DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of group I in the reply filed on February 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 – 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 23, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second microelectronic component having second terminals pads on an additional surface thereof facing the surface of the first microelectronic component” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, and 12 – 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 1, 12, 13, and 15 – 17, the phrase “second terminals pads” should be replaced with –second terminal pads--. Dependent claims 2, and 14 inherit this informality. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0061436 to Yang et al.
Regarding claim 3, Yang et al. teach an electronic system (Figs. 10 – 13) comprises microelectronic components in the form of:
one or more input devices (¶ [0006]);
one or more output devices (¶ [006], chip scale packages such as camcorders, mobile phones, laptop computers inherently including input and output devices);
one or more microprocessor devices (¶ [0006]);
one or more memory devices (¶ [0006]); and
at least one substrate (100) on which at least some of the one or more input devices, output devices, microprocessor devices or memory devices are mounted, the at least one substrate having terminal pads (400) integral with and of a same thickness of associated conductive traces (300) and respectively configured with an irregular surface topography comprising:
at least one protruding portion (420) of a same thickness as a thickness of a respectively associated conductive trace; and
at least one recess portion (440) extending at least to a depth proximate a dielectric material (200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0020638 to Heo et al.
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al. teach A microelectronic component assembly, comprising:
a first microelectronic component having first terminal pads (400) on a surface thereof;
the first terminal pads comprising:
at least one protruding portion (420); and
at least one recess portion (440);
conductive traces (300) associated with the first terminal pads, the conductive traces individually being integral with, having a same material composition as, and having a same thickness as the at least one protruding portion of the first terminal pads (Fig. 13, ); and
solder balls (600) bonded to, the first terminal pads and extending into the at least one recess portion of respective ones of the first terminal pads.
Yang et al. do not teach a second microelectronic component having second terminals pads on an additional surface thereof facing the surface of the first microelectronic component, the second terminals pads bonded to, the first terminal pads and respective ones the solder balls extending into the at least one recess portion of respective ones of the first terminal pads and the at least one recess portion of respective ones of the second terminal pads. Heo et al. teach a second microelectronic component (10A) bonded to a first microelectronic component (10B) via solder balls (195, see Fig. 15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the second microelectronic component connected to the first microelectronic component since it is desirable to add the functionality to the chip scale package via the included solder balls since the purpose of the solder balls is for connection to external devices. It would further be obvious to use the terminal pad taught by Yang et al. for the second microelectronic component since it only involves the mere duplication of parts.
Regarding claim 2, the proposed modification of Yang et al. in view of Heo et al. teach a microelectronic component assembly wherein a depth of the at least one recess portion of the irregular surface topography of a respective one of the first terminal pads or a respective one of the second terminal pads is between about 80% and 100% of the thickness of the respective one of the respective one of the second terminal pads.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0237855 to Kroehnert et al. teach a microelectronic component assembly including a terminal pad with protruding portions. Kroehnert et al. do not teach a conductive trace being integral with the terminal pad.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897