DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. No. 2020/0309177 to Hayashi et al. (Ref. 1 hereafter), in view of Japanese Pat. Publ. No. 04-127688 (description translation JPH04127688U provided by the applicant on March 2, 2026, i.e., Ref. 2 hereafter).
Referring to claim 1, Ref. 1 discloses a housing structure (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a reference member (40);
a pin member (1) that is fixed to the reference member (40) and that extends in a predetermined direction (“Z”); and
a first positioning hole (71) that is provided for insertion of the pin member (1) in each of multiple first members (70, 80). Ref. 1 does not expressly disclose a second positioning hole that is provided for insertion of the pin member in a second member.
Ref. 2 however discloses a second positioning hole (7, Figs. 1 and 2) that is provided for insertion of a pin member (2, Fig. 1) in a second member (lower case 4, Fig. 1).
All of the component parts are known in the combined references. The only difference is the combination of the "old elements" into a single device. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Ref. 1 to include a second positioning hole provided for insertion of the pin member in a second member (e.g., the lower-case housing 4), as taught by Ref. 2, in order to position multiple components at different levels of the housing structure. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. _, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Referring to claim 2, Ref. 1 in view of Ref. 2 disclose the housing structure of claim 1, wherein the pin member (1) is implicitly provided in each of multiple portions in the reference member (4), e.g., on the opposite side of the lower-case housing (4), and the first positioning hole (71) is provided in each of multiple portions in each of the multiple first members (70, 80).
Referring to claim 3, Ref. 1 in view of Ref. 2 disclose the housing structure of claim 1, wherein the pin member (1) includes stepped portions (20) that lock peripheries of the first positioning holes (71) and the second positioning hole (7). See Figs. 3B-5 of Ref. 1.
Referring to claim 4, Ref. 1 in view of Ref. 2 disclose the housing structure of claim 1, wherein the reference member (4) is arranged between the multiple first members (70, 80). See Fig. 5 of Ref. 1.
Referring to claim 5, Ref. 1 in view of Ref. 2 disclose the housing structure of claim 1, wherein the second positioning hole (7) is provided in a positioning piece (6) that is formed by bending a part of the second member (7). See Figs. 1 and 2 of Ref. 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANTHONY Q EDWARDS whose telephone number is (571)272-2042. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:30am-5:00pm.
/Anthony Q Edwards/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
July 10, 2026