DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1-14-2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation reading “11. The method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 6, wherein the number of the at least one first modification line is greater than the number of the at least one second modification line.” should read: “11. The method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 6, wherein the number of the at least one first modification lines is greater than the number of the at least one second modification lines.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “stretchable member”, in claim 1.
With regard to the term “stretchable member”,
first, the term “member” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “stretchable”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “stretchable” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the stretchable member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second substrate side". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because a second substrate side has not been previously delimited in the claim it is unclear if this refers to some other previously claimed structure, or whether this is a newly introduced structure. If this is newly introduced structure than the limitation should be preceded by the pronoun “a” instead of “the”.
The limitations of Claim 12 and Claim 13 (respectively), reading: “a dicing step of dividing the second substrate by blade dicing or laser ablation dicing, wherein the dividing step is performed after the dicing step” is indefinite. Claim 1 requires “a first modification line formation step of forming at least one first modification line by irradiating the first substrate with a laser beam”. Turning to the specification at par. 0035, it is disclosed that
“Two pad areas 15 are provided so as to face two adjacent sides of four peripheral sides of circuit area 13 of first substrate 2. In this embodiment, second substrate 3 is divided along dicing lines 28 by blade dicing or laser ablation dicing (dicing step). As seen a plan view from the Z-direction, one or more (in this embodiment, more than one) first modification lines 22 and one or more (in this embodiment, more than one) dicing lines 28 are formed at mutually different positions.
[0036] Blade dicing is performed in a state in which stacked substrate 16 is placed on a support stand (not shown). Therefore, the stretchable member attachment step may be performed after the dicing step, followed by the first modification line formation step and dividing step. That is, the dividing step may be performed after the dicing step”.
From this disclosure it is not clear how the “first modification line formation step” is different than the “dicing step” since both appear to include the same function of using a laser ablation to cut lines into the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6 and, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 20240145310, Teragaki (having priority date 10-31-2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Teragaki discloses a method for manufacturing an electronic device (par. 0039) comprising:
a stretchable member attachment step of attaching a stretchable member (24) to a first substrate (20) on which a second substrate (21) is stacked;
a first modification line formation step of forming at least one first modification line (fig 7D) by irradiating the first substrate with a laser beam (fig 7D, and par. 0052-0054); and
a dividing step of stretching the stretchable member to divide the first substrate along the at least one first modification line (par 0061).
Regarding Claim 6, in Teragaki the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 1, further comprises a second modification line formation step of forming at least one second modification line by irradiating the second substrate (21, fig 7B) with a laser beam 40 (fig 7A)(fig 7B), wherein, in the dividing step, the second substrate is divided along the at least one second modification line (par. 0044).
Regarding Claim 11, in Teragaki the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 6, includes wherein the number of the at least one first modification line (fig 7D, four lines being formed) is greater than the number of the at least one second modification line (3) (fig 7A, where two lines are formed).
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 20230154890 Yasukawa (having priority date 11-16-2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Yasukawa discloses a method for manufacturing an electronic device (par. 0064) comprising:
a stretchable member attachment step of attaching a stretchable member (17) to a first substrate (42) on which a second substrate (41) is stacked (fig. 4);
a first modification line formation step of forming at least one first modification line (27) by irradiating the first substrate with a laser beam (see par. 0042); and
a dividing step of stretching the stretchable member to divide the first substrate along the at least one first modification line (par 0048, describing the separation step on wafer of fig. 4, fig 2A and 2B, showing the separation step applied to a prior art wafer).
Regarding Claim 2, in Yasukawa: in the first modification line formation step, the at least one first modification line is formed by irradiating the first substrate (42) with the laser beam (18) from the second substrate side (41, see fig 4).
Regarding Claim 3, in Yasukawa: in the first modification line formation step, the at least one first modification line is formed by irradiating the first substrate (42) with the laser beam (40) transmitted through the second substrate (41) (fig. 4, par 0043 and see par 0044).
Regarding Claim 5, in Yasukawa the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 1, includes the first substrate having a pad area (fig 8, 71) on a surface that faces the second substrate (fig 8).
Regarding Claim 6, in Yasukawa the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 1, further comprises a second modification line formation step of forming at least one second modification line by irradiating the second substrate with a laser beam, wherein, in the dividing step, the second substrate is divided along the at least one second modification line (since par 0057 discloses that multiple cracks 27 are formed).
Regarding Claim 8, in Yasukawa the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 6, also has wherein the second substrate 42 has a pad area 43b on a surface that faces the first substrate 41 (fig 8).
Regarding Claim9, in Yasukawa, the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 6, also includes: wherein in a plan view from a direction in which the first substrate and the second substrate are stacked, the at least one first modification line and the at least one second modification line are formed at different positions from each other (fig 3).
Regarding Claim 10, in Yasukawa the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 9, includes wherein: in the dividing step, a portion of the first substrate between one of the at least one first modification line and one of the at least one second modification line in the plan view becomes a part of one chip; and a portion of the second substrate between the one first modification line and the one second modification line in the plan view becomes a part of another chip (par 0063).
Regarding Claim 12, in Yasukawa the method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 1, further comprises a dicing step of dividing the second substrate by laser ablation dicing, wherein the dividing step is performed after the dicing step (since the first modification line forming step in claim 1 includes laser dicing).
Regarding Claim 13, in Yasukawa the said method for manufacturing an electronic device according to claim 1, further comprises a dicing step of dividing the second substrate along at least one dicing line by laser ablation dicing (since the first modification line forming step in claim 1 includes laser dicing ) wherein: in a plan view from a direction in which the first substrate and the second substrate are stacked, the at least one first modification line and the at least one dicing line are formed at different positions from each other (fig 7C-D)); and in the dividing step, a portion of the first substrate between one of the at least one first modification line and one of the at least one dicing line in the plan view becomes a part of one chip; and a portion of the second substrate between the one first modification line and the one dicing line in the plan view becomes a part of another chip (par 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teragaki as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20090243044, Tanaka.
Regarding Claims 4 and 7, Teragaki includes: the first substrate has a first functional part formation area (where the first lines are formed), the second substrate has a second functional part formation area (where second lines are formed);
Teragaki lacks: in a plan view from a direction in which the first substrate and the second substrate are stacked, a length the first functional part formation area occupies in one direction perpendicular to the first modification line is greater than a length the second functional part formation area occupies in the one direction.
Tanaka discloses a chip formation method where substrate parts are diced to form chips, in the same field of endeavor as the chip formation method where substrate parts are diced to form chips, of the present invention, and includes a first portion of the chip having a first width, W4 and a second portion having a second width W3, which widths are created by removing portions of the substrate (see par 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Teragaki by having the method including: in a plan view from a direction in which the first substrate and the second substrate are stacked, a length the first functional part formation area occupies in one direction perpendicular to the first modification line is greater than a length the second functional part formation area occupies in the one direction in order to form a chip with portions having differing widths as shown to be typical via Tanaka.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 20250157823 20200098637 20040080032 20160192500 20190115286 9165832 20240145310 8609512 20200335614 20190148232 and 20090311848 disclose substrate cutting processes and thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 04/02/2026