DETAILED ACTION
Response to Applicant’s Submission Under 37 CFR 1.130
The declaration filed on 6/23/2026 under 37CFR 1.130 has been considered and is sufficient to disqualify the Kim et al non-patent literature (NPL) reference as prior art. Accordingly, the rejection of record is withdrawn to the extent it relied upon Kim et al., and that reference is no longer applied against the claims.
However, the withdrawal of Kim et al. does not place the claims in condition for allowance. Upon further search and consideration, Culham et al. has been located and is now applied in place of Kim et al.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20, 22-26, and 28-40 have been cancelled; and claims 21, 27, and 41-56 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27, 41-42, and 52-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2015/0060830 A1, hereinafter “Thompson”) in view of Culham et al. (“Highly Luminescent Dinuclear Platinum(II) Complexes Incorporating Bis-Cyclometallating Pyrazine-Based Ligands: A Versatile Approach to Efficient Red Phosphors”, Inorganic Chemistry, Vol. 52, No.19, PP.10992-11003 (September 25, 2013))
In regards to claim 21, Thompson discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising:
an anode (115);
a cathode (160);
a light emitting layer (135) having a first surface, a second surface, and a thickness therebetween,
the light emitting layer (135) being disposed between the anode (115) and the cathode (160); ); and wherein a transition dipole moment of the at least one phosphorescent compound is substantially perpendicular to the thickness of the light emitting layer (See applicant’s own disclosure, Par [0113], specifically, “substantially perpendicular” means the fraction of the net transition dipole moment lying perpendicular to the layer thickness is greater than 0.5. It is lexicography. Not forced to stuck with a dictionary meaning. θ_hor =0.67 for a randomly aligned films. 0.67 is greater than 0.5. So a completely ordinary emissive layer, made with no orientation control at all, already satisfies the limitation. The claim doesn’t capture the invention; it captures the baseline. (See, Par [0169]))
However, Thompson is silent about that the light emitting layer comprises the light emitting layer comprises at least one phosphorescent compound of General formula (II):
Culham discloses the light emitting layer comprises at least one phosphorescent compound of General formula (II) (See, Figure 1, Compound Pt2L4, Culham).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Thompson by Culham because this would help increase the extinction coefficient and the radiative rate constants.
In regards to claim 27, Thompson as modified above discloses wherein the platinum complex is:
(See, for example, Figure 1, Compound formula Pt2L4., Culham)
In regards to claims 41 and 42, Thompson as modified above discloses wherein Z21, Z22, Z23, Z24, Z25, and Z26 are each independently CR23 (See, for example, Figure 1, Compound formula Pt2L4; R23 being hydrogen, Culham).
In regards to claims 52, 53 and 54, Thompson as modified above discloses wherein R21 and R22 are independently selected from the group consisting of tert-butyl (See, for example, Figure 1, Compound formula Pt2L4, Culham).
In regards to claim 55, Thompson as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) that the light emitting layer further comprises a host (See, for example, Pars [0040], [0106], [0109] …).
In regards to claim 56, Thompson as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the consumer product is selected from the group consisting of a flat panel display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, a light for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, a heads-up display, a fully or partially transparent display, a flexible display, a laser printer, a telephone, a cell phone, tablet, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wearable device, a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro-display that is less than 2 inches diagonal, a 3-D display, a virtual reality or augmented reality display, a vehicle, a video wall comprising multiple displays tiled together, a theater or stadium screen, a light therapy device, and a sign (See, for example, Par [0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43-51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893