendered distinct if the product can be produced by a method of manufacture different from the claimed method, as stated in the restriction.
With respect to search burden and invention groupings, searching a product does not require a search of how that product is made or deploying search terms specific to method of manufacture. Furthermore, methods and products are historically classified in different areas of the classification scheme. Additionally, non-prior art issues, such as those under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), for example, apply to methods but are inapplicable to product claims.
With respect to search burden and species groupings, the particular compositions diverge in makeup and proportion. The composition of claim 2, for instance, contains proportions and components that differ from the compositional makeup recited in claim 4. Claims are examined as a whole. A search for one species does not require a search for the other species due to their unique compositions. The fact that there are overlapping components in each species does not equate to lack of a search burden, as it assumes that a single search will cover all species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 1 and 4-6 are presented for examination on the merits. Claims 2, 3, and 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claims 1 and 6, the formulas for AgCu (Ag10Cu90, Ag95Cu5, and Ag23Cu77) are not properly formatted. The numbers should be in subscript form.
With respect to claim 5, there is a minor grammatical error in the clause “wherein the composition further comprised of” (line 2). It is believed that the intended phrase is either “wherein the composition further is comprised of” or “wherein the composition further comprises.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation directed to the “50% of a solution of 5% aqueous hydroxyethyl cellulose” is indefinite because the solution lacks a unit of measure. It is unclear whether the solution is percent by volume or weight/mass. Because the units for the proportions of AgCu nanoparticles and ethylene glycol are recited in weight percent, the solution will also be interpreted as being weight percent. However, appropriate correction is still required.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is likewise rejected, as it incorporates all limitations of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson et al., “Silver—Copper Alloy Nanoinks for Ambient Temperature Sintering,” Langmuir, 2022, 38, pp. 5633-5644 (“Robinson”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Robinson discloses bimetallic silver-copper alloy nanoinks with room temperature sintering properties (bimetallic sinterable AgCu alloy composition ink fomulation). Abstract.
The nanoink contains AgCu bimetallic nanoparticles that have compositions containing varied amounts of Ag and Cu. Page 5634 – Results and Discussion Section – Bimetallic Composition. Example AgCu compositions are Ag86Cu14, Ag55Cu45, and Ag23Cu77 (page 5635 – Figure 2), which fall within the claimed range.
The AgCu bimetallic nanoparticles have example sizes of 8.2 nm and 9.9 nm (pp. 5635-5636 – Size and Morphology – bridging paragraph), which fall within the claimed range.
The ink contains ethylene glycol and contains 30 wt.% nanoparticles (page 5634 – Ink/Paste Formulation section), which falls within the claimed range.
A specific example in the prior art that falls within claimed ranges anticipates a claimed range. MPEP § 2131.03(I). Since Robinson discloses specific numerical values that fall within the claimed ranges, Robinson anticipates the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Robinson discloses a nanopaste composition containing 30 wt.% AgCu nanoparticles, 50 wt.% of 5% hydroxyethyl cellulose (aqueous), and 20 wt.% ethylene glycol. Page 5634 – Ink/Paste Formulation section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0212413 (A1) (also WO 2022/071300 (A1)) to Maeda et al. (“Maeda”) in view of US 2014/0308158 (A1) to Maekawa et al. (“Maekawa”).
US 2023/0212413 (A1) is a pre-grant publication of U.S. appl. ser. no. 18/173,773, which is a continuation of PCT application PCT/JP2021/035589, published by WIPO as WO 2022/071300 (A1). The pre-grant publication will serve as an equivalent of and the translation for the WIPO publication.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Maeda is directed to a conductive laminate that includes a base material and a conductive ink provided on the base material. Abstract; para. [0002]. The conductive ink is a metal particle ink (ink formulation composition). Para. [0068]-[0070].
The metal particle ink contains metal particles containing a base metal, e.g., copper, and a noble metal, e.g., silver. Para. [0072]. The metal particles are present in an amount of 10% by mass to 90% by mass of the metal particle ink (para. [0076]), which overlaps the claimed range (at least 25% by weight).
The average particle diameter of the metal particles is 10-500 nm (para. [0073]), which overlaps the claimed range (2 nm to 15 nm).
The metal particle ink contains a dispersion medium that may include ethylene glycol. Para. [0091], [0092], [0100].
Maeda teaches that the metal particles may contain copper (Cu) and silver (Ag) (para. [0072]), but does not disclose a particular composition.
Maekawa is directed to a solid metal alloy. Para. [0001]. A particular alloy of interest is a silver and copper alloy particles for use in electrically conductive paste and ink. Para. [0003]. The AgCu alloy contains copper in the range of 0.1-99.94% by weight (bimetallic AgCu alloy) (para. [0193]), which encompasses the claimed range of Ag10Cu90 to Ag95Cu5.
The silver-copper alloy particle preferably has a particle diameter of 50 nm or less and more preferably 25 nm or less (para. [0210]), which overlaps the claimed range. This small size lowers the sintering temperature and is useful in electrically conductive pastes and the like (sinterable alloy). Para. [0210].
A particular advantage of silver-copper alloy is that oxidation susceptibility is lowered. Maekawa at para. [0062]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the silver-copper alloy particles of Maekawa in the metal particle ink of Maeda because of their ability to easily consolidate (melt and sinter) as well as resist oxidation.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
September 15, 2026