DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 12/1/25 is acknowledged. Claims 9-12 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-8 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10,678,081).
Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) teaches a coated cover substrates and electronic devices including the same. Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) depicts a display device and a protective coating (claimed blocking layer) disposed on at least a portion of the non-display area of the front cover substrate (abstract and Figs. 6A-8D). Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) teaches a first top area and second side areas whereby the protective coating is applied to both the first and second areas and are partially contacted, i.e. abutting one another [0044]. Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) teaches the protective layer being formed on the cover substrate by several coating processes [0056].
Inoue et al. (10,678,081) teaches a cover glass and display device having a chamfered front-side part and a coating (18) being applied to the surface (12d) and the chamfered surface (13a) (abstract and Figs. 2 and 3). The coating (18) on the surface (12a) is partially contacting the coating of the chamfered surface (13a). The antireflection film (18) (claimed blocking layer) is formed on the surface 12a and 13a (col. 4, lines 14-23 and col. 5, lines 60-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10/678,081) in combination with Inoue et al. (8,151,704).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10/678,081) are incorporated here.
Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10/678,081) fails to teach a first pad for the first blocking layer and a second pad for the second blocking layer to transfer the first and second blocking layers to the substrate followed by drying.
Inoue et al. (8,151,704) teaches a method of printing on spherical object and pad to be used. Inoue et al. (8,151,704) teaches applying the printing ink to a printing pad and then contacting by pressing to apply the printing ink to the surface of the object (abstract). Inoue et al. (8,151,704) teaches after applying the printing ink to the surface of the object, drying and/or curing the printing ink (col. 9, lines 4-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10/678,081) process of coating glass having a chamfered surface with the pad printing process as detailed by Inoue et al. (8,151,704) with the expectation of applying the coating with precise precision on the object to be coated.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, with regards to a first and second pad, the claims are not limited to the first and second pads to be separate and/or different and hence can be the same or similar pad which would meet the claimed limitation of a first and second pad. Same reasoning for the first and second light blocking inks.
Regarding claim 5, Inoue et al. (8,151,704) is silent with respect to the claimed temperatures of drying, however, the Examiner takes the position that it would have been within the skill of one practicing in the art to have selected the claimed drying temperatures as the drying temperatures would be a matter of design choice based upon the coating material and amounts applied absent a showing of criticality thereof.
Regarding claim 6, the claims recite forming a third light blocking layer which is recessed inward from both ends. Both Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10,678,081) teach forming multiple layers and the Examiner takes the position that the layer length/width would be a matter of design choice by one practicing in the art absent a showing of criticality thereof.
Regarding claim 7, as both Bookbinder et al. (2020/0189970) or Inoue et al. (10/678,081) both teach forming layer and Inoue et al. (8,151,704) teaches using pad printing and drying. The limitation of the third layer being applied after the first layer would be inherent as the third layer is applied to the first layer and hence the first layer would have to be applied previously.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites forming the second layer prior to forming the first layer as opposed to forming in the opposite order. The Examiner takes the position that the order of the first and second layers would be a matter of design choice to produce
Similar results absent a showing of criticality thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712