DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 04/11/2024, wherein:
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Claim 4, 6-7, 10-17, and 19-20 are amended.
Claim 21 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the scope of the claim recites “a computer program comprising instructions for causing a communications system to perform the method”. A computer program is a non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 7-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (WO 2024186081 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a communications apparatus, configured for determining a cell for Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH (Abstract, Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose UE configured for transmitting PUCCH), transmission for each of a plurality of slots configured,
wherein the communications apparatus is configured to communicate via a first cell and a second cell (Fig. 20-22 and ¶523-535 disclose UE communicating with Pcell and Scell), and the communications apparatus comprises:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Abstract, Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose UE configured for transmitting PUCCH, it is inherent that UE comprise processor and memory storing instruction for performing the procedure) cause the communications apparatus at least to:
obtain a first cell Discontinuous Reception, DRX, configuration for the first cell, the first cell DRX configuration comprising cell DRX non-active periods and/or cell DRX active periods for the plurality of slots (Abstract – “A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system according to the present disclosure comprises the steps of: receiving a first signal, including cell discontinuous reception (DRX)-related information about a first cell, from a base station; and identifying a cell DRX non-active period on the basis of the cell DRX-related information”, Fig. 20); and
if detecting a slot for which the first cell is at least partially in a cell DRX non-active period during the slot (Fig. 20 and ¶523 – “FIG. 20 as an example, in a situation where the first cell and the second cell are present, the first cell may be a second period NON-ACTIVE in a specific period, while the second cell may be a first period ACTIVE. The L1 or L2 signal for setting the first section and the second section of each cell DRX or cell DTX may be separately present or simultaneously indicated for each cell. In this situation, when the first cell is the PCell, the terminal may not transmit the PUCCH transmittable in only the corresponding PCell during the second period. Therefore, it may be necessary to transmit the PUCCH that cannot be transmitted to another cell other than the PCell. Accordingly, the following detailed embodiments will be described in detail”), determine the second cell as a cell for PUCCH transmission during the detected slot (¶525-535 disclose transmitting PUCCH on a determined Scell instead of Pcell when the PUCCH is overlapped with the non-active period of Pcell).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the slot is a slot for PUCCH transmission of the PCell, or the PUCCH switching SCell (¶527 – “For example, as the higher signal-based PUCCH transmission cell selection scheme, the base station may indicate a set of cells through which the UE may transmit the PUCCH during a specific period. For example, 10 bits may be configured, and if the bitmap indicates a value of 0 or 1, the PCell may be a PCell, and when 1 is 1, it may be possible to mean a specific SCell. Through this, in the case of 0000011111, the UE may transmit the PUCCH through the PCell in the first 5 slots during 10 slot periods, and then may identify that the PUCCH may be transmitted through the SCell in the 5 slots”), PUCCH-sSCell, or a slot of the reference SCS configuration.
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein preferably the communications apparatus is caused to: if detecting the first cell to be in a cell DRX non-active period during a slot for PUCCH transmission of the first cell, determine the second cell as a cell for PUCCH transmission during the detected slot (Fig. 20, ¶527 – “For example, as the higher signal-based PUCCH transmission cell selection scheme, the base station may indicate a set of cells through which the UE may transmit the PUCCH during a specific period. For example, 10 bits may be configured, and if the bitmap indicates a value of 0 or 1, the PCell may be a PCell, and when 1 is 1, it may be possible to mean a specific SCell. Through this, in the case of 0000011111, the UE may transmit the PUCCH through the PCell in the first 5 slots during 10 slot periods, and then may identify that the PUCCH may be transmitted through the SCell in the 5 slots”).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the communications apparatus is further caused to: if detecting the first cell not to be in a cell DRX non-active period during a slot for PUCCH transmission of the first cell, determine the first cell as a cell for PUCCH transmission during the detected slot (Fig. 20, ¶527 – “For example, as the higher signal-based PUCCH transmission cell selection scheme, the base station may indicate a set of cells through which the UE may transmit the PUCCH during a specific period. For example, 10 bits may be configured, and if the bitmap indicates a value of 0 or 1, the PCell may be a PCell, and when 1 is 1, it may be possible to mean a specific SCell. Through this, in the case of 0000011111, the UE may transmit the PUCCH through the PCell in the first 5 slots during 10 slot periods”).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first cell is a PUCCH switching SCell, PUCCH-sSCell, and the second cell is a Primary Cell, PCell, or the first cell is a PCell and the second cell is a PUCCH-sSCell (Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose first cell is PCell and second cell is SCell for PUCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communications apparatus is a User Equipment, UE, and the UE is further caused to: transmit PUCCH on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission during the slot to a gNodeB, gNB, and not transmit PUCCH on the other cell during the slot (Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose UE transmitting PUCCH on PCell or SCell of a gNB based on whether the timeslot of PCell or SCell is active or non-active slot).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communications apparatus is a gNodeB, gNB, and the gNB is further caused to: receive PUCCH on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission during the slot from a User Equipment, UE, and not receive PUCCH on the other cell during the slot (Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose UE transmitting PUCCH on PCell or SCell based on whether the timeslot of PCell or SCell is active or non-active slot, which indicated that the gNB will received the PUCCH on PCell or SCell based on the active/non-active time slot status).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the communications system, comprising a User Equipment, UE, a first cell and a second cell configured to cover the UE, and a gNodeB, gNB, configured to communicate with the UE via the first cell and the second cell, wherein the communications system is configured for determining a cell for Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, transmission for each of a plurality of slots configured (Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose a system comprising UE and gNB with PCell and SCell, wherein UE transmits PUCCH on PCell or SCell based on whether the timeslot of PCell or SCell is active or non-active slot, which indicated that the gNB will received the PUCCH on PCell or SCell based on the active/non-active time slot status), wherein: at least one of the UE and the gNB is a communications apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 20-22 and ¶0523-535 disclose UE being the communication apparatus of claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the communications system according to claim 14, wherein the gNB is configured to: transmit, to the UE, a first cell Discontinuous Reception, DRX, configuration for the first cell, the first cell DRX configuration comprising cell DRX non-active periods and/or cell DRX active periods for the plurality of slots (¶527 – “For example, as the higher signal-based PUCCH transmission cell selection scheme, the base station may indicate a set of cells through which the UE may transmit the PUCCH during a specific period. For example, 10 bits may be configured, and if the bitmap indicates a value of 0 or 1, the PCell may be a PCell, and when 1 is 1, it may be possible to mean a specific SCell. Through this, in the case of 0000011111, the UE may transmit the PUCCH through the PCell in the first 5 slots during 10 slot periods, and then may identify that the PUCCH may be transmitted through the SCell in the 5 slots”).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the communications system according to claim 14, wherein the gNB is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a second cell DRX configuration for the second cell, the second cell DRX configuration comprising cell DRX non-active periods and/or cell DRX active periods (¶527 – “For example, as the higher signal-based PUCCH transmission cell selection scheme, the base station may indicate a set of cells through which the UE may transmit the PUCCH during a specific period. For example, 10 bits may be configured, and if the bitmap indicates a value of 0 or 1, the PCell may be a PCell, and when 1 is 1, it may be possible to mean a specific SCell. Through this, in the case of 0000011111, the UE may transmit the PUCCH through the PCell in the first 5 slots during 10 slot periods, and then may identify that the PUCCH may be transmitted through the SCell in the 5 slots”).
Regarding claim 18, the scope and content of the claim recites a method performed by the communication apparatus of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the method of a communications system being configured for determining a cell for Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, transmission for each of a plurality of PUCCH slots configured for a first cell, the communications system comprising a User Equipment, UE, the first cell and a second cell configured to cover the UE, and a gNodeB, gNB, configured to communicate with the UE via the first cell and the second cell (Fig. 20-22, and ¶523-535 disclose a system comprising UE and gNB with PCell and SCell, wherein UE transmits PUCCH on PCell or SCell based on whether the timeslot of PCell or SCell is active or non-active slot, which indicated that the gNB will received the PUCCH on PCell or SCell based on the active/non-active time slot status), wherein the method comprises: at least one of the UE and the gNB performing the method of claim 18 (Fig. 20-22 and ¶0523-535 disclose UE being the communication apparatus of claim 18).
Regarding claim 20, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer program comprising instructions for causing a communications system to perform the method according to claim 19, therefore, being addressed as in claim 19 since it is known in the art that the instructions are required for the hardware components of communication system to performs its function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-6, 10, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643