Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 04/10/24. Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-10, 12, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220302078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a wafer composite structure comprising: a wafer including a wafer alignment pattern (70/72); and a double-sided-patterned substrate including a base substrate that has a front surface and a back surface opposite to said front surface (see topside of 52-64), a circuit pattern unit that is located on said front surface 62, a front alignment pattern unit that is located on said front surface 70, and a back alignment pattern unit that is located on said back surface and that has a position corresponding according to a predetermined relation relative to a position of said front alignment pattern unit (see 72 roughly corresponds with 70); wherein said front surface of said base substrate of said double-sided-patterned substrate is attached with said wafer (see fig 1, where 52-64 are attached), and said front alignment pattern unit or said back alignment pattern unit is aligned with said wafer alignment pattern of said wafer (see fig 1 where 70/72 are roughly aligned).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein said back alignment pattern unit is indented from said back surface (see figs 1 and 2 disclosing back surface 72 having indentations).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
said front alignment pattern unit has at least one front alignment pattern (see fig 1 and 2 disclosing 130 with 70); said back alignment pattern unit has at least one back alignment pattern that corresponds in position to said at least one front alignment pattern(see fig 1 and 2 disclosing 130 with 70); and
a geometric center of said at least one back alignment pattern is situated in a predetermined position (see fig 1-4 disclosing 130 with 70/72 positioning and alignment) that corresponds according to a predetermined relation relative to a position of a geometric center of said at least one front alignment pattern(see fig 1 and 2 disclosing 130 with 72 disclosing geometric shape).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a geometric center of said back alignment pattern unit overlaps with a geometric center of said front alignment pattern unit (see figs 4-6 disclosing overlapping patterns).
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses a method for making a wafer composite structure comprising:
a) providing a to-be-treated substrate that includes a base substrate having a front surface and a back surface opposite to the front surface (see figs 1 and 2 having two substrates), a circuit pattern unit located on the front surface (see fig 1, circuit pattern 62), and a front alignment pattern unit located on the front surface (see fig 2, 70/72);
b) forming a back alignment pattern unit on the back surface of the base substrate (see fig 2, 71), the back alignment pattern unit being formed in a predetermined position that corresponds according to a predetermined relation relative to the front alignment pattern unit (see fig 2 alignment unit utilizing 70 and 72); and
c) aligning the front alignment pattern unit with a wafer alignment pattern of a wafer using the position of the back alignment pattern unit as a reference (see fig 2 disclosing 70/72 as reference), and attaching the wafer to the front substrate surface of the base substrate (see fig 2 disclosing wafer attachment).
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses the method for making a wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 5, wherein, in the step b) of forming the back alignment pattern unit, an optical inspection device of a pattern making system is used to obtain a location of the front alignment pattern unit and to generate a location signal (see figs 4-6 disclosing optical pattern and positioning); and a pattern making device of the pattern making system is used to form the back alignment pattern unit on the back surface based on the location signal(see figs 4-6 disclosing optical pattern and positioning).
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 6, further comprising before step (b): d) positioning the pattern making system so that the optical inspection device and the pattern making device are respectively located on two opposite sides of a calibration area (see figs 2-4 and paras[0031]-[0032] disclosing calibration and adjusting prior to positioning), and pre-calibrating a position of the optical inspection device and a position of the pattern making device according to a first calibrating pattern located on the calibration area using an adjustment device of the pattern making system so that the position of the optical inspection device and the position of the pattern making device corresponding to the position of the optical inspection device are secured and fixed(see figs 2-4 and paras[0031]-[0032] disclosing calibration and adjusting prior to positioning, disclosing stored positioning information).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the calibration area is located at a calibration substrate (see figs 2-4 disclosing adjustment area).
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the calibration area is located at the base substrate (see fig 3b disclosing alignment in base).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 9, wherein: the front alignment pattern unit has a plurality of the front alignment patterns; and the pre-pattern is one of the front alignment patterns (see fig 2-4 where the front patterns and back patterns align).
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein: the first calibrating pattern is made via a patterning process or an ablation process; the calibration area is located at one of the front surface and the back surface of the base substrate (see para [0027] disclosing patterning, see figs 2-4 disclosing patterns at back surface).
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 5, wherein the to-be-treated substrate is mounted horizontally or vertically (see figs 1-4 disclosing vertical and horizontal mounting).
Regarding claim 15, Chang discloses pattern making system that is adapted to form a back alignment pattern unit on a to-be-treated substrate, the to-be-treated substrate including a base substrate that has a front surface and a back surface opposite to the front surface (see fig s1 and2 disclosing base substrate), and a front alignment pattern unit on the front surface (see fig 1, 70), the back alignment pattern unit to be formed on the back surface of the base substrate of the to-be-treated substrate (see fig 1, 72), said pattern making system comprising:
an optical inspection device adapted to be disposed on the front surface of the base substrate of the to-be-treated substrate (see fig 2, optical microscope), and having a first alignment pattern that has a geometric center (see fig 2 with 70/72 having center patterns), when said geometric center of said first alignment pattern overlaps with a geometric center of the back alignment pattern unit, a location signal of the front alignment pattern unit is generated (see fig 3b where overlap happens);
a pattern making device adapted to be disposed on the back surface of the to-be-treated substrate (see figs 1-3 disclosing pattern making), signally connected to said optical inspection device, and configured to form the back alignment pattern unit on the back surface of the base substrate of the to-be-treated substrate based on the location signal (see fig 2, disclosing 130 optical cameras), the back alignment pattern unit and the front alignment pattern unit corresponding in position to each other according to a predetermined relation (see fig 3, disclosing correspondence); and
an adjustment device connected to said optical inspection device and said pattern making device to allow adjustment of positions of said optical inspection device and said pattern making device relative to the to-be-treated substrate (see figs 2 and 4 and para [0031] disclosing adjustment), said adjustment device having a securing member (see para [0030] and [0031] disclosing secure holder), and two adjustment arms that extend from said securing member (see 120a/b), and that are respectively connected to said optical inspection device and said pattern making device (see figs 2-4 disclosing 120a/b being connected to devices).
Regarding claim 16, Chang discloses the pattern making system as claimed in claim 15, wherein a geometric center of the back alignment pattern unit overlaps a geometric center of the front alignment pattern unit (see fig 3b disclosing overlap).
Regarding claim 17, Chang discloses the pattern making system as claimed in claim 16, wherein said pattern making device has a second alignment pattern that has a geometric center overlapping with a geometric center of a front alignment pattern of the front alignment pattern unit (see fig 3b disclosing at least three patterns).
Regarding claim 18, Chang discloses the pattern making system as claimed in claim 15, wherein said pattern making device includes a pattern making member that is one of a 3D printer, a laser additive manufacturing machine, an electron beam machine, and an ion beam machine(see para [0027] disclosing patterning, see figs 2-4 disclosing patterns at back surface).
Allowable Subject Matter
The cited art do not disclose: wherein the optical inspection device has a first alignment pattern, and in step
d), pre-calibrating the pattern making system is conducted by:
d1) overlapping a geometric center of the first alignment pattern of the optical inspection device with a geometric center of the first calibrating pattern to form an identifying pattern so as to position the optical inspection device;
d2) forming a second calibrating pattern in the calibration area with the pattern making device;
d3) determining whether a relative location relationship between the second calibrating pattern and the first calibrating pattern is an overlapping relationship where a geometric center of the second calibrating pattern overlaps with a geometric center of the first calibrating pattern;
d4) in the case that it is determined that the geometric center of the second calibrating pattern does not overlap with the geometric center of the first calibrating pattern, initiating an adjustment process in which the pattern making device is repositioned and forms another second calibrating pattern, and whether the relative location relationship between the another second calibrating pattern and the first calibrating pattern is an overlapping relationship is determined; and
d5) in the case that the center of geometry of the another second calibrating pattern overlaps with the center of geometry of the first calibrating pattern the pre-calibrating of the pattern making system is finished, as recited in claim 11.
the first calibrating pattern is made via a patterning process or an ablation process; the calibration area is located at one of the front surface and the back surface of the base substrate (see para [0027] disclosing patterning, see figs 2-4 disclosing patterns at back surface).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses the method for making the wafer composite structure as claimed in claim 6, wherein:
the optical inspection device has a first alignment pattern, the pattern making device having a second alignment pattern and a pattern forming member; and
the step b) of forming the back alignment pattern unit includes overlapping a geometric center of the front alignment pattern unit with a geometric center of one of the first alignment pattern and the second alignment pattern before generating the location signal, and the pattern forming member forms the back alignment patter unit according to the location signal, as recited in claim 13.
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893