DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species C (claims 1-13, new claims 16, 17) in the reply filed on 8/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species A-C represent the same structure in the same embodiment. This is found persuasive. However, the Species requirement between D and E is still applicable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a plurality of supporting members, disposed on the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure and embedded in the redistributed circuit structure” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 16, 17 is / are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the supporting structure 198 may be embedded in the opening of the topmost insulating layer 132 to be connected to the topmost conductive layer 131 ([0029]), an feature subsequently connected to the supporting member 110 may be regarded as being embedded in the first encapsulant 120 ([0056]), the supporting structure 118 may be embedded in the encapsulating material 129 ([0070]), does not reasonably provide enablement for “a plurality of supporting members, disposed on the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure and embedded in the redistributed circuit structure” as recited in claim 1. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and / or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The supporting members 110 appear to be embedded in the first encapsulant 120 (Fig. 2) instead.
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1-13, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a second encapsulant before reciting a first encapsulant. The order of the limitations should be changed or the label of “first” and “second” should be switched.
Claim 17 recites: “compared to other places…a portion of the supporting surface close to the first encapsulant is more concave toward a direction…” It is unclear what constitutes the claims “other places,” what portion is considered “close to,” and what objective boundary or comparison establishes “more concave.” Accordingly, the meters and bounds of the claimed surface configuration cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Also, either claim 16 or claim 17 should depend from claim 8 which is where a first and a second encapsulating surface are claimed.
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 12, 16 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 9,704,790 (Wu), equivalent of TW Publication No. 2017-32970, cited by Applicant.
Wu discloses (at least Figs. 10, 11)
1. (Original) A package structure, comprising:
a redistributed circuit structure 400, having opposite first surface (bottom) and second surface (top).
a plurality of chips 420a / 420b, disposed on the second surface (top) of the redistributed circuit structure 400;
a second encapsulant 500, disposed on the second surface (top) of the redistributed circuit structure 400 and covers the chips 420a / 420b;
a plurality of supporting members 302a, disposed on the first surface (bottom) of the redistributed circuit structure 400 and embedded in the redistributed circuit structure 400 (first encapsulant 310 / 610);
a first encapsulant 310 / 610, disposed on the first surface (bottom) of the redistributed circuit structure 400 and covers the supporting members 302a; and
a plurality of connection terminals 520, connected to the supporting members 302a.
Wu discloses
2. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second encapsulant 500 is greater than a thickness of the first encapsulant 310 / 610.
Wu discloses
3. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein opposite two ends of the supporting members 302a directly contact the connection terminal 520 and the redistribution circuit structure 400 / 414a respectively.
Wu discloses
4. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first encapsulant 310 / 610a is greater than a thickness of the supporting members 302a.
Wu discloses
7. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the connection terminals 520 is embedded in the first encapsulant 310 / 610a.
Wu discloses
8. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein:
the first encapsulant 500 has opposite first encapsulating surface and second encapsulating surface;
the supporting members 302a have a supporting surface;
the first encapsulating surface and the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure 400 are coplanar; and
the second encapsulating surface 310 / 610a and the supporting surface are not coplanar.
Wu discloses
12. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the supporting members 302a overlaps the chips 420a / 420b.
Wu discloses
16. (New) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the first encapsulant 310 / 610, a sidewall of the redistributed circuit structure 400, and a sidewall of the second encapsulant 500 are flush with each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0246508 (Yen).
Wu fails to disclose
5. (Original) The package structure according to claim 4, wherein each of the supporting members comprises a first portion and a second portion surrounding the first portion, and a thickness of the first portion is different from a thickness of the second portion.
Yen teaches (at least Fig. 3)
A package structure comprising:
wherein each of the supporting members 140 comprises a first portion and a second portion surrounding the first portion, and a thickness of the first portion is different from a thickness of the second portion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a supporting member having portions with different thicknesses in Wu. The motivation would be based on routine optimization as shown in Yen. See MPEP 2144.05.
Yen teaches
6. (Original) The package structure according to claim 5, wherein a thickness of the first portion is greater than a thickness of the second portion.
Claim(s) 9, 17 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claim 8 / 16 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0381383 (Hsu).
Wu fails to disclose
9. (Original) The package structure according to claim 8, wherein the supporting surface is not planar.
Hsu teaches (at least Fig. 5G)
A package structure comprising:
wherein the supporting surface (of supporting member 144) is not planar (concave).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a supporting member having a nonplanar supporting surface in Wu. The motivation would be based on routine optimization or to completely encapsulate the connection terminal as shown in Hsu. See MPEP 2144.05.
Wu discloses
17. (New) The package structure according to claim 16, wherein:
the first encapsulant 310 / 610 has a second encapsulating surface (bottom) distant from the redistributed circuit structure 400;
the supporting members 302a have a supporting surface (bottom) distant from the redistributed structure 400;
Wu fails to disclose
the supporting surface is concave relative to the second encapsulating surface and is not coplanar with the second encapsulating surface; and
compared to other places in the supporting surface, a portion of the supporting surface close to the first encapsulant is more concave toward a direction of the redistributed circuit structure.
Hsu teaches
the supporting surface (of supporting member 144) is concave relative to the second encapsulating surface (of Wu) and is not coplanar with the second encapsulating surface (of Wu); and
compared to other places in the supporting surface (of supporting member 144), a portion of the supporting surface (of supporting member 144) close to the first encapsulant 115 / 210 is more concave toward a direction of the redistributed circuit structure 400 (Wu).
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claim 8 / 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0030173 (Fang).
Wu fails to disclose
10. (Original) The package structure according to claim 8, wherein the supporting surface is an etched surface.
Fang teaches
A package structure comprising:
wherein the supporting surface 909 is an etched surface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a supporting member having an etched surface in Wu. The motivation would be to facilitate placement, containment, and direct mechanical and electrical connectivity of the connection terminal as taught by Fang ([0028], [0040]).
Fang teaches (at least Fig. 9)
11. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein the first encapsulant 903 has an encapsulating surface distant from the redistributed circuit structure 130 / 823, the supporting members 819 have a supporting surface distant from the redistributed circuit structure 130 / 823, and a roughness of the encapsulating surface 903 is different from a roughness of the supporting surface.
Claim(s) 17 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claim 8 / 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0393200 (Chang Chien).
Wu fails to disclose
13. (Original) The package structure according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the supporting members is electrically connected to the chips, and a portion of the supporting members is electrically separated from the chips.
Chang Chien teaches
A package structure comprising:
wherein a portion of the supporting members 504 is electrically connected to the chips 300 / 604, and a portion of the supporting members 504 is electrically separated from the chips 300 / 604.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide some unconnected supporting members in Wu. The motivation would be to serve as dummy or mechanical support structures which are critical for the physical stability and manufacturing yield as shown in Chang Chien (which is well-known in the package art). See MPEP 2144.03.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 8,410,585 (Ahn), U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2006/0097366 (Sirinorakul), 2017/0221858 (Yu) teach a package structure having a redistribution circuit structure, supporting members, and multiple encapsulants.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893