DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 21 and 27 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Kim’2019. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20, 22-26, and 28-40 have been cancelled; Claims 41-56 have been newly added; and claims 21, 27, and 41-56 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27, 41-42, and 52-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2015/0060830 A1, hereinafter “Thompson”) in view of Kim et al. (Kim et al., “Systematic Control of the Orientation of Organic Phosphorescent Pt Complexes in Thin Films for Increased Optical Outcoupling”, Advanced Materials, June 2019, 1900921 (1 of 11), hereinafter “Kim’2019”).
In regards to claim 21, Thompson discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising:
an anode (115);
a cathode (160);
a light emitting layer (135) having a first surface, a second surface, and a thickness therebetween,
the light emitting layer (135) being disposed between the anode (115) and the cathode (160).
However, Thompson is silent about that the light emitting layer comprises the light emitting layer comprises at least one phosphorescent compound of General formula (II):
wherein a transition dipole moment of the at least one phosphorescent compound is substantially perpendicular to the thickness of the light emitting layer.
Kim’2019 discloses the light emitting layer comprises at least one phosphorescent compound of General formula (II) (Pt(II) phosphorescent complexes used as emitters in the light emitting layer, including the binuclear complex (dbx)(Pt(dpm))2, See, pp. 2-4); and wherein a transition dipole moment of the at least one phosphorescent compound is substantially perpendicular to the thickness of the light emitting layer (Kim’2019 directly measures the transition dipole moment (TDM) orientation of each Pt complex via angle-dependent p-polarized photoluminescence and reports θhor values as follows … (dbx)(Pt(dpm))2 θhor = 0.76±0.01, See, for example, pp. 2-4, Fig. 3C. Values of θhor above 0.67 (the isotropic baseline) indicate a net preferential horizontal alignment, meaning the TDM is substantially perpendicular to the thickness of the light emitting layer, see, for example, pp. 2, 6 and 9) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Thompson by Kim’2019 because this would help maximize outcoupling efficiency.
In regards to claim 27, Thompson as modified above discloses wherein the platinum complex is:
(See, for example, Table 1, Kim’2019)
In regards to claims 41 and 42, Thompson as modified above discloses wherein Z21, Z22, Z23, Z24, Z25, and Z26 are each independently CR23 (See, for example, Table 1, Kim’2019; R23 being hydrogen).
In regards to claims 52, 53 and 54, Thompson as modified above discloses wherein R21 and R22 are independently selected from the group consisting of tert-butyl (See, for example, pp. 3-6, Kim’2019).
In regards to claim 55, Thompson as modified above discloses that the light emitting layer further comprises a host (See, for example, page 7, Kim’2019).
In regards to claim 56, Thompson as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the consumer product is selected from the group consisting of a flat panel display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, a light for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, a heads-up display, a fully or partially transparent display, a flexible display, a laser printer, a telephone, a cell phone, tablet, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wearable device, a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro-display that is less than 2 inches diagonal, a 3-D display, a virtual reality or augmented reality display, a vehicle, a video wall comprising multiple displays tiled together, a theater or stadium screen, a light therapy device, and a sign (See, for example, Par [0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43-51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893