DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 recites “[a] system comprising: one or more processor to... generate... synthetic audio data representative of speech..." and claim 7 recites “[the] system of claim 1, wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:” and then proceeds to list 17 different systems. However, the specification does not describe how the speech system is being used or applied to each of the different context. For example, digital twin operations, transport simulation, creation of 3D assets and etc. It is not clear how a speech system would be used in such systems.
Furthermore, it also lacks written description support for being used in more than one system. Since claim 7 recites “at least one of”, then the speech system can be used in in-vehicle infotainment system and digital twin operations and on a robot, simultaneously. The specification does disclose how the speech system exists in multiple contexts simultaneously and how it even works in multiple complex systems. It may be possible for some combination but it’s not clear how it is possible for all combinations. Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Similarly, as above, claim 7 recites “[the] system of claim 1, wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:” and then proceeds to list 17 different systems. It is not clear how more than one or all the systems would be simultaneously comprised in multiple, seemingly incompatible environments. As an example, how would the speech system be used in in-vehicle infotainment system and digital twin operations and on a robot, simultaneously. A person of ordinary skill in the art would struggle to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. Furthermore, some systems have further limitation of “at least one” which creates more complexity. For example, “at least one of virtual reality content, mixed reality content, or augmented reality content”. The claims are unclear how the speech systems can be comprised all three and then furthermore in other systems such as “performing light transport simulation”. Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arik et al. (US Pub 2019/0251952).
Regarding claim 1, Arik discloses a system comprising:
one or more processors to:
obtain one or more first speaker embeddings corresponding to one or more speaker voices (para 0032, 0066, 0072);
determine, based at least on the one or more first speaker embeddings, one or more second speaker embeddings corresponding to one or more synthetic voices (para 0153-0159; also see para 0069-80 – both teaches operations on original embeddings to create a new embedding); and
generate, using the one or more second speaker embeddings and based at least on input data representative of linguistic content, synthetic audio data representative of speech corresponding to the linguistic content (para 0076, 0082, 0101).
Regarding claim 2, Arik discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
generate an embedding space based at least on the one or more first speaker embeddings (para 0066, para 0152-0153, see fig. 23),
wherein of the one or more processors are to determine the one or more second speaker embeddings by sampling the embedding space to identify the one or more second speaker embeddings (para 0152-0153, 0159; see fig. 23).
Regarding claim 3, Arik discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
obtain one or more third speaker embeddings corresponding to one or more third voices (para 0155 – such as male or female speakers);
wherein one or more processors are to determine the one or more second speaker embeddings based at least on interpolating between the one or more first speaker embeddings and the one or more third speaker embeddings (para 0155-0157).
Regarding claim 4, Arik discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
determine one or more first weights associated with the one or more first speaker embeddings and one or more second weights associated with the one or more second speaker embeddings (para 0155, 0106),
wherein the one or more processors are further to determine the one or more second speaker embeddings based at least on the one or more first weights and the one or more second weights (para 0154-0157 – weights are 1 for speaker and +-1 for manipulation).
Regarding claim 5, Arik discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
determine one or more frequency values corresponding to the one or more synthetic voices (para 0059 – pitch is part of frequency; 0107, 0215),
wherein the one or more processors are further to determine the one or more second speaker embeddings based at least on the one or more frequency values (para 0159).
Regarding claim 7, Arik discloses wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system for performing one or more simulation operations;
a system for performing one or more digital twin operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation;
a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for performing one or more deep learning operations;
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system implemented using a robot;
a system for performing one or more generative AI operations (see abstract – generate synthetic speech; see claim 7 where it states “A generative text-to-speech system comprising”);
a system for performing operations using a large language model;
a system for performing one or more conversational AI operations;
a system for generating synthetic data (see abstract – generate synthetic speech; see claim 7 where it states “A generative text-to-speech system comprising”; para 0154-0157);
a system for presenting at least one of virtual reality content, augmented reality content, or mixed reality content;
a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection of claim 1 (see audio features such as gender, pitch or accents (para 0059, 0125, 0153-0157)).
Regarding claim 9, Arik discloses wherein: the first data representative of the one or more first audio features comprises one or more first speaker embeddings corresponding to the one or more speaker voices (para 0032, 0066, 0072); and
the second data representative of the one or more second audio features comprises one or more second speaker embeddings corresponding to the one or more synthetic voices, the one or more second speaker embeddings being different than the one or more first speaker embeddings (para 0153-0159; also see para 0069-80 – both teaches operations on original embeddings to create a new embedding).
Regarding claim 10, see rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, Arik discloses further comprising:
determining at least one of a first value for a mean associated with a distribution corresponding to the one or more first audio features (para 0105, 0116) or a second value for a standard deviation associated with the distribution (para 0135 - mean absolute error),
wherein the determining the second data is further based at least on the at least one of the first value or the second value (see para 0086, 0105; see fig. 12).
Regarding claim 16, Arik discloses further comprising:
determining one or more speaker types associated with the one or more second audio features (para 0066 – such as gender; para 0153-057, 0183),
wherein the determining the second data is further based at least on the one or more speaker types (see figs. 23-24; para 0153-057, 0183).
Regarding claim 17, Arik discloses wherein:
the one or more first audio features comprise one or more of:
one or more first speaker embeddings (para 0066);
one or more first frequency values,
one or more first intensity values;
one or more first accents (para 0066);
one or more first rates; or
one or more first tones; and
the one or more second audio features comprise one or more of:
one or more second speaker embeddings (para 0066);
one or more second frequency values,
one or more second intensity values;
one or more second accents (para 0066);
one or more second rates; or
one or more second tones.
Regarding claim 18, Arik discloses further comprising:
generating, using one or more encoders and based at least on the audio data, one or more speaker embeddings (para 0088-0089); and
storing, based at least on verifying the audio data using the one or more speaker embeddings, the audio data as part of a dataset for training one or more machine learning models (para 0093-0100).
Regarding claim 18, Arik discloses a processor comprising:
one or more processing units to generate synthetic audio data using a first speaker embedding (para 0066, 0095; see fig. 8 and 9) and a frequency value associated with a synthetic voice (para 0104, 0107, 0135; also see para 0060), wherein the first speaker embedding is determined based at least on one or more second speaker embeddings (para 0153-0159; also see para 0069-80 – both teaches operations on original embeddings to create a new embedding) and the frequency value is determined based at least on a distribution of frequency values (para 0059 – pitch range, 0064, 0135 – model learns frequency/spectrogram features from training data distribution).
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAFIZ E HOQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693