PWDETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5, 10-17 and 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first output portion and the second output portion are respectively rotate toward different directions” should read “the first output portion and the second output portion are respectively rotated toward different directions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 18, and 22-24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “lock core” as used in claims 1, 7, and 18 is unclear. This is because one of ordinarily in the art would recognize lock core is appropriately used to describe the first lock core 10. However, the term is also used to describe a motor 20 which one of ordinary skill in the art would not consider a lock core. Thus, arises uncertainty in what is required by the term “lock core”. For the purposes of examination as long as an element is a basic or essential part of a lock, the limitation is met.
In claims 1, 7 and 18 the term “movable or rotatable” is unclear. This is because rotation is a type of movement. Thus, from the term it’s unclear if the applicant intended a different term than movable such as “slidable” or if the applicant is using an unclear interpretation of “moveable”. For the purposes of examination “movable or rotatable” is assumed to read just “moveable”.
In regards to claims 1, 7, 18, 22-23 “the second lock core is unlocked” is unclear as from the specification the lock core is a motor, thus it’s unclear if the unlocking of the motor is the motor moving to an unlock position or if there is an internal mechanism within the motor that “unlocks” the motor, allowing it to be driven. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed. Consequently because of this language it’s unclear if in “the first lock core is unlocked” is claiming the first lock core moving to an unlocked position or being internally unlocked (i.e. lock pins being correctly moved). For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed.
In regards to claim 8 “the clutch structure prevents the other one of the first output portion and the second output portion from being driven” is unclear this is because from the specification and drawings it appears even when one of the output portions is driven the other still may be driven. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is assuming the limitation requires the clutch structure to prevent back driving of the non-driven output portion.
Claims 2-3, 6, and 9 are rejected due to their dependencies on the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 18 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia US 4170374 A (hereinafter Garcia).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 issues, Garcia teaches an electronic control compound lock (see fig 6) comprising: a first lock core (180) having a first output portion (portion of 190 that 182 contacts and 216) being driven when the first lock core is unlocked (see fig 6); a second lock core (202) having a second output portion (208) being driven when the second lock core is unlocked (see fig 6); one of the first lock core and the second lock core unlocked through electronic signals (second core), the other one of the first lock core and the second lock core unlocked mechanically (note fig 3); a first latch tongue (projecting portion of 188) being movable or rotatable; and wherein the first output portion and the second output portion are driven together (in the case 202 is operated); the first output portion is driven with the first latch tongue (see fig 6)); when one of the first lock core and the second lock core is unlocked (either in this case), the first output portion unlocks the first latch tongue (see fig 6).
In regards to claim 2, Garcia teaches the electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic control compound lock further comprises a clutch (at least 214) structure mounted between the first output portion and the second output portion (see fig 6); and when the first output portion is driven, the clutch structure prevents the second output portion from being driven (see fig 6).
In regards to claim 3, Garcia teaches the electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 2, wherein the clutch structure has an elongated recess(214); when the first output portion is driven, the first output portion moves in the elongated recess (216 would move through 214); and when the second output portion is driven, the second output portion drives the first output portion through a wall of the elongated recess as walls of 214 would pull 216).
In regards to claim 6, Garcia teaches the electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein when one of the first lock core and the second lock core is unlocked, the first output portion drives the first latch tongue to move or rotate (see fig 6).
In regards to claim 18, as best understood in light of previous 112 issues, Garcia teaches the electronic control compound lock (see fig 6) comprising: a first lock core (180) having a first output portion (172) being driven when the first lock core is unlocked; a second lock core (202) having a second output portion (208) being driven when the second lock core is unlocked; one of the first lock core and the second lock core unlocked through electronic signals (second lock core), the other one of the first lock core and the second lock core unlocked mechanically (note fig 3); a first latch tongue (projecting portion of 188) being movable or rotatable; the first output portion and the second output portion respectively driven with the first latch tongue (see fig 6); and wherein when one of the first lock core and the second lock core is unlocked, the first output portion and the second output portion unlock the first latch tongue (see fig 6).
In regards to claim 23, Garcia teaches the electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 18, wherein when the first lock core is unlocked, the first output portion is rotatable (see fig 6); the first output portion is rotated to rotate and unlock the first latch tongue (see fig 6); when the second lock core is unlocked, the second output portion is rotatable (see fig 6); the second output portion is rotated to rotate and unlock the first latch tongue (see fig 6); and the first output portion and the second output portion rotate the first latch tongue toward a same direction to be unlocked (clockwise, see fig 6).
In regards to claim 24, Garcia teaches the electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 23, wherein the first output portion and the second output portion are respectively rotate toward different directions (at least since 208 rotates both clockwise and counter clockwise) .
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mencarelli et al. WO 2013175514 A1 (hereinafter Mencarelli).
In regards to claim 7, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Mencarelli teaches an electronic control compound lock (see fig 3) comprising: a first lock core (12) having a first output portion (10) being driven when the first lock core is unlocked; a second lock core (18) having a second output portion (20) being driven when the second lock core is unlocked; one of the first lock core and the second lock core unlocked through electronic signals (second lock core), the other one of the first lock core and the second lock core unlocked mechanically (see fig 3); an output unit (at least 11 and 22) connected to the first output portion and the second output portion; a first latch tongue (5) being movable or rotatable and connected to the output unit (see fig 3); and wherein when one of the first lock core and the second lock core is unlocked, the first output portion and the second output portion unlock the first latch tongue through the output unit (see fig 3).
In regards to claim 8, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Mencarelli teaches electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 7, wherein the electronic control compound lock further comprises a clutch structure (at least 17 and 22) mounted at the output unit; and when one of the first output portion and the second output portion (first output portion in this case) is driven, the clutch structure prevents the other one of the first output portion and the second output portion from being driven (prevents back driving 18).
In regards to claim 9, Mencarelli teaches electronic control compound lock as claimed in claim 8, wherein the clutch structure has a first elongated slot (17); a second elongated slot (one of the vertical slots of 22 see fig 3); when the first output portion is driven and drives the output unit through a wall of the first elongated slot to unlock the first latch tongue (when 10 drives 17), the second output portion and the second elongated slot move relatively (when retracting, note figs 1 and 3); and when the second output portion is driven and drives the output unit through a wall of the second elongated slot (as5 and 20 are connected through the slot) to unlock the first latch tongue, the first output portion and the first elongated slot move relatively (note figs 1, 17 would slide relative to 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seacat US 20200149317 A1 – teaches a similar device.
Liao CN 112832596 A – teaches a similar device.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675