Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed August 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-9 and 11-12 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooike JP 2004087543 A in view of McDonald et al. US 2002/0172239 A1 (hereinafter referred to as McDonald) in view of Ko et al. US 2010/0309937 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ko).
Regarding claim 1, Ooike discloses a laser assembly (fig. 4, laser main body 10, , par. [0013]) comprising: a semiconductor laser (fig. 1, semiconductor laser element 31, par. [0015], [0018]); a current pulse driver (fig. 5, LD driving unit 56, par. [0019]) configured to pump the semiconductor laser (fig. 1, semiconductor laser element 31, par. [0019]); wherein the current pulse driver (fig. 5, LD driving unit 56, par. [0019]) and the semiconductor laser fig. 1, semiconductor laser element 31, par. [0015], [0018]) are co-located in a package (see fig. 1, laser system 11).
Ooike does not disclose controller circuitry configured to control the heat source to provide heat from the heat source to the semiconductor laser, to tune an output of the semiconductor laser, a wavelength-selective element configured to transmit a selected wavelength from the semiconductor laser; and the wavelength-selective element, wherein the wavelength-selective element is heated by the heat source to select a specific range of wavelengths of light beams that are input to the wavelength-selective element.
McDonald discloses a wavelength-selective element (fig. 1, thermo-optically tunable etalons 24, 26, par. [0012], [0042]) configured to transmit a selected wavelength from the semiconductor laser (fig. 1, Fabry-Perot diode emitter chip 12, par. [0041]); and the wavelength-selective element, wherein the wavelength-selective element is heated by the heat source (fig. 1, thermal control element 36, 38, par. [0045]) to select a specific range of wavelengths of light beams (see fig. 2A, 2B, abs., par. [0050]-[0054]) that are input to the wavelength-selective element; and the laser output is tuned by temperature control (fig. 1, controller 40, par. 0045]) of the heat source (fig. 1, thermal control element 36, 38, par. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a laser apparatus and method that utilizes dual, tunable elements by means of tuning by temperature-induced change in etalon material refractive index, temperature induced change in the physical thickness of an etalon, or both to provide for wavelength tuning of a light beam, as taught in Lou in modifying the apparatus of Ooike. The motivation would be efficient suppression of transmission peaks at unwanted wavelengths (see McDonald: abs., par. [0012]).
Ko discloses controller circuitry (fig. 2, first power supply 201, par. [0037]-[0041]) configured to control the heat source (fig. 2, heat source device 202, par. [0037]-[0041]) to provide heat from the heat source to the semiconductor laser (fig. 2, semiconductor laser diode 203, par. [0037]-[0041]), to tune an output of the semiconductor laser (par. [0037]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (provide semiconductor laser apparatus is provided which can vary an output wavelength of a light source), as taught in Ko in modifying the apparatus of Ooike and McDonald. The motivation would be the output wavelength of semiconductor laser diode can be changed easily and quickly, and the wavelength tunable rate is made high (see Ko: abs.).
Regarding claim 4, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike discloses further comprising one or more optical elements (see fig. 4, above with optical elements) to direct a laser beam (see fig. 4, laser output 65) emitted from the laser (fig. 4, laser 25, col. 6, ln. 43-45) and/or change a polarization of the light beam.
Regarding claim 8, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike discloses wherein the heat source (fig. 4, thermo-electric (TE), col. 6, ln. 45) (fig. 1, thermomodule 16, par. [0015], [0018]) is configured to heat the semiconductor laser (fig. 1, semiconductor laser element 31, par. [0015], [0018]) the wavelength-selective element (fig. 1, optical filter 43, abs. par.[0014], [0018]), and the one or more optical elements (fig. 1, elm. 35, 41, abs. par.[0013], [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike discloses wherein from the heat source (fig. 1, thermomodule 16, par. [0015], [0018]) to the semiconductor laser (fig. 1, semiconductor laser element 31, par. [0018]) and to the wavelength-selective element (fig. 1, optical filter 43, abs. par.[0014], [0018]), is from excitation by AC or DC currents (par. [0018]).
Ooike and McDonald do not explicitly discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike and McDonald do not disclose wherein the controller circuitry is configured to excite the heat source with AC or DC currents, to provide heat from the heat source.
Regarding claim 10, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 9, Ooike and McDonald do not explicitly disclose wherein the excitation is only turned on during a period when measurement is not being performed, which would eliminate currents that generate stray magnetic field. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operation of Ooike, McDonald and Ko to be able turn off the excitation during the period when measurement are being performed, to eliminate currents that generate stray magnetic field, as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well- known in the art that currents generate magnetic field, therefore disabling the current source would improve the measured signals integrity and would have been a matter of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, McDonald discloses wherein the wavelength-selective element (fig. 1, thermo-optically tunable etalons 24, 26, par. [0012], [0042]) includes at least one of: a surface or volume grating, a reflective mirror, and an electro-optically active material (par. [0011]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike discloses wherein the light beams that are input to the wavelength-selective element (fig. 1, thermo-optically tunable etalons 24, 26, par. [0012], [0042]) have a first range of wavelengths, and the selected specific range (see fig. 2A, 2B, abs., par. [0050]-[0054])of the wavelengths is narrower than and overlaps with the first range of wavelengths (fig. 5, par. [0083]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Ooike discloses a method comprising: pumping a semiconductor laser (fig. 1, semiconductor laser element 31, par. [0015], [0018]-[0019]) by a current pulse driver (fig. 5, LD driving unit 56, par. [0019]), wherein the current pulse driver and the semiconductor laser are co-located in a package (see fig. 1, laser system 11);
Ooike does not disclose transmitting, by a wavelength-selective element, a selected wavelength from the semiconductor laser; and heating, by a heat source different from the semiconductor laser, the semiconductor laser and the wavelength-selective element, wherein the wavelength- selective element is heated by the heat source to select a specific range of wavelengths of light beams that are input to the wavelength-selective element, wherein the heating of the semiconductor laser includes controlling the heat source to provide heat from the heat source to the semiconductor laser, to tune an output of the semiconductor laser.
McDonald discloses transmitting, by a wavelength-selective element (fig. 1, thermo-optically tunable etalons 24, 26, par. [0012], [0042]), a selected wavelength from the semiconductor laser (fig. 1, Fabry-Perot diode emitter chip 12, par. [0041]); and heating, by a heat source (fig. 1, thermal control element 36, 38, par. [0045]) different from the semiconductor laser, the semiconductor laser and the wavelength-selective element, wherein the wavelength-selective element is heated by the heat source (fig. 1, thermal control element 36, 38, par. [0045]) to select a specific range of wavelengths of light beams (see fig. 2A, 2B, abs., par. [0050]-[0054]) that are input to the wavelength-selective element.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Ko discloses wherein the heating of the semiconductor laser (fig. 2, semiconductor laser diode 203, par. [0037]-[0041]), includes controlling (fig. 2, first power supply 201, par. [0037]- [0041]) the heat source (fig. 2, heat source device 202, par. [0037]-[0041]) to provide heat from the heat source to the semiconductor laser, to tune an output of the semiconductor laser (par.[0037]- [0041]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooike in view of McDonald in view of Ko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zheng CN 209133839 U.
Regarding claim 2, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike, McDonald and Ko do not disclose wherein the current pulse driver is made with substantially non-magnetic.
Zheng discloses wherein the current pulse driver (fig. 1, semiconductor laser pump power, 2nd par.) is made with substantially non-magnetic (fig. 2, non-magnetic elements, 4th par.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a semiconductor laser pump power provided by the utility model of the storage capacitor connected in series with an external laser, charging channel in parallel at the two ends of the laser, so it only uses two leads that can be connected with the constant-current charge unit as taught in Zheng in modifying the apparatus of Ooike, McDonald and Ko. The motivation would be to reduce the complexity of system and improves reliability and reduces the production cost. (see Zheng: abs.).
Regarding claim 3, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike, McDonald and Ko do not disclose wherein the current pulse driver is configured to couple with a charge storage device and to pump the semiconductor with a charge stored in the charge storage device.
Zheng discloses wherein the current pulse driver (fig. 1, semiconductor laser pump power, 2nd par.) is configured to couple with a charge storage device (fig. 1, elm. 6, 2nd par.) and to pump the semiconductor with a charge stored in the charge storage device (2nd par.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a semiconductor laser pump power provided by the utility model of the storage capacitor connected in series with an external laser, charging channel in parallel at the two ends of the laser, so it only uses two leads that can be connected with the constant-current charge unit as taught in Zheng in modifying the apparatus of Ooike, McDonald and Ko. The motivation would be to reduce the complexity of system and improves reliability and reduces the production cost. (see Zheng: abs.).
Regarding claim 5, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike , McDonald and Ko do not disclose wherein the charge storage device is a capacitor and the current pulse driver is a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET), and wherein the laser is controlled by an applied voltage.
Zheng disclose wherein the charge storage device is a capacitor (fig. 1, elm. 6, 2nd par.) and the current pulse driver is a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) (fig. 1, Q1, 2nd par.), and wherein the laser is controlled by an applied voltage (power supply voltage, 2nd par.).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooike in view of McDonald in view of Ko in view of Zheng as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Telefus DE102014103503A1.
Regarding claim 6, Ooike, McDonald, Ko and Zheng discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike, McDonald, Ko and Zheng do not disclose wherein the charge storage device is charged only during a first time period so as to eliminate currents flowing that generate stray magnetic field during a second time period different from the first time period.
Telefus discloses wherein the charge storage device (fig. 1, C1, par. [0005]) is charged only during a first time period (transistor T1 is turned on, par. [0005]) so as to eliminate currents flowing that generate stray magnetic field (releasing the magnetic field energy stored in transformer 12) during a second time period (transistor T1 is turned off, par. [0005]) different from the first time period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a voltage within a predetermined range is required, which is formed of a voltage source having a different voltage level, as taught in Telefus in modifying the apparatus of Ooike, McDonald, Ko and Zheng. The motivation would be to control power during power-on of a device under load. (see Telefus: par. [0002]-[0004]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooike in view of McDonald in view of Ko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schwindt.
Regarding claim 7, Ooike, McDonald and Ko discloses the laser assembly of claim 1, Ooike, McDonald and Ko do not disclose further comprising: another semiconductor laser; and a waveplate; wherein the two laser emit light beams with different polarization states, and the waveplate is configured to change the polarization states of the two light beams differently.
Schwindt discloses: another semiconductor laser (fig. 1, laser 20, col. 8, ln. 17-18) (fig. 1, laser 30, col. 9, ln. 38), and a waveplate (fig. 1, waveplate 26, col. 9, ln. 62); wherein the two laser emit light beams with different polarization states, and the waveplate is configured to change the polarization states of the two light beams differently (col. 9, ln. 62 -col. 10, ln. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control polarizations of the pump and probe light beams by a dichroic waveplate which is dimensioned so as to convert the D1 light, which is initially linearly polarized, into a circularly polarized beam while maintaining the linear polarization of the D2 probe light beam, as taught in Schwindt in modifying the apparatus of Ooike, McDonald and Ko. The motivation would be to method obviates any need for orthogonality between the pump and probe light beam axes and allows any or all vector components of the field to be measured. (see Schwindt: col. 13, ln. 19-30).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
9/2/2026