DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 9-18, and 20 are pending in this application.
Claims 8 and 19 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 are amended.
Claims 1-7, 9-18, and 20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 5 December 2025, with respect to the objection of claims 2, 6-8, 13, and 17-19 have been fully considered, and the objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunzel (Foreign Reference DE102013209242A1) in view of Furness et al. (US Publication 2013/0079998 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gunzel teaches a vehicle control apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store program instructions; and a processor configured to execute the program instructions, wherein the processor is configured to: (Gunzel: Para. 22; storage medium may comprise a SW program which is configured to be executed on a processor) execute an automatic vehicle wash standby mode of determining whether it is necessary to execute an automatic vehicle wash mode of operating a function required for a vehicle before the vehicle is washed (Gunzel: Para. 11-12; control unit can be configured to ascertain the plurality of indicia at a first point in time; determined probability value is equal to or greater than a predefined probability threshold value; vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line), based on an identification that the vehicle enters a car wash, through a camera sensor (Gunzel: Para. 9; determined that the vehicle is located in the vicinity of a washing facility or filling station; on the basis of the data of a front camera); ……….. ; and execute the automatic vehicle wash mode (Gunzel: Para. 12; first state may correspond to the state "vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line"; deactivate the at least one of the one or more driver assistance functions when the vehicle is in the first state).
Gunzel doesn’t explicitly teach determine that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on at least one of that a speed of the vehicle is a threshold speed or less, that a gear of the vehicle is set to gear “P” or gear “N”, that it is identified that a distance between a car wash brush and the vehicle is within a threshold distance, through a distance sensor, that moisture is sensed through a rain sensor, or that shaking of the vehicle is sensed through a sensor configured to sense the shaking of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode.
However, Gunzel is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Gunzel teaches environmental and vehicle sensors that collect data (Gunzel: Para. 31). The system uses a plurality of indicators in a weighted sum to create a probability value that the vehicle is located in a washing facility (Gunzel: Para. 11). When the probability is equal to or above a predefined probability threshold value, the vehicle is in the first state of located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12). Gunzel includes determining that the vehicle is travelling less than a predetermine speed, the vehicle is in neutral, detecting precipitation through a rain sensor, and determining a washing brush near the vehicle through ultrasonic sensors (Gunzel: Para. 31, 34). It would be obvious from Gunzel’s list that a combination sensed data creates a probability that determines the vehicle is in a washer or in a wash line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have a combination of vehicle factors and environmental data to determine that the vehicle is located near or in a car wash taught in Gunzel with a reasonable expectation of success because an active driver assistance system can lead to damage to the vehicle or for the washing process to be interrupted if the driver forgets to deactivate a driver assistance system or close the sunroof and windows as taught by Gunzel (Gunzel: Para. 2-3).
Gunzel doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the automatic vehicle wash standby mode being executed, execute a first function including at least one of the folding of an outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of a door glass of a first row, closing of a sunroof, switching-off of a wiper, or any combination thereof; and based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed, execute a second function including at least one of locking of an automatic flush door handle, closing of a door glass of a second row or more, locking of a power tailgate, locking of a power sliding door, locking of an EV charging door, locking of a trunk, or any combination thereof.
However Furness, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the automatic vehicle wash standby mode being executed, execute a first function including at least one of the folding of an outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of a door glass of a first row, closing of a sunroof, switching-off of a wiper, or any combination thereof (Furness: Para. 20, 37, 41; entering car wash mode, the parameters associated with the entering car wash mode are retrieved from the parameters datastore and control signals and/or messages are generated; control (e.g., windows, windshield wipers, mirrors, running boards, antennas, etc.), how to control the vehicle components (e.g., extend, retract, close, etc)); and based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed, execute a second function including at least one of locking of an automatic flush door handle, closing of a door glass of a second row or more, locking of a power tailgate, locking of a power sliding door, locking of an EV charging door, locking of a trunk, or any combination thereof (Furness: Para. 20, 37, 42; in car wash mode, the parameters associated with the in car wash mode are retrieved from the parameters datastore and control signals and/or messages are generated; control (e.g., windows, windshield wipers, mirrors, running boards, antennas, etc.), how to control the vehicle components (e.g., extend, retract, close, etc)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) with a reasonable expectation of success because retracting extended car components while in a car wash protects components while ensuring that they can be cleaned (Furness: Para. 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Gunzel teaches the vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: release the automatic vehicle wash mode based on an identification that a start of the vehicle is switched on again after the start of the vehicle is switched off, in the automatic vehicle wash mode; or release the automatic vehicle wash mode based on an identification that the gear of the vehicle is set to gear “D” or gear “R”, in the automatic vehicle wash mode (Gunzel: Para. 40; if the state "vehicle is no longer present in the washing facility/road" for the first time, the previously active functions and functions deactivated by the control unit are activated again).
Regarding claim 9, Gunzel teaches the vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: based on an identification that a start of the vehicle is switched off, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode, determine that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on at least one of that the speed of the vehicle is the threshold speed or less, that the gear of the vehicle is set to gear “P” or gear “N”, that the distance between the car wash brush and the vehicle is identified to be within the threshold distance through the distance sensor, that moisture is sensed through the rain sensor, or that shaking of the vehicle is sensed through the sensor configured to sense the shaking of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, by operating a timer for a preset time period (Gunzel: Para. 31, 34; determine that an engine of the vehicle is off; determine, on the basis of the environmental sensors and/or on the basis of vehicle sensors, that the vehicle is located in a wash line; determine (e.g., based on transmission sensors) that the vehicle is idling or a gear in gear N (neutral)).
Regarding claim 12, Gunzel teaches a vehicle control method comprising: executing, by a processor (Gunzel: Para. 22; storage medium may comprise a SW program which is configured to be executed on a processor), an automatic vehicle wash standby mode of determining whether it is necessary to execute an automatic vehicle wash mode of operating a function required for a vehicle before the vehicle is washed (Gunzel: Para. 11-12; control unit can be configured to ascertain the plurality of indicia at a first point in time; determined probability value is equal to or greater than a predefined probability threshold value; vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line), based on an identification that the vehicle enters a car wash, through a camera sensor (Gunzel: Para. 9; determined that the vehicle is located in the vicinity of a washing facility or filling station; on the basis of the data of a front camera); ……… ; and executing, by the processor, the automatic vehicle wash mode (Gunzel: Para. 12; first state may correspond to the state "vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line"; deactivate the at least one of the one or more driver assistance functions when the vehicle is in the first state).
Gunzel doesn’t explicitly teach determining, by the processor, that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on that a speed of the vehicle is a threshold speed or less, that a gear of the vehicle is set to gear “R” or gear “N”, that it is identified that a distance between a car wash brush and the vehicle is within a threshold distance, through a distance sensor, that moisture is sensed through a rain sensor, or that shaking of the vehicle is sensed through a sensor configured to sense the shaking of the vehicle, or at least one of any combinations thereof, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode.
However, Gunzel is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Gunzel teaches environmental and vehicle sensors that collect data (Gunzel: Para. 31). The system uses a plurality of indicators in a weighted sum to create a probability value that the vehicle is located in a washing facility (Gunzel: Para. 11). When the probability is equal to or above a predefined probability threshold value, the vehicle is in the first state of located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12). Gunzel includes determining that the vehicle is travelling less than a predetermine speed, the vehicle is in neutral, detecting precipitation through a rain sensor, and determining a washing brush near the vehicle through ultrasonic sensors (Gunzel: Para. 31, 34). It would be obvious from Gunzel’s list that a combination sensed data creates a probability that determines the vehicle is in a washer or in a wash line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have a combination of vehicle factors and environmental data to determine that the vehicle is located near or in a car wash taught in Gunzel with a reasonable expectation of success because an active driver assistance system can lead to damage to the vehicle or for the washing process to be interrupted if the driver forgets to deactivate a driver assistance system or close the sunroof and windows as taught by Gunzel (Gunzel: Para. 2-3).
Gunzel doesn’t explicitly teach wherein executing, by the processor, of the automatic vehicle wash standby mode of determining includes executing, by the processor, a first function including at least one of folding of an outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of a door glass of a first row, closing of a sunroof, switching-off of a wiper, or any combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash standby mode being executed, and wherein the executing, by the processor, of the automatic vehicle wash mode includes executing, by the processor, a second function including at least one of locking of an automatic flush door handle, closing of a door glass of a second row or more, locking of a power tailgate, combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed.
However Furness, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein executing, by the processor, of the automatic vehicle wash standby mode of determining includes executing, by the processor, a first function including at least one of folding of an outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of a door glass of a first row, closing of a sunroof, switching-off of a wiper, or any combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash standby mode being executed (Furness: Para. 20, 37, 41; entering car wash mode, the parameters associated with the entering car wash mode are retrieved from the parameters datastore and control signals and/or messages are generated; control (e.g., windows, windshield wipers, mirrors, running boards, antennas, etc.), how to control the vehicle components (e.g., extend, retract, close, etc)), and wherein the executing, by the processor, of the automatic vehicle wash mode includes executing, by the processor, a second function including at least one of locking of an automatic flush door handle, closing of a door glass of a second row or more, locking of a power tailgate, combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed (Furness: Para. 20, 37, 42; in car wash mode, the parameters associated with the in car wash mode are retrieved from the parameters datastore and control signals and/or messages are generated; control (e.g., windows, windshield wipers, mirrors, running boards, antennas, etc.), how to control the vehicle components (e.g., extend, retract, close, etc)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) with a reasonable expectation of success because retracting extended car components while in a car wash protects components while ensuring that they can be cleaned (Furness: Para. 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Gunzel teaches the vehicle control method of claim 12, further comprising: releasing, by the processor, the automatic vehicle wash mode based on an identification that a start of the vehicle is switched on again after the start of the vehicle is switched off, in the automatic vehicle wash mode, or releasing the automatic vehicle wash mode based on an identification that the gear of the vehicle is set to gear “D” or gear “R”, in the automatic vehicle wash mode (Gunzel: Para. 40; if the state "vehicle is no longer present in the washing facility/road" for the first time, the previously active functions and functions deactivated by the control unit are activated again).
Regarding claim 20, Gunzel teaches the vehicle control method of claim 12, wherein the determining, by the processor, that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on that the speed of the vehicle is the threshold speed or less, that the gear of the vehicle is set to gear “R” or gear “N”, that it is identified that the distance between the car wash brush and the vehicle is within the threshold distance, through the distance sensor, that moisture is sensed through the rain sensor, or that shaking of the vehicle is sensed through the sensor configured to sense the shaking of the vehicle, or at least one of any combinations thereof, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode includes: determining, by a controller, that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on at least one of that the speed of the vehicle is the threshold speed or less, that the gear of the vehicle is set to gear “P” or gear “N”, that the distance between the car wash brush and the vehicle is identified to be within the threshold distance through the distance sensor, that moisture is sensed through the rain sensor, or that shaking of the vehicle is sensed through the sensor configured to sense the shaking of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, by operating a timer for a preset time period, based on an identification that a start of the vehicle is switched off, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode (Gunzel: Para. 31; determine, on the basis of the environmental sensors and/or on the basis of vehicle sensors, that the vehicle is located in a wash line; determine (e.g., based on transmission sensors) that the vehicle is idling or a gear in gear N (neutral)).
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunzel (Foreign Reference DE102013209242A1) in view of Furness et al. (US Publication 2013/0079998 A1), and in further view of Belz (Foreign Reference DE102021126458A1)..
Regarding claim 2, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach execute at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, or any combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches execute at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, or any combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed (Belz: Para. 17; predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode, open vehicle windows and/or an open sunroof of the motor vehicle are closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 3, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach provide a notification for identifying whether the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed, through at least one of a display or an audio component, or any combination thereof, based on a determination that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches provide a notification for identifying whether the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed, through at least one of a display or an audio component, or any combination thereof, based on a determination that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode (Belz: Para. 7; determining by means of at least one vehicle sensor whether the motor vehicle is in a car wash, wherein, if the motor vehicle is in a car wash, it is determined whether a vehicle occupant is in the motor vehicle, wherein, if a vehicle occupant is in the motor vehicle, a request is made to the vehicle occupant by means of a display device of the motor vehicle as to whether the motor vehicle should be switched to the car wash mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 4, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach not execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is not executed by a user; or execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed by the user.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches not execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is not executed by a user; or execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed by the user (Belz: Para. 4; receiving the first user input signal, activating a vehicle car wash mode in response to receiving the first user input signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 6, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being released, return at least one of the outside mirror, the door glass, the sunroof, the rain sensor, the automatic flush door handle, the power tailgate, the power sliding door, the EV charging door, or the trunk of the vehicle, or any combination thereof to a state before the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being released, return at least one of the outside mirror, the door glass, the sunroof, the rain sensor, the automatic flush door handle, the power tailgate, the power sliding door, the EV charging door, or the trunk of the vehicle, or any combination thereof to a state before the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed (Belz: Para. 34; motor vehicle is leaving the car wash, whereupon it can be switched back to a normal mode of the motor vehicle, which corresponds to the settings before entering the car wash; windows can be opened again).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 7, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach execute the automatic vehicle wash mode again, based on an identification that a state corresponding to at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the door glass, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, locking of the automatic flush door handle, locking of the power tailgate, locking of the power sliding door, locking of the EV charging door, or locking of the trunk, or any combination thereof is not maintained.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches execute the automatic vehicle wash mode again, based on an identification that a state corresponding to at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the door glass, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, locking of the automatic flush door handle, locking of the power tailgate, locking of the power sliding door, locking of the EV charging door, or locking of the trunk, or any combination thereof is not maintained (Belz: Para. 17; predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode, open vehicle windows and/or an open sunroof of the motor vehicle are closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 10, Gunzel teaches a vehicle control apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store program instructions; and a processor configured to execute the program instructions, wherein the processor is configured to: (Gunzel: Para. 22; storage medium may comprise a SW program which is configured to be executed on a processor) execute an automatic vehicle wash standby mode of determining whether it is necessary to execute an automatic vehicle wash mode of operating a function required for a vehicle before the vehicle is started to be washed (Gunzel: Para. 11-12; control unit can be configured to ascertain the plurality of indicia at a first point in time; determined probability value is equal to or greater than a predefined probability threshold value; vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line), based on an identification that the vehicle enters a car wash, through a camera sensor (Gunzel: Para. 9; determined that the vehicle is located in the vicinity of a washing facility or filling station; on the basis of the data of a front camera).
Gunzel doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the automatic vehicle wash standby mode being executed, execute a first function including at least one of folding of an outside mirror of the vehicle, closing a door glass of a first row, of a sunroof, switching-off of a wiper, or any combination thereof; and based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being, executed, execute a second function including at least one of locking of an automatic flush door handle, closing of a door glass of a second row or more, locking of a power tailgate, locking of a power sliding door, locking of an EV charging door, locking of a trunk, or any combination thereof.
However Furness, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the automatic vehicle wash standby mode being executed, execute a first function including at least one of folding of an outside mirror of the vehicle, closing a door glass of a first row, of a sunroof, switching-off of a wiper, or any combination thereof (Furness: Para. 20, 37, 41; entering car wash mode, the parameters associated with the entering car wash mode are retrieved from the parameters datastore and control signals and/or messages are generated; control (e.g., windows, windshield wipers, mirrors, running boards, antennas, etc.), how to control the vehicle components (e.g., extend, retract, close, etc)); and based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being, executed, execute a second function including at least one of locking of an automatic flush door handle, closing of a door glass of a second row or more, locking of a power tailgate, locking of a power sliding door, locking of an EV charging door, locking of a trunk, or any combination thereof (Furness: Para. 20, 42; in car wash mode, the parameters associated with the in car wash mode are retrieved from the parameters datastore and control signals and/or messages are generated; control (e.g., windows, windshield wipers, mirrors, running boards, antennas, etc.), how to control the vehicle components (e.g., extend, retract, close, etc)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) with a reasonable expectation of success because retracting extended car components while in a car wash protects components while ensuring that they can be cleaned (Furness: Para. 2-3).
Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on that opening of a door of the vehicle is identified and a first operation of a key of the vehicle is identified, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on that opening of a door of the vehicle is identified and a first operation of a key of the vehicle is identified, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode.
Belz teaches determining if a vehicle occupant is in the motor vehicle with either an interior camera or seat occupancy detector (Belz: Para. 9). The system determines if the vehicle is in the car wash and there is no vehicle occupant, then the system automatically switches to the car was mode (Belz: Para. 14). The system first determines that the vehicle is in a car wash based on the vehicle’s position and outward facing camera (Belz: Para. 8). The system automatically moves to the car wash mode at this time if there is no person in the vehicle. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the identification of a vehicle door opening along with cameras and/or seat occupancy detector to determine that a vehicle is in a car wash and a person is not in the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 11, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach release the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on that a second operation of the key of the vehicle is identified, in the automatic vehicle wash mode.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches release the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on that a second operation of the key of the vehicle is identified, in the automatic vehicle wash mode (Belz: Para. 4; receiving a second user input signal, and deactivating the car wash mode in response to receiving the second user input signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 13, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach executing, by the processor, at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the door glass, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, or any combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches executing, by the processor, at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the door glass, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, or any combination thereof, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being executed (Belz: Para. 17; the side mirrors of the vehicle can be folded in automatically when the vehicle is in car wash mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 14, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach providing, by the processor, a notification for identifying whether the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed, through at least one of a display or an audio component, or any combination thereof, based on a determination that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches providing, by the processor, a notification for identifying whether the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed, through at least one of a display or an audio component, or any combination thereof, based on a determination that it is necessary to execute the automatic vehicle wash mode, in the automatic vehicle wash standby mode (Belz: Para. 7; determining by means of at least one vehicle sensor whether the motor vehicle is in a car wash, wherein, if the motor vehicle is in a car wash, it is determined whether a vehicle occupant is in the motor vehicle, wherein, if a vehicle occupant is in the motor vehicle, a request is made to the vehicle occupant by means of a display device of the motor vehicle as to whether the motor vehicle should be switched to the car wash mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 15, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach not executing, by the processor, the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is not executed by a user, or executing the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed by the user.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches not executing, by the processor, the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is not executed by a user, or executing the automatic vehicle wash mode, based on an identification that the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed by the user (Belz: Para. 4; receiving the first user input signal, activating a vehicle car wash mode in response to receiving the first user input signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 17, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach returning, by the processor, at least one of the outside mirror, the door glass, the sunroof, the rain sensor, the automatic flush door handle, the power tailgate, the power sliding door, the EV charging door, the trunk of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, to a state before the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being released.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches returning, by the processor, at least one of the outside mirror, the door glass, the sunroof, the rain sensor, the automatic flush door handle, the power tailgate, the power sliding door, the EV charging door, the trunk of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, to a state before the automatic vehicle wash mode is executed, based on the automatic vehicle wash mode being released (Belz: Para. 34; motor vehicle is leaving the car wash, whereupon it can be switched back to a normal mode of the motor vehicle, which corresponds to the settings before entering the car wash; windows can be opened again).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Regarding claim 18, Gunzel and Furness don’t explicitly teach executing the automatic vehicle wash mode again, based on an identification that a state corresponding to at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the door glass, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, locking of the automatic flush door handle, locking of the power tailgate, locking of the power sliding door, locking of the EV charging door, locking of the trunk, or any combination thereof is not maintained.
However Belz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches executing the automatic vehicle wash mode again, based on an identification that a state corresponding to at least one of folding of the outside mirror of the vehicle, closing of the door glass, closing of the sunroof, switching-off of the rain sensor, locking of the automatic flush door handle, locking of the power tailgate, locking of the power sliding door, locking of the EV charging door, locking of the trunk, or any combination thereof is not maintained (Belz: Para. 17; predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode, open vehicle windows and/or an open sunroof of the motor vehicle are closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic deactivation of driver assistance functions when a vehicle is located in a washer or in a wash line (Gunzel: Para. 12) with the various car wash modes (Furness: Para. 20) and the predefined vehicle function settings in the car wash mode (Belz: Para. 17) with a reasonable expectation of success because a car wash mode that close windows, fold in side mirrors, and deactivate vehicle function settings to relieve the vehicle occupant of the preparatory work and checks when visiting a car wash, increasing the driver’s comfort (Belz: Para. 12, 17-18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663