DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on February 26, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as explained below.
Applicant respectfully asserts (regarding CARRETERO - US 2023/0022291 A1) that the prior art fails to meet the limitations “…the aircraft aerostructure including an aerostructure skin including an interior skin side and an exterior skin side, the interior skin side forming a bottom side of the fuel tank, the exterior skin side forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft …” because {the teaching of Carretero that a fuel tank is "housed in" a wing does not disclose that the wing skin includes "an interior skin side and an exterior skin side" and that "the interior skin side form[s] a bottom side of the fuel tank," as recited in claim 1. Carretero does not describe a wet-wing configuration or a structure in which the interior side of the wing skin forms the bottom wall or boundary of the fuel tank 178, and no such teaching can be derived from the figures of Carretero}.
The Examiner respectfully submits (regarding CARRETERO - US 2023/0022291 A1) that CARRETERO (Fig. 3) discloses an aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3) forming a fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”) for the engine (turboprop engine: Fig. 3), the aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3) including an aerostructure skin (wing 104 surface: Fig. 3) including an interior skin side (wing 104 interior surface: Fig. 3) and an exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3), the interior skin side (wing 104 interior surface: Fig. 3) forming a bottom side of the fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”), the exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3) forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3).
Further on, CARRETERO (Fig. 3) fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”) is housed in the wing 104 including an interior skin side (wing 104 interior surface: Fig. 3) and an exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3). The interior skin side is explicitly and inherently interpreted as the interior surface area of wing 104 while the exterior skin side is explicitly and inherently interpreted as the exterior surface area of wing 104.
Applicant respectfully asserts (regarding Minas - US 2024/0190580 A1) that the prior art fails to meet the limitations “…the aircraft aerostructure including an aerostructure skin including an interior skin side and an exterior skin side, the interior skin side forming a bottom side of the fuel tank, the exterior skin side forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft …” because {Minas does not disclose that an aerostructure skin of one of the wings 22a, 22b includes "an interior skin side and an exterior skin side" with "the interior skin side forming a bottom side of the fuel tank" and "the exterior skin side forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft aerostructure" as expressly required by claim 1. Minas merely teaches that a fuel tank may be located within a wing (see, e.g., Paras. [0034], [0058], [0064] of Minas). The fuel tank is described as a discrete structure within the wing. Minas does not describe a configuration in which an aerostructure skin of the wing 22a, 22b itself forms a wall or boundary of the fuel tank, nor that an interior side of the wing skin forms the bottom side of the fuel tank and the exterior side forms an aerodynamic surface of the wing}.
The Examiner respectfully submits (regarding Minas - US 2024/0190580 A1) that Minas discloses an aircraft aerostructure (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B) forming a fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8) for the engine (turbine engine 210: Fig. 2), the aircraft aerostructure (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B) including an aerostructure skin (Wing Surface) including an interior skin side (Wing Interior Surface) and an exterior skin side (Wing Exterior Surface), the interior skin side (Wing Interior Surface) forming a bottom side of the fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8), the exterior skin side (Wing Exterior Surface) forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft aerostructure (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B).
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 8-11 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-7 and 12-20 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (CARRETERO – US 2023/0022291 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CARRETERO (Fig. 3) discloses:
An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system (propulsion system 150: Fig. 3), the assembly comprising:
an engine (turboprop engine: Fig. 3) including a coolant system (heat exchanger system 300: Fig. 3);
an aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3) forming a fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”) for the engine (turboprop engine: Fig. 3), the aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3) including an aerostructure skin (wing 104 surface: Fig. 3) including an interior skin side (wing 104 interior surface: Fig. 3) and an exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3), the interior skin side (wing 104 interior surface: Fig. 3) forming a bottom side of the fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”), the exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3) forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3); and
a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 302: Fig. 3) disposed at the aerostructure skin (wing 104 surface: Fig. 3), the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 302: Fig. 3) including a heat exchanger body forming a coolant passage ([0048, 0050]: “The heat exchanger system 300 also has a heat exchanger 302 arranged between the supply duct 176 and the circulation duct 304 so as to ensure a transfer of heat energy from the heat transfer fluid to the fuel. In this way, the fuel is heated indirectly via a heat transfer fluid” and “The supply duct 304 is thus divided into a first part which is fluidically connected between the heat exchanger 302 and the inlet connection 202a, a second part which is fluidically connected between the outlet connection 202b and the heat exchanger 302, and, between the first part 308a and the second part 308b, an intermediate part which is constituted by the cowling 202 and the heating chamber 303”), the coolant passage extending through the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 302: Fig. 3) body between and to an inlet and an outlet, and the inlet and the outlet are connected in fluid communication with the coolant system (heat exchanger system 300: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, CARRETERO disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on CARRETERO also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 302: Fig. 3) body is disposed within the fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”).
Regarding claim 3, CARRETERO disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on CARRETERO also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 302: Fig. 3) is disposed outside the fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”) at the exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, CARRETERO disclose the assembly according to claim 3, and further on CARRETERO also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 302: Fig. 3) is disposed at the exterior skin side (wing 104 exterior surface: Fig. 3) on a portion of the aerostructure skin (wing 104 surface: Fig. 3) forming the fuel tank (fuel tank 178: Fig. 3 and [0039]: “fuel tank 178 in this instance is housed in the wing 104”).
Regarding claim 7, CARRETERO disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on CARRETERO also discloses:
wherein the engine (turboprop engine: Fig. 3) includes a rotational assembly ([0035]: “In the embodiment of the invention presented here, each propulsion system 150 takes the form of a turboprop engine with a propeller 152 driven in rotation by a rotary assembly mounted inside a fairing 172 of the propulsion system 150”) and at least one bearing assembly rotationally supporting the rotational assembly, and the coolant system is an engine oil system connected in fluid communication with the at least one bearing assembly ([0035, 0037]).
Regarding claim 12, CARRETERO disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on CARRETERO also discloses:
wherein the aircraft aerostructure (wing 104: Fig. 3) is an aircraft wing (wing 104).
Claims 1-7 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (Minas – US 2024/0190580 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Minas discloses:
An assembly for an aircraft (aircraft 10: Figs. 1A-1B) propulsion system (The exemplary propulsion system depicted includes a plurality of engines 42, at least one of which is mounted to each of the plurality of wings 22: Figs. 1A-1B), the assembly comprising:
an engine (turbine engine 210: Fig. 2) including a coolant system (thermal management system 320: Fig. 3);
an aircraft aerostructure (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B) forming a fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8) for the engine (turbine engine 210: Fig. 2), the aircraft aerostructure (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B) including an aerostructure skin (Wing Surface) including an interior skin side (Wing Interior Surface) and an exterior skin side (Wing Exterior Surface), the interior skin side (Wing Interior Surface) forming a bottom side of the fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8), the exterior skin side (Wing Exterior Surface) forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft aerostructure (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B); and
Minas discloses that any of the fuel tanks in Figures 3-8 can be located/disposed in any of the wings 22a and 22b. Also discloses that any of the heat exchangers can includes one or more fuel-cooled oil coolers.
a heat exchanger (Heat Exchanger Core Body 5001: Please see below Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7) disposed at the aerostructure skin, the heat exchanger (Heat Exchanger Core Body 5001: Please see below Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7) including a heat exchanger body forming a coolant passage, the coolant passage extending through the heat exchanger body between and to an inlet and an outlet, and the inlet and the outlet are connected in fluid communication with the coolant system (thermal management system 320: Fig. 3).
Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7
Regarding claim 13, Minas discloses:
An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system (The exemplary propulsion system depicted includes a plurality of engines 42, at least one of which is mounted to each of the plurality of wings 22: Figs. 1A-1B), the assembly comprising:
an engine (turbine engine 210: Fig. 2) including a rotational assembly, at least one bearing assembly, and an engine oil system, the at least one bearing assembly rotatably supporting the rotational assembly, and the engine oil system is connected in fluid communication with the at least one bearing assembly;
an aircraft wing (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B) forming a fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8) for the engine (turbine engine 210: Fig. 2); and
Minas discloses that any of the fuel tanks in Figures 3-8 can be located/disposed in any of the wings 22a and 22b. Also discloses that any of the heat exchangers can includes one or more fuel-cooled oil coolers.
a heat exchanger (Heat Exchanger Core Body 5001: Please see above Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7) mounted to the aircraft wing at the fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8), the heat exchanger (Heat Exchanger Core Body 5001: Please see above Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7) including a heat exchanger body forming a coolant passage, the coolant passage extending through the heat exchanger body between and to an inlet and an outlet, and the inlet and the outlet are connected in fluid communication with the engine oil system ([0049-0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Minas discloses:
An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system (The exemplary propulsion system depicted includes a plurality of engines 42, at least one of which is mounted to each of the plurality of wings 22: Figs. 1A-1B), the assembly comprising:
an engine (turbine engine 210: Fig. 2) including a rotational assembly, at least one bearing assembly, and an engine oil system, the at least one bearing assembly rotatably supporting the rotational assembly, and the engine oil system is connected in fluid communication with the at least one bearing assembly;
an aircraft wing (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B) forming a fuel tank (At least one of fuel tank 304, fuel tank 404, fuel tank 504a and fuel tank 604, 704, 804: Figs. 3-8) for the engine, the aircraft wing including a lower skin, the lower skin extending between and to an interior skin surface and an exterior skin surface, the interior skin surface forming a bottom side of the fuel tank, the exterior skin surface forming an aerodynamic surface of the aircraft wing (At least one of first wing 22a and second wing 22b: Figs. 1A-1B); and
Minas discloses that any of the fuel tanks in Figures 3-8 can be located/disposed in any of the wings 22a and 22b. Also discloses that any of the heat exchangers can includes one or more fuel-cooled oil coolers.
a heat exchanger (Heat Exchanger Core Body 5001: Please see above Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7) disposed at the lower skin, the heat exchanger (Heat Exchanger Core Body 5001: Please see above Examiner Annotated Minas Fig. 7) including a heat exchanger body forming a coolant passage, the coolant passage extending through the heat exchanger body between and to an inlet and an outlet, and the inlet and the outlet are connected in fluid communication with the engine oil system ([0049-0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body is disposed within the fuel tank (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 3, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger is disposed outside the fuel tank at the exterior skin side (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 4, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 3, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger is disposed at the exterior skin side on a portion of the aerostructure skin forming the fuel tank (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 5, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body includes a first plurality of heat transfer fins disposed within the fuel tank (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 6, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 5, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body includes a second plurality of heat transfer fins disposed outside of the fuel tank at the exterior skin side (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 7, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the engine includes a rotational assembly and at least one bearing assembly rotationally supporting the rotational assembly, and the coolant system is an engine oil system connected in fluid communication with the at least one bearing assembly (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 12, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 1, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the aircraft aerostructure is an aircraft wing (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 14, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 13, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body is disposed within the fuel tank (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 15, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 13, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger is disposed outside the fuel tank at an exterior skin side of the aircraft wing (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 16, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 15, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger is disposed at the exterior skin side on a portion of the aircraft wing forming the fuel tank (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 17, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 13, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body includes a first plurality of heat transfer fins disposed within the fuel tank (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 18, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 17, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body includes a second plurality of heat transfer fins disposed outside of the fuel tank at the exterior skin side (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Regarding claim 20, Minas disclose the assembly according to claim 19, and further on Minas also discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger body is disposed within the fuel tank at the bottom side (Please see explanations and annotations above regarding these same limitations).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747