Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the specification has overcome each and every specification and drawing objection previously set forth in non-final office action dated 02/06/2026, therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to Claim 10 has overcome claim objection previously set forth in non-final office action dated 02/06/2026, therefore the objection has been withdrawn.
The Applicant originally submitted Claims 1-13 in the application. In the present response, the Applicant amended Claims 1, 10 and 12, and cancelled Claims 5-6. Accordingly, Claims 1-4 and 7-13 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filled 05/21/2026, with respect to rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered, however not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cited US 7,092,254 to Monsef et al does not teach or suggest newly added limitations to Claim 1 drawn to “the fluid enters the housing via the inlet vent to cool the at least one heat-generating structure and exits the housing via the exit vent”.
In support of this argument, the Applicant reasons that as discussed during the interview, the applied references fail to teach or render obvious the above-mentioned limitation of Claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Monsef in Fig 7 clearly illustrate a housing (714), where fluid (fluid, Col 7, II. 27-30) enters the housing (714) via inlet vent (710) to cool the at least one heat-generating structure (706) and exits the housing (714) via the exit vent (712).
Accordingly, Examiner submits following MPEP 2111 in a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification Monsef Fig 7 teaches or suggest newly added limitations to Claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following lack of intelligible content informalities:
● In Claim 10, Line 14, “wherein the fluid the housing enters via the inlet vent” should be changed to read - - wherein the fluid enters the housing via the inlet vent - -.
● In Claim 12, Line 11, “wherein the fluid the housing enters via the inlet vent” should be changed to read - - wherein the fluid enters the housing via the inlet vent - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Monsef et al (US 7,092,254).
Regarding Claim 1, Monsef (In Fig 7) discloses a mini personal computer (PC) (cellular phone, Col 10, II. 6-9), comprising:
a housing (714);
at least one heat-generating structure (706) coupled with the housing (714), (Fig 8), wherein the housing (714) includes at least one aperture (710,712) that allows a fluid (fluid, Col 7, II. 27-30) to flow through the housing (714), (Fig 7), wherein the at least one aperture (710,712) includes an inlet vent (710) on a first surface of the housing (714) and an exit vent (710) on a second surface of the housing (714), (Fig 7); and
a cooling system (700) including at least one active cooling cell (716), the at least one heat-generating structure (706) being coupled with the cooling system (700), (Fig 8), the at least one active cooling cell (716) being configured to utilize vibrational motion to drive the fluid (fluid, Col 4, II. 30-37) for transferring heat from the at least one heat-generating structure (707), (Col 4, II. 30-37) the cooling system being coupled with and contained by the housing (714), (Fig 7), wherein the fluid (fluid, Col 7, II. 27-30) enters the housing via the inlet vent (710) to cool the at least one heat-generating structure (706) and exits the housing via the exit vent (712), (Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 2, Monsef discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Monsef (In Fig 7) further discloses wherein the at least one heat-generating structure (706) includes a processor (706, Col 4, II. 42-48).
Regarding Claim 7, Monsef discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Monsef (In Fig 7) further discloses wherein the at least one active cooling cell (716) further includes at least one cooling element (piezoelectric transducer, Col 2, II. 42-45) configured to undergo the vibrational motion when driven (Col 2, II. 56-58), (Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 12, Monsef (In Fig 7) discloses a method, comprising:
driving a cooling element (piezoelectric transducer, Col 2, II. 42-45) of an active cooling cell (716) in a cooling system (700) to induce a vibrational motion at a frequency (Col 4, II. 31-38), the cooling system (700) being in a mini personal computer (PC) (cellular phone, Col 10, II. 6-9) including a housing (714), wherein the housing (714) includes at least one aperture (710, 712) that allows a fluid (fluid, Col 4, II. 30-37) to flow through the housing (714), (Fig 7), wherein the at least one aperture (710, 712) includes an inlet vent (710) on a first surface of the housing (714) and an exit vent (712) on a second surface of the housing (714), (Fig 7), at least one processor (706, Col 3, II. 14-19) coupled with the housing (714), (Fig 7), and the cooling system (700), the cooling system (700) including at least one active cooling cell (716), the at least one processor (Col 3, II. 14-19) being thermally coupled with the cooling system (700), (Fig 7), the at least one active cooling cell (716) being configured to utilize vibrational motion to drive the fluid (Col 4, II. 31-35) for transferring heat from the at least one processor (706, Col 3, II. 14-19), (Fig 7), the cooling system (700) being coupled with and contained by the housing (714), (Fig 7), wherein the fluid (fluid, Col 4, II. 30-37) the housing (714) enters via the inlet vent (710) to cool the at least one processor (706, Col 3, II. 14-20) and exits the housing (714) via the exit vent (712), (Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 13, Monsef discloses the limitations of Claim 12, however Monsef (In Fig 7) further discloses wherein the frequency corresponds to a resonant frequency (Col 4, II. 51-54) for the cooling element (piezoelectric transducer, Col 2, II. 42-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef et al (US 7,092,254) in view of Samadiani et al (US 2016/0085277).
Regarding Claim 3, Monsef discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Monsef does not disclose wherein the processor is a reduced instruction set processor.
Instead, Samadiani (If Fig 9) teaches wherein the processor (910) is a reduced instruction set processor (¶ 160, II. 7-10).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Monsef with Samadiani with the processor is a reduced instruction set processor to benefit from sufficiently cooling which otherwise may cause failure of device due to temperature of the device exceeding a maximum rated temperature which can come at a great cost in terms of speed, efficiency and expense (Samadiani ¶ 4, II. 1-8).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef et al (US 7,092,254) in view of Ganti et al (US 2021/0185853).
Regarding Claim 4, Monsef discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Monsef does not disclose wherein the cooling system is activated in response to at least one of processor being turned on and a temperature reaching or exceeding a threshold.
Instead, Ganti (In Figs 7A and 12) teaches wherein the cooling system (710) is activated in response to at least one of processor being turned on and a temperature reaching or exceeding a threshold (¶ 106, II. 17-26).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Monsef with Ganti with the cooling system being activated in response to at least one of processor being turned on and a temperature reaching or exceeding a threshold to benefit from efficiently dissipating heat from heat-generating structure and improving the performance of the device utilizing the cooling system (Ganti ¶ 52, II. 1-18).
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Yalamarthy et al (US 2021/0176894).
Regarding Claim 8, Monsef discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Monsef does not disclose wherein the at least one active cooling cell further includes a top plate having at least one inlet and an orifice plate having a plurality of orifices therein, the at least one cooling element being between the top plate and the orifice plate, the vibrational motion of the at least one cooling element drawing the fluid into the at least one inlet and driving the fluid through the plurality of orifices such that the fluid has a speed of at least thirty meters per second after exiting at least one of the plurality of orifices.
Instead, Yalamarthy (In Fig 1A) teaches wherein the at least one active cooling cell (100) further includes a top plate (110) having at least one inlet (112) and an orifice plate (130) having a plurality of orifices (132) therein (Fig 1A), the at least one cooling element (120) being between the top plate (110) and the orifice plate (130), (Fig 1A), the vibrational motion of the at least one cooling element (120) drawing the fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) into the at least one inlet (112) and driving the fluid through the plurality of orifices (132) such that the fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) has a speed of at least thirty meters per second after exiting at least one of the plurality of orifices (132), (¶ 32, II. 4-9), (Fig 1A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Monsef with Yalamarthy with the at least one active cooling cell further including a top plate having at least one inlet and an orifice plate having a plurality of orifices therein, the at least one cooling element being between the top plate and the orifice plate, the vibrational motion of the at least one cooling element drawing the fluid into the at least one inlet and driving the fluid through the plurality of orifices such that the fluid having a speed of at least thirty meters per second after exiting at least one of the plurality of orifices to benefit from improving performance of the device utilizing the cooling system, suitable for use in smaller and/or mobile devices (Yalamarthy ¶ 52, II. 13-17).
Regarding Claim 10, Monsef (In Fig 7) discloses a mini personal computer (PC), (cellular phone, Col 10, II. 6-9), comprising:
a housing (714) having an inlet vent (710) and an exit vent (712), wherein the housing (714) allows a fluid (fluid, Col 4, II. 30-37) to flow through the housing (714), (Fig 7);
at least one processor (706, Col 3, II. 14-19); and
a cooling system (700) including at least one active cooling cell (716), the at least one processor (706, Col 3, II. 14-19) being thermally coupled with the cooling system (700), (Fig 7), the cooling system (700) being coupled with and contained by the housing (714), (Fig 7), wherein the fluid (fluid, Col 4, II. 30-37) the housing (714) enters via the inlet vent (710) to cool the at least one processor (706, Col 3, II. 14-19) and exits the housing (714) via the exit vent (712), (Fig 7), however Monsef does not disclose where each of the at least one active cooling cell including a top plate having at least one inlet therein, a bottom plate having a plurality of orifices therein, and a cooling element between the top plate and the bottom plate, the cooling element being configured to utilize vibrational motion when driven to draw the fluid into each of the at least one active cooling cell via the at least one inlet, direct the fluid toward the bottom plate, and drive the fluid through the plurality of orifices such that the fluid has a speed of at least thirty meters per second after leaving the plurality of orifices, the fluid for transferring heat from the at least one processor.
Instead, Yalamarthy (In Fig 10A) teaches where each of the at least one active cooling cell (1000A) including a top plate (1010) having at least one inlet (1012) therein (Fig 10A), a bottom plate (1030) having a plurality of orifices (1032) therein (Fig 10A), and a cooling element (1020) between the top plate (1010) and the bottom plate (1030), (Fig 1A), the cooling element (1020) being configured to utilize vibrational motion when driven to draw a fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) into each of the at least one active cooling cell (10001A) via the at least one inlet (1012), direct fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) toward the bottom plate (1030), and drive the fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) through the plurality of orifices (1032) such that the fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) has a speed of at least thirty meters per second after leaving the plurality of orifices (132), (¶ 32, II. 4-9), (Fig 10A), the fluid (¶ 32, II. 1-7) for transferring heat from the at least one processor (¶ 22, II. 3-6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Monsef with Yalamarthy with each of the at least one active cooling cell including a top plate having at least one inlet therein, a bottom plate having a plurality of orifices therein, and a cooling element between the top plate and the bottom plate, the cooling element being configured to utilize vibrational motion when driven to draw the fluid into each of the at least one active cooling cell via the at least one inlet and direct the fluid toward the bottom plate, and drive the fluid through the plurality of orifices such that the fluid having a speed of at least thirty meters per second after leaving the plurality of orifices, the fluid for transferring heat from the at least one processor to benefit from improving performance of the device utilizing the cooling system, suitable for use in smaller and/or mobile devices (Yalamarthy ¶ 52, II. 13-17).
Regarding Claim 11, Monsef in view of Yalamarthy discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Monsef as modified does not disclose wherein the mini PC further comprising: a heat spreader coupled with the cooling system.
Instead, Yalamarthy (In Fig 10A) further teaches wherein the mini PC (¶ 34, II. 1-15) further comprising: a heat spreader (heat-generating structure (e. g. heat spreader/IC)) coupled with the cooling system (1000A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Monsef with Yalamarthy with the mini PC further comprising: a heat spreader coupled with the cooling system to benefit from improving performance of the device utilizing the cooling system, suitable for use in smaller and/or mobile devices (Yalamarthy ¶ 52, II. 13-17).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Yalamarthy and further in view of Sathyamurthy et al (US 2023/0332847).
Regarding Claim 9, Monsef in view of Yalamarthy discloses the limitations of Claim 8, however Monsef as modified does not disclose wherein the mini PC further comprising: a dust guard coupled with the at least one inlet.
Instead, Sathyamurthy (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the mini PC (¶ 17, II. 1-7) further comprising: a dust guard (770) coupled with the at least one inlet (773), (¶ 77, II. 1-2), (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Monsef with Yalamarthy and further with Sathyamurthy with the mini PC further comprising: a dust guard being coupled with the at least one inlet to benefit from reducing or preventing the entry of dust into chambers (Sathyamurthy ¶ 78, II. 1-2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841