DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0102623 A1~ hereinafter “Jeong”).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a display device comprising: a substrate (310); an insulating layer (400; [0142]) over the substrate; a color conversion layer (330, 340; [0142]); a first inorganic film (391; [0141]); and a second inorganic film (393; [0152]), wherein the insulating layer (400) comprises an opening (see fig. 6), wherein the color conversion layer (330, 340) is in the opening, wherein the first inorganic film (391) comprises a first portion between the insulating layer (400) and the color conversion layer (330, 340) in the opening and a second portion between the substrate (310) and the color conversion layer (330, 340) in the opening, and wherein the second inorganic film (393) is over the color conversion layer.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a height from a top surface of the substrate (310) to a top surface of the insulating layer (400) is higher than a height from the top surface of the substrate to a top surface of the color conversion layer (330, 340).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a coloring layer (231, 232, 233; [0132]), wherein the coloring layer comprises a portion between the substrate (310) and the insulating layer (400) and a portion between the substrate (310) and the first inorganic film (391).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong discloses (in at least figs. 5 and 6) a light-emitting device (ED1-ED3), wherein the light-emitting device (ED1-ED3) overlaps with the color conversion layer (330, 340).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong discloses (in at least figs. 1 and 2; [0078]) An electronic appliance comprising the display device according to claim 1, and at least one of a sensing portion, an input portion, and a communication portion ([0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0102623 A1~ hereinafter “Jeong” in view of Lee et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0045132 A1~hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a display device comprising: a substrate (310); an insulating layer (400; [0142]) over the substrate; a color conversion layer (330, 340; [0142]); a first inorganic film (391; [0141]); and a second inorganic film (393; [0152]), wherein the insulating layer (400) comprises an opening (see fig. 6), wherein the color conversion layer (330, 340) is in the opening, wherein the first inorganic film (391) comprises a first portion between the insulating layer (400) and the color conversion layer (330, 340) in the opening, a second portion between the substrate (310) and the color conversion layer (330, 340) in the opening.
Jeong does not expressly disclose a third portion over the insulating layer, and wherein the second inorganic film is over the color conversion layer and the third portion.
Lee discloses (in at least at least fig. 2) a display device comprised of, in part, a first inorganic film (242; [0081]) comprised of, in part, a third portion over the insulating layer (260; [0082]), and wherein the second inorganic film (241; [0074]) is over the color conversion layer (250; [0081]) and the opening in order to reduce or effectively prevent impurities such as moisture and air from penetrating to the color filter layer and the color conversion layer from outside ([0081]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to arrange the first inorganic film of Jeong as taught by Lee in order to reduce or effectively prevent impurities such as moisture and air from penetrating to the color filter layer and the color conversion layer from outside ([0081]). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses (in at least at least fig. 2) the third portion is in contact with the second inorganic film (241).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a display device comprising: a substrate (310); an insulating layer (400; [0142]) over the substrate; a color conversion layer (330, 340; [0142]); a first inorganic film (391; [0141]); and a second inorganic film (393; [0152]), wherein the insulating layer (400) comprises an opening (see fig. 6), wherein the color conversion layer (330, 340) is in the opening, wherein the first inorganic film (391) comprises a first portion between the insulating layer (400) and the color conversion layer (330, 340) in the opening, a second portion between the substrate (310) and the color conversion layer (330, 340) in the opening.
Jeong does not expressly a third portion over the insulating layer, wherein the second inorganic film is over the color conversion layer and the third portion, and wherein the third inorganic film comprises a portion between the substrate and the insulating layer and a portion between the substrate and the first inorganic film.
Lee discloses (in at least fig. 2) a display device comprised of, in part, a first inorganic film (242; [0081]) comprised of, in part, a third portion over the insulating layer (260; [0082]), and wherein the second inorganic film (241; [0074]) is over the color conversion layer (250; [0081]) and the third portion, and wherein a third inorganic film (400; 153; [0067]) comprises a portion between the substrate (110) and the insulating layer (260) and a portion between the substrate and the first inorganic film ( 242) in order to reduce or effectively prevent impurities such as moisture and air from penetrating to the color filter layer and the color conversion layer from outside ([0081]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the display device of Jeong with the teachings of Lee in order to reduce or effectively prevent impurities such as moisture and air from penetrating to the color filter layer and the color conversion layer from outside ([0081]). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses (in at least fig. 2) the first inorganic film (242) comprises a fourth portion in contact with the second inorganic film (241) and the third inorganic film (400).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a height from a top surface of the substrate (310) to a top surface of the insulating layer (391) is higher than a height from the top surface of the substrate to a top surface of the color conversion layer (330, 340).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a coloring layer (231, 232, 233; [0132]), wherein the coloring layer comprises a portion between the substrate (310) and the insulating layer (400) and a portion between the substrate (310) and the first inorganic film (391).
Regarding claim 12, Jeong discloses (in at least figs. 5 and 6) a light-emitting device (ED1-ED3), wherein the light-emitting device (ED1-ED3) overlaps with the color conversion layer (330, 340).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 5 and 6) an electronic appliance comprising the display device according to claim 2, and at least one of a sensing portion, an input portion, and a communication portion ([0078]).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong as modified by Lee (in at least figs. 5 and 6 Jeong; fig. 2 Lee) a height from a top surface of the substrate (310) to a top surface of the insulating layer (391) is higher than a height from the top surface of the substrate (310) to a top surface of the color conversion layer (330, 340).
Regarding claim 15, Jeong discloses (in at least fig. 6) a coloring layer (231, 232, 233; [0132]), wherein the coloring layer comprises a portion between the substrate (310) and the insulating layer (400) and a portion between the substrate (310) and the first inorganic film (391).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong discloses (in at least figs. 5 and 6) a light-emitting device (ED1-ED3), wherein the light-emitting device (ED1-ED3) overlaps with the color conversion layer (330, 340).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong discloses (in at least figs. 1 and 2; [0078]) An electronic appliance comprising the display device according to claim 1, and at least one of a sensing portion, an input portion, and a communication portion ([0078]).
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875