DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a second filter circuit" in line 4 without reciting “a first filter circuit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suto (US 2011/0204910 A1, cited in IDS, heretofore referred to as Suto) in view of Khan et al (US 2024/0288507 A1, heretofore referred to as Khan).
Regarding claim 1, Suto teaches a system for testing a DUT (Suto; Fig 3, Element 240 and Par 0038) comprising a device (Suto; Fig 3, Element 230) associated with a pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0055; Suto teaches a pulsed signal is received from the DUT), the system comprising: a conductive structure wirelessly coupled to the device such that a change in electrical energy in the device produces a transient response on the conductive structure (Suto; Fig 3, Element 231 and Par 0039; Suto teaches a detector plate which is capacitively coupled to the DUT, i.e. non-contact); and circuitry configured to perform operations comprising: converting the transient response into an electrical signal (Suto; Par 0039-0040); and generating, based on the electrical signal, a local pulsed signal that corresponds to the pulsed signal used in the switched-mode power supply (Suto; Fig 4, Element 415 and Par 0054-0056; Suto teaches the response signal is to correspond with the measured signals).
Suto is silent on the DUT being a switched-mode power supply comprising a device associated with a pulse-width modulated (PWM) signal and the pulsed signal being a PWM signal.
Khan teaches a switched-mode power supply (Khan; Fig 1, Element 128 and Par 0042; Khan teaches a power circuit which operates via a modulating PWM signal) comprising a device associated with a pulse-width modulated (PWM) signal (Khan; Fig 1, Elements Device 1-4) and the pulsed signal being a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043; Khan teaches the testing signal for the power supply is a PWM signal).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Suto with the power supply DUT of Khan as both systems test pulsed signals from a DUT and Khan would allow for the testing of aging and other possible failures of a power supply (Khan; Par 0050).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the electrical signal comprises a differential signal (Suto; Fig 7, Element 705 and Par 0096-0098; Suto teaches the test signal which produces the response may be the differential between the test signal and a clock signal, i.e. the electrical signal is a differential signal).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Khan further teaches further comprising: devices configured to determine one or more attributes of the local PWM signal, the one or more attributes comprising one or more of a relative average voltage of the local PWM signal, a peak-to-peak voltage or amplitude of the local PWM signal, an average duty cycle of the local PWM signal, power of the local PWM signal, or a frequency of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the circuitry comprises a filter circuit having hysteresis (Suto; Fig 3, Element 244 and Par 0041), the local pulsed signal being based on an output of the filter circuit (Suto; Par 0051 and Par 0069; Suto teaches the coupled signal is output by the filter). Khan teaches the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the conductive structure comprises a conductive plate at least partly wrapped in an insulating material (Suto; Fig 3, Element 213, Par 0039, and Par 0042; Suto teaches the conductive structure is a plate and has at least a wired connector which would contain at least some insulation).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Khan further teaches wherein the local PWM signal comprises a reconstruction of the PWM signal used in the switched-mode power supply (Khan; Par 0048-0049; Khan teaches the local signal is duplicated from the transmitted signal), the local PWM signal having a substantially same frequency and substantially same pulse widths as the PWM signal used in the switched-mode power supply (Khan; Par 0048-0049; Khan teaches the signal has the same frequency and duty-ratio, i.e. pulse width).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the circuitry comprises: an amplifier circuit (Suto; Fig 3, Element 243) configured to receive the electrical signal and to produce an amplified electrical signal based on the received electrical signal (Suto; Par 0051 and 0069; Suto teaches amplifying the signal); a filter circuit (Suto; Fig 3, Element 244) comprising a charge storage element (Suto; Par 0069; Suto teaches at least a lo pass filter which may contain a capacitor) configured to capture signal transient edges and to remove at least some noise from the amplified electrical signal to produce an intermediate signal having rising and falling edges corresponding to rising and falling edges of the pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0067; Suto teaches the noise is removed from the signal to better define said signal, which consists of rising and falling edges); and a comparator circuit configured to compare the intermediate signal to a predefined reference voltage and to output the local pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0061 and Par 0100; Suto teaches the signal is sent to be compared against a threshold of a voltage). Khan teaches the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Khan further teaches wherein the circuitry comprises: a peak detector circuit configured to receive the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 8A and Par 0067) and to determine a value of a peak-to-peak voltage or amplitude of the local PWM signal (Khan; Par 0068-0069; Khan teaches at least detecting the peak voltage of the PWM signal).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the circuitry comprises: a filter circuit configured to receive the local pulsed signal (Suto; Fig 3, Element 244 and Par 0041) and to determine a value of a relative average voltage of the local pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0073; Suto teaches the coupled signal is used to find an average voltage). Khan teaches the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches further comprising: a peak detector circuit configured to receive the local pulsed signal and to determine a value of a peak-to-peak voltage or amplitude of the local pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0054 and Par 0073; Suto teaches a peak detection of at least two peaks and the detection of the amplitude); and a second filter circuit (Suto; Fig 3, Element 244 and Par 0041) configured to receive the local pulsed signal and to determine a value of a relative average voltage of the local pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0073; Suto teaches the coupled signal is used to find an average voltage). Khan further teaches wherein an average duty cycle of the PWM signal used in the switched-mode power supply is based on the peak-to-peak voltage or amplitude of the local PWM signal and the relative average voltage of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller) and the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the circuitry comprises: first circuitry configured to perform at least the converting (Suto; Fig 3, Element 231 and Par 0039-0040; Suto teaches the plate converts the signal); and second circuitry configured to perform at least the generating, the second circuitry being remote from the first circuitry (Suto; Fig 3, Element 242 and Par 0054-0056; Suto teaches the generated signal is made via a second circuitry connected to the first circuitry by connection 213, i.e. it is at least remote be the distance of the connecting wire).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 10. Suto further teaches further comprising: two or more conductors between the first circuitry and the second circuitry (Suto; Fig 3, Element 213 and Par 0054-0056; Suto teaches multiple connections); wherein the first circuitry comprise a converter circuit configured to convert a single-ended signal that is based on the transient response into a differential signal for output to the two or more conductors (Suto; Fig 7, Element 705 and Par 0096-0098; Suto teaches the test signal which produces the response may be the differential between the test signal and a clock signal, i.e. the electrical signal is a differential signal).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 12. Suto further teaches wherein the second circuitry comprises multiplexer circuitry (Suto; Fig 3, Element 245), the multiplexer circuitry being configured to receive the electrical signal over a test channel and to select the electrical signal based on a signal corresponding to the switched-mode power supply (Suto; Par 0049-0051; Suto teaches the appropriate signal is selected).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 11. Suto further teaches wherein the system is configured to test multiple switched-mode power supplies each comprising a respective device associated with a respective pulsed signal (Suto; Fig 3, Elements 231-1-231-N and Par 0050); and wherein the system comprises: multiple instances of the conductive structure each wirelessly coupled to respective devices of different respective switched-mode power supplies (Suto; Fig 3, Elements 231-1-231-N); and multiple instances of the first circuitry each configured to convert a transient response from each respective instance of the conductive structure to a respective electrical signal (Suto; Par 0049-0051; Suto teaches there are multiple conductive plates to convert measured signals to a response signal). Khan teaches the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 14. Suto further teaches wherein the second circuitry comprises a pair of multiplexers (Suto; Fig 3, Element 245 and Par 0052; Suto teaches multiple multiplexers may be used), the pair of multiplexers being configured to receive a device of each respective electrical signal over a respective test channel (Suto; Par 0053-0054; Suto teaches multiple signals may be monitored) and to select a received device of the electrical signal to process in the second circuitry based on a signal corresponding to the switched-mode power supply (Suto; Par 0049-0051; Suto teaches the appropriate signal is selected).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 14. Suto further teaches wherein the system comprises: multiple instances of the second circuitry that are remote from corresponding instance of the first circuitry and that are each configured to determine, based on a respective electrical signal, values corresponding to one or more attributes of a respective local pulsed signal (Suto; Fig 3, Element 245 and Par 0049-0052; Suto teaches multiple multiplexers may be used and the appropriate signal is selected). Khan teaches the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 16. Suto further teaches wherein each instance of the second circuitry comprises a pair of multiplexers (Suto; Fig 3, Element 245 and Par 0052; Suto teaches multiple multiplexers may be used), each pair of multiplexers being configured to receive respective electrical signals over respective test channels (Suto; Par 0053-0054; Suto teaches multiple signals may be monitored) and to select received respective electrical signals to process in the each instance of the second circuitry (Suto; Par 0049-0051; Suto teaches the appropriate signal is selected).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the system of claim 1. Suto further teaches wherein the local PWM signal is an inverted version of the PWM signal (Suto; Par 0099; Suto teaches negative peaks may be interpreted as positive peaks, i.e. inverting the signal).
Regarding claim 19, Suto teaches a method of testing a DUT (Suto; Fig 3, Element 240 and Par 0038) comprising a device (Suto; Fig 3, Element 230) associated with a pulsed signal (Suto; Par 0055; Suto teaches a pulsed signal is received from the DUT), the method comprising: receiving, at a conductive structure wirelessly coupled to the device (Suto; Fig 3, Element 231 and Par 0039; Suto teaches a detector plate which is capacitively coupled to the DUT, i.e. non-contact), a transient response that is based on a change in electrical energy in the device (Suto; Par 0039-0040); converting the transient response into an electrical signal; and generating a local pulsed signal that corresponds to the pulsed signal used in the switched-mode power supply based on the electrical signal (Suto; Fig 4, Element 415 and Par 0054-0056; Suto teaches the response signal is to correspond with the measured signals).
Suto is silent on the DUT being a switched-mode power supply comprising a device associated with a pulse-width modulated (PWM) signal and the pulsed signal being a PWM signal.
Khan teaches a switched-mode power supply (Khan; Fig 1, Element 128 and Par 0042; Khan teaches a power circuit which operates via a modulating PWM signal) comprising a device associated with a pulse-width modulated (PWM) signal (Khan; Fig 1, Elements Device 1-4) and the pulsed signal being a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043; Khan teaches the testing signal for the power supply is a PWM signal).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Suto with the power supply DUT of Khan as both systems test pulsed signals from a DUT and Khan would allow for the testing of aging and other possible failures of a power supply (Khan; Par 0050).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 19. Khan further teaches further comprising: determining values corresponding to one or more attributes of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 20. Khan further teaches wherein determining the values corresponding to the one or more attributes of the local PWM signal comprises: determining a value of a peak-to-peak voltage or amplitude of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, amplitude, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 20. Khan further teaches wherein determining the values corresponding to the one or more attributes of the local PWM signal comprises: determining a value of a relative average voltage of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 20. Khan further teaches wherein determining the values corresponding to the one or more attributes of the local PWM signal comprises: determining a value of an average duty cycle of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 20. Khan further teaches wherein determining the values corresponding to the one or more attributes of the local PWM signal comprises: determining a value of a frequency of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 19. Khan further teaches wherein the one or more attributes comprise one or more of a relative average voltage of the local PWM signal, a peak-to-peak voltage or amplitude of the local PWM signal, an average duty cycle of the local PWM signal, or a frequency of the local PWM signal (Khan; Fig 1, Element 132, Par 0049, and Par 0071; Khan teaches at least the average duty cycle, frequency, and voltage may be determined by the controller).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 19. Suto further teaches wherein generating the local PWM signal comprises: producing an amplified electrical signal based on the received electrical signal (Suto; Par 0051 and 0069; Suto teaches amplifying the signal); and removing at least some noise from the amplified electrical signal to produce an intermediate electrical signal (Suto; Par 0067; Suto teaches the noise is removed from the signal to better define said signal, which consists of rising and falling edges); wherein the local pulsed signal is generated based on the intermediate electrical signal (Suto; Par 0061 and Par 0100; Suto teaches the signal is sent to be compared against a threshold of a voltage). Khan teaches the pulsed signal is a PWM signal (Khan; Par 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 19. Khan further teaches wherein the local PWM signal has a substantially same frequency and duty cycle as the PWM signal used in the switched-mode power supply (Khan; Par 0048-0049; Khan teaches the signal has the same frequency and duty-ratio, i.e. pulse width).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Suto and Khan teaches the method of claim 19. Suto further teaches wherein converting is perform by first circuitry (Suto; Fig 3, Element 231 and Par 0039-0040; Suto teaches the plate converts the signal), generating is performed by second circuitry, and the first circuitry is remote from the second circuitry (Suto; Fig 3, Element 242 and Par 0054-0056; Suto teaches the generated signal is made via a second circuitry connected to the first circuitry by connection 213, i.e. it is at least remote be the distance of the connecting wire).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Khamesra et al teaches a power converter fault detector with a non-contact isolation barrier.
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858