DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 09 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As to claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 10-12, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The following table lists the instances where a broad limitation and narrow limitation are recited in the same claim:
Claim
Broad limitation
Narrower limitation
2
εκ of no less than about 0.4
εκ of no less than about 0.3
3
at least one infrared-reflective material comprising one or more of gold, platinum, silver, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, osmium, iridium, and/or any combination thereof
for example, wherein the at least one infrared-reflective material comprises gold and/or platinum.
5
Ra or Sa of no greater than about 5 µm
for example, no greater than about 1 µm, or no greater than about 0.5 µm, or no greater than about 0.1 µm
7
wherein the infrared-reflective layer has a thickness of no greater than about 50 µm
for example, no greater than about 25 µm, or no greater than about 10 µm
8
wherein: the diffusion barrier layer comprises a ceramic
for example, wherein the diffusion barrier layer comprises a metal oxide, such as titania, zirconia, hafnia, chromia or alumina, or a metal nitride, optionally wherein the metal oxide or metal nitride is stabilized, for example, by an alkaline earth metal oxide and/or a rare earth metal oxide such as calcia, magnesium, ceria, yttria or scandia;
8
the diffusion barrier layer has a thickness of no greater than about 2 mm
for example, no greater than about 1 mm, or no greater than about 100 µm, or no greater than about 50 µm;
10
the bond layer comprises at least one of nickel, cobalt, chromium, aluminium, silicon, platinum, yttrium and/or any combination thereof,
for example, wherein the bond layer comprises an alloy comprising at least one of nickel, cobalt, chromium, aluminium, silicon, platinum, yttrium and/or any combination thereof, for example, wherein the bond layer comprises a NiCrAlY alloy, a NiCoCrAlY alloy, a NiAl alloy, a PtAl alloy, and/or any combination thereof;
10
the bond layer has a thickness of no greater than about 200 µm,
for example, no greater than about 100 µm, or no greater than about 50 µm, or no greater than about 10 µm, or no greater than about 5 µm.
11
wherein the substrate: comprises metal,
for example, a superalloy
11
wherein the substrate comprises a composite material
for example, a ceramic matrix composite material;
12
wherein the component is: a component for a combustor section of a gas turbine engine,
for example, a combustor or part thereof, a combustor cassette, a combustor tile, or an injector
12
a component for a turbine section of a gas turbine engine
for example, a turbine vane, a turbine blade, or a turbine seal segment
12
a component for a reaction engine
such as a rocket engine
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The plain meaning of claim 11 is that the substrate is a combination of a metal and a ceramic matrix composite. However, one of ordinary skill in the art generally understands engine components recite a substrate that is a ceramic matrix composite or a metal, rather than both.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 8 and 10 and are interpreted to mean that the entirety of the text after the phrase “optionally wherein” is optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen et al. (US 2004/0258946 A1)(Allen).
Allen discloses a reflective coating for use as a thermal barrier coating in turbine engines (see paragraph [0002]) which indicates that the article is intended for the hot section of a an engine. The article includes a layer 30 for reflecting heat radiation (i.e., infrared radiation). See paragraph [0018].
As to claim 2, the reflective coating 30 has an emissivity of 0.1 to 0.5. See paragraph [0018]. Allen fails to disclose the reflectance, or the wavelength employed to measure the emissivity. However, Allen discloses a reflective layer 30 having the same layer thickness and composition as recited in the present claims. Therefore, the claimed emissivity at a wavelength from 500 nm to 1 µm, and reflectivity are presumed to be inherent to the layer.
As to claims 3 and 4, Allen discloses the reflective layer 30 may be formed from osmium, rhenium, ruthenium, platinum, platinum alloys, palladium, palladium alloys, rhodium, rhodium alloys, iridium or iridium alloys. See paragraph [0019].
As to claim 6, Allen does not disclose the presence of any porosity. See paragraphs [0018]-[0019].
Allen discloses the reflective layer 30 has a thickness of 1 to 5 µm which is sufficiently specific to anticipate the range recited in claim 7. See MPEP 2131.03.
As to claim 8, Allen discloses a protective ceramic coating 26 between the substrate 22 and the reflective layer 30. See paragraph [0017] and Figure 2. Allen does not disclose that the protective coating is a “diffusion barrier” however, the material employed by Allena (stabilized zirconia) is the same as one recited in instant claim 8. Therefore, the layer is presumed to inherently inhibit diffusion.
As to claim 9, Allen discloses multiple reflective coatings 30’, 30’’, and 30’’’. See paragraph [0020].
As to claim 10, Allen discloses a metallic bond coat 24 between the protective coating 26 (i.e., diffusion barrier) and the substrate 22. See paragraph [0016] and Figure 2.
As to claim 11, Allen discloses the substrate may be a metallic material or ceramic composite. See paragraph [0015]. Allen does not disclose the substrate is formed by additive manufacturing. However, this limitation is a product-by-process limitation. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps do not imply any structure.
As to claims 12-14, Allen discloses the coated article is employed as “a turbine component such as a turbine blade, a combustor, a nozzle and/or a liner, or an aircraft exhaust duct.” See paragraph [0015].
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ackerman et al. (US 2005/0048305 A1)(Ackerman).
Ackerman discloses an optically reflective coating system for use on high temperature gas turbine components which reflects heat (i.e., infrared radiation). See paragraph [0011]. The article includes a layer 122 for reflecting heat radiation. See paragraph [0035].
As to claim 2, Ackerman fails to disclose the reflectance or emissivity of the metal coating 122. However, Ackerman discloses a reflective layer 122 having the same layer thickness and composition as recited in the present claims (see below). Therefore, the claimed emissivity and reflectivity are presumed to be inherent to the layer.
As to claims 3 and 4, Ackerman discloses the reflective layer 122 may be formed from rhodium, platinum, or palladium. See paragraph [0034].
As to claim 5, Ackerman does not disclose the Ra or Sa of the metal coatings. However, Ackerman discloses the reflective layer has a mirror like finish including a finish of 10 to 20 micro inches. See paragraph [0034] “Even these methods may require some additional fine (light) polishing to achieve the desired, preferred, extremely smooth surface finish of 10-20 micro inches, providing the reflective metal layer 122 with a fine mirror-like finish.” 10-20 microinches is 0.25 to 0.5 µm.
Ra indicates the mean deviation of the surface profile from the centerline. As noted above, Ackerman discloses a surface finish 0.25 to 0.5 µm. If the features on the surface are between 0.25 to 0.5 µm, it follows that the average deviation of the features from the mean would be less than 0.25-0.5 µm. Thus, the reflective film of Ackerman is presumed to inherently possess a Ra of less than 5 µm.
As to claim 6, Ackerman does not disclose the presence of any porosity. See paragraphs [0034]-[0035].
Ackerman discloses the reflective layer 122 has a thickness of 1500 angstrom (0.15 µm) to about 10000 angstrom (1 µm). See paragraph [0034]. This range is sufficiently specific to anticipate the range recited in claim 7.
As to claim 8, Ackerman discloses a sealing layer 120 beneath the reflective layer 122. See paragraph [0033]. Ackerman describes the layer as “sealing” the underneath layer which indicates that it operates a barrier to diffusion.
As to claim 11, Ackerman discloses the substrate may be a metal such as a superalloy or a ceramic matrix composite in paragraph [0028]. Ackerman does not disclose the substrate is formed by additive manufacturing. However, this limitation is a product-by-process limitation. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps do not imply any structure.
As to claims 12-14, Allen discloses the coated article is employed in aircraft turbine engines including “turbine nozzles, centerbodies, high pressure turbine blades, high pressure turbine nozzles, low pressure turbine blades, low pressure turbine nozzles, combustor walls, splash plates, afterburner nozzles, flaps, seals, flameholders, liners, and other similarly situated components in a hot section of a gas turbine engine.” See paragraph [0036].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 112281161 A discloses a coating system substrate/NiCrAlYSi/alumina/platinum.
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784