DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “displacement mechanism” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laycock et al. (“Bessel beams: their generation and application”, 1992) (hereinafter, “Laycock).
Regarding claim 1, Laycock teaches a standard-light generator for straightness measurement, comprising;
a light source (He/Ne laser with mirrors and expansion lens, figure 13), and
a light shielding plate disposed at a position irradiated with light from the light source (discloses annular mask, figure 4b, section 3. 1.2. The mask), wherein
the light shielding plate has a circular-ring-shaped light transparency slit (figure 13),
the light source is disposed on a slit axis through a center of a circumference of the light transparency slit and perpendicular to the light shielding plate, and directed to the light shielding plate (figure 13, section 3.1.3. Pre-mask optics), and
the light source has an emission characteristic where a light beam emitted from one point on the slit axis has a divergence angle so that a whole area of the light transparency slit is irradiated with the light beam (figure 13).
Regarding claim 2, Laycock teaches a method of providing a standard for straightness measurement, comprising;
a disposition step of disposing a light source, which has a beam emission divergence angle, to a circular ring-shaped light transparency slit provided in a light shielding plate at a position on a slit axis through a center of a circumference of the light transparency slit and perpendicular to the light shielding plate, so that a whole area of the light transparency slit is irradiated with a light beam emitted with the divergence angle from one point on the slit axis in the light source (section 1 Introduction),
a first observation step (figure 18a) of irradiating the whole area of the light transparency slit with light beam emitted from one point in the light source, observing irradiance by diffraction light waves from the light transparency slit on a first observation plane (z = 2m) in an emission side of the light shielding plate (section 3.3. Demonstrator evaluation), and specifying a position at which the irradiance has a peak due to interference of the diffraction light waves (figure 18a),
a second observation step (figure 18b) of irradiating the whole area of the light transparency slit with light beam emitted from one point in the light source, observing irradiance by diffraction light waves from the light transparency slit on a second observation plane (z=4m) in parallel with the first observation plane (discloses first observation z=2m and second observation plane z=4m) and different in distance to the light shielding plate from the first observation plane in the emission side of the light shielding plate, and specifying a position at which the irradiance has a peak due to interference of the diffraction light waves (figure 18b), and
a third observation step (figure 18c) of irradiating the whole area of the light transparency slit with light beam from one point in the light source, observing irradiance by diffraction light waves from the light transparency slit on a third observation plane (z=6m) in parallel to the first and second observation planes and different in distance to the light shielding plate from the first and second observation planes (discloses first observation z=2m, second observation plane z=4m, and third observation plane z=6m) in the emission side of the light shielding plate, and specifying a position at which the irradiance has a peak due to interference of the diffraction light waves (figure 18c).
Regarding claim 3, Laycock teaches wherein the light source is a single-wavelength light source excepting a He-Ne laser source(discloses He-Ne laser at 543 nm, figure 13).
Regarding claim 4, Laycock teaches wherein the light source is a coherent light source excepting a He-Ne laser source (discloses He-Ne laser at 543 nm, figure 13).
Regarding claim 5, Laycock teaches wherein the light source is a laser source excepting a He-Ne laser source(discloses He-Ne laser at 543 nm, figure 13).
Regarding claim 6, Laycock teaches wherein the light shielding plate (figure 13) has a structure where light is diffused for shielding at areas excepting the light transparent transparency slit (discloses flat glass plate, annular mask, figure 4b, section 3. 1.2. The mask).
Regarding claim 7, Laycock teaches wherein the light shielding plate has a substrate transparent to light from the light source and a shielding film formed on the substrate(discloses flat glass plate, annular mask, figure 4b, section 3. 1.2. The mask),
the shielding film has the circular-ring-shaped light transparency slit (figure 13), and
the shielding film is formed on an emission side surface of the substrate (section 3. 1.2. The mask).
Regarding claim 8, Laycock teaches wherein an interface between the shielding film and the substrate is a diffusing surface in the light shielding plate except for the circular-ring-shaped light transparency slit (figure 13, section 3. 1.2. The mask) .
Regarding claim 9, Laycock teaches wherein an optical element to reduce a divergence angle of the light beam emitted from the one point in the light source is disposed on an incident side of the light shielding plate (figure 13, section 3.1.3 Pre-mask optics ).
Regarding claim 12, Laycock teaches a displacement mechanism for displacing the photoreceiver in a length direction of a long object as the photoreceiver is in contact with a surface of the object while the standard-light generator is in a stationary state (figure 13).
Regarding claim 13, Laycock teaches wherein the light shielding plate has a substrate and a shielding film formed on the substrate(figure 13), the substrate is made of glass and transparent to light from the light source, and the shielding film has the circular-ring-shaped light transparency slit (discloses flat glass plate, annular mask, figure 4b, section 3. 1.2. The mask).
Regarding claim 14, Laycock teaches wherein the substrate is made of glass(discloses flat glass plate, section 3. 1.2. The mask).
Regarding claim 15, Laycock teaches wherein the substrate is made of glass(discloses flat glass plate, section 3. 1.2. The mask).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laycock et al. (“Bessel beams: their generation and application”, 1992) (hereinafter, “Laycock) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 1444013 A)(hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 10, Laycock fails to disclose wherein the optical element is a condenser lens ().
Zhang teaches wherein the optical element is a condenser lens (a convex lens, is used as part of a beam expander to control the shape and divergence of the laser beam, [0018] and [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a condenser lens of Zhang to Laycock to improve uniform illumination.
Regarding claim 11, Laycock fails to disclose a photoreceiver disposed on an emission side of to the standard-light generator, and
a process unit capable of executing data processing for straightness measurement, wherein,
the photoreceiver is capable of outputting an energy distribution of incident light in at least one dimension, and
the process unit is capable of executing data processing to measure straightness by specifying a position at which the incident light has an energy peak in the output energy distribution.
Zhang teaches a standard light generator as claimed in the claim 1 (“a device for generating a non-diffracting light spatial straightness datum, [0005]),
a photoreceiver (sensor, used to detect the center of the light ring, [0011]) disposed on an emission side of to the standard-light generator (discloses the sensor observes the beam after it has passed through the non-diffracting light generator and detects light as it arrives at various cross sections, “the center of the nondiffracting light ring of a certain cross section is located as a point on the axis. The collection of the centers of the light rings of all cross sections represents the axis of the non-diffracting light, which forms the benchmark for measuring the straightness error” [0020]), and
a process unit (discloses computing or determining a benchmark from multiple measured centers, inherently requires a process unit, [0020]) capable of executing data processing ( discloses computing a straightness axis by analyzing multiple ring centers, which requires data processing of sensor outputs, “collection of the centers of the light rings of all cross sections represents the axis”, [0020]) for straightness measurement (straightness error measurement, [0005]),
wherein,
the photoreceiver (sensor, used to detect the center of the light ring, [0011]) is capable of outputting an energy distribution (discloses the sensor detects light rings in cross sections of the beam, inherently requiring the detection of the spatial intensity pattern of the beam cross section, [0020]) of incident light (discloses the sensor observes the beam after it has passed through the non-diffracting light generator and detects light as it arrives at various cross sections, [0020]) in at least one dimension (discloses detection of ring centers inherently requires 1D or 2D spatial resolution, [0020]) and
the process unit (discloses computing or determining a benchmark from multiple measured centers, inherently requires a process unit, [0020]) is capable of executing data processing ( discloses computing a straightness axis by analyzing multiple ring centers, which requires data processing of sensor outputs, “collection of the centers of the light rings of all cross sections represents the axis”, [0020]) to measure straightness (straightness error measurement, [0005]) by specifying a position (“the center of the nondiffracting light ring of a certain cross section is located as a point on the axis”, [0020]) at which the incident light has an energy peak (the ring centers, detecting the ring centers inherent requires detecting spatial peaks in the intensity pattern of that cross section, [0020]) in the output energy distribution (inherently discloses a sensor that captures and outputs light intensity patterns and analyzes this output to identify ring centers, [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a photoreceiver with a processing unit of Zhang to Laycock to enable real time correction and calibration, thereby improving accuracy.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA I XING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877