DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “ELECTRONIC APPARATUS AND CONTROLLING METHOD THEREOF,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 20050168705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1-29) comprising: a projection unit (Fig. 3); a sensor assembly (10; [0045], [0053], [0079], [0080]); and a processor (22) configured to: acquire state information (by projection screen detection module 14) including at least one of horizontal inclination information, vertical inclination information, or horizontal distortion information based on sensing data acquired through the sensor assembly (10; [0047]-[0073], [0079]), based on acquiring at least one of the horizontal inclination information or the vertical inclination information in the state information, perform a keystone function (by keystone detection and correction module 18; [0038], [0047], [0073], [0074], [0076], [0078]), based on acquiring the horizontal distortion information in the state information, perform a leveling function ([0083]), and control the projection unit (Fig. 3) to output a projection image onto a projection surface.
Regarding claim 2, Li further teaches the processor (22) further configured to: acquire information based on the projection surface ([0050], [0052], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0057], [0060], [0069], [0071], [0079]), identify a size of a projection area in which the projection image is output and a size of the projection image based on the information based on the projection surface ([0050], [0056], [0060]), and control the projection unit (Fig. 3) to output the projection image in the projection area based on the size of the projection image ([0050]), and wherein the information based on the projection surface comprises: at least one of pattern information of the projection surface, color information of the projection surface, or distance information between the projection surface and the electronic apparatus ([0050], [0052], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0057], [0060], [0069], [0071], [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, Li further teaches the processor (22) is further configured to: based on identifying a predetermined object (edges, lines in a pattern), control the projection unit (Fig. 3) to output the projection image depending on a location of the predetermined object ([0049], [0050]-[0058], [0068]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Li further teaches the predetermined object comprises a line object (lines in a pattern), and wherein the processor (22) is further configured to: based on identifying the line object (Fig. 23; [0050]-[0058]), control the projection unit (Fig. 3) such that the line object and an outer rim portion of the projection image are in parallel (keystone correction; Fig. 23; [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Li further teaches the predetermined object comprises an edge object ([0050], [0055], [0069]-[0072]), and wherein the processor (22) is further configured to: control the projection unit (Fig. 3) to output the projection image onto a first projection surface among a plurality of projection surfaces divided by the edge object (centering; Fig. 26; [0050], [0073], [0085], [0089]).
Regarding claim 7, Li further teaches wherein the processor (22) is further configured to: based on identifying a predetermined event, provide a user interface (UI) for providing at least one function of a rotation function of a projection image, a size change function of a projection image, or a location change function of a projection image ([0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a method of controlling an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1-29), the method comprising: acquiring state information including at least one of horizontal inclination information, vertical inclination information, or horizontal distortion information ([0047]-[0073], [0079]); based on acquiring at least one of the horizontal inclination information or the vertical inclination information in the state information, performing a keystone function ([0038], [0047], [0073], [0074], [0076], [0078]; based on acquiring the horizontal distortion information in the state information, performing a leveling function ([0083]); and outputting a projection image onto a projection surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Li further teaches acquiring information based on the projection surface ([0050], [0052], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0057], [0060], [0069], [0071], [0079]); identifying a size of a projection area in which the projection image is output and a size of the projection image based on the information based on the projection surface ([0050], [0056], [0060]); and outputting the projection image in the projection area based on the size of the projection image ([0050]), wherein the information based on the projection surface comprises: at least one of pattern information of the projection surface, color information of the projection surface, or distance information between the projection surface and the electronic apparatus ([0050], [0052], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0057], [0060], [0069], [0071], [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Li further teaches, based on identifying a predetermined object, outputting the projection image depending on a location of the predetermined object ([0049], [0050]-[0058], [0068]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 14, Li further teaches wherein the predetermined object comprises a line object (lines in a patternn), and wherein the outputting the projection image comprises: based on identifying the line object (Fig. 23; [0050]-[0058]), outputting the projection image such that the line object and an outer rim of the projection image are in parallel (keystone correction; Fig. 23; [0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Li further teaches wherein the predetermined object comprises an edge object ([0050], [0055], [0069]-[0072]), and wherein the outputting the projection image comprises: outputting the projection image onto a first projection surface among a plurality of projection surfaces divided by the edge object (centering; Fig. 26; [0050], [0073], [0085], [0089]).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Furui (US 20130235082 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Li further teaches a camera (10; [0045]); but Li does not explicitly teach the processor (22) further configured to: based on acquiring vibration information greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the sensing data of the sensor assembly (10), acquire a captured image through the camera, and identify the predetermined object based on the captured image.
Furui teaches the processor (160) configured to: based on acquiring vibration information greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the sensing data of the sensor assembly (129), acquire a captured image through the camera (190; [0051], [0077], [0078], [0082]), and identify the predetermined object (by line detection part 122; S155) based on the captured image (by camera 190; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Li with Furui; because it ensures continuous operation of the projector thereby improve viewers’ experience.
Regarding claim 8, Li does not teach the processor (22) is further configured to: after performing at least one of the keystone function or the leveling function based on the state information, and based on acquiring movement information greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the sensing data of the sensor assembly (10), perform at least one of the keystone function or the leveling function.
Furui teaches the processor (160) is further configured to: after performing at least one of the keystone function (S180) or the leveling function based on the state information (S185), and based on acquiring movement information (S20; S185) greater than or equal to a threshold value based on the sensing data of the sensor assembly (129), perform at least one of the keystone function (S180) or the leveling function (Fig. 10; [0077], [0078], [0082]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Li with Furui; because it ensures continuous operation of the projector thereby improve viewers’ experience.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shigeta (US 20210110790 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Li further teaches manually location the projection screen ([0058], [0085], [0086]) but does not teach does not teach a communication interface configured to communicate with an external apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to: acquire location information of the external apparatus, and identify a projection area in which the projection image is output based on the location information of the external apparatus.
Shigeta teaches a communication interface (122) configured to communicate with an external apparatus (input device, [0055], [0072], [0074], [0076]), wherein the processor (100; [0080]) is further configured to: acquire location information of the external apparatus ([0072], [0074], [0076]), and identify a projection area in which the projection image is output based on the location information of the external apparatus ([0074], [0080], [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Li with Shigeta; because it allows greater automation of the process of designating the screen thereby improving user experience.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Li and Shigeta consequently results in the processor (100 of Shigeta) is further configured to: based on a change of the location information of the external apparatus, change the projection area in which the projection image is output (Fig. 1, 2, 10, [0053], [0055], [0073] of Shigeta).
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20220038668 A1, US 20210314538 A1, US 20190124309 A1, US 20150146047 A1, US 20100128231 A1, US 20100103385 A1, and US 20100103386 A1, disclose keystone correction system for projectors using a combination of sensors and cameras.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882