DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Response to Appeal Brief Filled 07/08/2026
An appeals conference has been conducted and a decision on reopening prosecution in light of newly found prior art has been made and is detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (US 20190242985 A1) in view of Wehling (DE 102017108341 A1, all citations provided from machine translation attached) and Littrell (US 20250056164 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ishii teaches a sensing method that comprises: transmitting an acoustic burst that propagates through a surface over an ultrasonic transducer (ultrasonic sensor 2). (Paragraph 31, 17, Fig.1)
Ishii also teaches receiving an acoustic signal with a MEMS (micro-electromechanical systems) receiver (receiving element 222 is a micro electro mechanical systems (MEMS) element having a function of converting mechanical vibrations and electric signals), the MEMS receiver representing the acoustic signal as an electrical receive signal. (Paragraphs 66, 94, Claim 6, Figs.1, 3-5)
Ishii also teaches processing the electrical receive signal to detect a reflection of the acoustic burst (MEMS element having a function of converting mechanical vibrations and electric signals) (receive a reflected wave by an object existing around the ultrasonic sensor 2 and generate a reception signal). (Paragraphs 66, 31, 85, Figs.1, 3-5)
Ishii does not explicitly teach the surface being unblemished by any visible indication of a sensor and a MEMS microphone.
Wehling teaches the surface being unblemished by any visible indication of a sensor (the ultrasonic sensor device is arranged completely hidden behind a bumper). (Page.7, lines 11-16)
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate the surface being unblemished by any visible indication of a sensor as taught by Wehling in order to protect the sensor from elements thus avoiding damage to the sensor from rocks, debris and other elements and further modify Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 2, Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the surface has no opening or acoustic window for conveying the acoustic burst.
Wehling teaches wherein the surface has no opening or acoustic window for conveying the acoustic burst. (Page.7, lines 11-16)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate wherein the surface has no opening or acoustic window for conveying the acoustic burst as taught by Wehling in order to protect the sensor from elements thus avoiding damage to the sensor from rocks, debris and other elements
Regarding claim 3, Ishii teaches wherein the surface includes an aperture for passing the acoustic signal to the MEMS receiver. (Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach a MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 4, Ishii teaches wherein the surface is a bumper cover or body panel of a vehicle. (Paragraph 28, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 5, Ishii teaches wherein the MEMS receiver is positioned to receive the acoustic signal as the acoustic signal passes to a side or around an edge of the surface. (Paragraphs 31, 66, 94, Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach a MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 6, Ishii teaches wherein ultrasonic transducer and the MEMS receiver are part of a concealed assembly that further includes a controller configured to perform said processing. (Paragraph 44, Figs.1-2)
Ishii does not explicitly teach a MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 7, Ishii teaches wherein said ultrasonic transducer is one of an array of ultrasonic transducers cooperatively transmitting the acoustic burst through the surface. (Paragraphs 96, 79, Fig.6)
Regarding claim 10, Ishii teaches an ADAS (advanced driver-assistance system) comprising: an ultrasonic transducer configured to transmit an acoustic burst (ultrasonic sensor 2 is configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic waves) that propagates through a surface over the ultrasonic transducer. (Abstract, Paragraphs 17, 31, Fig.1)
Ishii also teaches a MEMS (micro-electromechanical systems) receiver configured to convert a received acoustic signal into an electrical receive signal (receiving element 222 is a micro electro mechanical systems (MEMS) element having a function of converting mechanical vibrations and electric signals). (Paragraphs 66, 94, Claim 6, Figs.1, 3-5)
Ishii also teaches a controller configured to detect a reflection of the acoustic burst based on the electrical receive signal (MEMS element having a function of converting mechanical vibrations and electric signals) (receive a reflected wave by an object existing around the ultrasonic sensor 2 and generate a reception signal. (Paragraphs 44, 66, 31, 85, Figs.1-5)
Ishii does not explicitly teach the surface being unblemished by any visible indication of a sensor and a MEMS microphone.
Wehling teaches the surface being unblemished by any visible indication of a sensor (the ultrasonic sensor device is arranged completely hidden behind a bumper). (Page.7, lines 11-16)
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate the surface being unblemished by any visible indication of a sensor as taught by Wehling in order to protect the sensor from elements thus avoiding damage to the sensor from rocks, debris and other elements and further modify Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 11, Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the surface has no opening or acoustic window for conveying the acoustic burst.
Wehling teaches wherein the surface has no opening or acoustic window for conveying the acoustic burst. (Page.7, lines 11-16)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate wherein the surface has no opening or acoustic window for conveying the acoustic burst as taught by Wehling in order to protect the sensor from elements thus avoiding damage to the sensor from rocks, debris and other elements
Regarding claim 12, Ishii teaches wherein the surface includes an aperture for passing the acoustic signal to the MEMS receiver. (Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach a MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 13, Ishii teaches wherein the surface is a cover of a vehicle bumper. (Paragraph 28, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 14, Ishii teaches wherein the MEMS receiver is positioned to receive the acoustic signal as the acoustic signal passes to a side or around an edge of the surface. (Paragraphs 31, 66, 94, Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach a MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 15, Ishii teaches wherein ultrasonic transducer, the MEMS receiver, and the controller are each part of a concealed assembly that contacts a backside of the surface. (Paragraph 44, Figs.1-2)
Ishii does not explicitly teach a MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 16, Ishii teaches wherein said ultrasonic transducer is one of an array of ultrasonic transducers configured to cooperatively transmit the acoustic burst through the surface. (Paragraphs 96, 79, Fig.6)
Regarding claim 17, Ishii teaches wherein the ultrasonic transducer is further configured to convert acoustic signals into a second electrical receive signal, and wherein the controller operates on the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the MEMS receiver to detect the reflection. (Paragraphs 31, 79, 85, 94, 96, 102, Claim 5, Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach the MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone as taught by Littrell in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 18, Ishii teaches a sensor controller that comprises: a transmitter that drives an ultrasonic transducer to transmit an acoustic burst (ultrasonic sensor 2 is configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic waves) that propagates through a bumper cover or body panel (an ultrasonic sensor is, for example, equipped to an outer wall of a vehicle, such as at a bumper). (Paragraphs 31, 44, 17, Figs.1-2)
Ishii also teaches a receiver that receives an electrical receive signal from a MEMS receiver representing an acoustic signal (receiving element 222 is a micro electro mechanical systems (MEMS) element). (Paragraphs 66, 94, Claim 6, Figs.1, 3-5)
Ishii also teaches a processor that processes the electrical receive signal to detect a reflection of the acoustic burst (receive a reflected wave by an object existing around the ultrasonic sensor 2 and generate a reception signal. (Paragraphs 44, 66, 31, 85, Figs.1-5)
Ishii does not explicitly teach an acoustic burst that propagates through a bumper cover or body panel unblemished by any indication of a sensor and a MEMS microphone.
Wehling teaches an acoustic burst that propagates through a bumper cover or body panel unblemished by any indication of a sensor (the ultrasonic sensor device is arranged completely hidden behind a bumper). (Page.7, lines 11-16)
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate an acoustic burst that propagates through a bumper cover or body panel unblemished by any indication of a sensor as taught by Wehling in order to protect the sensor from elements thus avoiding damage to the sensor from rocks, debris and other elements and further modify Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 19, Ishii teaches a second receiver configured to receive a second electrical receive signal from the ultrasonic transducer, wherein the processor is configured to detect the reflection based on each of the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the MEMS receiver. (Paragraphs 31, 79, 85, 94, 96, 102, Claim 5, Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach the MEMS microphone.
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone as taught by Littrell in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Wehling, Littrell and Caspall (US 20210132204 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic burst is steerable by the array of ultrasonic transducers.
Caspall teaches wherein the acoustic burst is steerable by the array of ultrasonic transducers. (Paragraph 6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate wherein the acoustic burst is steerable by the array of ultrasonic transducers as taught by Caspall in order to allow for precise aiming of sound energy thus having results that are clearer and at desired target.
Regarding claim 9, Ishii teaches receiving a second acoustic signal with the ultrasonic transducer, the ultrasonic transducer conveying the second acoustic signal as a second electrical receive signal. (Paragraphs 79, 94, 96, 102, Claim 5, Fig.1)
Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the processing determines a distance to a reflector based at least in part on the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the MEMS microphone.
Caspall teaches wherein the processing determines a distance to a reflector based at least in part on the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the receiver. (Paragraphs 50, 54)
Littrell teaches a MEMS microphone. (Paragraph 3, 38, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate wherein the processing determines a distance to a reflector based at least in part on the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the receiver as taught by Caspall in order build a picture on the display of the environment and further modify Ishii to incorporate a MEMS microphone as taught by Littrell in order to converts sound pressure into an electrical voltage and/or convert movement into an electrical voltage.
Regarding claim 20, Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to provide a controllable phase shift between the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the MEMS microphone for controllable directional sensitivity.
Caspall teaches wherein the processor is configured to provide a controllable phase shift between the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the MEMS microphone for controllable directional sensitivity. (Paragraphs 6, 72, 81)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Ishii to incorporate wherein the processor is configured to provide a controllable phase shift between the second electrical receive signal and the electrical receive signal from the MEMS microphone for controllable directional sensitivity as taught by Caspall in order build a picture on the display of the environment with improved image quality and resolution.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645